Author |
Topic |
Namaste
Starting Member
16 Posts |
Posted - 31 March 2008 : 08:09:57
|
Hi there, I didn't find any topic about. How can I move as administrator or moderator a post from a topic to a different one?
Tks for help Namastè |
Namastè |
|
AnonJr
Moderator
United States
5768 Posts |
|
Namaste
Starting Member
16 Posts |
Posted - 31 March 2008 : 08:32:54
|
Fine AnonJr but I was looking for moving posts. Is there a way. Using the search function I am not able to find any topic about. Namastè |
Namastè |
|
|
muzishun
Senior Member
United States
1079 Posts |
Posted - 31 March 2008 : 08:46:37
|
The only way to move individual posts from one topic to another would be via a combination of the Split Topic and Merge Topic MODs. Both are still in beta (I believe), so be careful if implementing them on a live forum. However, both MODs have been around for some time and appear to be fairly stable. |
Bill Parrott Senior Web Programmer, University of Kansas Co-Owner and Code Monkey, Eternal Second Designs (www.eternalsecond.com) Personal Website (www.chimericdream.com) |
|
|
AnonJr
Moderator
United States
5768 Posts |
Posted - 31 March 2008 : 09:51:07
|
Sorry, at first read it sounded like you were wanting to move the topic - something that's been asked/answered ad nauseum.
If you are looking to move a given post, then Bill's right. You'll need to add the Split Topic MOD and the Merge Topic MOD. Both are still in Beta, and there may or may not be some issues still at large. If you search around here you'll find the topics for each, and you can see if there are any unanswered questions.
People have been using them on their live forums, and there haven't been any recent issues that I'm aware of... having said that, quality backups go a long way if you get where I'm drifting. |
|
|
phy1729
Average Member
USA
589 Posts |
Posted - 31 March 2008 : 11:12:09
|
You could edit the database itself but I would advise against doing this unless afford taking the forum down. To do this you would need to:
Shut Down the Forum (Admin Options -> Shut Down the Forum) (not necessary but highly advised) (I recommend you don't close the window you shut the forum down in) Go into the reply Table Change the Topic_ID of the post you want to change Save the db Update the Forum Counts (Admin Options -> Update Forum Counts middle right) Start the Forum
Once again I recommend you shut down the forum I didn't but I'm also the last person to log on in two weeks. You could also do this through SQL which would not need taking the forum down. It would be something like UPADATE REPLY SET TOPIC_ID = <new topic number> WHERE REPLY_ID = <reply's id #> |
|
|
HuwR
Forum Admin
United Kingdom
20584 Posts |
Posted - 31 March 2008 : 11:19:57
|
quote: You could also do this through SQL which would not need taking the forum down. It would be something like UPADATE REPLY SET TOPIC_ID = <new topic number> WHERE REPLY_ID = <reply's id #>
you could do this using the 'Alternative MOD Setup' in admin options if you can dig up the format needed (should be a read me on SnitzBitz for the dbs format codes) |
|
|
AnonJr
Moderator
United States
5768 Posts |
Posted - 31 March 2008 : 11:32:10
|
I think this would do it... little rusty on the dbs format.
[UPDATE]
REPLY
TOPIC_ID#{new topic ID}#REPLY_ID={id of reply}
[END] Note: There are no "{" or "}" in the code - just the number for the topic/reply id
I also keep wondering if there isn't some other consideration that needs to be taken into account when doing it this way... even if I can't remember what that might be, I'd highly advise you to make a backup before futzing with the database (directly or via Alt. MOD Setup). |
Edited by - AnonJr on 31 March 2008 11:34:20 |
|
|
Shaggy
Support Moderator
Ireland
6780 Posts |
Posted - 31 March 2008 : 12:07:49
|
If you're moving it to a topic in another forum and/or category, you'll need to update those fields as well.
|
Search is your friend “I was having a mildly paranoid day, mostly due to the fact that the mad priest lady from over the river had taken to nailing weasels to my front door again.” |
|
|
leatherlips
Senior Member
USA
1838 Posts |
|
AnonJr
Moderator
United States
5768 Posts |
|
Namaste
Starting Member
16 Posts |
Posted - 02 April 2008 : 17:56:39
|
Thanks for great suggestions. Merge and Split are fine but loading both the two functions stop working First I loaded the new Merge files and the Merge function was working fine. Than I loaded the icon_split_topic.gif + split.asp and modified inc_iconfiles.asp + post_info.asp + topic.asp (as described in Split readme doc) and both function stop working after topics or posts selections.
Just changing post_info.asp Merge or Split starts working so I assume there is something wrong in change I have done. Just to better explain, I have compiled the Merge asp with what explained in the readme doc. These are the lines of last change:
' If Creating a new topic or reply, the subscription and moderation capabilities will need to be checked. Moderation = "No" '############# Split and merge Topic Mod ################ 'Added "or _ MethodType = "SplitTopic"" in following if...then statement 'Added "or _ MethodType = "MergeTopic"" in following if...then statement if MethodType = "Topic" or _ MethodType = "Edit" or _ MethodType = "Reply" or _ MethodType = "ReplyQuote" or _ MethodType = "TopicQuote" or _ MethodType = "Forum" or _ MethodType = "EditForum" or _ MethodType = "SplitTopic" then MethodType = "MergeTopic" then '################################################# What is wrong? Namastè |
Namastè |
Edited by - Namaste on 02 April 2008 17:58:00 |
|
|
AnonJr
Moderator
United States
5768 Posts |
Posted - 03 April 2008 : 07:02:28
|
Its been a while since I played with both, but that code block should probably look like this:
|
|
|
Namaste
Starting Member
16 Posts |
Posted - 03 April 2008 : 16:51:58
|
Here I am again. Step by step seems better. Now, after AnonJr suggestion, MERGE works fine but SPLIT goes without errors till the end but nothing happens (no message at the end) and topic remains as before. I tried again to use the post_info.asp included in the SPLIT package and SPLIT starts working with success.
Any other idea?
Thanks again Namastè
|
Namastè |
|
|
muzishun
Senior Member
United States
1079 Posts |
Posted - 03 April 2008 : 19:24:46
|
You'll have to manually make the changes to each file. It sounds like you're uploading the post_info.asp that came with the Split Topic MOD. That file assumes that you have no other MODs installed. Since your forum is no longer base code, you'll need to find the places in post_info.asp where the Split Topic MOD has changes and add them manually. I personally use WinMerge when doing side by side comparisons of files, but use whatever you are comfortable with. |
Bill Parrott Senior Web Programmer, University of Kansas Co-Owner and Code Monkey, Eternal Second Designs (www.eternalsecond.com) Personal Website (www.chimericdream.com) |
|
|
Namaste
Starting Member
16 Posts |
Posted - 04 April 2008 : 03:25:30
|
Just to better explain, I get the post_info.asp inculded in the MERGE package (with this MERGE works well) and I made changes manually as explained in the SPLIT readme doc. The changes I have done are exactly what AnonJr suggested but just MERGE function works fine.
Is there someone able to help me?
Namastè |
Namastè |
Edited by - Namaste on 05 April 2008 12:52:45 |
|
|
Topic |
|