Author |
Topic |
|
NiteOwl
Junior Member
Canada
403 Posts |
Posted - 08 March 2005 : 22:01:01
|
I am attempting to impliment this MOD. I am not new to mods and this one is very easy to install, just a dtabase setup, two edits, one to the default.asp and one to add the NEWS mod to the Admin page. When I run the MOD and try to activate it I get this error:
Admin Section Feature Configuration Either BOF or EOF is True, or the current record has been deleted. Requested operation requires a current record. I have not a clue to the error, anyone else?
|
-=NiteOwl=-
|
Edited by - NiteOwl on 08 March 2005 22:02:01 |
|
NiteOwl
Junior Member
Canada
403 Posts |
Posted - 08 March 2005 : 22:29:41
|
Update: I edited the ASP files and converted from lowercase to uppercase all the FORUM table references, this appears to have gotten rid of the above error and the app almost runs as it now saves the config settings, yet it does not display the news on the front of the website, it does display the news bar, just not the news content.
Anyone have experience with this animal?
|
-=NiteOwl=-
|
|
|
Jorrit787
Average Member
Netherlands
681 Posts |
Posted - 08 March 2005 : 22:46:39
|
I tried to install it several times but it simply wouldn't show up on default.asp |
eXtremeGossip |
|
|
NiteOwl
Junior Member
Canada
403 Posts |
Posted - 08 March 2005 : 23:49:33
|
Update: WOW, got it to work!! I had to edit both the asp's and find all instances of the word NEWS and NEWS_CONFIG make them uppercase and the program works like a champ. I have an MySQL database.
BTW, the instructions for adding the bit to the ADMIN_home.asp are missing the following for the end of the line: & vbNewLine & _
So the complete line should be: " <LI><span class=""spnMessageText""><a href=""admin_newspost.asp"">Add News</a></LI>" & vbNewLine & _
|
-=NiteOwl=-
|
Edited by - NiteOwl on 09 March 2005 00:30:33 |
|
|
Whobeedat
Starting Member
29 Posts |
Posted - 08 March 2005 : 23:52:10
|
After the MOD dbs setup and the asp file uploads/edits, Go to "Add News" in Admin Options. select "Turn on FrontPage News" (radiobutton) then Set Number of Items then Click "Set Config" to number of items... The page will refresh and take you back to Admin panel. Go back into "Add News" then insert your news in the "News To Post" Section then hit "Submit News"
That should do it!
For every section of your Forum you'd like the News displayed...ie: default.asp/active.asp/forum.asp/privateread.asp/privatesend.asp, in the asp file around the top in the "includes" sections Add this include: <!--#INCLUDE FILE="inc_news_body.asp" -->
directly below <!--#INCLUDE FILE="inc_header.asp" -->
Like so: <!--#INCLUDE FILE="inc_header.asp" --> <!--#INCLUDE FILE="inc_news_body.asp" -->
Hope this helps! |
|
|
NiteOwl
Junior Member
Canada
403 Posts |
Posted - 08 March 2005 : 23:54:52
|
Yes, thanks its a very cool MOD once its set-up, this is the first time I have had to adjust the case to match my database tables. but it now works so I am happy!
|
-=NiteOwl=-
|
Edited by - NiteOwl on 08 March 2005 23:56:14 |
|
|
NiteOwl
Junior Member
Canada
403 Posts |
Posted - 09 March 2005 : 00:23:14
|
ok, since I am on a roll, there is one thing in this MOD I do oot like, at the end of the news article it stamps the server time, unfortunatly for me the server is 3 hours ahead so my news stamp is in-correct. Here is the line of code, does anyone have a solution to subtract the 3 hours or to grab the time from my forum_config_new file?
(I will let it wrap)
response.write"<TR><td bordercolor=""Black"" align=""center"" bgcolor=""" & strForumCellColor & """ valign=""top""><font face=""" & strCategoryFontColor & """ size=""" & strDefaultFontSize & """ color=""" & strForumFontColor & """> ---- "&FormatStr(objRec.fields("n_text"))&" ----"& chkTime(objrec.fields("n_date")) &"</font></td></tr>"
|
-=NiteOwl=-
|
|
|
NiteOwl
Junior Member
Canada
403 Posts |
Posted - 09 March 2005 : 00:29:03
|
Actually, looking closer, I guess the time is gathered from this file, (direct cut from thwe file) so any suggestions what to include to subtract the 3 hours or to get the time from the database?
'################################################################################## '# This is the function that writes news to the news table. '################################################################################## WriteNews = "added" 'this is a sloppy way to build the string for the date used in the query strYear = year(now()) strMonth = month(now()) strMonth = dFormat(strMonth) strDay = day(now()) strDay = dFormat(strDay) strHour = FormatDateTime(now(),4) strHour = left(strHour,2) strMinute = minute(now()) strMinute = dFormat(strMinute) strSecond = second(now()) strSecond = dFormat(strSecond) nDate = strYear&strMonth&strDay&strHour&strMinute&strSecond 'if you can make it better go for it. my_conn.execute ( "INSERT INTO " & strTablePrefix & "NEWS (n_text,n_date,member_id) VALUES ('" & fVariable & "','"&nDate&"',1)") End function 'end NEWS poster |
-=NiteOwl=-
|
Edited by - NiteOwl on 09 March 2005 00:29:45 |
|
|
Jorrit787
Average Member
Netherlands
681 Posts |
Posted - 09 March 2005 : 00:36:58
|
You probably need to insert strForumTimeAdjust somewhere there. |
eXtremeGossip |
|
|
NiteOwl
Junior Member
Canada
403 Posts |
Posted - 09 March 2005 : 10:38:30
|
ok, here is what I am using, seems to work: WriteNews = "added" 'this is a sloppy way to build the string for the date used in the query strYear = year(now()) strMonth = month(now()) strMonth = dFormat(strMonth) strDay = day(now()) strDay = dFormat(strDay) strHour = FormatDateTime(now(),4) strHour = left(strHour,2) strTimeOffset = 2 'change to correct timne for server strHour = (strHour - strTimeOffset) 'change the plus or minus to correct the server time strMinute = minute(now()) strMinute = dFormat(strMinute) strSecond = second(now()) strSecond = dFormat(strSecond) nDate = strYear&strMonth&strDay&strHour&strMinute&strSecond
|
-=NiteOwl=-
|
|
|
|
Topic |
|