Author |
Topic |
skyhawks
Junior Member
USA
125 Posts |
Posted - 02 January 2003 : 00:23:32
|
is it possible instead of having the original poster username.. but have the last posted by and its date?? wouldnt it make more sense to let ppl know it that way?? its just my 2 cents. |
----------------------------------------
Website: http://www.johnlophotography.com |
|
|
funinbc
Junior Member
245 Posts |
Posted - 02 January 2003 : 13:09:41
|
A big thank you for all your help! Everything is working.
One small thing. The line that seperates the posts right now is under the message line. It would make more sense if it was under the end of the post.
how would I go about moving that line to the bottom?
|
|
|
Aquillar
Starting Member
Canada
41 Posts |
Posted - 02 January 2003 : 17:39:44
|
I found some info regarding the moderation. You want to only display topics where T_STATUS (in table FORUM_TOPICS) is equal to 1. 3 means it's on hold, 2 mean it's awaiting approval. 1 means it's approved/displayed) |
|
|
|
Aquillar
Starting Member
Canada
41 Posts |
Posted - 02 January 2003 : 21:33:13
|
Ok! I got it, looked over everything for a bit and I've thrown these lines in so the only topics shown are APPROVED (Even if you don't use the moderation it won't change anything)
All in Content.asp
Around line 264 after: Member_Homepage = arrTopicData(tM_HOMEPAGE, iTopic) Member_Photo_URL = arrTopicData(tM_PHOTO_URL, iTopic) Member_Avatar_URL = arrTopicData(tM_AVATAR_URL, iTopic)
Add: '1 Line from Aquillar IF Topic_Status = 1 THEN
Around line 796 after: " </td>" & vbNewLine & _ " </tr>" & vbNewLine end select
Add: '3 lines from Aquillar ELSE 'Do Nothing END IF
Simple IF statement, worked for me, I don't know if it's the best way, or if it will totally work, but it worked for me
**Edit**
Small problem, topics that have not been approved are being counted, but just not shown. I'm displaying the top 5 of something, and if one of those is something unapproved, only 4 are displayed. Catch my drift? It won't be a problem after a while of posting, but it could turn into bigger problems later. Just something to keep in mind. |
|
Edited by - Aquillar on 02 January 2003 22:36:56 |
|
|
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 03 January 2003 : 01:22:52
|
Yes, I see what the problem is. It needs to be added to the query. The way you did it, it is selected but is not shown. So you get 4/5.
What's odd is that there is a check for T_STATUS = 1 in the query. I am going to work on it and see what's up. You will not need any of that code when the query is fixed because only approved posts should be in the recordset.
@tomic |
SportsBettingAcumen.com |
|
|
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 03 January 2003 : 01:25:02
|
quote:
TopicStatus: Returns open, closed or all topics 0 = returns closed topics 1 = returns open topics 2 = returns open or closed topics
LOL, we again find ourselves in another RTFM situation. This is the third option in the sub.. A setting of 1 should return only approved topics.
@tomic |
SportsBettingAcumen.com |
Edited by - @tomic on 03 January 2003 01:25:42 |
|
|
Aquillar
Starting Member
Canada
41 Posts |
Posted - 03 January 2003 : 15:07:56
|
Well I would like locked topics to be shown too, and I'm not too keen on query's so I don't know which query is selecting the topics or how to get it to select where T_STATUS = 1.
An idea: For the next version add another part to the display sub for moderated topics. 0 displays all approved or not 1 displays only approved topics and for the hell of it why not also throw in 2 displays awaiting approval topics 3 displays topics on hold.
Could be useful for admins for an admin control panel or something. The numbers are the same as whats in the database, and 0 would just be the way it is now (showing all) |
|
|
|
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 03 January 2003 : 15:14:08
|
This shouldn't be too difficult to add since the logic is already in place I just need to add a few options to that part of the query. And it's not which query. There is just one, really long query with lots of logic that adds or ignores topics to the recordset. Do a text search to find where T_STATUS is and you will see that it's got it's own little section. That is actually a decent idea for an admin panel. Let me mess with it and see what I can do.
@tomic |
SportsBettingAcumen.com |
|
|
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 03 January 2003 : 15:19:53
|
select case TopicStatus ' "Filter" based on Topic Status - Open, closed or both
case 0
strSql = strSql & " AND T.T_STATUS = 0"
case 1
strSql = strSql & " AND T.T_STATUS = 1"
case 2
' do nothing - select all topics -- indifferent to TopicStatus
case else
' do nothing - select all topics -- indifferent to TopicStatus
end select
This is the part that sorts out T_STATUS. All it needs are a few more cases.
@tomic |
SportsBettingAcumen.com |
|
|
jkmcgrath
Junior Member
USA
145 Posts |
Posted - 04 January 2003 : 11:31:30
|
I have the latest version from 29 dec and other than some cosmetic issues I have taken care of there is a couple that I need help with.
If a person has a sig in their post then there is a red X on the content page. Also if they have a pic insterted in the post it is a red X.
I have a problem with private forums still showing up when I do not have them enabled in the content display settings.
Also, I am trying to get weblinks to show up that are in a forum of just url's but they wont lol
@tomic is this the same mod you are using on your website as the deafult page? Along with the universal login?
Thanks, John |
Delta Force Seals |
Edited by - jkmcgrath on 04 January 2003 15:01:23 |
|
|
jkmcgrath
Junior Member
USA
145 Posts |
Posted - 05 January 2003 : 10:24:07
|
Update on the private forum settings. If I have the first 3 places set to 0,0,1 then the private forum posts do not show up in the "last 10 posts" in the forum that I want to have on the front page.
Still Strugling with the links issue. |
Delta Force Seals |
|
|
skyhawks
Junior Member
USA
125 Posts |
Posted - 05 January 2003 : 10:29:09
|
@tomic,
Just like to say thanks for the Mod. I have a question. I am using it to show all the latest topics that was posted by users (only listing 5). i also created another displaycontent, but this time I only select what I wanted to be listed (News/Articles). Both are being display on the same frontpage. Because i have one that shows everything, it is also showing the News/article that I posted. Is there a way that I can say display all topics except blah blah blah??? |
----------------------------------------
Website: http://www.johnlophotography.com |
|
|
jkmcgrath
Junior Member
USA
145 Posts |
Posted - 05 January 2003 : 10:54:59
|
I think I understand now why the links is not showing up. THey are considered forums and not topics so we need a setting where you can select to list all the forums in a CatID. Then it would show the links I think.
@Tomic this is one great mod sir! It can be a whole portal in and of its self basicaly. Allowing the freedom needed to format the display to the webmasters liking.
(sorry for all my post on this mod but I love it! And want to help out all I can to make grow)
|
Delta Force Seals |
|
|
Aquillar
Starting Member
Canada
41 Posts |
Posted - 05 January 2003 : 17:34:41
|
The problem could also be the forum config, in the main section there are 3 places for links, verify those.
I had that problem to, I think I fixed it with a combination of restarting the server and playing with different links. |
|
|
|
jkmcgrath
Junior Member
USA
145 Posts |
Posted - 05 January 2003 : 19:03:18
|
Aquillar I am trying to pull url's from my forums. Like I have a forum catagory for resources that are links. (urls) THey are not topics but considered a forum in a catagory and becasue of that I cannot pull them to the front to be displayed on the content page. |
Delta Force Seals |
|
|
Topic |
|