Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Help Groups for Snitz Forums 2000 Users
 Help: MOD Implementation
 Sub-Forums and post counts
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

AnonJr
Moderator

United States
5768 Posts

Posted - 19 September 2005 :  11:42:50  Show Profile  Visit AnonJr's Homepage
If I had hair I'd be pulling it out...

I've got sr_eric's sub-forums working on the company intranet. It works fine, had to make a change to show locked topics as being locked, but it works good.

What I don't get is as soon as I moved some topics to the sub-forums, and when topics get added to the sub-forums, the post and topic counts in the site statistics isn't getting updated - but the totals in the toatls table is.

As near as I can tell the code is pulling those numbers directly from the totals table - the table where the numbers are right - but its only showing counts for the top-level forums...

I don't see where the numbers are being modified anywhere between getting pulled from the table and being displaid at the bottom...

Any ideas?

AnonJr
Moderator

United States
5768 Posts

Posted - 19 September 2005 :  13:33:16  Show Profile  Visit AnonJr's Homepage
Nothing?
Go to Top of Page

MarcelG
Retired Support Moderator

Netherlands
2625 Posts

Posted - 19 September 2005 :  16:25:03  Show Profile  Visit MarcelG's Homepage
AnonJr ; I guess not a lot of people have installed sr_erick's mod yet.
I myself will have a look his mod later this week, so perhaps I can be of assitance then.

portfolio - linkshrinker - oxle - twitter
Go to Top of Page

AnonJr
Moderator

United States
5768 Posts

Posted - 20 September 2005 :  15:50:07  Show Profile  Visit AnonJr's Homepage
A bit of a kludge but...

In default.asp, remove the part that looks like:
if Cat_ID <> "" then
	strSql = strSql & " AND F_PARENT IS NULL"
else
	strSql = strSql & " WHERE F_PARENT IS NULL"
end if


(circa) line 375 where you see
fF_DESCRIPTION = 20
Add below it
fF_PARENT = 21


(circa) line 436 where you see
ForumDescription = allForumData(fF_DESCRIPTION,iForum)
Add below it
ForumParent = allForumData(fF_PARENT,iForum)


(circa) line 505 where you see
if Request.Cookies(HideForumCat) <> "Y" then  '##### added as part of Minimize Category Mod #####
Add before it
If IsNull(ForumParent) Then


(circa) line 563 where you see
end if ' ##### Added as part of Minimize Category Mod #####
Add below it
End If


This will fix the detailed statistics at the bottom. However, this will not fix the totals et al next to the actual forum. For that I'll probably write a small function and add it to the subforums.asp file.

(ed. I deleted a lot of me talking to me and fixed some formatting on this)

Edited by - AnonJr on 20 September 2005 15:52:39
Go to Top of Page

AnonJr
Moderator

United States
5768 Posts

Posted - 26 September 2005 :  14:20:51  Show Profile  Visit AnonJr's Homepage
Almost got the function put together... I'm just having a little trouble following the "Last Post" stuff so it shows the correct link if the last post was done in a sub-forum.... Being a monday and being distracted by the "other job duties as assigned" isn't helping any
Go to Top of Page

ElPazzo
Junior Member

Austria
116 Posts

Posted - 28 September 2005 :  16:51:16  Show Profile  Visit ElPazzo's Homepage
quote:
Originally posted by AnonJr

A bit of a kludge but...

In default.asp, remove the part that looks like:
if Cat_ID <> "" then
	strSql = strSql & " AND F_PARENT IS NULL"
else
	strSql = strSql & " WHERE F_PARENT IS NULL"
end if





i can't find that part in the file

www.pet-needs.com
www.pet-needs.com/forum
www.pet-needs.de
www.translating-it.com
Go to Top of Page

AnonJr
Moderator

United States
5768 Posts

Posted - 28 September 2005 :  21:44:10  Show Profile  Visit AnonJr's Homepage
That's because you had condensed it into part of the original code. Basically you want to remove the part of the SQL String that checks "F_PARENT IS NULL". This way you get all your forums to generate the correct statistics. The "If IsNull(ForumParent) Then" replaces that functionality. A bit more processing time, but I haven't noticed a big dip....
Go to Top of Page

ElPazzo
Junior Member

Austria
116 Posts

Posted - 29 September 2005 :  14:05:19  Show Profile  Visit ElPazzo's Homepage
after changing everything mentionned here it shows the subforums more or less where it should... i have some probs with the look of it... design properties are not correctly used. another point is that it does not show the forum as subforum below the parent forum in the overview

www.pet-needs.com
www.pet-needs.com/forum
www.pet-needs.de
www.translating-it.com
Go to Top of Page

AnonJr
Moderator

United States
5768 Posts

Posted - 29 September 2005 :  14:12:22  Show Profile  Visit AnonJr's Homepage
I went to check it out and got a couple of errors... couldn't tell you what they were as the only two languages I speak are English and Bad English ... and usually more of the latter of the two.

To get the list of subforums to show you need to call the sub "ForumSubForums(ForumID)" (passing the ForumID). Place this below where it writes your forum's description.
Go to Top of Page

AnonJr
Moderator

United States
5768 Posts

Posted - 29 September 2005 :  14:18:17  Show Profile  Visit AnonJr's Homepage
Kinda like what I have here:
Response.Write "><a href="""
if ForumFType = 0 then
	Response.Write "forum.asp?forum_id=" & ForumID
else 
	Response.Write	ForumURL & """ target=""_blank"
end if 
Response.Write """>" & chkString(ForumSubject,"display") & "</a><br />" & _
"<span class=""ffs"">" & formatStr(ForumDescription) & "</span>"
ForumSubForums(ForumID)
Response.Write "</td>"


This starts around line 514(ish)... keep in mind I'm using the SBII version of Snitz and therefore am using CSS to format everything.

I think sr_eric was using some sort of CSS mod (custom or otherwise) as there was a lot of CSS, and almost no Font tags in there.
Go to Top of Page

ElPazzo
Junior Member

Austria
116 Posts

Posted - 30 September 2005 :  08:49:15  Show Profile  Visit ElPazzo's Homepage
can u have a look at this link?

http://www.pet-needs.com/forum/forum.asp?FORUM_ID=9

how to get rid of that display prob?

www.pet-needs.com
www.pet-needs.com/forum
www.pet-needs.de
www.translating-it.com
Go to Top of Page

AnonJr
Moderator

United States
5768 Posts

Posted - 30 September 2005 :  09:17:14  Show Profile  Visit AnonJr's Homepage
That's because the code in subforums.asp is using css. I had to go through and fix all the style tags to match the stylesheet I was using. If you're not using a css-based version of Snitz, you're going to have to go through and add back all the font tags and atributes... I'd use default.asp and forum.asp to help serve as a reference for which tags and what variables to use.
Go to Top of Page

ElPazzo
Junior Member

Austria
116 Posts

Posted - 30 September 2005 :  09:22:54  Show Profile  Visit ElPazzo's Homepage
you mean that i have to alter all the strings i added for subforum with those tags? that won't be a porb i think.

the thing with the ForumSubForums(ForumID) does not work though... i implemented it in default.asp where you said but does not work

www.pet-needs.com
www.pet-needs.com/forum
www.pet-needs.de
www.translating-it.com
Go to Top of Page

AnonJr
Moderator

United States
5768 Posts

Posted - 30 September 2005 :  09:31:22  Show Profile  Visit AnonJr's Homepage
In here notice that there are no quotes's around the call to the sub, and that it is not appended to the end of the Response.Write. The Sub writes to the browser itself.

Response.Write """>" & chkString(ForumSubject,"display") & "</a><br />" & _
"<span class=""ffs"">" & formatStr(ForumDescription) & "</span>"
ForumSubForums(ForumID)
Response.Write "</td>"


If this doesn't help put up a link to a txt version of the current default.asp as this one is easily fixed.

As for the display, in subforums.asp you'll need to go into sub ListSubForums(FORUM_ID) (the first one) and change the HTML it outputs so it uses the font tags and table attributes that the rest of your forum uses.
Go to Top of Page

ElPazzo
Junior Member

Austria
116 Posts

Posted - 30 September 2005 :  09:36:34  Show Profile  Visit ElPazzo's Homepage
k, missed that part... definitely too much work having degree exams this week and running 2 companies at a time

the prob now is that i get a type mismatch

http://www.pet-needs.com/forum/default.txt

www.pet-needs.com
www.pet-needs.com/forum
www.pet-needs.de
www.translating-it.com

Edited by - ElPazzo on 30 September 2005 09:39:14
Go to Top of Page

AnonJr
Moderator

United States
5768 Posts

Posted - 30 September 2005 :  10:06:07  Show Profile  Visit AnonJr's Homepage
Is the type mismatch error occuring in default.asp or in subforums.asp? I ask becuase your default.asp looks like it should now ...
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 2 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Next Page
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.46 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07