Author |
Topic  |
anotherwin95
Junior Member
 
USA
140 Posts |
Posted - 18 December 2000 : 13:08:49
|
<BLOCKQUOTE id=quote><font size=1 face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id=quote>quote:<hr height=1 noshade id=quote> Ok I think I got the error fixed so you should be able to input all screen names and urls even if they have the ' or "" in them.
I also found another error where if you were the last one on the site, and you went back after you should of been loged out, it thought you were still loged in. FIXED THAT 2
Hopefully this is getting close to done with no errors. Please let me know of any problems and if you know of a fix, let me know that also.
Brad
oh yea the url http://www.freeaspcode.net/active_users.zip
Edited by - redbrad0 on 18 December 2000 02:01:45 <hr height=1 noshade id=quote></BLOCKQUOTE id=quote></font id=quote><font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" size=2 id=quote>
brad,
This new update is working great now. No more errors as I was having. It also seems to be doign a better job of tracking the active users. I love this add on!
Check out my implementation (as part of the upper right hand menu).
Ciao and great help Brad!
Rich Hay Webmaster http://AnotherWin95.com
Richard Hay Webmaster http://AnotherWin95.com
Edited by - anotherwin95 on 19 December 2000 17:38:07 |
 |
|
Hopper
Junior Member
 
192 Posts |
Posted - 18 December 2000 : 14:05:03
|
This is not working on SR3.. it shows everyone logged in as guest, not member
|
 |
|
redbrad0
Advanced Member
    
USA
3725 Posts |
Posted - 18 December 2000 : 14:23:10
|
rich,
thanks, i will get my forum updated today and will let you see how i have it all laid out.
<b>HOPPER</b>, the problem that you are having is when it reads the cookie. Have you changed anything in your forum that has to do with the cookie?
what you should try and do is just retrieve the cookie name. add this like of code in your inc_top.asp file just so it will display the user name so you can make sure it is reading the cookie....
Response.Write("User: " & Request.Cookies(strCookieURL & "User")("Name"))
Brad |
 |
|
gor
Retired Admin
    
Netherlands
5511 Posts |
Posted - 18 December 2000 : 14:23:31
|
<BLOCKQUOTE id=quote><font size=1 face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id=quote>quote:<hr height=1 noshade id=quote> This is not working on SR3.. it shows everyone logged in as guest, not member <hr height=1 noshade id=quote></BLOCKQUOTE id=quote></font id=quote><font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" size=2 id=quote>
That probably is because the prefix for the USER-cookie has been changed to strUniqueID (was strCookieURL). This was needed to get the "website-cookie" working ok again. Sorry for the extra needed changes to the mods because of this.
<b>Pierre Gorissen</b> <img src="http://home.hetnet.nl/~pgoris01/frsty3r.gif" border=0> |
 |
|
redbrad0
Advanced Member
    
USA
3725 Posts |
Posted - 18 December 2000 : 14:34:05
|
thanks gor, just make it harder for us <img src=icon_smile_tongue.gif border=0 align=middle>
jk
Brad |
 |
|
Hopper
Junior Member
 
192 Posts |
Posted - 18 December 2000 : 14:52:35
|
<BLOCKQUOTE id=quote><font size=1 face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id=quote>quote:<hr height=1 noshade id=quote> <BLOCKQUOTE id=quote><font size=1 face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id=quote>quote:<hr height=1 noshade id=quote> This is not working on SR3.. it shows everyone logged in as guest, not member <hr height=1 noshade id=quote></BLOCKQUOTE id=quote></font id=quote><font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" size=2 id=quote>
That probably is because the prefix for the USER-cookie has been changed to strUniqueID (was strCookieURL). This was needed to get the "website-cookie" working ok again. Sorry for the extra needed changes to the mods because of this.
<b>Pierre Gorissen</b> <img src="http://home.hetnet.nl/~pgoris01/frsty3r.gif" border=0> <hr height=1 noshade id=quote></BLOCKQUOTE id=quote></font id=quote><font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" size=2 id=quote>
I was looking through the inc_top.asp file and strCookieURL is still used all over the place. Does that mean you guys didnt catch all those changes? Also, when I add the specified lines I get this error when refreshing the page.
************* Microsoft JET Database Engine error '80040e10'
No value given for one or more required parameters.
/testforum/inc_top.asp, line 180 ***********
Line 179 - 180 is strSql = strSql & " WHERE " & strTablePrefix & "ONLINE.UserID = '" & strOnlineUser & "'" set rsWho = my_Conn.Execute (strSql)
Edited by - Hopper on 18 December 2000 15:08:48
Edited by - Hopper on 18 December 2000 15:14:39 |
 |
|
redbrad0
Advanced Member
    
USA
3725 Posts |
Posted - 18 December 2000 : 17:26:56
|
hopper,
so you added....
Response.Write("User: " & Request.Cookies(strCookieURL & "User")("Name"))
and then you started getting errors? or were you getting the errors before
Brad |
 |
|
Hopper
Junior Member
 
192 Posts |
Posted - 18 December 2000 : 18:03:29
|
I have not added that line because you did not say WHERE to add it in the file. So the errors are before adding that line.
You also said to put the large chunk of code before any HTML in int_top.asp. Every time I try that I get this error: **** ADODB.Recordset error '800a0cc1'
Item cannot be found in the collection corresponding to the requested name or ordinal.
*****
But if I put this code way down on the page I dont get it, yet because im putting the other Single line up on top of the base, it doesnt fill in the numbers.
Edited by - Hopper on 18 December 2000 18:46:03 |
 |
|
anotherwin95
Junior Member
 
USA
140 Posts |
Posted - 19 December 2000 : 04:17:14
|
The latest code is working great - I am having no problems with the punctuation now in the title of the topic - it is being accepted and shows the right page.
Great work!
Richard Hay Webmaster http://AnotherWin95.com
Edited by - anotherwin95 on 19 December 2000 16:58:53 |
 |
|
Matthew
New Member

USA
91 Posts |
Posted - 19 December 2000 : 05:32:09
|
This is the error I get.
Microsoft VBScript compilation error '800a03ea'
Syntax error
/forums/hottub/inc_top.asp, line 80
Function OnlineSQLencode(byVal strPass) ^
Also I put <a href="active_users.asp">Active Users</a>: <%=strOnlineMembersCount%> Members and <%=strOnlineGuestsCount%> Guests
In inc_top.asp also right? One last thing if I want this to appear right below where it says
Please welcome our newest member: Jinks.
Where would I put the line and in what file?
<center><font color=red>Matt</font id=red> <font color=green>If everything seems to be going well, you have obviously overlooked something.</font id=green></center>
Edited by - Matthew on 19 December 2000 05:52:28
Edited by - Matthew on 19 December 2000 06:15:11 |
 |
|
gor
Retired Admin
    
Netherlands
5511 Posts |
Posted - 19 December 2000 : 06:49:18
|
<BLOCKQUOTE id=quote><font size=1 face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id=quote>quote:<hr height=1 noshade id=quote> I was looking through the inc_top.asp file and strCookieURL is still used all over the place. Does that mean you guys didnt catch all those changes? Also, when I add the specified lines I get this error when refreshing the page. <hr height=1 noshade id=quote></BLOCKQUOTE id=quote></font id=quote><font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" size=2 id=quote>
Both strUniqueID and strCookieURL are used. The strUniqueID is <i>only</i> used for the USER-cookies. Those are the cookies that store you username and password. All other cookies and i.e. the application and session variables still use the strCookieURL to make them really unique (even with more than one forum installed on the same server).
<b>Pierre Gorissen</b> <img src="http://home.hetnet.nl/~pgoris01/frsty3r.gif" border=0> |
 |
|
redbrad0
Advanced Member
    
USA
3725 Posts |
Posted - 19 December 2000 : 06:55:33
|
When you recieve this error, what are you doing on the forum? Just the first thought that pops into my head, is that it is trying to pass blank or null data to encode. i made a small fix so this should happen if this is the problem.
http://www.freeaspcode.net/active_users.zip
Brad http://www.freeaspcode.net/forum/
<b>Matthew</b>, you should be able to add that line of code anywhere in you forum and it would show, but to add it where you want to put it, Open up default.asp and the very last sub on the bottom of the page should be WriteStatistics(). This writes your stats to the bottom of the default.asp page. here is how i added mine to the table, but i do not remember how much if this table i added.
<% if NewMember_Name <> "" then %> <tr> <% end if %> <td bgcolor="<%= strForumCellColor %>" colspan="<% if ((strShowModerators = "1") or (mlev = "4" or mlev = "3")) then Response.Write("6") else Response.Write("4") end if%>"> <font face="<%= strDefaultFontFace %>" size="<% =strFooterFontSize %>">Please welcome our newest member: <% if strUseExtendedProfile then Response.Write("<a href=""pop_profile.asp?mode=display&id="& NewMember_Id & """>") else Response.Write("<a href=""JavaScript:openWindow2('pop_profile.asp?mode=display&id=" & NewMember_Id & "')"">") end if Response.Write(NewMember_Name & "</a>.</font>") %> </td> </tr> <% end if %> <b><tr> <td bgcolor="<%= strForumCellColor %>" colspan="<% if ((strShowModerators = "1") or (mlev = "4" or mlev = "3")) then Response.Write("6") else Response.Write("4") end if%>"> <font face="<%= strDefaultFontFace %>" size="<% =strFooterFontSize %>"><a href="active_users.asp">Active Users</a>: <%=strOnlineMembersCount%> Members and <%=strOnlineGuestsCount%> Guests</font> </td> </tr></b> <% end sub %>
Edited by - redbrad0 on 19 December 2000 07:03:24 |
 |
|
Hopper
Junior Member
 
192 Posts |
Posted - 19 December 2000 : 07:55:45
|
Im loading the page.. thats all.. it doesnt get any farther.
|
 |
|
redbrad0
Advanced Member
    
USA
3725 Posts |
Posted - 19 December 2000 : 07:59:05
|
did it work with the old version? I am just wondering if me changing the information in the SQLEndcode would make it so your page doesn't load.
Brad |
 |
|
Hopper
Junior Member
 
192 Posts |
Posted - 19 December 2000 : 10:59:34
|
OK, i got it working.. Works great, Red.. It was mostly my placement of the code and partly because you still had some CookieURL in there.
|
 |
|
Topic  |
|