Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Snitz Forums 2000 MOD-Group
 MOD Add-On Forum (W/Code)
 Multiple forums with same Users
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

xpumpa
Starting Member

Czech Republic
1 Posts

Posted - 18 January 2001 :  03:10:04  Show Profile  Send xpumpa an ICQ Message
Hi all,

Here is my solution for Multiple forums with same Users.

1. Create directories
  • /forums/template
  • /forums/forum1
  • /forums/forum2


2. Copy all necessary forum files to directory /forums/template
3. Backup this config file /forums/template/config.asp
4. Edit this file /forums/template/config.asp, clear all and write this:

  • <%
    ' #### - PUT HERE ALL DIMs from orig config.asp
    dim strDBType, strConnString, .....
    dim strVersion, strForumTitle, .....


    Dim ForumName
    ForumName = Request.ServerVariables("SCRIPT_NAME")
    ForumName = Mid(ForumName,Instr(ForumName,"/") + 1)
    ForumName = Mid(ForumName,Instr(ForumName,"/") + 1)
    ForumName = Mid(ForumName,1, Instr(ForumName,"/") - 1)
    ForumName = LCase(ForumName)
    SELECT CASE ForumName
    CASE "forum1"
    %><!--#INCLUDE FILE="../forum1/config.asp" --><%
    CASE "forum2"
    %><!--#INCLUDE FILE="../forum2/config.asp" --><%
    END SELECT
    %>



5. Copy your backup of config.sys to each directory /forums/forum1 and /forums/forum2

6. Clear ALL DIMs from both config.asp from directories forum1 and forum2 and define strTablePrefix.

7. In /forums/forum1 and /forums/forum1 create new forum files (active.asp, topic.asp, forum.asp, ....) without include files.

8. Edit these files and write this to all:


  • <!--#INCLUDE FILE="config.asp" -->
    <%
    Dim ScriptName
    ScriptName = Request.ServerVariables("SCRIPT_NAME")
    ScriptName = Mid(ScriptName,InstrRev(ScriptName,"/") + 1)
    Server.Transfer(strPath & ScriptName)
    %>


9. Thats All. Each new forum has about 74kb, Don't remember create new forum tables in DB.

10. Sorry my English



Filip

John
Junior Member

USA
427 Posts

Posted - 18 January 2001 :  13:02:19  Show Profile
Server.Transfer is only available in ASP 3.0, which is only in IIS 5, which is only in Windows 2000...

Actually all you have to do is:

upload copies of the files to two (or more) directories
set the database connstring to the same DB
set strTablePrefix to "FORUM#"
set strMemberTablePrefix to "FORUM".
then create copies of the FORUM_* tables calling them "FORUM#_*", except for the members table.
then just run setup.asp for each forum and you should be done!

John Miller
Snitz Moderator

Teach me good discernment and knowledge, For I believe in Your commandments.
- Psalms 119:66
Go to Top of Page

dreamcreator
Starting Member

USA
15 Posts

Posted - 14 April 2001 :  14:15:12  Show Profile  Visit dreamcreator's Homepage  Send dreamcreator an AOL message
I was reading over this and was kinda able to understand it, but was wondering if it could possibly go into detail with exacly what I need to change. I have two separate pages right now that I would like to share the same members database. One site is http://pso.cubicdreams.com and the other is http://daoc.cubicdreams.com If it is really possible I would like to have the strTablePrefix to "FORUMpso" / "FORUMdaoc" and so on. What else would I have to change to do this. I wasn't sure how to make sure it won't mess anything up with creating new sections in each of the forums. Any help would really be appreciated.

-Dream
http://www.cubicdreams.com
PSO Community ^
Go to Top of Page

bjlt
Senior Member

1144 Posts

Posted - 15 April 2001 :  00:10:50  Show Profile
me too want to know. a more detailed readme on this issue would be helpful.


I didn't know that it's already built into the code before reading this.


Edited by - bjlt on 15 April 2001 23:56:49
Go to Top of Page

gor
Retired Admin

Netherlands
5511 Posts

Posted - 15 April 2001 :  15:06:39  Show Profile  Visit gor's Homepage
Ehm...it might be that I didn't read this topic good enough, but you don't need a mod to have more than one forum use the same users...it is supported in the plain forum code.
Just create a new set of tables using i.e. FORUM2_ as prefix.
Do that for all tables except the FORUM_MEMBERS table.

Then in one config.asp set the strTablePrefix to FORUM2_ and in the other leave it to FORUM_ and make sure both forums have strMemberTablePrefix set to FORUM_

that is all there is to it...

Pierre
Join the Snitz WebRing
Go to Top of Page

davea
New Member

61 Posts

Posted - 19 April 2001 :  06:03:57  Show Profile
This is something that interests me, multiple forums with the same uses base, but different forum names and different colour schemes, is there a sure fire way to do this?

Go to Top of Page

James
Average Member

USA
539 Posts

Posted - 19 April 2001 :  13:31:05  Show Profile  Visit James's Homepage
quote:

Just create a new set of tables using i.e. FORUM2_ as prefix.
Do that for all tables except the FORUM_MEMBERS table.



Pierre,
Is there an ASP script that can create the new tables needed?


-

*Interested in Radio Control*
*The RC Web Board - http://www.rcwebboard.com/*
Go to Top of Page

gor
Retired Admin

Netherlands
5511 Posts

Posted - 19 April 2001 :  16:33:05  Show Profile  Visit gor's Homepage
quote:

quote:

Just create a new set of tables using i.e. FORUM2_ as prefix.
Do that for all tables except the FORUM_MEMBERS table.



Pierre,
Is there an ASP script that can create the new tables needed?



For Access: no, but there you can copy and rename the tables very easy.
For Sql Server and MySql: just change the strTablePrefix in config.asp and run setup.asp and the tables get created. You'll recieve an error because it tries to recreate FORUM_MEMBERS (since you didn't rename strMemberTablePrefix), but that is no problem.

So you could put all the forums in their own directory, change the config.asp so that strTablePrefix is unique on each of them and strMemberTablePrefix is the same on all of the forums and then run setup.asp one by one for all of them.

Pierre
Join the Snitz WebRing
Go to Top of Page

master of puppets
Junior Member

Canada
117 Posts

Posted - 19 April 2001 :  22:40:30  Show Profile  Visit master of puppets's Homepage  Send master of puppets an AOL message  Send master of puppets an ICQ Message  Send master of puppets a Yahoo! Message
Why change all the database tables? Why not just make FORUM2_CONFIG then change the admin_***.asp files to point to that one for configuration, that way both forums have all the same forums, and posts, but with different configurations. That is what we did

http://www.snowmobilefanatics.com/snofans/

and

http://www.snowmobilefanatics.com/polarisman/

"It's not how far you go, it's how go you far"
- Guy in Ski School
Go to Top of Page

speedway
New Member

88 Posts

Posted - 20 April 2001 :  15:08:07  Show Profile
Any idea how have to Forums but one of the categorys not displayed in one forum.

Go to Top of Page

dayve
Forum Moderator

USA
5820 Posts

Posted - 05 May 2001 :  16:41:47  Show Profile  Visit dayve's Homepage
master of puppets, I get what you are saying but could you please elaborate, there is something missing from your master plan!

Dayve
Go to Top of Page

Dan03
Starting Member

Australia
17 Posts

Posted - 12 May 2001 :  05:53:33  Show Profile  Send Dan03 an AOL message  Send Dan03 an ICQ Message
I don't have MS Access installed at the moment, so is there an SQL command to copy the tables and rename them?

- Dan.
_______________________________
http://www.zer03.com/
Go to Top of Page

Matti-Mck
Starting Member

38 Posts

Posted - 13 May 2001 :  07:25:14  Show Profile  Visit Matti-Mck's Homepage  Send Matti-Mck an ICQ Message
dayve, what master of pupets is trying to say (or at least i think) is that if you have two forums wanting only the same config, or only the same members, or even only the same posts!, then you just configure all the admin_###.asp files to point to the same database, so that they get the same information. i did what master of pupets did. i wanted the same forum, but different config (different graphics and colours) but the same information and members.

http://apmessageboard.cjb.net

and

http://www.poc-network.com

it took me a while to do, but it's not that difficult.

-Matti

Go to Top of Page

dayve
Forum Moderator

USA
5820 Posts

Posted - 16 May 2001 :  14:20:42  Show Profile  Visit dayve's Homepage
thanks Matti-Mck, I have a good understanding of what needs to be done but I'd hate to really miss out on anything important. So a favor to ask of ANYONE... I was told to edit all the admin...asp files BUT I was also told to create a FORUM2_ table. Can someone properly outline the details here at the forum on how to successfully do this without missing any critical steps. I am going to have a stab at it right now but just in case I have to restart it would be nice to have a guideline.

My goal is to have the same exact members, categories, topics and mods but with a different color scheme running on the same server but different url's pointing to it.

For example, my forum exists here:

http://www.burningsouls.com/forum which I am hosting for this guy (if you look it's actually being cloaked and directed to http://www.nineinchnailz.com/forum).

I want to basically mirror the forum at my site too with different colors.

Hope that helps.. A MUCHO thanks in advance for anyone able to get me through this somewhat painlessly

Dayve
Go to Top of Page

Dan03
Starting Member

Australia
17 Posts

Posted - 18 May 2001 :  08:03:15  Show Profile  Send Dan03 an AOL message  Send Dan03 an ICQ Message
So, theres no SQL command, would anybody be willing to copy the tables for me? I know that it is rather a big hassle to transfer the database, but I really need some help here

- Dan.
_______________________________
http://www.zer03.com/
Go to Top of Page

gwhit
Starting Member

5 Posts

Posted - 18 May 2001 :  21:03:58  Show Profile
Try this it works on access2000 db not sure but it should also work on SQL. Mysql I have no clue if this works.
'******************************************
select * into [new_table] from [old_table}
'******************************************


Edited by - gwhit on 18 May 2001 21:05:30

Edited by - gwhit on 18 May 2001 21:07:24
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 2 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Next Page
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.21 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07