Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Help Groups for Snitz Forums 2000 Users
 Help: General / Classic ASP versions(v3.4.XX)
 Moving Everything Down Two Lines
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 4

Jason G
Starting Member

USA
37 Posts

Posted - 19 December 2004 :  12:38:22  Show Profile  Visit Jason G's Homepage  Send Jason G an AOL message  Send Jason G an ICQ Message
Hi,

I have a javascript navigation bar at the top of my Snitz forum. However, the top text and graphic run into it, so I need to move those things down a couple of lines.

See here: http://jcsm.ws/forum/

I'm not overly familiar with .asp, but I did try a number of things that did not work. Can someone help me with this? I'd really appreciate some advice or a link to this answer.

Sincerely,
Jason

My Snitz Forum: http://forum.jcsm.org

My phpbb: http://inerrancy.com

muzishun
Senior Member

United States
1079 Posts

Posted - 19 December 2004 :  13:58:49  Show Profile  Visit muzishun's Homepage
If it is a clean install, find these lines in inc_header.asp:

Around line 273:
		"</style>" & vbNewLine & _
		"</head>" & vbNewLine & _
		vbNewLine & _
		"<body" & strTmpPageBGImageURL & " bgColor=""" & strPageBGColor & """ text=""" & strDefaultFontColor & """ link=""" & strLinkColor & """ aLink=""" & strActiveLinkColor & """ vLink=""" & strVisitedLinkColor & """>" & vbNewLine & _
		"<a name=""top""></a>" & vbNewLine & _
		vbNewLine & _
		"<table align=""center"" border=""0"" cellPadding=""0"" cellSpacing=""0"" width=""100%"">" & vbNewLine & _

And change them to this (add the code in red):
		"</style>" & vbNewLine & _
		"</head>" & vbNewLine & _
		vbNewLine & _
		"<body" & strTmpPageBGImageURL & " bgColor=""" & strPageBGColor & """ text=""" & strDefaultFontColor & """ link=""" & strLinkColor & """ aLink=""" & strActiveLinkColor & """ vLink=""" & strVisitedLinkColor & """>" & vbNewLine & _
		"<a name=""top""></a>" & vbNewLine & _
		vbNewLine & _
		"<br /><br />" & vbNewLine & _
		"<table align=""center"" border=""0"" cellPadding=""0"" cellSpacing=""0"" width=""100%"">" & vbNewLine & _

That ought to do what you want. You can add more line breaks as you need them.

Bill Parrott
Senior Web Programmer, University of Kansas
Co-Owner and Code Monkey, Eternal Second Designs (www.eternalsecond.com)
Personal Website (www.chimericdream.com)
Go to Top of Page

Jason G
Starting Member

USA
37 Posts

Posted - 19 December 2004 :  16:28:54  Show Profile  Visit Jason G's Homepage  Send Jason G an AOL message  Send Jason G an ICQ Message
Hi Bill,

Thanks for your post.

I tried what you suggested, but it didn't work. Do you have any other suggestions?

Sincerely,
Jason

My Snitz Forum: http://forum.jcsm.org

My phpbb: http://inerrancy.com
Go to Top of Page

muzishun
Senior Member

United States
1079 Posts

Posted - 19 December 2004 :  20:11:22  Show Profile  Visit muzishun's Homepage
Hmmm... not sure why it isn't working. Maybe if you try just making a couple of empty rows in the table, like so:

		"<a name=""top""></a>" & vbNewLine & _
		vbNewLine & _
		"<table align=""center"" border=""0"" cellPadding=""0"" cellSpacing=""0"" width=""100%"">" & vbNewLine & _
		"  <tr><td>& nbsp;</td></tr>" & vbNewLine & _
		"  <tr><td>& nbsp;</td></tr>" & vbNewLine & _
		"  <tr>" & vbNewLine & _
		"    <td valign=""top"" width=""50%""><a href=""default.asp"" tabindex=""-1"">" & getCurrentIcon(strTitleImage & "||",strForumTitle,"") & "</a></td>" & vbNewLine & _

It isn't the cleanest solution, I'm sure, but it should move the whole site down two lines. (Take the space from the & nbsp; above. It got eaten by the HTML machine )

Bill Parrott
Senior Web Programmer, University of Kansas
Co-Owner and Code Monkey, Eternal Second Designs (www.eternalsecond.com)
Personal Website (www.chimericdream.com)

Edited by - muzishun on 19 December 2004 20:13:10
Go to Top of Page

Jason G
Starting Member

USA
37 Posts

Posted - 19 December 2004 :  22:23:55  Show Profile  Visit Jason G's Homepage  Send Jason G an AOL message  Send Jason G an ICQ Message
Bill,

Thanks very much, again.

I tried it, but it didn't work. In case it helps, here is my coding from about line 200-300 in the inc_header.asp file. I took the spaces out as well.

if trim(strDBNTUserName) <> "" and trim(Request.Cookies(strUniqueID & "User")("Pword")) <> "" then
	chkCookie = 1
	mLev = cLng(chkUser(strDBNTUserName, Request.Cookies(strUniqueID & "User")("Pword"),-1))
	chkCookie = 0
else
	MemberID = -1
	mLev = 0
end if

if mLev = 4 and strEmailVal = "1" and strRestrictReg = "1" and strEmail = "1" then
	'## Forum_SQL - Get membercount from DB 
	strSql = "SELECT COUNT(MEMBER_ID) AS U_COUNT FROM " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS_PENDING WHERE M_APPROVE = " & 0

	set rs = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")
	rs.open strSql, my_Conn

	if not rs.EOF then
		User_Count = cLng(rs("U_COUNT"))
	else
		User_Count = 0
	end if

	rs.close
	set rs = nothing
end if

Response.Write	"<html>" & vbNewline & vbNewline & _
		"<head>" & vbNewline & _
		"<title>" & GetNewTitle(strScriptName) & "</title>" & vbNewline


'## START - REMOVAL, MODIFICATION OR CIRCUMVENTING THIS CODE WILL VIOLATE THE SNITZ FORUMS 2000 LICENSE AGREEMENT
Response.Write	"<meta name=""copyright"" content=""This Forum code is Copyright (C) 2000-02 Michael Anderson, Pierre Gorissen, Huw Reddick and Richard Kinser, Non-Forum Related code is Copyright (C) " & strCopyright & """>" & vbNewline 
'## END   - REMOVAL, MODIFICATION OR CIRCUMVENTING THIS CODE WILL VIOLATE THE SNITZ FORUMS 2000 LICENSE AGREEMENT



Response.Write	"<script language=""JavaScript"" type=""text/javascript"">" & vbNewLine & _
		"<!-- hide from JavaScript-challenged browsers" & vbNewLine & _
		"function openWindow(url) {" & vbNewLine & _
		"	popupWin = window.open(url,'new_page','width=400,height=400')" & vbNewLine & _
		"}" & vbNewLine & _
		"function openWindow2(url) {" & vbNewLine & _
		"	popupWin = window.open(url,'new_page','width=400,height=450')" & vbNewLine & _
		"}" & vbNewLine & _
		"function openWindow3(url) {" & vbNewLine & _
		"	popupWin = window.open(url,'new_page','width=400,height=450,scrollbars=yes')" & vbNewLine & _
		"}" & vbNewLine & _
		"function openWindow4(url) {" & vbNewLine & _
		"	popupWin = window.open(url,'new_page','width=400,height=525')" & vbNewLine & _
		"}" & vbNewLine & _
		"function openWindow5(url) {" & vbNewLine & _
		"	popupWin = window.open(url,'new_page','width=450,height=525,scrollbars=yes,toolbars=yes,menubar=yes,resizable=yes')" & vbNewLine & _
		"}" & vbNewLine & _
		"function openWindow6(url) {" & vbNewLine & _
		"	popupWin = window.open(url,'new_page','width=500,height=450,scrollbars=yes')" & vbNewLine & _
		"}" & vbNewLine & _
		"function openWindowHelp(url) {" & vbNewLine & _
		"	popupWin = window.open(url,'new_page','width=470,height=200,scrollbars=yes')" & vbNewLine & _
		"}" & vbNewLine & _
		"// done hiding -->" & vbNewLine & _
		"</script>" & vbNewLine & _
		"<style type=""text/css"">" & vbNewLine & _
		"<!--" & vbNewLine & _
		"a:link    {color:" & strLinkColor & ";text-decoration:" & strLinkTextDecoration & "}" & vbNewLine & _
		"a:visited {color:" & strVisitedLinkColor & ";text-decoration:" & strVisitedTextDecoration & "}" & vbNewLine & _
		"a:hover   {color:" & strHoverFontColor & ";text-decoration:" & strHoverTextDecoration & "}" & vbNewLine & _
		"a:active  {color:" & strActiveLinkColor & ";text-decoration:" & strActiveTextDecoration & "}" & vbNewLine & _
		".spnMessageText a:link    {color:" & strForumLinkColor & ";text-decoration:" & strForumLinkTextDecoration & "}" & vbNewLine & _
		".spnMessageText a:visited {color:" & strForumVisitedLinkColor & ";text-decoration:" & strForumVisitedTextDecoration & "}" & vbNewLine & _
		".spnMessageText a:hover   {color:" & strForumHoverFontColor & ";text-decoration:" & strForumHoverTextDecoration & "}" & vbNewLine & _
		".spnMessageText a:active  {color:" & strForumActiveLinkColor & ";text-decoration:" & strForumActiveTextDecoration & "}" & vbNewLine & _
		".spnSearchHighlight {background-color:" & strSearchHiLiteColor & "}" & vbNewLine & _
		"input.radio {background:" & strPopUpTableColor & ";color:#000000}" & vbNewLine & _
		"-->" & vbNewLine & _
		"</style>" & vbNewLine & _
		"</head>" & vbNewLine & _
		vbNewLine & _
		"<body" & strTmpPageBGImageURL & " bgColor=""" & strPageBGColor & """ text=""" & strDefaultFontColor & """ link=""" & strLinkColor & """ aLink=""" & strActiveLinkColor & """ vLink=""" & strVisitedLinkColor & """>" & vbNewLine & _
		"<a name=""top""></a>" & vbNewLine & _
vbNewLine & _
        "<br /><br />" & vbNewLine & _
		"  <tr><td>& nbsp;</td></tr>" & vbNewLine & _
		"  <tr><td>& nbsp;</td></tr>" & vbNewLine & _

if strSiteIntegEnabled = "1" then
  response.write "<table width=""100%"" border="""
	if strSiteBorder = "1" then
		response.write "1"
	else
		response.write "0"
	end if
	response.write """ cellspacing=""0"" cellpadding=""0"">" & vbNewLine
  if strSiteHeader = "1" then
    response.write "  <tr>" & vbNewLine & _
    "    <td"
    if strSiteLeft = "1" or strSiteRight = "1" then
      if strSiteLeft = "1" and strSiteRight = "1" then
        Response.write " colspan=""3"""
      else
		Response.write " colspan=""2"""
      end if

My Snitz Forum: http://forum.jcsm.org

My phpbb: http://inerrancy.com
Go to Top of Page

muzishun
Senior Member

United States
1079 Posts

Posted - 20 December 2004 :  00:31:24  Show Profile  Visit muzishun's Homepage
Change the last few lines to this. This will put the extra rows of the table before everything else.
"<a name=""top""></a>" & vbNewLine & _
vbNewLine & _
        "<br /><br />" & vbNewLine & _
		"  <tr><td>& nbsp;</td></tr>" & vbNewLine & _
		"  <tr><td>& nbsp;</td></tr>" & vbNewLine & _

if strSiteIntegEnabled = "1" then
  response.write "<table width=""100%"" border="""
	if strSiteBorder = "1" then
		response.write "1"
	else
		response.write "0"
	end if
	response.write """ cellspacing=""0"" cellpadding=""0"">" & vbNewLine
        response.write "<tr><td>& nbsp;</td></tr>" & vbNewline & _
                       "<tr><td>& nbsp;</td></tr>" & vbNewline
  if strSiteHeader = "1" then
    response.write "  <tr>" & vbNewLine & _
    "    <td"
    if strSiteLeft = "1" or strSiteRight = "1" then
      if strSiteLeft = "1" and strSiteRight = "1" then
        Response.write " colspan=""3"""
      else
		Response.write " colspan=""2"""
      end if

Again, make sure you take out the space from & nbsp;. Hopefully this time it should work.

Bill Parrott
Senior Web Programmer, University of Kansas
Co-Owner and Code Monkey, Eternal Second Designs (www.eternalsecond.com)
Personal Website (www.chimericdream.com)
Go to Top of Page

Jason G
Starting Member

USA
37 Posts

Posted - 20 December 2004 :  01:11:49  Show Profile  Visit Jason G's Homepage  Send Jason G an AOL message  Send Jason G an ICQ Message
Hi Bill,

Thanks for your post.

I tried what you suggested, but it didn't work. Here is what it says (without that space).

vbNewLine & _
        "<br /><br />" & vbNewLine & _
		"  <tr><td> </td></tr>" & vbNewLine & _
		"  <tr><td> </td></tr>" & vbNewLine & _

if strSiteIntegEnabled = "1" then
  response.write "<table width=""100%"" border="""
	if strSiteBorder = "1" then
		response.write "1"
	else
		response.write "0"
	end if
	response.write """ cellspacing=""0"" cellpadding=""0"">" & vbNewLine
    response.write "<tr><td> </td></tr>" & vbNewline & _
                   "<tr><td> </td></tr>" & vbNewline
  if strSiteHeader = "1" then
    response.write "  <tr>" & vbNewLine & _
    "    <td"
    if strSiteLeft = "1" or strSiteRight = "1" then
      if strSiteLeft = "1" and strSiteRight = "1" then
        Response.write " colspan=""3"""
      else


--

Do you have any other suggestions?

Sincerely,
Jason

My Snitz Forum: http://forum.jcsm.org

My phpbb: http://inerrancy.com
Go to Top of Page

muzishun
Senior Member

United States
1079 Posts

Posted - 20 December 2004 :  02:49:00  Show Profile  Visit muzishun's Homepage
Do you have site integration enabled?

Bill Parrott
Senior Web Programmer, University of Kansas
Co-Owner and Code Monkey, Eternal Second Designs (www.eternalsecond.com)
Personal Website (www.chimericdream.com)
Go to Top of Page

muzishun
Senior Member

United States
1079 Posts

Posted - 20 December 2004 :  02:53:02  Show Profile  Visit muzishun's Homepage
One more thing you might consider. Go into the file that contains your javascript menu and add a few <br> tags to the bottom of it.

Bill Parrott
Senior Web Programmer, University of Kansas
Co-Owner and Code Monkey, Eternal Second Designs (www.eternalsecond.com)
Personal Website (www.chimericdream.com)
Go to Top of Page

Jason G
Starting Member

USA
37 Posts

Posted - 20 December 2004 :  02:57:08  Show Profile  Visit Jason G's Homepage  Send Jason G an AOL message  Send Jason G an ICQ Message
What is site integration?

I can't alter the javascript navigation bar. It's on 60,000+ pages and that would mess them all up.

Regards,
Jason

My Snitz Forum: http://forum.jcsm.org

My phpbb: http://inerrancy.com
Go to Top of Page

Gremlin
General Help Moderator

New Zealand
7528 Posts

Posted - 20 December 2004 :  03:04:44  Show Profile  Visit Gremlin's Homepage
Why not just add 10-20 pixels of whitespace to the top of your graphic, that should push everything down a little bit.

Kiwihosting.Net - The Forum Hosting Specialists
Go to Top of Page

Jason G
Starting Member

USA
37 Posts

Posted - 20 December 2004 :  03:33:24  Show Profile  Visit Jason G's Homepage  Send Jason G an AOL message  Send Jason G an ICQ Message
Thanks, Gremlin. This was a very good idea. I tried it and it worked for the left side; where the graphic is. However, the text on the right still runs into my javascript navigation bar.

We're almost there. Any ideas, now?

Sincerely,
Jason

My Snitz Forum: http://forum.jcsm.org

My phpbb: http://inerrancy.com
Go to Top of Page

Jason G
Starting Member

USA
37 Posts

Posted - 20 December 2004 :  03:36:51  Show Profile  Visit Jason G's Homepage  Send Jason G an AOL message  Send Jason G an ICQ Message
For now, I found a poor way to get the space I need. I typed <br> in the field for title in the Forum admin panel. It made a good space, but it's also in my title bar. Eek.

JG

My Snitz Forum: http://forum.jcsm.org

My phpbb: http://inerrancy.com
Go to Top of Page

Gremlin
General Help Moderator

New Zealand
7528 Posts

Posted - 20 December 2004 :  08:31:35  Show Profile  Visit Gremlin's Homepage
You could try just locating the two body statements in inc_header.asp and putting in a <br/><br/> right after them

Kiwihosting.Net - The Forum Hosting Specialists
Go to Top of Page

muzishun
Senior Member

United States
1079 Posts

Posted - 20 December 2004 :  11:47:28  Show Profile  Visit muzishun's Homepage
quote:
Originally posted by Jason G

What is site integration?

I can't alter the javascript navigation bar. It's on 60,000+ pages and that would mess them all up.

Regards,
Jason


You have the Site Integration MOD installed. That's why the first few things I had you try didn't work. Try what Gremlin was saying and add the <br/> tags after the <body> tags in inc_header.asp. If you're still having problems, email me an FTP user/pass and I'll see if I can take care of it for you.

Bill Parrott
Senior Web Programmer, University of Kansas
Co-Owner and Code Monkey, Eternal Second Designs (www.eternalsecond.com)
Personal Website (www.chimericdream.com)
Go to Top of Page

Jason G
Starting Member

USA
37 Posts

Posted - 20 December 2004 :  12:45:20  Show Profile  Visit Jason G's Homepage  Send Jason G an AOL message  Send Jason G an ICQ Message
I just tried adding the <br/> after the <body> tag in the inc_header file and it didn't work.

Does anyone else have an idea?

JG

My Snitz Forum: http://forum.jcsm.org

My phpbb: http://inerrancy.com
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 4 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Next Page
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.35 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07