Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Snitz Forums 2000 MOD-Group
 MOD Add-On Forum (W/Code)
 Signature Limit Mod
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Sonic
New Member

Germany
82 Posts

Posted - 23 July 2005 :  12:09:06  Show Profile  Visit Sonic's Homepage  Reply with Quote
idea from --> http://forum.snitz.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=55547

in this mod you can edit the maximal height from the signature anything that is higher will be hidden

__________________________________________________

to install:

go to admin pannel and add this to the database:

[INSERT]
CONFIG_NEW
(C_VARIABLE, C_VALUE)#('STRSIGMAXHEIGHT', 65)
[END]


open the config.asp and ad this:
search --> Dim strSignatures, strDSignatures,
replase --> Dim strSignatures, strDSignatures, strSIGMaxHeight,
search --> strDSignatures = Application(strCookieURL & "STRDSIGNATURES")
add below --> strSIGMaxHeight = Application(strCookieURL & "STRSIGMAXHEIGHT")

open admin_config_features.asp and ad:
(you may modificate it because i speak german!)
ad after --> Err_Msg = ""

if Request.Form("strSIGMaxHeight") = "" then
Err_Msg = Err_Msg & "max. Signaturhöhe fehlt<br>"
elseif IsNumeric(Request.Form("strSIGMaxHeight")) = False then
Err_Msg = Err_Msg & "max. Signaturhöhe muß eine Nummer sein<br>"
elseif cLng(Request.Form("strSIGMaxHeight")) = 0 then
Err_Msg = Err_Msg & "max. Signaturhöhe darf <FONT class=font4>nicht 0</FONT> sein<br>"
end if


add after the allow signature option (in the middle of the page):
(You may modificate it because i have a other design of the page!)
<TR>
<TD><FONT class="font1">Max. Signaturen Höhe:</FONT></TD>
<TD colspan=2><FONT class="font0"><input type="text" name="strSIGMaxHeight" size="3" maxLength="3" value="<% = chkExistElse(strSIGMaxHeight,65) %>"> Pixel</FONT></TD>
</TR>


and at last open topic.asp:
search --> <font color=""" & strForumFontColor & """ face=""" & strDefaultFontFace & """ size=""" & strDefaultFontSize & """>" & formatStr(Reply_MemberSig) & "</span></font></td>" & vbNewLine & _

replace --> <font color=""" & strForumFontColor & """ face=""" & strDefaultFontFace & """ size=""" & strDefaultFontSize & """><div style=""max-height: " & strSIGMaxHeight & "px; height: expression( this.scrollHeight > " & strSIGMaxHeight & "? '" & strSIGMaxHeight & "px' : 'auto' ); overflow:hidden;""><span class=""spnMessageText"">" & formatStr(Reply_MemberSig) & "</span></div></font></td>" & vbNewLine & _

search --> <font color=""" & strForumFontColor & """ face=""" & strDefaultFontFace & """ size=""" & strDefaultFontSize & """><span class=""spnMessageText"">" & formatStr(Topic_MemberSig) & "</span></div></font></td>" & vbNewLine & _

replace --> <font color=""" & strForumFontColor & """ face=""" & strDefaultFontFace & """ size=""" & strDefaultFontSize & """><div style=""max-height: " & strSIGMaxHeight & "px; height: expression( this.scrollHeight > " & strSIGMaxHeight & "? '" & strSIGMaxHeight & "px' : 'auto' ); overflow:hidden;""><span class=""spnMessageText"">" & formatStr(Topic_MemberSig) & "</span></div></font></td>" & vbNewLine & _

this code work with netscape, mozilla, and with IE :-)
it is a little script... and can be modificated too...<

ich finds genial...
bei uns ist es ratzekuz dunkel und bei dene alle heller nachmittag

Edited by - Sonic on 23 July 2005 12:10:31

Sonic
New Member

Germany
82 Posts

Posted - 24 July 2005 :  06:14:06  Show Profile  Visit Sonic's Homepage  Reply with Quote
update:
this script count the chars in the signatur and limit the textbox
amount of chars can be edit in the admin features page


--> save this script as: count_chars.js

var ns6=document.getElementById&&!document.all

function restrictinput(maxlength,e,placeholder){
if (window.event&&event.srcElement.value.length>=maxlength)
return false
else if (e.target&&e.target==eval(placeholder)&&e.target.value.length>=maxlength){
var pressedkey=/[a-zA-Z0-9\.\,\/]/ //detect alphanumeric keys
if (pressedkey.test(String.fromCharCode(e.which)))
e.stopPropagation()
}
}

function countlimit(maxlength,e,placeholder){
var theform=eval(placeholder)
var lengthleft=maxlength-theform.value.length
var placeholderobj=document.all? document.all[placeholder] : document.getElementById(placeholder)
if (window.event||e.target&&e.target==eval(placeholder)){
if (lengthleft<0)
theform.value=theform.value.substring(0,maxlength)
placeholderobj.innerHTML=lengthleft
}
}

function displaylimit(theform,thelimit){
var limit_text='<b><span id="'+theform.toString()+'">'+thelimit+'</span></b> Zeichen übrig'
if (document.all||ns6)
document.write(limit_text)
if (document.all){
eval(theform).onkeypress=function(){ return restrictinput(thelimit,event,theform)}
eval(theform).onkeyup=function(){ countlimit(thelimit,event,theform)}
}
else if (ns6){
document.body.addEventListener('keypress', function(event) { restrictinput(thelimit,event,theform) }, true); 
document.body.addEventListener('keyup', function(event) { countlimit(thelimit,event,theform) }, true); 
}
}


open --> inc_profile.asp
add line 1 --> <SCRIPT language=JavaScript src="count_chars.js" type=text/javascript></SCRIPT>

search --> <textarea name=""Sig"" cols=""25"" rows=""4"">" & Trim(cleancode(strTxtSig)) & "</textarea></td>" & vbNewLine & _

replace --> <textarea name=""Sig"" cols=""25"" rows=""4"">" & Trim(cleancode(strTxtSig)) & "</textarea><br><script>displaylimit(""document.Form1.Sig""," & strSIGMaxChars & ")</script></td>" & vbNewLine & _

open admin_config_features.asp

add error messages: (near top)
if Request.Form("strSIGMaxChars") = "" then
Err_Msg = Err_Msg & "max. Zeichenanzahl für die Signatur fehlt<br>"
elseif IsNumeric(Request.Form("strSIGMaxHeight")) = False then
Err_Msg = Err_Msg & "max. Zeichenanzahl für die Signatur muß eine Nummer sein<br>"
elseif cLng(Request.Form("strSIGMaxHeight")) = 0 then
Err_Msg = Err_Msg & "max. Zeichenanzahl für die Signatur darf <FONT class=font4>nicht 0</FONT> sein<br>"
end if


add line to enter the max chars :
<input type="text" name="strSIGMaxChars" size="3" maxLength="3" value="<% = chkExistElse(strSIGMaxChars,200) %>"> Zeichen


and at last open the config.asp
add this (red) --> Dim strSignatures, strDSignatures, strSIGMaxHeight, strSIGMaxChars,

and near top this -->
strSIGMaxChars = Application(strCookieURL & "STRSIGMAXCHARS")

oh of corse edit the database:

[INSERT]
CONFIG_NEW
(C_VARIABLE, C_VALUE)#('STRSIGMAXCHARS', 200)
[END]
<

ich finds genial...
bei uns ist es ratzekuz dunkel und bei dene alle heller nachmittag

Edited by - Sonic on 24 July 2005 06:16:21
Go to Top of Page

laser
Advanced Member

Australia
3859 Posts

Posted - 11 September 2005 :  16:58:13  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Can I ask for a few translations ?

max. Signaturhöhe muß eine Nummer sein --> max. signature height must be a number

max. Signaturhöhe darf nicht 0 sein --> max. signature height may not be 0

Max. Signaturen Höhe --> Max. signatures height


OK, I'll add it soon and check it out <
Go to Top of Page

MarcelG
Retired Support Moderator

Netherlands
2625 Posts

Posted - 12 September 2005 :  05:01:36  Show Profile  Visit MarcelG's Homepage  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by laser

Can I ask for a few translations ?

max. Signaturhöhe muß eine Nummer sein --> max. signature height must be a number

max. Signaturhöhe darf nicht 0 sein --> max. signature height may not be 0

Max. Signaturen Höhe --> Max. signatures height


OK, I'll add it soon and check it out

Correctly translated!

And sonic ; great mod!!!! This calls for basecode (at least the max sig height mod ; i'm not sure with the max characters mod) <

portfolio - linkshrinker - oxle - twitter

Edited by - MarcelG on 12 September 2005 05:41:09
Go to Top of Page

rasure
Junior Member

289 Posts

Posted - 12 September 2005 :  08:16:49  Show Profile  Visit rasure's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Been trying to install this to test it and up till now this...
value="<% = chkExistElse(strSIGMaxHeight,65) %>">

needs to be
value=""" & chkExistElse(strSIGMaxHeight,65) & """>

and I'm assuming the same will apply to this...
value="<% = chkExistElse(strSIGMaxChars,200) %>"><

Psychic & Spiritual Development Resources

Edited by - rasure on 12 September 2005 08:18:39
Go to Top of Page

Sonic
New Member

Germany
82 Posts

Posted - 12 September 2005 :  10:56:29  Show Profile  Visit Sonic's Homepage  Reply with Quote
- i convert the whole code to normal html and asp code
- because i won't use the response.write code
--> i often forget any --> " " in the code so i decided to write all code normal....
if you use the current version you may delete my --> <% %> tags and replace them with " "
---------------------------------

2 updates are following:

ad the code in --> pop_previev.asp for the signature line too

<div style=""max-height: " & strSIGMaxHeight & "px; height: expression( this.scrollHeight > " & strSIGMaxHeight & "? '" & strSIGMaxHeight & "px' : 'auto' ); overflow:hidden;""><span class=""spnMessageText"">" & formatStr(Topic_MemberSig) & "</span></div>


and the last update is following these days: to prevent somebody to "hack" the client side code (html code viewed by user)
where somebody can change the limit of the chars and store more chars at his profile...
(this will working on firefox or netscape, with a certain plugin)

----------------------------------------------

the traslation is correct
don't forget to change in the count_chars.js the text
--> span id="'+theform.toString()+'">'+thelimit+'</span></b> Zeichen übrig'
to --> span id="'+theform.toString()+'">'+thelimit+'</span></b> chars left'<

ich finds genial...
bei uns ist es ratzekuz dunkel und bei dene alle heller nachmittag

Edited by - Sonic on 12 September 2005 12:31:47
Go to Top of Page

Sonic
New Member

Germany
82 Posts

Posted - 12 September 2005 :  11:48:44  Show Profile  Visit Sonic's Homepage  Reply with Quote
2nd update finished:

open --> pop_profile.asp
search 2 times--> if not IsValidURL(trim(Request.Form("Photo_URL"))) then
Err_Msg = Err_Msg & "<li>Photo URL: Invalid URL" & strURLError & "</li>"
end if
(ca. on line 1322 and 1640)

ad after 2 times-->
if strSignatures = "1" and Len(Request.Form("Sig")) > strSIGMaxChars then
Err_Msg = Err_Msg & "<li>Your Signature is too long</li>"
end if

finish

these days i make a complete mod in a zip file with doku<

ich finds genial...
bei uns ist es ratzekuz dunkel und bei dene alle heller nachmittag

Edited by - Sonic on 12 September 2005 12:31:05
Go to Top of Page

laser
Advanced Member

Australia
3859 Posts

Posted - 13 September 2005 :  09:04:00  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Well, I have installed it and it's working fairly well (renders the same in IE & FF as mentioned ), but it still takes up the strSIGMaxHeight for everyone with a sig.

Oh well, small price to pay really <
Go to Top of Page

MarcelG
Retired Support Moderator

Netherlands
2625 Posts

Posted - 13 September 2005 :  09:56:01  Show Profile  Visit MarcelG's Homepage  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by laser

... but it still takes up the strSIGMaxHeight for everyone with a sig.
Oh well, small price to pay really

Is that so ??? That shouldn't be the case. I've got it running too at oxle, and as you can see here it doesn't take up the maxheight of 110 pixels for every sig.<

portfolio - linkshrinker - oxle - twitter
Go to Top of Page

laser
Advanced Member

Australia
3859 Posts

Posted - 13 September 2005 :  17:30:36  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
hmmmm ... ok, I'll review the code.<
Go to Top of Page

laser
Advanced Member

Australia
3859 Posts

Posted - 13 September 2005 :  17:37:09  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Must have been an optical illusion, or I was looking at the wrong sig's <
Go to Top of Page

laser
Advanced Member

Australia
3859 Posts

Posted - 14 September 2005 :  07:06:10  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm still getting some small (1 liner) sig's taking up WAY too much room. I have strSIGMaxHeight set at 110, which is what I want.<
Go to Top of Page

rasure
Junior Member

289 Posts

Posted - 14 September 2005 :  07:13:46  Show Profile  Visit rasure's Homepage  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by laser

I'm still getting some small (1 liner) sig's taking up WAY too much room. I have strSIGMaxHeight set at 110, which is what I want.


I must admit I'm not having this problem with this mod installed. Nice piece of work btw<

Psychic & Spiritual Development Resources

Edited by - rasure on 14 September 2005 07:23:54
Go to Top of Page

MarcelG
Retired Support Moderator

Netherlands
2625 Posts

Posted - 14 September 2005 :  08:54:47  Show Profile  Visit MarcelG's Homepage  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by laser

I'm still getting some small (1 liner) sig's taking up WAY too much room. I have strSIGMaxHeight set at 110, which is what I want.

Can you provide me with a page to look at ? I might be able to help out<

portfolio - linkshrinker - oxle - twitter
Go to Top of Page

laser
Advanced Member

Australia
3859 Posts

Posted - 14 September 2005 :  09:02:44  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
http://www.v8central.com/snitz3403/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=12292

SETON_FPR5 & tobes have one line sig's

<
Go to Top of Page

MarcelG
Retired Support Moderator

Netherlands
2625 Posts

Posted - 14 September 2005 :  09:20:39  Show Profile  Visit MarcelG's Homepage  Reply with Quote
aha, I see what the issue is.
Tobes has prefixed his sig with a [br], that's 1.
But, there's another thing. The 'go to top' icon is in it's own table row....
I fixed that issue at oxle, but by default, it's on a different line as the sig (just as here at Snitz).<

portfolio - linkshrinker - oxle - twitter

Edited by - MarcelG on 14 September 2005 09:21:11
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 2 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Next Page
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.22 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07