Author |
Topic |
Carefree
Advanced Member
Philippines
4207 Posts |
Posted - 02 August 2015 : 19:54:50
|
If MS has issued yet another version for 8.1, just delete that from the function; change those lines to say this:
ElseIf InStr(ua, "NT 10.0") Then
strSystem = "Windows 10"
ElseIf InStr(ua, "NT 6.3") Or InStr(ua, "NT 6.4") Then
strSystem = "Windows 8.1"
|
|
|
Carefree
Advanced Member
Philippines
4207 Posts |
Posted - 02 August 2015 : 20:16:07
|
Determine your own UserAgent string. Save this as "servervariables.asp" on your forum, then run it.
|
Edited by - Carefree on 02 August 2015 20:27:04 |
|
|
golfmann
Junior Member
United States
450 Posts |
Posted - 03 August 2015 : 00:23:38
|
Yea, I tried 10.0 (which I read that they were changing to with the new "final" release instead of 8.4 in the pre releases... but nothin' lol
I guess something will happen some day. I'm tired of fooling with it... |
Edited by - golfmann on 03 August 2015 01:34:14 |
|
|
Carefree
Advanced Member
Philippines
4207 Posts |
Posted - 03 August 2015 : 05:36:47
|
Windows version 10.0.10240 reports NT 10.0 on my side. What user agent string is reported when you run the servervariables.asp file? |
|
|
golfmann
Junior Member
United States
450 Posts |
Posted - 03 August 2015 : 16:50:33
|
here's what I get:
emailed...
(I got nervous about all that info)
|
Edited by - golfmann on 03 August 2015 17:11:10 |
|
|
golfmann
Junior Member
United States
450 Posts |
Posted - 03 August 2015 : 17:01:48
|
OS Name Microsoft Windows 10 Pro Version 10.0.10240 Build 10240
I tried 10.0.10240 as well but it still returned 8.1... (that's about when I said I'd had enough) :)
at least I think in entered it right. I'll try again.. nothing to lose
|
|
|
golfmann
Junior Member
United States
450 Posts |
Posted - 03 August 2015 : 17:07:16
|
nope... still 8.1 I tried NT 10.0.10240, plain 10.0.10240 (no NT), even ver and build 10.0.10240!
enough of this! lol |
|
|
golfmann
Junior Member
United States
450 Posts |
Posted - 04 August 2015 : 00:28:01
|
well I finally wrestled the @#%#& thing to work using this...
ElseIf InStr(ua, "Windows NT10.0.10240") Or InStr(ua, "Windows 10 Pro") Or InStr(ua, "Windows 10") Then
My main problem I think was not having "Windows" in front of the NT which the others don't have. THAT and some changing to my browser User agent string
I'm leaving it alone for awhile :)
Thanks for your help. It was this browser string all the time I think. |
|
|
Carefree
Advanced Member
Philippines
4207 Posts |
Posted - 04 August 2015 : 02:56:51
|
The info you sent me was from a W10 OS? It seems to be from 8.1 OS. By the way, you only need to post the results of the single line down at the bottom: HTTP_USER_AGENT. Rest of it doesn't affect this particular operation. |
|
|
golfmann
Junior Member
United States
450 Posts |
Posted - 04 August 2015 : 10:53:26
|
quote: The info you sent me was from a W10 OS? It seems to be from 8.1 OS.
yea...screwy, huh lol Firefox returned 4, as did chrome and edge... The other was so far off I couldn't figure what the heck, so I sent it all lol
anyway, I have it fooled or fixed depending on how you want to look at it. |
Edited by - golfmann on 04 August 2015 10:56:20 |
|
|
philsbbs
Junior Member
United Kingdom
397 Posts |
Posted - 06 August 2015 : 04:52:33
|
I queried the user_agent_string with Microsoft during the Windows 10 testing and they made some design changes on purpose. |
Phil |
|
|
Topic |
|