Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Help Groups for Snitz Forums 2000 Users
 Help: General / Classic ASP versions(v3.4.XX)
 Moving Everything Down Two Lines
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 4

Jason G
Starting Member

USA
37 Posts

Posted - 22 December 2004 :  20:51:11  Show Profile  Visit Jason G's Homepage  Send Jason G an AOL message  Send Jason G an ICQ Message
Gremlin,

Thanks for trying to help with this.

quote:
When that ASP code has executed and populated all the variables, it will look exactly like the HTML you see in the source of your site. Now clearly for some reason thats not showing the <br/> tags you've coded so honestly I would say you either have the server tossing out a cached copy of inc_header.asp (this is fairly unlikely) or you've not uploaded it to the server correctly becuase otherwise your two <br/> tags would be showing up in the source code when viewed and your source code would instead look something like this


I don't think either of these possibilities are possible. I've uploaded the file correctly.

I've uploaded the inc_header.txt file for you to view.

Thanks,
Jason

My Snitz Forum: http://forum.jcsm.org

My phpbb: http://inerrancy.com
Go to Top of Page

muzishun
Senior Member

United States
1079 Posts

Posted - 22 December 2004 :  23:42:02  Show Profile  Visit muzishun's Homepage
I took a look at the file. The code is correct, although I would change lines 279-286 from this:
		"<body" & strTmpPageBGImageURL & " bgColor=""" & strPageBGColor & """ text=""" & strDefaultFontColor & """ link=""" & strLinkColor & """ aLink=""" & strActiveLinkColor & """ vLink=""" & strVisitedLinkColor & """>" & vbNewLine & _
		"<a name=""top""></a>" & vbNewLine & _
vbNewLine & _
        "<br /><br />" & vbNewLine & _
		"  <tr><td> </td></tr>" & vbNewLine & _
		"  <tr><td> </td></tr>" & vbNewLine & _

if strSiteIntegEnabled = "1" then

to this:
		"<body" & strTmpPageBGImageURL & " bgColor=""" & strPageBGColor & """ text=""" & strDefaultFontColor & """ link=""" & strLinkColor & """ aLink=""" & strActiveLinkColor & """ vLink=""" & strVisitedLinkColor & """>" & vbNewLine & _
		"<a name=""top""></a>" & vbNewLine & _
vbNewLine & _
        "<br /><br />" & vbNewLine

if strSiteIntegEnabled = "1" then

Just remove the stuff in red. After that, I agree with Gremlin. It's either something with the location of the file or with the server itself. The stuff we've given you works, but something is going haywire on the server's side.

Bill Parrott
Senior Web Programmer, University of Kansas
Co-Owner and Code Monkey, Eternal Second Designs (www.eternalsecond.com)
Personal Website (www.chimericdream.com)
Go to Top of Page

Jason G
Starting Member

USA
37 Posts

Posted - 23 December 2004 :  00:16:35  Show Profile  Visit Jason G's Homepage  Send Jason G an AOL message  Send Jason G an ICQ Message
Ok, the stuff in red is gone. Still no luck, though.

JG

My Snitz Forum: http://forum.jcsm.org

My phpbb: http://inerrancy.com
Go to Top of Page

muzishun
Senior Member

United States
1079 Posts

Posted - 23 December 2004 :  02:42:06  Show Profile  Visit muzishun's Homepage
Taking out the red code won't fix your problem. It'll just clean your file up a little bit. Like Gremlin said, the problem isn't in the files. If you have access, try rebooting the server that the forum is on. Something is cached somewhere that is not allowing you to view the right file.

Bill Parrott
Senior Web Programmer, University of Kansas
Co-Owner and Code Monkey, Eternal Second Designs (www.eternalsecond.com)
Personal Website (www.chimericdream.com)
Go to Top of Page

Gremlin
General Help Moderator

New Zealand
7528 Posts

Posted - 23 December 2004 :  02:55:01  Show Profile  Visit Gremlin's Homepage
I think theres an issue preventing your changed file from actually being executed for whatever reason, perhaps it's caching I don't know you may have to get your host to check that for you.

Try changing this stuff here (it's the second body statement) which btw still doesn't appear the same as what your source code is showing when I view your site so i think until we figure out why thats happening this probably wont work either but does clean it up at least.


		"<body" & strTmpPageBGImageURL & " bgColor=""" & strPageBGColor & """ text=""" & strDefaultFontColor & """ link=""" & strLinkColor & """ aLink=""" & strActiveLinkColor & """ vLink=""" & strVisitedLinkColor & """>" & vbNewLine & _
		"<a name=""top""></a><br /><br />" & vbNewLine & _

Just change the second body piece of code so it looks like the above.

Kiwihosting.Net - The Forum Hosting Specialists

Edited by - Gremlin on 23 December 2004 02:56:13
Go to Top of Page

Jason G
Starting Member

USA
37 Posts

Posted - 23 December 2004 :  14:45:35  Show Profile  Visit Jason G's Homepage  Send Jason G an AOL message  Send Jason G an ICQ Message
Ok, Gremlin. This has been changed.

I find it very hard to believe that just certain parts of this site aren't resolving. For instance, I was able to change some text in the footer and the graphic in the header without any trouble. Now, when it comes to adding two spaces in the header, it suddenly isn't resolving? I doubt it.

Any other ideas will be appreciated. Thanks for the help so far.

Sincerely,
Jason

My Snitz Forum: http://forum.jcsm.org

My phpbb: http://inerrancy.com
Go to Top of Page

Gremlin
General Help Moderator

New Zealand
7528 Posts

Posted - 23 December 2004 :  16:43:39  Show Profile  Visit Gremlin's Homepage
quote:
it suddenly isn't resolving? I doubt it.

Theres nothing to doubt really, the proof is in the source code your changes simply aren't there, and theres really only two things that would cause that, either a) it's not been updated on the server correctly, your updating the wrong page, or uploading it to the wrong place etc .. or b) the server is processing an old copy of the page thats cached and I personally don't believe the latter is actually all that likely.

One thing I find curious is that your source code has a whole bunch of meta tags appearing, yet these are nowhere to be found in your inc_header.asp file, just where are they coming from ? Whats actually in your Javascript that you have for the menu?

Post a link to a text copy of default.asp and lets actually see what files your including on that page.

Kiwihosting.Net - The Forum Hosting Specialists

Edited by - Gremlin on 23 December 2004 16:44:05
Go to Top of Page

Jason G
Starting Member

USA
37 Posts

Posted - 23 December 2004 :  19:02:27  Show Profile  Visit Jason G's Homepage  Send Jason G an AOL message  Send Jason G an ICQ Message
quote:
Whats actually in your Javascript that you have for the menu?


No meta tags. Just some links.

quote:
Post a link to a text copy of default.asp and lets actually see what files your including on that page.


Ok, it's at http://jcsm.ws/default.txt

Thanks,
Jason

My Snitz Forum: http://forum.jcsm.org

My phpbb: http://inerrancy.com
Go to Top of Page

PeeWee.Inc
Senior Member

United Kingdom
1893 Posts

Posted - 23 December 2004 :  19:04:57  Show Profile  Visit PeeWee.Inc's Homepage
default.txt:

The system cannot find the file specified.

De Priofundus Calmo Ad Te Damine
Go to Top of Page

Jason G
Starting Member

USA
37 Posts

Posted - 23 December 2004 :  19:20:39  Show Profile  Visit Jason G's Homepage  Send Jason G an AOL message  Send Jason G an ICQ Message
Oops, I'm sorry. The link is http://jcsm.ws/forum/default.txt

JG

My Snitz Forum: http://forum.jcsm.org

My phpbb: http://inerrancy.com
Go to Top of Page

muzishun
Senior Member

United States
1079 Posts

Posted - 23 December 2004 :  20:14:50  Show Profile  Visit muzishun's Homepage
inc_header.asp is not included in that file at all. That would be the problem. It looks like whoever managed the site before you did some custom header work. I only glanced at it briefly, but it looks like whoever did it made a new file called inc_top.asp and included that instead of inc_header.asp. Take a look at inc_top.asp and see if you can apply one of the suggestions we've given you here.

Bill Parrott
Senior Web Programmer, University of Kansas
Co-Owner and Code Monkey, Eternal Second Designs (www.eternalsecond.com)
Personal Website (www.chimericdream.com)
Go to Top of Page

Jason G
Starting Member

USA
37 Posts

Posted - 23 December 2004 :  20:32:18  Show Profile  Visit Jason G's Homepage  Send Jason G an AOL message  Send Jason G an ICQ Message
Bill,

You were right!!! Thanks so much. That file controls the header details and I was able to insert a space. Now, I'm going to try and put some ads up there, too.

Thanks for your persistence and Merry Christmas.

Sincerely,
Jason

My Snitz Forum: http://forum.jcsm.org

My phpbb: http://inerrancy.com
Go to Top of Page

Gremlin
General Help Moderator

New Zealand
7528 Posts

Posted - 23 December 2004 :  22:33:41  Show Profile  Visit Gremlin's Homepage
LOL :) Glad we got to the bottom of it.

Kiwihosting.Net - The Forum Hosting Specialists
Go to Top of Page

Jason G
Starting Member

USA
37 Posts

Posted - 23 December 2004 :  22:41:50  Show Profile  Visit Jason G's Homepage  Send Jason G an AOL message  Send Jason G an ICQ Message
Yup! Thanks for your help too, Gremlin.

Merry Christmas,
Jason

My Snitz Forum: http://forum.jcsm.org

My phpbb: http://inerrancy.com
Go to Top of Page

muzishun
Senior Member

United States
1079 Posts

Posted - 23 December 2004 :  23:21:32  Show Profile  Visit muzishun's Homepage
Glad you got it working.

Bill Parrott
Senior Web Programmer, University of Kansas
Co-Owner and Code Monkey, Eternal Second Designs (www.eternalsecond.com)
Personal Website (www.chimericdream.com)
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 4 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Previous Page
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.46 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07