Author |
Topic |
Flaimo
New Member
Austria
72 Posts |
Posted - 28 May 2001 : 13:13:03
|
if i go to the board by entering the default.asp or active.asp page and then clicking through to a forum it works fine, but if i come to a forum through a direct link from a different page i get this error:
Microsoft VBScript runtime - Fehler '800a01a8'
Object required: 'my_Conn'
/charmed2/en/forum/inc_functions.asp, line 580
in inc_functions line 580 is this:
set rs_date = my_conn.Execute (strSql)
if (rs_date.BOF and rs_date.EOF) then TempLastHereDate = DateAdd("d",-10,strForumTimeAdjust) else TempLastHereDate = StrToDate(rs_date("M_LASTHEREDATE")) if TempLastHereDate = "" or IsNull(TempLastHereDate) then TempLastHereDate = DateAdd("d",-10,strForumTimeAdjust) end if end if
rs_date.close set rs_date = nothing
maybe the combination with the "first unread message" mod causes some problems.
in one mod i have to add something to the following lines and in the other i have to replace that string:
If not (rs.EOF or rs.BOF) then '## No replies found in DB rs.movefirst rs.pagesize = strPageSize rs.absolutepage = mypage '** maxpages = cint(rs.pagecount) end if
Edited by - flaimo on 28 May 2001 16:04:05 |
|
|
work mule
Senior Member
USA
1358 Posts |
Posted - 29 May 2001 : 21:21:58
|
blackinwhite, there was one thing specific to your forum.asp code at Line 195, change this:
strSql = strSql & " ORDER BY " & strTablePrefix & "TOPICS.T_INPLACE DESC " &_
to this
strSql = strSql & " ORDER BY " & strTablePrefix & "TOPICS.T_INPLACE DESC "
The difference is the " &_" that was at the end. That was my fault, I had accidentally posted that and went back to correct it. You must have gotten it before I realized the mistake.
--The Writer Community
"Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail." -Ralph Waldo Emerson |
|
|
work mule
Senior Member
USA
1358 Posts |
Posted - 29 May 2001 : 21:24:24
|
quote:
maybe the combination with the "first unread message" mod causes some problems.
There is an obvious thing I missed in the first unread message mod that will cause the error:
Object required: 'my_Conn'
It's so obvious now!
I'll post the fix over in the other post.
--The Writer Community
"Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail." -Ralph Waldo Emerson |
|
|
Flaimo
New Member
Austria
72 Posts |
Posted - 31 May 2001 : 11:32:41
|
works great now (without the go to first unread message mod). should be built in the next snitz version as a new feature |
|
|
Raichelle
Junior Member
370 Posts |
Posted - 17 June 2001 : 21:22:11
|
I already added the subcribe to topic mod long time ago and then i tried adding this mod but its showing me a blank black field and i don't know why here is a screen shot of it
anyhelp PLEASEE
Edited by - raichelle on 30 July 2001 13:06:16 |
|
|
dayve
Forum Moderator
USA
5820 Posts |
Posted - 17 June 2001 : 22:25:37
|
I haven't tried this mod yet but I can tell that you need to adjust your colspan since you have a mod that added another table cell.
Dayve |
|
|
Raichelle
Junior Member
370 Posts |
Posted - 17 June 2001 : 23:55:47
|
and how can i do that?
|
|
|
Raichelle
Junior Member
370 Posts |
Posted - 18 June 2001 : 09:27:46
|
can someone help me with this please really quick because my forum don't look that good at the moment
|
|
|
Intrepidone
Average Member
Canada
515 Posts |
Posted - 19 June 2001 : 21:18:10
|
Raichelle,
In the instructions for Forum.asp where it mentions Line 336, the first bit of code is this
<% '------------------------------------------------- ' TOPIC SORTING MOD '------------------------------------------------- response.write("<tr>" &_ "<td align=""center"" bgcolor=""" & strCategoryCellColor & """ colspan=""6"">")
dim topicreclow, topicrechigh, topicpage
topicpage = mypage
where I have bolded the colspan=""6"", change the 6 to a 7 or an 8 (If you have the Subscription MOD or Richards Message Icon MOD change it to 7, if you have both change it to 8)
One other problem you may have that I am looking at to is you have the Subscription MOD, and it is interfering with the Sorting MOD when you click on "GO", since they are both using Forms tag and the Subscription MOD has the Sorting MOD enclosed in it's Form
Intrepidone |
|
|
RichardKinser
Snitz Forums Admin
USA
16655 Posts |
Posted - 19 June 2001 : 21:34:24
|
What I ended up doing since the Topic Subscription MOD is installed is this:
response.write("<tr>") if showSubscr then response.write("<td align=""center"" bgcolor=""" & strCategoryCellColor & """ colspan=""8"">") else response.write("<td align=""center"" bgcolor=""" & strCategoryCellColor & """ colspan=""7"">") end if
|
|
|
Intrepidone
Average Member
Canada
515 Posts |
Posted - 19 June 2001 : 22:43:05
|
Thanks Richard,
I just changed mine to what you said
So you have both the Topic Subscription MOD and the Topic Sorting MOD installed? if so did you have any problems with the Form tag action="nothing.asp" in the Subscription MOD that enclosed the Sorting MOD?
I changed the action="nothing.asp" to action="" and it seems to work now whereas before when I clicked on GO for the Sorting MOD it would say page not found
Intrepidone |
|
|
RichardKinser
Snitz Forums Admin
USA
16655 Posts |
Posted - 19 June 2001 : 22:45:59
|
I was helping Raichelle with the problem above. I don't have the Topic Subscription MOD installed on my forum. |
|
|
adamch25
Starting Member
USA
22 Posts |
Posted - 23 June 2001 : 18:46:43
|
work mule,
I really like what you've done with your forum. Any way you'd be willing to send me the whole thing? I have a forum that I've done already, but I'm just not thrilled with the layout (and don't have a lot of time to mess with it). I like what you've done with the icons, design, etc.
Adam Henriksen www.nomadhonor.com/forum/
|
|
|
Freeman II
Junior Member
232 Posts |
Posted - 24 June 2001 : 00:03:07
|
work mule your mod is very nice, good job
theres a little problem each time i tried to refresh internet explorer says "The page cannot be refreshed without resending infomation" is there anyway to prevent that?
|
|
|
GauravBhabu
Advanced Member
4288 Posts |
Posted - 15 July 2001 : 14:16:21
|
I installed this Mod and somehow Topic Paging is not working correctly. The situation is (for testing) I have set the strPageSize to 1. I have two topics in the forum. Both the topics show corrcetly on two pages. Now, here is what the problem is. One of the topics has 0 replies and the other has 3 replies. The topic with 3 replies correctly shows 1 2 3 under the topic title. When I click on 1 it returns all the replies along with the Topic. When I click on 2 and 3 it shows nothing. Since the page size is set to 1, I expect to see 1 reply on each page. I have Sub TopicPaging() which is called for this.
gauravbhabu
There is only one miracle...That is LIFE!
It works fine Now. Instead of mentioning the strPageSize in the file itself, I changed the value in Feature configuration to 1 or 2 and it shows the posts correctly.
Edited by - GauravBhabu on 16 July 2001 08:43:43 |
|
|
Topic |
|