Author |
Topic |
funinbc
Junior Member
245 Posts |
Posted - 05 January 2003 : 23:21:31
|
I sure love this mod !!!!
Does anone know how to move the line from under the description to the end of the post?
here is an example:
|
|
|
jkmcgrath
Junior Member
USA
145 Posts |
Posted - 06 January 2003 : 08:35:04
|
Working on the same thing funinbc. When I get it I will post it.
John |
Delta Force Seals |
|
|
shaft
Starting Member
United Kingdom
42 Posts |
Posted - 06 January 2003 : 15:12:30
|
Yeah I really love this mod as well it is very good multi purpose mod.
I have been away for the Xmas season so I was not able to give you feedback on your last answer to a question. I will do that now after I refresh your memory and then I will post a few new problems (its not as bad as it sounds; I hope.)
I asked you this
quote:
I am not sure on how to implement The 'news.asp', 'Articles.asp' and some of the other *.asp files included in your mod.
Do I need to customize anything in these files before I use them?
Can they be used outside the forum folder or is it best to keep them in the forum folder.
I have been using your 'contentdisplay_tester' file to design a home page or portal for my site. I have been testing inside the forum folder for now. Works great but when I click on the link (which points to 'news.asp') I get the HTTP 500 - Internal server error. Can you think of any reasons why this would happen? How do I get this to work?
and your reply was
quote:
You need to turn off the friendly HTTP errors because that generic 500 error says almost nothing useful. You shouldn't have to customize news.asp or articles.asp to use them. Use them inside the forum.
Duh! what a noob I am
Thanks for this advice now I can try to solve some of the problems before I ask for help and I have gone on to solve many of my problems with this mod. I just have a few more that is giving trouble.
the links to news.asp still don't work. Here is a link to my new test portal. Click on the 'view entire document link to see error or you can find a txt file of it here. the following is the code from line 921 to line 933 and a text file of the full code is here.
if (Forum_Status = 0) then
Response.Write " <a href=""JavaScript:openWindow('pop_open.asp?mode=Forum&FORUM_ID=" & Forum_ID & "&CAT_ID=" & Cat_ID & "')"">" & getCurrentIcon(strIconFolderUnlocked,"Un-Lock Forum","") & "</a>" & vbNewLine
else
if (Topic_Status <> 0) then
Response.Write " <a href=""JavaScript:openWindow('pop_lock.asp?mode=Topic&TOPIC_ID=" & Topic_ID & "&FORUM_ID=" & Forum_ID & "&CAT_ID=" & Cat_ID & "')"">" & getCurrentIcon(strIconFolderLocked,"Lock Topic","") & "</a>" & vbNewLine
else
Response.Write " <a href=""JavaScript:openWindow('pop_open.asp?mode=Topic&TOPIC_ID=" & Topic_ID & "&FORUM_ID=" & Forum_ID & "&CAT_ID=" & Cat_ID & "')"">" & getCurrentIcon(strIconFolderUnlocked,"Un-Lock Topic","") & "</a>" & vbNewLine
end if
end if
end if
if ((Cat_Status <> 0) and (Forum_Status <> 0) and (Topic_Status <> 0g490
)) or (AdminAllowed = 1) then
Response.Write " <a href=""post.asp?" & ArchiveLink & "method=EditTopic&REPLY_ID=" & Topic_ID & "&TOPIC_ID=" & Topic_ID & "&FORUM_ID=" & Forum_ID & """>" & getCurrentIcon(strIconFolderPencil,"Edit Topic","hspace=""0""") & "</a>" & vbNewLine
end if
I have tried to solve the problem but nothing has worked. First I tried changing the following
if ((Cat_Status <> 0) and (Forum_Status <> 0) and (Topic_Status <> 0g490 )) or (AdminAllowed = 1) then
to this
if ((Cat_Status <> 0) and (Forum_Status <> 0) and (Topic_Status <> 0g490)) or (AdminAllowed = 1) then
but that did not work it gave me a similar error that you can find here. What is wrong?
If you when to my test portal using the above link you would have seen that there is a graphic not loading any ideas as to what the problem could be.
My best guess is that it is trying to draw the graphical bar but how to fix lol
|
|
|
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 06 January 2003 : 20:51:47
|
Your problem is that there is no code in this MOD at this time to deal with Shockwave or Flash. I can probably do something at some point for these and it has been a frequent request I haven't been able to get to yet.
What will fix it is not to use Flash or Shockwave for news posts. This is obviously not going to please everyone but until it's written into the safe modes it will not work.
I do plan to look into it but it's been tough to do much of anything for the last few weeks. So please be patient and this one will be resolved.
@tomic |
SportsBettingAcumen.com |
|
|
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 06 January 2003 : 20:58:43
|
To alter a display mode and put the HR tag where you want. Take a look at the display mode you are using and find the HR tag. It usually looks like this:
" <hr color=""" & strHeadCellColor & """ size=""1"">" & vbCrlf & _
Remove it and place that HR tag after the text bar function call:
Call WriteTextBar(strLink)
Response.Write " <hr color=""" & strHeadCellColor & """ size=""1"">" & vbCrlf & _
Hopefully that will do it for you. Maybe a display mode guide would help for those that want to tweak their design. I think many of you would be surprised at how simple they really are once you mess with them.
@tomic |
SportsBettingAcumen.com |
|
|
DJBBIZ
Junior Member
214 Posts |
Posted - 06 January 2003 : 22:21:13
|
Hey @tomic, the flash mode works when I use this in ServerHacker version. It shows up in the recent topics on the portal page except that it moves the icon bar up and over to the right of the flash rather then below it. But you can see the Flash! |
"The difference between good ideas and good results is performance" the management institute | tmiFinance | tmiCreative | ProfileOnDemand |
|
|
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 06 January 2003 : 22:26:18
|
Must've installed the flash forum code tags then. Installing that MOD may be all it takes to fix the flash problem. I would bet that the results still won't look very good unless relative sizes are used or the flash file's dimensions are set with the intention showing up in content display.
@tomic |
SportsBettingAcumen.com |
|
|
jkmcgrath
Junior Member
USA
145 Posts |
Posted - 06 January 2003 : 23:32:32
|
Funinbc Try this.
It replaces the whole #3 Case Select. line 419 approximate.
case 3 ' ///// Detailed: Displays topics with message & details next to topic link
counter = counter + 1
Response.Write "<tr>" & vbNewLine & _
" <td valign=""top"">" & vbNewLine & _
" <table width=""98%"" border=""0"" cellspacing=""0"" cellpadding=""0"" align=""center"" bgcolor=""" & strTableBorderColor & """>" & vbNewLine & _
" <tr>" & vbNewLine & _
" <td valign=""top"" width=""100%"">" & vbNewLine & _
" <table border=""0"" cellspacing=""1"" cellpadding=""3"" width=""100%"">" & vbCrlf & _
" <tr>" & vbNewLine & _
" <td valign=""top"" bgcolor=""" & strCategoryCellColor & """ width=""100%"">" & vbCrlf
Call WriteOrnament(Ornament, counter)
Call WriteSubject2(SubjectLength, T_Topic_ID, MessageLength, strLink)
if Special then
Call WriteSpecial(Special)
end if
Response.Write " </td></tr><TR><td valign=""top"" bgcolor=""" & strForumCellColor & """ width=""100%"">" & vbNewLine
Call WritePostingDetails(T_Topic_ID)
Response.Write"</TD></TR><TR><td valign=""top"" bgcolor=""" & strAltForumCellColor & """ width=""100%"">" & vbCrlf
Call WriteMessage(SafeMode, MessageLength)
Response.Write " <br>" & vbNewLine
Call WriteTextBar(T_Topic_ID, strLink)
Response.Write " </td>" & vbNewLine & _
" </tr>" & vbCrlf & _
" </table>" & vbCrlf & _
" </td>" & vbNewLine & _
" </tr>" & vbCrlf & _
" </table>" & vbCrlf & _
" <br>" & vbCrlf & _
" </td>" & vbCrlf & _
" </tr>" & vbCrlf
It does a lil bit more than remove the <HR> tag. It oulines the cells with the forum colors and and alternates in the forums cell colors. Looks really sharp if I say so myself.
@Tomic anyway to make the Url's (posted with the world icon) that are posted in a catagory showup in the content? |
Delta Force Seals |
|
|
shaft
Starting Member
United Kingdom
42 Posts |
Posted - 06 January 2003 : 23:39:52
|
Hi @tomic I know you are busy but I don't understand which one of my questions you were answering the first was about an error I got after clink to go to the news.asp (the one with the expected bracket) the other was about the graphic bar. Please indication for which of my above problems you are referring to. Thanks |
|
|
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 07 January 2003 : 00:28:55
|
Weird. I have no idea what happened here. That line is not the same as the one on my site.
Find:
if ((Cat_Status <> 0) and (Forum_Status <> 0) and (Topic_Status <> 0g490
)) or (AdminAllowed = 1) then
Make it look like this:
if ((Cat_Status <> 0) and (Forum_Status <> 0) and (Topic_Status <> 0)) or (AdminAllowed = 1) then
The other issue I would think involves your preview text length. It is cutting an image tag off before it is completed. I have a lot of trouble with images and often need to adjust the text in the post to either show an image or move the image further down so it is skipped altogether.
Oh, and someone asked if this was the same code I am using on my site and the answer is yes.
@tomic
|
SportsBettingAcumen.com |
Edited by - @tomic on 07 January 2003 00:29:26 |
|
|
Steve D.
Average Member
USA
640 Posts |
Posted - 07 January 2003 : 00:40:08
|
I noticed an error on content.asp
line 372 change
Call WritePostingDetails() to
Call WritePostingDetails(T_Topic_ID)
line 376 change
Call WriteTextBar(strLink) to
Call WriteTextBar(T_Topic_ID, strLink) |
Swing Dancing Video Clips - It's All Swing! Forum |
|
|
shaft
Starting Member
United Kingdom
42 Posts |
Posted - 07 January 2003 : 00:52:45
|
lol @tomic I had just figured it out and was about to post that I found the error when I saw Your last post. Thanks but now after making that change there is a new error. See below.
Microsoft JET Database Engine error '80040e10'
No value given for one or more required parameters.
/st/forum/news.asp, line 132
and here is the on that line and some lines above (last line is line 132)
end if strSql = strSql & " FROM " & strActivePrefix & "TOPICS T, " & strTablePrefix & "FORUM F, " & _ strTablePrefix & "CATEGORY C, " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS M " & _ " WHERE T.TOPIC_ID = " & Topic_ID & _ " AND F.FORUM_ID = T.FORUM_ID " & _ " AND C.CAT_ID = T.CAT_ID " & _ " AND M.MEMBER_ID = T.T_AUTHOR "
set rsTopic = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset") rsTopic.open strSql, my_Conn, adOpenForwardOnly, adLockReadOnly, adCmdText
If you need to see the forum and entire code please use the previous post I made
|
Edited by - shaft on 07 January 2003 00:54:37 |
|
|
shaft
Starting Member
United Kingdom
42 Posts |
Posted - 07 January 2003 : 01:09:21
|
Thanks jkmcgrath I really like that display mode you posted for Funinbc above
quote:
Funinbc Try this.
It replaces the whole #3 Case Select. line 419 approximate. ....
wow very cool can you make it show the avitars as well |
|
|
funinbc
Junior Member
245 Posts |
Posted - 07 January 2003 : 01:35:29
|
quote: Originally posted by jkmcgrath
Funinbc Try this.
It replaces the whole #3 Case Select. line 419 approximate.
case 3 ' ///// Detailed: Displays topics with message & details next to topic link
counter = counter + 1
Response.Write "<tr>" & vbNewLine & _
" <td valign=""top"">" & vbNewLine & _
" <table width=""98%"" border=""0"" cellspacing=""0"" cellpadding=""0"" align=""center"" bgcolor=""" & strTableBorderColor & """>" & vbNewLine & _
" <tr>" & vbNewLine & _
" <td valign=""top"" width=""100%"">" & vbNewLine & _
" <table border=""0"" cellspacing=""1"" cellpadding=""3"" width=""100%"">" & vbCrlf & _
" <tr>" & vbNewLine & _
" <td valign=""top"" bgcolor=""" & strCategoryCellColor & """ width=""100%"">" & vbCrlf
Call WriteOrnament(Ornament, counter)
Call WriteSubject2(SubjectLength, T_Topic_ID, MessageLength, strLink)
if Special then
Call WriteSpecial(Special)
end if
Response.Write " </td></tr><TR><td valign=""top"" bgcolor=""" & strForumCellColor & """ width=""100%"">" & vbNewLine
Call WritePostingDetails(T_Topic_ID)
Response.Write"</TD></TR><TR><td valign=""top"" bgcolor=""" & strAltForumCellColor & """ width=""100%"">" & vbCrlf
Call WriteMessage(SafeMode, MessageLength)
Response.Write " <br>" & vbNewLine
Call WriteTextBar(T_Topic_ID, strLink)
Response.Write " </td>" & vbNewLine & _
" </tr>" & vbCrlf & _
" </table>" & vbCrlf & _
" </td>" & vbNewLine & _
" </tr>" & vbCrlf & _
" </table>" & vbCrlf & _
" <br>" & vbCrlf & _
" </td>" & vbCrlf & _
" </tr>" & vbCrlf
It does a lil bit more than remove the <HR> tag. It oulines the cells with the forum colors and and alternates in the forums cell colors. Looks really sharp if I say so myself.
THANK YOU !!
just one question could you have a look at: http://www.funinbc.com/ and see if it is doing what you thought?
I see you use strAltForumCellColor it sure would look good like that can you think of anything that is stopping it from working?
here is a link to my content file
http://www.funinbc.com/temp/content.txt
thanks a bunch
|
Edited by - funinbc on 07 January 2003 01:42:42 |
|
|
shaft
Starting Member
United Kingdom
42 Posts |
Posted - 07 January 2003 : 02:18:43
|
yeah I see what you are saying funinbc. You did get the horizontal rule between post you wanted but It does not look like mine. Take a look at my unfinised test portal here to see how it should.
I have tried to add the avitars to it with some success so picture it without the avitars and thats how it should look.
|
Edited by - shaft on 07 January 2003 02:19:25 |
|
|
Topic |
|