Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Help Groups for Snitz Forums 2000 Users
 Help: MOD Implementation
 Conquer Chat for users only
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

rabufo
Junior Member

Italy
328 Posts

Posted - 21 November 2003 :  02:43:39  Show Profile
Hello,

a problem that is making me crazy: is there a way to make Conquer Chat "really" available for Snitz 3.4 users only? I've the chat link appearing only for users who made login, anyway in that case browsing with the mouse on the link, the full chat URL is readable in the bottom of my browser, and it could be spread also to not users.
More, how can I put the chat page in a popup window, so the forum remains readable in the background?

Thank you all for the help.

Edited by - rabufo on 21 November 2003 06:45:23

Ryan
Average Member

USA
858 Posts

Posted - 21 November 2003 :  07:28:22  Show Profile  Visit Ryan's Homepage
There are two topics I used to do this:
First to get you started:
http://forum.snitz.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=47926
And second to finish it up:
http://www.theill.com/snitzforum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=1383
Referring to those two things you should make a very satifactory chat room that is next to zero possibility of a person getting into your chat room without registering.
You will need the zip that weeweeslap gave to me so if you want it you may want to e-mail him.

The Poultry Link - "Serving the best of the fancy with the best of the web"
Forum Setup Help
Go to Top of Page

rabufo
Junior Member

Italy
328 Posts

Posted - 21 November 2003 :  07:44:05  Show Profile
Thank you a lot, Ryan!!
I've already asked weeweeslap for the zip.........
Go to Top of Page

rabufo
Junior Member

Italy
328 Posts

Posted - 21 November 2003 :  08:35:22  Show Profile
by the way, Ryan....with that zip, will I resolve also the problem to make the chat appearing in a popup page, letting the forum main page remain (readable) in the background?
I've tried to make it by myself but.......better I don't say what's happened when I've tested the edited files
Go to Top of Page

Ryan
Average Member

USA
858 Posts

Posted - 21 November 2003 :  11:21:57  Show Profile  Visit Ryan's Homepage
I believe the zip he sent me had instructions for how to add a javascript link to the forum. That should help you out.

The Poultry Link - "Serving the best of the fancy with the best of the web"
Forum Setup Help
Go to Top of Page

rabufo
Junior Member

Italy
328 Posts

Posted - 21 November 2003 :  14:12:29  Show Profile
quote:
Originally posted by Ryan

I believe the zip he sent me had instructions for how to add a javascript link to the forum. That should help you out.



wow, wonderful!!! Hope he'll send the zip very soon.........it's really urgent, some bad guys are making my chat a battlefield.......
Go to Top of Page

weeweeslap
Senior Member

USA
1077 Posts

Posted - 21 November 2003 :  14:52:20  Show Profile  Visit weeweeslap's Homepage  Send weeweeslap an AOL message  Send weeweeslap a Yahoo! Message
ok, zip file sent, was able to do it quickly I think I got everything you need in it, I THINK. lol anyway, e-mail if it works and e-mail me if something is missing, this chat I sent you opens in a new window and closes when they click logout in the chatwindow but wont log them out from the site. etc enjoy!
-=WWS=-

coaster crazy
Go to Top of Page

rabufo
Junior Member

Italy
328 Posts

Posted - 21 November 2003 :  18:15:55  Show Profile
thank you weeweeslap, it works great!
Just one thing more...regarding pure asp and java codes managing........maybe others can help too.........


how can i add the link code below, needed to open the chat in a popup window, in the forum main menu at the top right?

---------
if strDBNTUserName <> "" then
Response.Write " <td class=""navleft""
nowrap>  <a href=""javascript:openChat()""
class=""navleft"">Chat</a>  </td>" & vbCrLf
end if
----------


I've tried to add that code, but it change font size and places of other links ...i think it's for the <td> </td>.....any
way to do that?

My current link for the chat in that place is:

--------
if strDBNTUserName <> "" then
Response.Write " |" & vbNewline & _
" <a href=""http://.....""><acronym
title=""Chat"">Chat</acronym></a>" & vbNewline
end if
-----------

I know there is a way (i hope.......) ....but I need years to discover it

Thank you very much for any help........
Go to Top of Page

weeweeslap
Senior Member

USA
1077 Posts

Posted - 21 November 2003 :  19:14:46  Show Profile  Visit weeweeslap's Homepage  Send weeweeslap an AOL message  Send weeweeslap a Yahoo! Message
I am so sorry about that, I am using customized css for my links and all so I would not be able to help you with getting it to look like the standard snitz, what I recommend is copying the format of one of your other links and making it like so. I don't know another way, my inc_header is well, basically bones due to the heavy modding we did to it, compared to the snitz original inc_header.asp so I really cannot help you on this. Sowwy

coaster crazy
Go to Top of Page

Dave.
Senior Member

USA
1037 Posts

Posted - 21 November 2003 :  21:07:28  Show Profile
Just make this:

if strDBNTUserName <> "" then
Response.Write " |" & vbNewline & _
" <a href=""http://.....""><acronym
title=""Chat"">Chat</acronym></a>" & vbNewline
end if

This:

if strDBNTUserName <> "" then
Response.Write " |" & vbNewline & _
" <a href=""javascript:openChat()""><acronym
title=""Chat"">Chat</acronym></a>" & vbNewline
end if
Go to Top of Page

rabufo
Junior Member

Italy
328 Posts

Posted - 22 November 2003 :  03:30:45  Show Profile
Thank you Dave....just done.....but when I try to connect to the forum main page I receive this error message:


Microsoft VBScript compilation error '800a0409'

Unterminated string constant

/forum/inc_header.asp, line 519

" <a href=""javascript:openChat()""><acronym
--------------------------------------------^

Edited by - rabufo on 22 November 2003 05:46:58
Go to Top of Page

rabufo
Junior Member

Italy
328 Posts

Posted - 22 November 2003 :  10:15:32  Show Profile
so...there isn't a solution to this problem???
Go to Top of Page

Ryan
Average Member

USA
858 Posts

Posted - 22 November 2003 :  11:03:56  Show Profile  Visit Ryan's Homepage
Here is what I use:
'# Start chat link
	if strDBNTUserName <> "" then
               	Response.Write	"        " & vbNewline & _
				"        <a href=""javascript:openChat()""><acronym title=""Chat with other users...""><FONT SIZE=-2>Join chat!</acronym></a>" & vbNewline
		if countUsers() <> 0 then
               		Response.Write 	" (" & countUsers() & ") user(s) in chat</font>" & vbNewline
        	end if
        end if

With this being my javascript window command:
		"// ConquerChat" & vbNewLine & _
		"function openChat() {" & _
		"var MainWindow = window.open (""chat/default.asp?UserName=" & strDBNTUserName & "&login=login&mode=userLogin""," & _
		"'ChatWindow','scrollbars=yes,width=800,height=550,top=0,left=0,resizable=yes');" & vbNewLine & _
		"}" & vbNewLine & _

Which is placed below this code in inc_header.asp:
		"function openWindowHelp(url) {" & vbNewLine & _
		"	popupWin = window.open(url,'new_page','width=470,height=200,scrollbars=yes')" & vbNewLine & _
		"}" & vbNewLine & _

BTW I added the chat link to the very bottom right above the last %> in inc_header.asp.

The Poultry Link - "Serving the best of the fancy with the best of the web"
Forum Setup Help
Go to Top of Page

rabufo
Junior Member

Italy
328 Posts

Posted - 22 November 2003 :  12:32:51  Show Profile
Thank you Ryan....I've tried, but when I connect to the forum main page, I read this error message:

Microsoft VBScript runtime error '800a000d'

Type mismatch: 'countUsers'

/forum/inc_header.asp, line 561



referred to the line of your code:
if countUsers() <> 0 then


What can I do to fix this?

Thank you a lot for your help.
Go to Top of Page

Ryan
Average Member

USA
858 Posts

Posted - 22 November 2003 :  12:43:20  Show Profile  Visit Ryan's Homepage
ehh...
sorry about that. I forgot to tell you something else.
Find this in inc_header.asp (right under copyright info):
%>
<!--#INCLUDE FILE="inc_func_common.asp" -->
<%

Insert this:
<!--#include file="Chat/inc.utilities.asp" -->

To make it look like this (insert in red):
%>
<!--#INCLUDE FILE="inc_func_common.asp" -->

That should do it.
<!--#include file="Chat/inc.utilities.asp" -->
<%

The Poultry Link - "Serving the best of the fancy with the best of the web"
Forum Setup Help
Go to Top of Page

rabufo
Junior Member

Italy
328 Posts

Posted - 22 November 2003 :  12:53:24  Show Profile
quote:

<!--#include file="Chat/inc.utilities.asp" -->




thank you Ryan...now, that is if the subdir "chat" is inside the forum directory, right?
I've the chat dir in the root, not in the forum directory....should I use:
<!--#include file="../chat/inc.utilities.asp" -->

??

Go to Top of Page
Page: of 2 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Next Page
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.38 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07