Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Help Groups for Snitz Forums 2000 Users
 Help: MOD Implementation
 Double Posting Problem
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

CalloftheHauntedMaster
Junior Member

289 Posts

Posted - 15 May 2007 :  14:48:04  Show Profile
Ok, this one is real.

I have a code snippet in post_info.asp to prevent double posting:

		
                 If Not (mLev = 4) or (mLev = 3) Then
			strSql = "SELECT T_LAST_POST_AUTHOR "
			strSql = strSql & " FROM " & strActivePrefix & "TOPICS "
			strSql = strSql & " WHERE TOPIC_ID = " & Topic_ID
			set rs = my_Conn.Execute (strSql)
			If MemberID = rs("T_LAST_POST_AUTHOR") Then
				Go_Result "You have attempted to double post. Please edit your previous post instead.", 0
			end if


However, if a member has edited a previous post, the code reads them as the last poster and they now cannot make a new post in the thread until someone else has posted.

How can I adjust this code to only prevent double posting if the last post was by the person, not the last edit?

This account was hacked into by Image, a very honest guy as you all can see! Stealing people's passwords is his pasttime. Beware of this, before you register at his forums!

Edited by - CalloftheHauntedMaster on 15 May 2007 14:48:39

MaD2ko0l
Senior Member

United Kingdom
1053 Posts

Posted - 15 May 2007 :  16:16:03  Show Profile  Visit MaD2ko0l's Homepage
i dont know the answer but y do u need this code to stop double posting? because when u press the submit message/reply that button is then disabled so that u cannot press it again, therefore you wont get a double post andway

also turn the flood filter on, that will do the same thing as to what you are asking for

© 1999-2010 MaD2ko0l
Go to Top of Page

Jezmeister
Senior Member

United Kingdom
1141 Posts

Posted - 15 May 2007 :  16:40:45  Show Profile  Visit Jezmeister's Homepage
you'd have to remove the update to t_last_post_author when case is edit reply, but as above, I think it would be easier just to set a low time flood control
Go to Top of Page

CalloftheHauntedMaster
Junior Member

289 Posts

Posted - 15 May 2007 :  16:56:17  Show Profile
Well, my members tend to post and add something immediately after that post instead of editing the preceding one.

I've already been through the discussions of flood control and stuff, but I am interested in an anti-double posting feature.

What other ways are there of preventing automatically prohibiting two sequential posts by the same member?

This account was hacked into by Image, a very honest guy as you all can see! Stealing people's passwords is his pasttime. Beware of this, before you register at his forums!
Go to Top of Page

Jezmeister
Senior Member

United Kingdom
1141 Posts

Posted - 15 May 2007 :  17:14:11  Show Profile  Visit Jezmeister's Homepage
none that I know of, like I said if you went to the update for T_LAST_POST_AUTHOR and put something like this around it:
if MethodType <> "Edit" then
update t last post author code
end if
then it wouldn't update t_last_post_author on an edit

Edited by - Jezmeister on 15 May 2007 17:14:45
Go to Top of Page

Shaggy
Support Moderator

Ireland
6780 Posts

Posted - 21 May 2007 :  08:02:07  Show Profile
I'd have to double check but I'm pretty sure that if you turn off the display of the last edit time for posts, T_LAST_POST_AUTHOR won't be updated when editing a post.


Search is your friend
“I was having a mildly paranoid day, mostly due to the
fact that the mad priest lady from over the river had
taken to nailing weasels to my front door again.”
Go to Top of Page

texanman
Junior Member

United States
410 Posts

Posted - 21 April 2008 :  15:38:56  Show Profile
quote:
Originally posted by MaD2ko0l

i dont know the answer but y do u need this code to stop double posting? because when u press the submit message/reply that button is then disabled so that u cannot press it again, therefore you wont get a double post andway

also turn the flood filter on, that will do the same thing as to what you are asking for



In my forum when the server is slow, both post new topic and post new reply buttons do NOT get disables. So, I get several double replies and double posts every day.

Edited by - texanman on 21 April 2008 15:44:08
Go to Top of Page

MaD2ko0l
Senior Member

United Kingdom
1053 Posts

Posted - 21 April 2008 :  16:48:16  Show Profile  Visit MaD2ko0l's Homepage
altho this is an old topic being reserected ;-)

anyway...but woudlnt the flood control pick up that that button has been submitted more than once in the specifyed time that the flood control is set to?

so even if the buttons dont get disabled once it has been pressed and it has been processed and then the button is pressed again and again then the flood control will throw an error at you when you press it the 2nd time.

unless you are the admin/mod then the flood control dont apply and you could doube post

© 1999-2010 MaD2ko0l
Go to Top of Page

texanman
Junior Member

United States
410 Posts

Posted - 21 April 2008 :  16:58:15  Show Profile
It doesn't look like the flood control is stopping normal users from double posting. Today I found 8 consecutive replies. I mean same duplicate reply.
Go to Top of Page

AnonJr
Moderator

United States
5768 Posts

Posted - 21 April 2008 :  18:14:22  Show Profile  Visit AnonJr's Homepage
It may be from some poor soul with ADD clicking on the button 8 times before it has a chance to submit... its not caused any problems in the forum at work, but its been an issue in other applications. There's some JavaScript floating around the web that can help with that sort of problem.
Go to Top of Page

texanman
Junior Member

United States
410 Posts

Posted - 21 April 2008 :  21:09:18  Show Profile
Interesting! The only JS codes I have are the ones that came with base snitz and another one for imbedding
Go to Top of Page

AnonJr
Moderator

United States
5768 Posts

Posted - 21 April 2008 :  21:33:39  Show Profile  Visit AnonJr's Homepage
Its not a part of Snitz, nor have I seen the code here. Like I mentioned earlier, its not been a problem in any of my forums, but it has been an issue in some other applications. Just a thought.
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.38 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07