Author |
Topic |
GauravBhabu
Advanced Member
4288 Posts |
Posted - 25 July 2001 : 10:20:52
|
quote:
Thanks alot GauravBhabu. Someday I will understand why this happens. You win my vote for most this weeks most helpful forum member. Hey there's an idea for a mod... simonduz
http://easyromantic.webbhost.net -[test site]- yada, yada.
Are you able to get rid of the empty spaces. Because I see no differnce on your test site.
Checkout forumSquare
gauravbhabu
There is only one miracle...That is LIFE! |
|
|
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 27 July 2001 : 03:39:30
|
content.asp Lines 839-841
if DisplaySpecial > Session(strCookieURL & "last_here_date") then ' CHECK FOR NEW STATUS CheckIsSpecial = "<img width='" & intNewWidth & "' height='" & intNewHeight & "' src='" & strGraphicsPath & strNew & "'> " end if
The img was missing. My lines may not match up 100% but look for the code, it should be around there somewhere.
@tomic
|
|
|
GauravBhabu
Advanced Member
4288 Posts |
Posted - 27 July 2001 : 08:48:09
|
I do not see the image missing. It is there.
Share A Square at forumSquare
gauravbhabu
There is only one miracle...That is LIFE! |
|
|
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 27 July 2001 : 11:59:50
|
That's really strange because I had a broken image tag until I found that and added that. I found a few other problems too that I am going to have to backtrack and post. On many of the "read more" links, if you click them, the navigation tree at the top left comes up blank("All Forums, etc).
@tomic
|
|
|
GauravBhabu
Advanced Member
4288 Posts |
Posted - 27 July 2001 : 13:35:11
|
Under what display mode you get the errors with read more link.
Share A Square at forumSquare
gauravbhabu
There is only one miracle...That is LIFE! |
|
|
TheRat
Starting Member
United Kingdom
19 Posts |
Posted - 27 July 2001 : 14:57:36
|
quote:
TheRat,
Looking at your inc_functions for about 2 seconds it is PLAIN to see you did NOT make the changes stated by GauravBhabu
he said
quote:
*********************** Inc_functions *********************** I do not have F_USERLIST in FORUM_FORUM so I changed it to:(need posting restrictions mod). If you have this field in your table then you need not make these changes
Find this statement
'strSql = "SELECT " & strTablePrefix & "FORUM.F_USERLIST, " & strTablePrefix & "FORUM.F_PRIVATEFORUMS "
change it to:
strSql = "SELECT " & strTablePrefix & "FORUM.F_TOPIC_AUTH, " & strTablePrefix & "FORUM.F_PRIVATEFORUMS "
Find this code: 'if Instr(rsAccess("F_USERLIST"), ", ") > 0 then ' Users = Split(rsAccess("F_USERLIST"), ", ") 'elseif trim(rsAccess("F_USERLIST")) <> "" then ' Only 1 member assigned to forum ' chkDisplayPrivateForum = (cint(rsAccess("F_USERLIST")) = cint(UserNum)) ' exit function 'else ' No members assigned to forum ' chkDisplayPrivateForum = false ' exit function 'end if
change it to if Instr(rsAccess("F_TOPIC_AUTH"), ", ") > 0 then Users = Split(rsAccess("F_TOPIC_AUTH"), ", ") elseif trim(rsAccess("F_TOPIC_AUTH")) <> "" then ' Only 1 member assigned to forum chkDisplayPrivateForum = (cint(rsAccess("F_TOPIC_AUTH")) = cint(UserNum)) exit function else ' No members assigned to forum chkDisplayPrivateForum = false exit function end if
There are two instances of it.
Also look for my post earlier for another change. This Mod can be used for displaying content from all the tables with modifications or additional case statements and queries. The logic for the Mod is simple what the thought behind the idea is really great.It is great work. And Works like a CHARM.
gauravbhabu
There is only one miracle...That is LIFE!
Edited by - GauravBhabu on 17 July 2001 22:13:00
http://www.ugfl.net/forums
The chanegs above have been made this time, but am still having problems. When logged in you can see the content. When you log out i receive the error as before
Microsoft JET Database Engine (0x80040E10) No value given for one or more required parameters. /test/forum/inc_functions.asp, line 70
http://www11.brinkster.com/therat/test/inc_functions.txt Any help appreciated
|
|
|
GauravBhabu
Advanced Member
4288 Posts |
Posted - 27 July 2001 : 15:28:40
|
The error is when a call is made to function chkDisplayPrivateForum. This call is made from line number 355 in content.asp
if cint(ForumStatus) = 0 or (cint(ForumStatus) = 1 and chkDisplayForum(rs("FORUM_ID"))) or (cint(ForumStatus) = 2 and chkDisplayPrivateForum(rs("FORUM_ID"))) then
Check if you are getting values to pass to the function
Add these lines just before the above code. And see what it prints out
Response.write "ForumID = " & (rs("FORUM_ID")) Response.end
Share A Square at forumSquare
gauravbhabu
There is only one miracle...That is LIFE! |
|
|
TheRat
Starting Member
United Kingdom
19 Posts |
Posted - 27 July 2001 : 17:13:37
|
quote:
The error is when a call is made to function chkDisplayPrivateForum. This call is made from line number 355 in content.asp
if cint(ForumStatus) = 0 or (cint(ForumStatus) = 1 and chkDisplayForum(rs("FORUM_ID"))) or (cint(ForumStatus) = 2 and chkDisplayPrivateForum(rs("FORUM_ID"))) then
Check if you are getting values to pass to the function
Add these lines just before the above code. And see what it prints out
Response.write "ForumID = " & (rs("FORUM_ID")) Response.end
Share A Square at forumSquare
gauravbhabu
There is only one miracle...That is LIFE!
Added the above code and it displays ForumID=17. I am just learning ASP so unsure what this means. I have checked in the Database and ForumID of 17 does exist. Is there something else I should be looking for, thanks
|
|
|
GauravBhabu
Advanced Member
4288 Posts |
Posted - 27 July 2001 : 18:21:48
|
quote: The chanegs above have been made this time, but am still having problems. When logged in you can see the content. When you log out i receive the error as before
Okay you also said you get the error when you logout. logout as admin or logout from the forum?? If you can tell me the link to your site I want to see the error message.
Tell me if you have any records in table FORUM_DC_TEMPLATES.
What are the ID Nos. What are the values under parameters for each ID.
Are you trying to DisplayContent on a page, if yes then what are the values you are using: <% DisplayContent ?,?,?,?,?,?,?,? %>
I also want to see your content_displayeditor.asp. How is this getting Number 17. Are you entering it.
Share A Square at forumSquare
gauravbhabu
There is only one miracle...That is LIFE!
Edited by - gauravbhabu on 27 July 2001 18:23:24 |
|
|
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 27 July 2001 : 21:02:04
|
quote: Under what display mode you get the errors with read more link.
So far display modes 0 and 1. I will need to play with them so more. I added some additional code to the querystring and was able to get 2/3 of the navigation to show but that was it.
I added &Forum_Title=<% =ChkString(rs("F_SUBJECT"),"urlpath") %>" but probably just need to add the Topic_Title part to finish it.
Has anyone else had to scroll 5 miles or so to the right to find the post reply form??
@tomic
|
|
|
Rob Poretti
Junior Member
Canada
435 Posts |
Posted - 06 August 2001 : 19:13:37
|
Hi Folks,
Just got back from three weeks of holidays -- haven't unpacked yet! I'll start sorting thru issues tomorrow morning, but I want to thank GauravBhabu, @tomic, big9erfan and others for there support to others while I've been gone...
Cheers!
Rob Poretti Sascom Marketing Group ~ Toronto vox.905.825.5373 fax.905.825.5960 |
|
|
GauravBhabu
Advanced Member
4288 Posts |
Posted - 07 August 2001 : 11:20:29
|
Welcome Back. Great Mod. Take the Charge. It was pleasure to do the job.
Share A Square at forumSquare
gauravbhabu
There is only one miracle...That is LIFE! |
|
|
z-man
Starting Member
Netherlands
41 Posts |
Posted - 08 August 2001 : 03:06:37
|
Does anyone know if this mod is compliant with Snitz v3.3? Are there any mods that are compliant with the new version of Snitz?
|
|
|
Rob Poretti
Junior Member
Canada
435 Posts |
Posted - 08 August 2001 : 09:19:50
|
quote:
Does anyone know if this mod is compliant with Snitz v3.3? Are there any mods that are compliant with the new version of Snitz?
I am not using 3.3 yet.... it came out while I was away and I'm not even sure what the changes are...
Last night I went looking for Snitz links for all the MOD dependencies for Content Dipslay Mod, so that people could have easy access to this information. Couldn't find the MOD: Category and Forum Sorting (new version) until Richard Kinser emailed me the link -- it turns out it had been archived. I tried doing a "search" in the archives, but I got an ADO error (Moderators/Development staff, take note!) I have added these dependency links in the very first message of this topic.
Richard also mentions that "This has been added to v3.3 so the database field should already be there for those that are using v3.3". Thanks Richard!
Been busy first day back... (a zillion emails!) I will try to get to some other issues today.
Cheers!
Rob Poretti Sascom Marketing Group ~ Toronto vox.905.825.5373 fax.905.825.5960
Edited by - Rob Poretti on 08 August 2001 09:20:30 |
|
|
z-man
Starting Member
Netherlands
41 Posts |
Posted - 08 August 2001 : 09:45:56
|
Rob,
Maybe we have to start a new topic with issues with the display mod and snitz v3.3 (and if there are not any issues do not start the new topic).
I will have a look this evening.
Jeroen
|
|
|
Topic |
|