Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Snitz Forums 2000 MOD-Group
 MOD Add-On Forum (W/Code)
 Profile photo used as Avatar - why not use it?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Panhandler
Average Member

USA
783 Posts

Posted - 30 November 2007 :  09:39:08  Show Profile  Visit Panhandler's Homepage  Reply with Quote
There's a thread in the archives:
http://forum.snitz.com/forum/topic.asp?ARCHIVE=true&TOPIC_ID=42690

Shaggy got a running start on a mod that uses the profile photo as an avatar.
I think Shaggy's idea was good.
However, the thread died out and was archived.

I attempted to implement it and got the same error as another poster:
Error Type:
Microsoft VBScript runtime (0x800A0009)
Subscript out of range: '[number: 1]'
/forumtest/inc_iconfiles.asp, line 183


...and this is what I read on inc_iconfiles.asp, line 183,

quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
function getCurrentIcon(fIconName,fAltText,fOtherTags)
if fIconName = "" then exit function
if fOtherTags <> "" then fOtherTags = " " & fOtherTags
if Instr(fIconName,"http://") > 0 then strTempImageUrl = "" else strTempImageUrl = strImageUrl
tmpicons = split(fIconName,"|")
if tmpicons(1) <> "" then fWidth = " width=""" & tmpicons(1) & """"
if tmpicons(2) <> "" then fHeight = " height=""" & tmpicons(2) & """"
getCurrentIcon = "<img src=""" & strTempImageUrl & tmpicons(0) & """" & fWidth & fHeight & " border=""0"" alt=""" & fAltText & """ title=""" & fAltText & """" & fOtherTags & " />"
end function
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


The error appears in the box where the avatar would normally go.
And the photo url is clean. . .no unusual marks.
Any ideas on how to make this mod work?

<

balexandre
Junior Member

Denmark
418 Posts

Posted - 30 November 2007 :  14:06:47  Show Profile  Visit balexandre's Homepage  Send balexandre an ICQ Message  Reply with Quote
it will get really, really bad !

imagine that in the profile photo the user have a 1024x768 pixels photo that he/she got from Picasa/FlickR/etc ...

did you ever tried to have a 1024x768 pixel photo into a 96 x 96 pixel box without any manipulation whatsoever?

1. The photo size will be the same, so imagine a 20 posts with photos (some bigger than others) will take ages to load, and always remember, not all know how to handle pictures, so you will get some users set the URL link of their profile photo as a 8MP or 10MP image, and that's almost 4Mb that the user will need to download just to show the avatar
2. Because the resize is not made proportionally you will get a guy really shrink or a girl extremely fat, and no one will know what's in that picture!
3. there is more, but this 2 are the terrifing ones

I started with that for my forum, and was horrible, I had to teach everyone how to crop an image uploaded and set it as new profile ... I had to do something and that's why I made a new MOD so users could upload the picture, crop it and set as an avatar.


<

Bruno Alexandre
(Strøby, DANMARK)

"a Portuguese in Danmark"



Edited by - balexandre on 30 November 2007 14:09:42
Go to Top of Page

Panhandler
Average Member

USA
783 Posts

Posted - 30 November 2007 :  15:19:16  Show Profile  Visit Panhandler's Homepage  Reply with Quote
As I understand it, the image was supposed to be reduced to fit the space.
Here's Shaggy's code snippet.
Perhaps that is the problem?

Lines 582 - 585
if strShowRank = 2 or strShowRank = 3 then
Response.Write " " & getStar_Level(Reply_MemberLevel, Reply_MemberPosts) & "<br />" & vbNewLine
end if
if strPicture = 1 and trim(Reply_MemberPhoto) <> "" then
Response.Write " " & getCurrentIcon(trim(Reply_MemberPhoto), ChkString(Reply_MemberName,"display"), " width=""64"" height=""64""") & "<br />" & vbNewLine
end if
Response.Write " </p>" & vbNewLine & _
<
Go to Top of Page

AnonJr
Moderator

United States
5765 Posts

Posted - 30 November 2007 :  21:37:37  Show Profile  Visit AnonJr's Homepage  Reply with Quote
All that does is change the display dimensions. A 2.3MB JPEG is still a 2.3MB download.<
Go to Top of Page

Shaggy
Support Moderator

Ireland
6780 Posts

Posted - 03 December 2007 :  05:33:03  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Change:
getCurrentIcon(trim(Reply_MemberPhoto), ChkString(Reply_MemberName,"display"), " width=""64"" height=""64""")
To:
getCurrentIcon(trim(Reply_MemberPhoto)&"|64|64", ChkString(Reply_MemberName,"display"), "")
And:
getCurrentIcon(trim(Member_Photo), ChkString(Reply_MemberName,"display"), " width=""64"" height=""64""")
To:
getCurrentIcon(trim(Member_Photo)&"|64|64", ChkString(Reply_MemberName,"display"), "")


<

Search is your friend
“I was having a mildly paranoid day, mostly due to the
fact that the mad priest lady from over the river had
taken to nailing weasels to my front door again.”
Go to Top of Page

Panhandler
Average Member

USA
783 Posts

Posted - 03 December 2007 :  10:02:27  Show Profile  Visit Panhandler's Homepage  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by AnonJr

All that does is change the display dimensions. A 2.3MB JPEG is still a 2.3MB download.


I was thinking of using Proeder's mod, set to one specific folder and modifying it to restrict image sizes for that specific folder.
User's would be permitted to upload avatars to that one folder.

In other words, it would be a common avatar folder and all users would have access to the avatars within it.
Sounds like too much trouble?
<
Go to Top of Page

balexandre
Junior Member

Denmark
418 Posts

Posted - 04 December 2007 :  06:35:48  Show Profile  Visit balexandre's Homepage  Send balexandre an ICQ Message  Reply with Quote
that's the Avatar MOD ...

did u tried already!?

and I need users to have that to implement my CROP on-the-fly mod

take a few minutes and see my MOD, you will see that you would love it to implement in your Forum and give the ability to users upload an image and crop it ... my users are loving it and now everyone has a nice avatar image of their own ... really nice.<

Bruno Alexandre
(Strøby, DANMARK)

"a Portuguese in Danmark"



Edited by - balexandre on 04 December 2007 06:47:56
Go to Top of Page

texanman
Junior Member

United States
410 Posts

Posted - 03 January 2008 :  16:10:43  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Works great Shaggy
Thaaaaaaaaaanks<
Go to Top of Page

radiodelicate
New Member

Sweden
53 Posts

Posted - 08 July 2008 :  14:43:27  Show Profile  Visit radiodelicate's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I was wondering, is it possible to use CSS on the avatars? I'm trying to figure out how to do it myself, but I've had no success yet I'm afraid.

Let's say I wanna add
style="margin-top: 5px,"
to the generated image tag, how would I do this?<

Edited by - radiodelicate on 08 July 2008 14:44:26
Go to Top of Page

radiodelicate
New Member

Sweden
53 Posts

Posted - 08 July 2008 :  15:02:11  Show Profile  Visit radiodelicate's Homepage  Reply with Quote
okay, success is to be mine! *lol*
if anyone would like to know how, here it is:

getCurrentIcon(trim(Reply_MemberPhoto)&"|64|64, ""style=""margin-top: 5px;""""", ChkString(Reply_MemberName,"display"), "")


same goes for the instance of "MemberPhoto"

thanks to this, it's easier to control the appearance of the avatar. For instance, you can set a max-height and a max-width, and wipe out the set width/height. That way, your images will resize, but they will keep their proportions, allowing non-square images to show up nicely. You can also assign the image a class or an id, and so gain further customization possibilities (as in you wouldn't have to type out the whole css directly in the tag, but can define it in inc_header.asp instead)<

Edited by - radiodelicate on 08 July 2008 15:13:57
Go to Top of Page

radiodelicate
New Member

Sweden
53 Posts

Posted - 08 July 2008 :  18:27:30  Show Profile  Visit radiodelicate's Homepage  Reply with Quote
okay I'm gutted. wiping out the "|64|64" into "||" and replace it with max-height and max-width using css works perfectly when viewing in Firefox, but in IE it will give me nothing at all. Is there any other way of keeping the aspect ratio?<

Edited by - radiodelicate on 08 July 2008 18:33:44
Go to Top of Page

Shaggy
Support Moderator

Ireland
6780 Posts

Posted - 09 July 2008 :  04:31:00  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Just assign the width [bold]or[/bold] the height rather than both, the other dimension will be set relative to the one you define. For example, if the image measures 100*200 and you set the width to 64, the height will be 128.

<

Search is your friend
“I was having a mildly paranoid day, mostly due to the
fact that the mad priest lady from over the river had
taken to nailing weasels to my front door again.”
Go to Top of Page

radiodelicate
New Member

Sweden
53 Posts

Posted - 09 July 2008 :  05:44:23  Show Profile  Visit radiodelicate's Homepage  Reply with Quote
thanks, but it still doesn't work in IE.
argh... I'll keep on tweaking though, I suppose I'll get it right eventually.<
Go to Top of Page

radiodelicate
New Member

Sweden
53 Posts

Posted - 09 July 2008 :  05:59:29  Show Profile  Visit radiodelicate's Homepage  Reply with Quote
okay, I fixed it now. It was my use of both css and and set height/width that messed it up slightly.
this is what I've got now anyway, if it would be of use for anybody else:

getCurrentIcon(trim(Reply_MemberPhoto)&"|100|", ChkString(Reply_MemberName,"display"), "class=""avatar""")

and then in inc_header.asp (around line 277. Among the rest of the css anyway.):

".avatar {margin-top: 5px; padding: 3px; background-color: #ececec; border: 1px solid #b7b7b7;}" & vbNewLine & _
<
Go to Top of Page

Shaggy
Support Moderator

Ireland
6780 Posts

Posted - 09 July 2008 :  06:22:55  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Sorry, yes, shoul've pointed out that the height should be specified in the tag rather than the css.

<

Search is your friend
“I was having a mildly paranoid day, mostly due to the
fact that the mad priest lady from over the river had
taken to nailing weasels to my front door again.”
Go to Top of Page

radiodelicate
New Member

Sweden
53 Posts

Posted - 09 July 2008 :  06:30:38  Show Profile  Visit radiodelicate's Homepage  Reply with Quote
yes, and I kind of messed it up a bit before by putting the "class=""avatar""" in the wrong place, and therefore messing up the dimension proprieties. Hah I'm still really new to all this, but trial and error is my best friend. Been making lots of progress though, I'll post a link in Show-Off Your Forums once I'm happy enough with the whole thing :)<
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.39 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07