Author |
Topic |
Raichelle
Junior Member
370 Posts |
Posted - 13 August 2001 : 14:28:17
|
No i didn't i used mine and i tried to umm copy and paste some the lines on yours but no luck but anyways umm for the glowing is this the finally code because this the only one i can find
glow fString = replace(fString, "<font face='arial' id='glow' style='width:100%;filter:glow();color:ff9900'>", "[glow]", 1, -1, 1) fString = replace(fString, "</font id='glow'>", "[/glow]", 1, -1, 1)
fString = doCode(fString, "[glow]", "[/glow]", "<font face='arial' id='glow' style='width:100%;filter:glow();color:ff9900'>", "</font id='glow'>")
BTW your members.asp page is really hot am trying see if i can change mine like that with your members.txt file hopefully i might get this one. also i don't need to edit any other files right? only the members.asp?
thanks for the help rai
Edited by - raichelle on 13 August 2001 14:33:57 |
|
|
dayve
Forum Moderator
USA
5820 Posts |
Posted - 16 August 2001 : 00:11:48
|
I decided to make a slight mod to this mod but I have not incorporated it yet with the download nor instructions. I placed the actual number of the post as it relates to ALL posts on the forum. right now I have over 10,000 posts and each topic or reply is stamped with this number. now you have another reference instead of the date to relate when the post was actually done.
Here is an example...
Click Here for Demo
just look next to the post date and time...
Dayve |
|
|
MDGamezz
Junior Member
USA
100 Posts |
Posted - 16 August 2001 : 13:59:50
|
Nice addition Dayve. I've made a few simple changes to show the City , state, and country as well. This info can be of use to others on my board.
Maybe you or one of the others here can help me with this. I would like to show the ip address after the stars. I know I can view it other ways. I would just prefer it be shown here. I am able to get the ip to show.(last Ip) But it was viewable by all members. I only want the admins to see it. Thats when I start having problems. If you prefer I can repost this in another category for help if you dont have time. Thanks
MDGamezz |
|
|
dayve
Forum Moderator
USA
5820 Posts |
Posted - 16 August 2001 : 14:37:58
|
I don't use the city, country info but that's where I would have put it too. as for the ip address that is pretty easy. you have to add a read in your select statements here (2 places):
'## Forum_SQL - Get all topicsFrom DB .. .. strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "REPLY.REPLY_ID, " strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "REPLY.R_AUTHOR, " strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "REPLY.TOPIC_ID, " strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "REPLY.R_MESSAGE, " strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "REPLY.R_DATE, " strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "REPLY.R_POSTS, " strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "REPLY.R_IP, " strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "REPLY.R_POST_NO, " strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "REPLY.R_MSGICON "
'## Forum_SQL - Get Origional Posting .. .. strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "TOPICS.TOPIC_ID, " & strTablePrefix & "TOPICS.T_MSGICON, " & strTablePrefix & "TOPICS.T_MESSAGE, " & strTablePrefix & "TOPICS.T_IP, " & strTablePrefix & "TOPICS.T_POST_NO, " & strTablePrefix & "TOPICS.T_POSTS "
and then you can place the value <% T_IP %> in your topics area and <% R_IP %> in your reply area respectively next to your city, country information. You will want to enclose this information in a admin check like this:
<% if (AdminAllowed = 1) then %><% T_IP %><% end_if %>
and
<% if (AdminAllowed = 1) then %><% R_IP %><% end_if %>
let me know if you have any problems...
Dayve |
|
|
dayve
Forum Moderator
USA
5820 Posts |
Posted - 16 August 2001 : 14:42:41
|
on a side note, I am using the real estate where you put the city and country for testing and using big9erfan's member ranking mod, just check out my site..
Click Here
Dayve |
|
|
MDGamezz
Junior Member
USA
100 Posts |
Posted - 16 August 2001 : 18:37:53
|
Thanks for the help Dayve. After adding what you posted here. I have the same problem I was getting while trying to add the ip. ================================================================= Microsoft VBScript compilation error '800a040e'
'loop' without 'do'
/forum/topic.asp, line 438
loop ^ =================================================================== Heres the code form that area of topic.asp
rs.MoveNext intI = intI + 1 if intI = 2 then intI = 0 end if rec = rec + 1 #438 loop end if %> </table></td> </tr>
I downloaded Big9ersfan ranking mod earlier today just havent got around to adding it yet. I'll have to consider where to add it in.
Thanks
MDGamezz
Edited by - mdgamezz on 16 August 2001 18:56:23 |
|
|
dayve
Forum Moderator
USA
5820 Posts |
Posted - 17 August 2001 : 13:24:21
|
hmm, that seems unrelated but let me do the code for myself here and see what I get, if I can get it to work, then maybe you can post your file here so I can look and/or make the edits myself... it really did look easy to do
Dayve
Edited by - dayve on 17 August 2001 13:24:42 |
|
|
bjlt
Senior Member
1144 Posts |
Posted - 17 August 2001 : 13:39:46
|
dayve, I saw you have last visit on the page. do you use the time zone mod as well?
I can't get correct last here date/time with time zone mod installed. do you get the same probem? if not, what should i do?
thanks a lot.
|
|
|
dayve
Forum Moderator
USA
5820 Posts |
Posted - 17 August 2001 : 14:52:48
|
I don't use the time zone mod, to me it is just not worth it, but that is my personal preference...
as for the IP siutation, here is what I think is the best approach. there is a two places in the topic.asp that have this:
<% if (strIPLogging = "1") then %> <% if (AdminAllowed = 1) or (strNoCookies = "1") then %> <a href="JavaScript:openWindow('topic.asp?mode=getIP&REPLY_ID=<% =rs("REPLY_ID") %>&FORUM_ID=<% =Request.QueryString("FORUM_ID") %>')"><img src="icon_ip.gif" alt="View user's IP address" border="0" align="absmiddle" hspace="0"></a> <% end if %> <% end if %>
I removed it from that area and placed it here with these changes:
<td bgcolor="<% =CColor %>" <% if (AdminAllowed = 1) then %>colspan="3"<% else %>colspan="2"<% end if %> valign="top"><img src='icon_mi_<% =rs("R_MSGICON") %>.gif' border="0" hspace="0"><font color="<% =strForumFontColor %>" face="<% =strDefaultFontFace %>" size="<% =strFooterFontSize %>"> <% =ChkDate(rs("R_DATE")) %> -<% =ChkTime(rs("R_DATE")) %> |
<% if (strIPLogging = "1") then %> <% if (AdminAllowed = 1) or (strNoCookies = "1") then %> <% =rs("R_IP") %> | <% end if %> <% end if %>
make sure you do the same for the TOPIC area, the above is for the REPLY area, and of course ensure you are reading T_IP and R_IP respectively in the SELECT statements as noted previously
here is an example screen shot:
let me know if you require some additional assistance.
Dayve
Edited by - dayve on 17 August 2001 14:53:24 |
|
|
MDGamezz
Junior Member
USA
100 Posts |
Posted - 17 August 2001 : 18:31:20
|
Thanks Dayve I'll give it a try tonight or tomorrow and let you know if i get it.
MDGamezz |
|
|
rick7165
Senior Member
USA
1094 Posts |
|
dayve
Forum Moderator
USA
5820 Posts |
Posted - 18 August 2001 : 00:14:24
|
this is because you have a bunch of graphics and other info in the first cell (avatars, flags, etc). there really is not way of doing this without making a mess of the existing code.
Dayve
Edited by - dayve on 18 August 2001 00:17:02 |
|
|
rick7165
Senior Member
USA
1094 Posts |
Posted - 18 August 2001 : 00:32:27
|
Yea... I know, but I only use that site to test mods... So it's full of stuff... LOL
I had this problem before and someone helpled me fix it.
BTW... This mod is awesome! Thanks
Test Site: http://www.eastpasco.com running on Huw's Code 3.3.09 SQL 2000 |
|
|
dayve
Forum Moderator
USA
5820 Posts |
Posted - 18 August 2001 : 10:42:51
|
I have an idea on how to resolve this, thought of it last night. Instead of having 1 row and 2 columns per post, I could easily make it 2 rows 2 columns and make it seamless to the viewer. It could look something like this:
============================== |dayve | blah. blah. blah | | | | | | | | | | ============================== | |post # of # ..... | ==============================
instead of this:
============================== |dayve | blah. blah. blah | | | | | | | | |post # of # ..... | | | | | | | ==============================
would you be interested in that? This would take care of the issue you are having.
Dayve
Edited by - dayve on 18 August 2001 10:44:53
Edited by - dayve on 18 August 2001 10:46:26
Edited by - dayve on 18 August 2001 14:06:36 |
|
|
MDGamezz
Junior Member
USA
100 Posts |
Posted - 18 August 2001 : 12:47:35
|
I added this below the message area. <p>& n b s p ;</p> (had to space it out here) Just before <hr noshade size="<% =strFooterFontSize %>">
It creats enough space to cover the area for the avatar. Its not perfect but it seems to do the trick. Then again I only have avatars , not all of the other pics that you have. Only thing is you will always get this space. I dont mind it as it keeps things from getting cluttered to close together.
Heres a screen shot.
MDGamezz
Edited by - mdgamezz on 18 August 2001 13:00:38 |
|
|
Topic |
|