Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Snitz Forums 2000 MOD-Group
 MOD Add-On Forum (W/Code)
 Using video/flash in topics?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 17

MarcelG
Retired Support Moderator

Netherlands
2625 Posts

Posted - 20 February 2006 :  04:17:43  Show Profile  Visit MarcelG's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I think I've found the cause of the problems with this mod outside the oxle code ; on oxle.com topic.asp includes inc_func_posting.asp ; inc_func_posting.asp includes the cleancode function.
In the functions, this function is called as shown below:
strCodeText = Trim(CleanCode(strCodeText))

If you comment out this line from the various functions, it will work.
However, this may provide a possible 'security risk' with respect to cross site scripting.
Therefore, you should change this:
Replace all instances of this code:
					strCodeText = Trim(CleanCode(strCodeText))
 					'strip all possible javascript code from between the tags
 					if instr(strCodeText,",") > 0 or _
 					instr(strCodeText,")") >0 or _
 					instr(strCodeText,"(") >0 or _
 					instr(strCodeText,";") >0 or _
 					instr(strCodeText,"""") >0 or _
 					instr(strCodeText,",") >0 then
	 					strCodeText = "illegal"
 					end if

with this code:
					'strCodeText = Trim(CleanCode(strCodeText))
 					'strip all possible javascript code from between the tags
 					if instr(strCodeText,",") > 0 or _
 					instr(strCodeText,")") >0 or _
 					instr(strCodeText,"(") >0 or _
 					instr(strCodeText,";") >0 or _
 					instr(strCodeText,"""") >0 or _
 					instr(strCodeText,"<") >0 or _
 					instr(strCodeText,">") >0 or _
 					instr(strCodeText,"[") >0 or _
 					instr(strCodeText,"]") >0 or _
 					instr(strCodeText,",") >0 then
	 					strCodeText = "illegal"
 					end if

I've also updated the original instructions, so you can also copy the new functions from there.<

portfolio - linkshrinker - oxle - twitter

Edited by - MarcelG on 20 February 2006 04:35:36
Go to Top of Page

ILLHILL
Junior Member

Netherlands
341 Posts

Posted - 20 February 2006 :  13:23:52  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I got it to work.
I had to add 'end if' underneath 'strCodeText = "illegal"' in the 'Function ReplaceFlashTags(fString)' part, near the end of the function.

This Mod is beautiful!

Greets & much thanks!

Dominic
<

CLPPR.com - All The News Only Seconds Away
Go to Top of Page

MarcelG
Retired Support Moderator

Netherlands
2625 Posts

Posted - 20 February 2006 :  13:55:07  Show Profile  Visit MarcelG's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Thanks for that feedback! I'll update the instructions once again....(I guess I'll have to be more accurate, even/especially on a monday morning )<

portfolio - linkshrinker - oxle - twitter
Go to Top of Page

weeweeslap
Senior Member

USA
1077 Posts

Posted - 20 February 2006 :  18:18:53  Show Profile  Visit weeweeslap's Homepage  Send weeweeslap an AOL message  Send weeweeslap a Yahoo! Message  Reply with Quote
hmmm I will reinstall it and add such code and see if it works then.<

coaster crazy
Go to Top of Page

weeweeslap
Senior Member

USA
1077 Posts

Posted - 21 February 2006 :  03:13:10  Show Profile  Visit weeweeslap's Homepage  Send weeweeslap an AOL message  Send weeweeslap a Yahoo! Message  Reply with Quote
it works, thanks!<

coaster crazy
Go to Top of Page

MarcelG
Retired Support Moderator

Netherlands
2625 Posts

Posted - 21 February 2006 :  04:13:17  Show Profile  Visit MarcelG's Homepage  Reply with Quote
You're welcome! Glad to see it's a working mod now! At last.... <

portfolio - linkshrinker - oxle - twitter
Go to Top of Page

AnonJr
Moderator

United States
5768 Posts

Posted - 21 February 2006 :  08:45:27  Show Profile  Visit AnonJr's Homepage  Reply with Quote
And this code is set for semi-standard forums?

I may have to give it a shot this weekend. <
Go to Top of Page

MarcelG
Retired Support Moderator

Netherlands
2625 Posts

Posted - 21 February 2006 :  08:56:34  Show Profile  Visit MarcelG's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Well, with the last updated instructions, it can be installed on the basecode.<

portfolio - linkshrinker - oxle - twitter
Go to Top of Page

AnonJr
Moderator

United States
5768 Posts

Posted - 21 February 2006 :  13:17:23  Show Profile  Visit AnonJr's Homepage  Reply with Quote
'Nother item on the ole "to-do" for the weekend. <
Go to Top of Page

Karel Bata
Junior Member

United Kingdom
122 Posts

Posted - 22 February 2006 :  09:51:38  Show Profile  Visit Karel Bata's Homepage  Reply with Quote

Hi guys,

Sorry to butt in.

What you're doing here is exactly what I'm looking for. I'm running a forum at http://ukfilm.forumco.com/ (currently semi-closed down, but due for a re-launch) aimed at UK film-makers, and this thing of embedding a video is exactly what I'd like to do on a sister forum I want to set up.

For all kinds of reasons I don't want to run a forum off my own server, but am happy (sort of) to pay a forum provider that will give me what I want. If any of you guys can provide that, or know where else I can go, I'd be very grateful.

(In fact, I'd say that someone offering a forum service with this functionality would do very well indeed!)
<

Go to Top of Page

MarcelG
Retired Support Moderator

Netherlands
2625 Posts

Posted - 22 February 2006 :  11:12:33  Show Profile  Visit MarcelG's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Karel ; you can get a free (sub)forum (and paid private forum) at oxle.com
See here for more info: http://oxle.com/article.asp?art=3064<

portfolio - linkshrinker - oxle - twitter
Go to Top of Page

Karel Bata
Junior Member

United Kingdom
122 Posts

Posted - 22 February 2006 :  18:35:48  Show Profile  Visit Karel Bata's Homepage  Reply with Quote

I don't get the impression that I can customise it as much as I did Forumco's to get the one I have at http://ukfilm.forumco.com/ Or am I wrong?


Very much to my surprise the video doesn't have to load afresh when I've rebooted the PC and accessed the thread again. So it's stored in my temp cache? That's cool. And even though Quicktime is set for 'fast start' the file only downloads when you hit play? Cool too.

What happens if you try playing a file outside of the size you've set? It looks bad? Is it not possible to have parameters that will resize the picture window to whatever's being downloaded? Or centre it within a big window?<

Edited by - Karel Bata on 22 February 2006 19:34:14
Go to Top of Page

Podge
Support Moderator

Ireland
3775 Posts

Posted - 22 February 2006 :  19:39:59  Show Profile  Send Podge an ICQ Message  Send Podge a Yahoo! Message  Reply with Quote
The html can be setup so that the players like Windows Media Player & Quicktime don't start buffering until the play button pressed. Marcel's mod allows a user to post a few different formats, they don't have to post in all four formats but they could if they wanted to.

Does the copyright issues not bother you (being a film maker) ? From a hosts point of view (and the abuse that could arise) it could be a lot of trouble. I have considered a few options myself, mainly integrating http://video.google.com or http://www.youtube.com as they both provide an easy (relatively) way of posting video. As they host the video, audio, etc. copyright and bandwidth issues are their responsibility.

Marcel, it should be easy enough to add YouTube if you're interested, all you have to do is capture a querystring. Google will be a lot harder though.<

Podge.

The Hunger Site - Click to donate free food | My Blog | Snitz 3.4.05 AutoInstall (Beta!)

My Mods: CAPTCHA Mod | GateKeeper Mod
Tutorial: Enable subscriptions on your board

Warning: The post above or below may contain nuts.
Go to Top of Page

MarcelG
Retired Support Moderator

Netherlands
2625 Posts

Posted - 23 February 2006 :  02:28:59  Show Profile  Visit MarcelG's Homepage  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Karel Bata


I don't get the impression that I can customise it as much as I did Forumco's to get the one I have at http://ukfilm.forumco.com/ Or am I wrong?

Nope, you're right. There's no customising, except for the logo.

quote:
Originally posted by Karel Bata

Very much to my surprise the video doesn't have to load afresh when I've rebooted the PC and accessed the thread again. So it's stored in my temp cache? That's cool. And even though Quicktime is set for 'fast start' the file only downloads when you hit play? Cool too.
Yep. Please realize that it's just the <embed> tag, so normal HTML. No actual streaming of the video from your forum/site, if the file isn't stored on your site.
quote:
What happens if you try playing a file outside of the size you've set? It looks bad? Is it not possible to have parameters that will resize the picture window to whatever's being downloaded? Or centre it within a big window?
That depends a bit on the platform/player you're using, and the codec used.
For Flash, you won't see any quality decrease.

I've also got the code that allows admins to post specific size parameters for the video's ; see http://oxle.com/topic.asp?tid=3392&SearchTerms=ewmv#31697

quote:
Originally posted by Podge

Marcel, it should be easy enough to add YouTube if you're interested, all you have to do is capture a querystring. Google will be a lot harder though.
If you've got the trick for YourTube, I'm all ears.
GoogleVideo is actually much easier than you might think.
It's just flash, and since a couple of weeks they've got the 'put on your site' option, which provides the source-url for the embed-tag.
Being flash, [flash][/flash] around that GoogleVideo URL works as a charm.
I guess the same applies to YourTube, but they don't have the 'put on your site' option yet.

BTW ; I modded my linkshrinker to auto-create a videoplayer URL for GoogleVideo-'put on my site'-urls. Very handy.<

portfolio - linkshrinker - oxle - twitter

Edited by - MarcelG on 23 February 2006 02:34:51
Go to Top of Page

Podge
Support Moderator

Ireland
3775 Posts

Posted - 23 February 2006 :  06:32:55  Show Profile  Send Podge an ICQ Message  Send Podge a Yahoo! Message  Reply with Quote
I'm aware of the "Put video on site" Google code. I managed to insert a video on a post and it worked after a bit of fiddling. Ideally a user would just copy the code into a post but this presents security issues which should be checked (ideally) both client and server side. The Google code itself is too complicated to expect a user to extract the correct bit.

For youTube, the best way is to take the permalink not the code they provide. Then use a simple regex to extract the querystring and then build the code from that. It means that the user just has to enter one link and the correct code gets inserted.

Forgot to say earlier that this mod rocks bigtime. I've been meaning to contact you about something else in the last few weeks but have been too busy.<

Podge.

The Hunger Site - Click to donate free food | My Blog | Snitz 3.4.05 AutoInstall (Beta!)

My Mods: CAPTCHA Mod | GateKeeper Mod
Tutorial: Enable subscriptions on your board

Warning: The post above or below may contain nuts.
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 17 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Previous Page | Next Page
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.18 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07