Author |
Topic |
rpainter
Junior Member
USA
153 Posts |
Posted - 05 July 2005 : 14:35:33
|
Podge,
Did you remove the txt file? I tried to download it, and I couldn't.< |
Rusty Painter Learn to Cook REAL BBQ SCBBQtalk.com Monkey Boy's BBQ Sauce
|
|
|
Podge
Support Moderator
Ireland
3775 Posts |
|
rpainter
Junior Member
USA
153 Posts |
|
Podge
Support Moderator
Ireland
3775 Posts |
|
Podge
Support Moderator
Ireland
3775 Posts |
Posted - 05 July 2005 : 17:37:38
|
Important If you downloaded this script previously and have a large forum, be careful with the following line near the top. You should set it to a more realistic value than I initially had entered. 3600 is way too large, it means that the script could run for an hour. You could max out the server everytime Google downloads your sitemap.
Server.ScriptTimeout = 60 ' One minute
If you do have a large forum, a better idea would be to follow these steps.
1. Run the script yourself by going to http://www.yourdomain.com/sitemal.xml.asp until it completes 2. Save the output to your desktop as sitemap.txt 3. Download GZIP here - http://www.gzip.org/gzip124xN.zip 4. Extract gzip.exe to your desktop 5. Open a dos prompt and goto your desktop directory e.g. cd c:\Documents and Settings\YOURLOGIN\Desktop 6. Execute this at the dos prompt gzip -c sitemap.txt > sitemap.gz 7. Upload the sitemap.gz file to your server and submit it to Google. 8. Repeat as necessary < |
Podge.
The Hunger Site - Click to donate free food | My Blog | Snitz 3.4.05 AutoInstall (Beta!)
My Mods: CAPTCHA Mod | GateKeeper Mod Tutorial: Enable subscriptions on your board
Warning: The post above or below may contain nuts. |
|
|
glinted
New Member
54 Posts |
Posted - 05 July 2005 : 23:53:09
|
Hi Podge, thanks for this and it looks great but I wondered if the process can be made easier. Yesterday my server came to a standstill but since then I read your last post and have fixed the code. Anyway I submitted yesterday to google but I got a message saying the file couldnt be found "sitemap.xml.asp" so i suspect it timed out.
So I'm about to try this method above but I wonder if it would be possible to produce a XML file etc without having to run it on my server first everyday?
< |
Coupon Savings |
|
|
Podge
Support Moderator
Ireland
3775 Posts |
|
glinted
New Member
54 Posts |
Posted - 06 July 2005 : 04:01:52
|
Ok thanks Podge that would be great. My forum is just over 1 year old and 1701 of 2163 Members have made 19916 posts in 32 forums, There are currently 3581 topics. :)
anyway i followed your last instructions and it got indexed with google in an hour. cheers & look forward to see if we can make the process streamlined. < |
Coupon Savings |
|
|
Podge
Support Moderator
Ireland
3775 Posts |
Posted - 06 July 2005 : 04:37:21
|
I think it needs flood control as well. Especially for people with large forums, if a malicious user wanted to they could just keep refreshing the page which may have undesired effects e.g. max out the cpu, bandwidth, etc.
Or maybe a better idea would be to do it this way (pseudo-programming language).
1. Always write out the sitemap to sitemap.xml using FSO 2. Check the date & timestamp on sitemap.xml 3. If its more than 24 hours since the sitemap.xml has been generated then update it
That way it could only run once a day.< |
Podge.
The Hunger Site - Click to donate free food | My Blog | Snitz 3.4.05 AutoInstall (Beta!)
My Mods: CAPTCHA Mod | GateKeeper Mod Tutorial: Enable subscriptions on your board
Warning: The post above or below may contain nuts. |
|
|
wildfiction
Junior Member
167 Posts |
Posted - 06 July 2005 : 06:12:32
|
Podge: How would I modify your code so that it also puts the FORUMS in the XML?
Like this: .../forum.asp?FORUM_ID=1
Thanks for all your help here. < |
|
|
Podge
Support Moderator
Ireland
3775 Posts |
Posted - 06 July 2005 : 07:00:01
|
You just need to copy the block for topics and change the sql query. e.g.
xml = xml & "<url>" xml = xml & "<loc>" & strForumURL & "forum.asp?FORUM_ID=" & Forum_ID & "</loc>" xml = xml & "<lastmod>"& ISO8601Date(Topic_Last_Post) &"</lastmod>" xml = xml & "<changefreq>daily</changefreq>" xml = xml & "</url>" & vbNewLine
I don't have access to the database at the moment and I cannot remember the field names exactly but the sql query would look something like;
Select forum_id from forum_forum where F_privateforums = 0 and f_url is null
I'll try and get something together later.< |
Podge.
The Hunger Site - Click to donate free food | My Blog | Snitz 3.4.05 AutoInstall (Beta!)
My Mods: CAPTCHA Mod | GateKeeper Mod Tutorial: Enable subscriptions on your board
Warning: The post above or below may contain nuts. |
|
|
hans_
Junior Member
Czech Republic
161 Posts |
Posted - 06 July 2005 : 08:21:15
|
I made registration on https://www.google.com/webmasters/sitemaps/stats. I have on my other pc NO access to the site Google.com Please can you help, where could be the problem.
I can access e.g. www.google.de, www.google.at, ..., but no www.google.com and links of the google.com
How can I repair it?
Thanks a lot.< |
I am still learning. Sorry for my stupid questions (sometimes) and bad English. |
Edited by - hans_ on 06 July 2005 09:23:10 |
|
|
Podge
Support Moderator
Ireland
3775 Posts |
Posted - 06 July 2005 : 08:32:43
|
This should really be in another topic but...
Open an ms-dos prompt and enter the following command at the c:\ prompt
ping google.com
What i.p. address to you get? My guess is that you have an entry in your hosts file which redirects google.com to another website or some kind of hijacker has altered your browser.
Search for hosts (no extension) open it using a text editor. If there is an entry for google delete that line(s). It will look something like;
127.0.0.1 google.com 127.0.0.1 www.google.com
Otherwise download Spybot Search and Destroy (free)< |
Podge.
The Hunger Site - Click to donate free food | My Blog | Snitz 3.4.05 AutoInstall (Beta!)
My Mods: CAPTCHA Mod | GateKeeper Mod Tutorial: Enable subscriptions on your board
Warning: The post above or below may contain nuts. |
|
|
hans_
Junior Member
Czech Republic
161 Posts |
Posted - 06 July 2005 : 08:49:46
|
I know my q. dont lend to this topic, sorry. If I make ping, I get the adress 69.50.166.11. I use the Ad-Aware SE software for Spy SW frequently, but it find no error in this case. Plz, where can I find the host file? I have WIN XP Prof.< |
I am still learning. Sorry for my stupid questions (sometimes) and bad English. |
Edited by - hans_ on 06 July 2005 08:52:39 |
|
|
Podge
Support Moderator
Ireland
3775 Posts |
|
Topic |
|