New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Hazelip
Starting Member

USA
16 Posts

Posted - 18 October 2004 :  18:50:21  Show Profile  Visit Hazelip's Homepage
Firstly, I have to admit that I've only dabbled with tweaking ASP pages here and there. I am by no means a programmer, and nowhere near an ASP developer. I'm poking along and figuring this out, and there are some mysteries to customizing the snitz forum software that are eluding me.

Here is a list of things giving me trouble, maybe you can help:

1. I want to change the forum logo to a javascript file that will randomize the logo. I currently do this on the front page of my site at http://www.hazelip.com/ It would be the same rotation. I'm pretty sure I could do this in the inc_header.asp, but I can't seem to find where exactly to make the change.

2. I want to also contain both the logo and the login boxes at the top in the same cell. Currently, on my main page, this is accomplished with CSS. I would like a way to do this similar to the forum title header at http://www.skepticfriends.org/

3. I would like to use CSS as much as possible. I can strip out all the page-level CSS and use them to create a CSS document to import into each page on load, but I don't know where to put the import statement to ensure that the CSS is applied to all pages. This one isn't super important, but I would really like to get all the style declarations in one file and be done with it.

4. Is snitzmods.com official in any way? I see some mods there that would be good to have such as avatars, IP banning, a PM system, etc. But, I don't want to be grabbing wonky code, if at all possible to avoid.

That's all I can think of now, I'm going to go eat something and check back in a day or two.

Thank you very much for any and all help you can provide,
Jake

Da_Stimulator
DEV Team Forum Moderator

USA
3373 Posts