Author |
Topic |
bpatti
Starting Member
USA
11 Posts |
Posted - 17 January 2001 : 14:49:07
|
I finally got the Polls to work but I have 2 problems:
1-The first message in the topic is always blank. 2-User should not be allowed to take a poll unless logged in.
I tried this and it gave me an error
quote: Look at the portion:
<% ' ##### Poll Mod ####### if trim(rs("answer1")) = "" then %> <font color="<% =strForumFontColor %>" face="<% =strDefaultFontFace %>" size="<% =strDefaultFontSize %>"><% =formatStr(rs("T_MESSAGE")) %></font></td> <% end if %>
Go ahead and delete it :)
Look down about 60 lines you will see a section :
</td> </tr> </table> <% end if %> <% end if %>
Insert the red codes so it look like this:
</td> </tr> </table> <% end if %> <% else %> <font color="<% =strForumFontColor %>" face="<% =strDefaultFontFace %>" size="<% =strDefaultFontSize %>"> <% =formatStr(rs("T_MESSAGE")) %> </font> <% end if %>
this didn't fix it either
quote: If you look at the SELECT statement in topic.asp in Sub GetFirst() make sure that "TOPICS.T_MESSAGE " is the very last field before the FROM.
You can see the forum at http://www.howardbeach.com/forum
Can anyone please help. Thanks
|
|
|
slemieux
Junior Member
USA
234 Posts |
Posted - 17 January 2001 : 16:16:03
|
quote: Is there a full zipped version of the above mentioned forum that I can download? I'm doing a new install and your forum seems to have everything!!!.
Not yet Still working out a few display issues.
quote: 1-The first message in the topic is always blank. 2-User should not be allowed to take a poll unless logged in.
As for number 2 that would be a nice option to have in the control panel. I like polls because it's an easy way for people to get involved. Hopefully if they do a little voting in the polls, they will register and become active members.
#1 seems to be an issue so I am digging into this more now. Hope to have a fix in the next 15 minutes.
Scott LeMieux NDesigns.net |
|
|
slemieux
Junior Member
USA
234 Posts |
Posted - 17 January 2001 : 17:30:14
|
Here's a quick fix for now. Just save as a file and run it in your forum directory. Backup first Just in case!
<!--#INCLUDE FILE="config.asp" --> <%
dim hithere hithere = "' '"
set my_Conn = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection") my_Conn.Open strConnString
'## Forum_SQL strSql = "UPDATE " & strTablePrefix & "TOPICS " strSql = strSql & " SET " & strTablePrefix & "TOPICS.answer1 = " & hithere strSql = strSql & " WHERE " & strTablePrefix & "TOPICS.answer1 IS NULL"
my_conn.Execute (strSql)
set rs = nothing my_conn.Close
Response.Write("<center><b>That should do it!!</b><br>keep your fingers crossed:)</center>")
%>
Let me know if it fixes your problem.
Scott LeMieux NDesigns.net |
|
|
bpatti
Starting Member
USA
11 Posts |
Posted - 17 January 2001 : 18:04:04
|
It worked!!!
Thanks |
|
|
seven
Senior Member
USA
1037 Posts |
Posted - 17 January 2001 : 23:57:34
|
I have issues... I am running the pole using sql7.
1. When editing a poll i get this message:
Microsoft OLE DB Provider for ODBC Drivers error '80040e21'
Multiple-step OLE DB operation generated errors. Check each OLE DB status value, if available. No work was done.
/forums/post.asp, line 367
2. The poll question does not display 3. When setting the active pole, my selection does not "stick" and the radio button goes back to being unchecked.
I'm confused now.. any help would be appreciated.
My forum: http://www.wilmington.cc/forums ** the test poll is in the "general chat" topic
Also.. How come I can't vote twice by logging in as 2 different people?
Edited by - airilm on 18 January 2001 00:16:00 |
|
|
StockholmStudent
Junior Member
Sweden
329 Posts |
Posted - 18 January 2001 : 09:50:54
|
quote:
How have you done: 1) the online users-thing 2) the poll at http://209.35.175.12/snitz/ !? Just could you write down the exact way to do that!?
cheers /CHEETAH
please!? someone!?
|
|
|
evehawk
New Member
Australia
65 Posts |
Posted - 19 January 2001 : 02:44:47
|
Scott, where should one look or add to correct the problem the poll answers not show up when editing a exsiting poll. If i now edit one of my old poll and update the post. it forget it was a poll and update only the textarea. i guess it has some thing todo with poll=1 but cant seem to find the right code.
Thanks
Sorry i forgot, here is the link to my test site: http://eve.121host.net/beta/default.asp i still leave the admin password as admin, you all welcome to look around.
ahhh fix it, found it in topic.asp .. gota love this mod.:)
Edited by - evehawk on 22 January 2001 22:31:03
Edited by - evehawk on 25 January 2001 08:48:32 |
|
|
seven
Senior Member
USA
1037 Posts |
Posted - 19 January 2001 : 18:13:52
|
Richard... do you have the sample code for this?
what happened to this topic? everyone on vacation?
quote:
quote:
I've installed the mod per the instructions at http://209.35.175.12/snitz/polls.txt. The error with the featured topic appears to be fixed. However, I am still getting the error with the first message in each thread displaying a blank message. Any ideas?
HR
Hellrazor, this is an MS SQL server specific problem.
If you look at the SELECT statement in topic.asp in Sub GetFirst() make sure that "TOPICS.T_MESSAGE " is the very last field before the FROM. You probably added something after it and that is what's causing the topic message to be blank.
|
|
|
Therion93
Junior Member
USA
263 Posts |
Posted - 21 January 2001 : 14:52:47
|
Is there a complete installation zip somewhere? I would like to install this mod with as few headaches as possible
Thanks!
Therion93 "Stare Deep Into The Heart Of Darkness...There Is No Good, No Evil - Only Me" Because Legends Never Die! - Kiss-Forever Community Forum
|
|
|
Rob Poretti
Junior Member
Canada
435 Posts |
Posted - 22 January 2001 : 16:21:49
|
HiQ
I'm looking for a complete updated version as well... Looking forward to this mod... great job!
Cheers!
Rob
|
|
|
antor
Starting Member
Switzerland
9 Posts |
Posted - 25 January 2001 : 17:04:30
|
I have it finally going. The last error I had was that every new topic was marked (poll). HellRazors fix didn't do it in my case, but adding a trim to answer1 in forum.asp: Search for the line with (poll) and replace on that line rs("answer1") with Trim(rs("answer1"))
Sorry for using bandwidth. This fix is included in the polls.txt (see first message of this topic) - but I had installed from the ZIPed files and ran into several problems with them.
The next step for MyPolls is adding additional questions in one poll topic <-> polls reply <-> questions
Thanks!
Edited by - antor on 26 January 2001 15:44:59 |
|
|
Davio
Development Team Member
Jamaica
12217 Posts |
Posted - 26 January 2001 : 18:02:42
|
quote: Sorry for using bandwidth. This fix is included in the polls.txt (see first message of this topic) - but I had installed from the ZIPed files and ran into several problems with them.
You're refering to the zip files I posted for download? If you are, I did go through the polls.txt and updated all the changes slemieux made to the mod. And that included the trim() functions. Unless you had downloaded the zip file before I had updated it with the fixes.
*----*----*----*----*----*----*----*----* "Even when you feel you have nothing left, You still have prayer--And that's enough." *----*----*----*----*----*----*----*----* |
|
|
kjones
New Member
Jamaica
59 Posts |
Posted - 02 February 2001 : 09:44:06
|
Okay.
I finally got the poll info to show up on the admin options, which is much beeter that where I was yesterday. Now when I select the Set Feature Poll option and I get to the Poll Configuration page, is shows that they are no Polls listed (which is understandable).
What happens is that when I click on the Set Active Poll button I get the following error
****************** Microsoft OLE DB Provider for ODBC Drivers error '80040e10'
[Microsoft][ODBC Microsoft Access Driver] Too few parameters. Expected 1.
/betabulletin/admin_poll.asp, line 22 ******************************
Please tell me what to do to fix this problem.
Thanks in advance.
|
|
|
tomasalsbro
Average Member
Sweden
818 Posts |
Posted - 21 February 2001 : 19:08:56
|
quote:
Okay.
I finally got the poll info to show up on the admin options, which is much beeter that where I was yesterday. Now when I select the Set Feature Poll option and I get to the Poll Configuration page, is shows that they are no Polls listed (which is understandable).
What happens is that when I click on the Set Active Poll button I get the following error
****************** Microsoft OLE DB Provider for ODBC Drivers error '80040e10'
[Microsoft][ODBC Microsoft Access Driver] Too few parameters. Expected 1.
/betabulletin/admin_poll.asp, line 22 ******************************
Please tell me what to do to fix this problem.
Thanks in advance.
######## I have nearly the same problem: ============= Microsoft JET Database Engine error '80040e10' No value given for one or more required parameters
/forum/topic.asp, line 514 =============== It occurs when trying to go deeper in the thread. Look: www.whiplash.pp.se/forum/
|
|
|
Davio
Development Team Member
Jamaica
12217 Posts |
Posted - 21 February 2001 : 20:49:08
|
Could you post in the Help:MOD Implementation forum so I can help you from there? That way we can start a fresh new post without loading all these other postswhen replying.
Also it would help if you could help to show me what is on line 514. I presume it is something like this "my_Conn.Execute (strSql)". If it is, could you also post the SQL statement before that? Or if you know what you added in that SQL statement pertaining to the polls, you can just post that line.
*----*----*----*----*----*----*----*----* "Even when you feel you have nothing left, You still have prayer--And that's enough." *----*----*----*----*----*----*----*----* |
|
|
Topic |
|