Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Snitz Forums 2000 MOD-Group
 MOD Add-On Forum (W/O Code)
 Simple Slash Mod
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 5

Gremlin
General Help Moderator

New Zealand
7528 Posts

Posted - 29 November 2003 :  04:01:01  Show Profile  Visit Gremlin's Homepage
Sure you could do that You'll need some more SQL to Select the COUNT(*) of the number of rows in FORUM_REPLY that match the TOPIC_ID for each item as you display it.

Kiwihosting.Net - The Forum Hosting Specialists
Go to Top of Page

RebelTech
Average Member

USA
613 Posts

Posted - 29 November 2003 :  04:42:20  Show Profile  Visit RebelTech's Homepage  Send RebelTech an ICQ Message
I tried this for the sql strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "TOPICS.T_REPLIES, "

That was wrong and she no gonna work. And I was trying to use & objRS("T_REPLIES") & to display the results. I have no idea yet if that one will work because I think there is a serious error in my sql statement..
Go to Top of Page

RebelTech
Average Member

USA
613 Posts

Posted - 29 November 2003 :  05:02:32  Show Profile  Visit RebelTech's Homepage  Send RebelTech an ICQ Message
Which layout do you like better?

www.spinbusters.com/forum/mytest.asp or www.spinbusters.com/forum/mytest2.asp

Go to Top of Page

Gremlin
General Help Moderator

New Zealand
7528 Posts

Posted - 29 November 2003 :  05:07:35  Show Profile  Visit Gremlin's Homepage
mytest.asp I think I like best, hard choice to make actually they both look fine.

Kiwihosting.Net - The Forum Hosting Specialists
Go to Top of Page

Gremlin
General Help Moderator

New Zealand
7528 Posts

Posted - 29 November 2003 :  08:42:11  Show Profile  Visit Gremlin's Homepage
Not the most efficient but this will get you your reply count.

While Not objRS.EOF
  strSQL = "SELECT COUNT(*) FROM FORUM_REPLY WHERE TOPIC_ID = " & objRS("TOPIC_ID")
  Set objRS2 = objConn.Execute(strSQL)
  Response.Write "Posted by: " & objRS("M_NAME") & " on " & strToDate(objRS("T_DATE")) & "<BR>"
  Response.Write ChkString(objRS("T_SUBJECT"),"title") & "<BR>"
  Response.Write Left(RemoveHTML(FormatStr(objRS("T_MESSAGE"))),CharsToDisplay) & "<BR>"
  Response.Write "<a href='topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=" & objRS("TOPIC_ID") & "'>more (" & objRS2(0) & ") »</a>"
  Response.Write "<HR SIZE='1' NOSHADE>"
  objRS.MoveNext()
Wend

objRS2.Close()
Set objRS2 = Nothing
objRS.Close()
Set objRS = Nothing
objConn.Close()
Set objConn = Nothing

Response.End

Kiwihosting.Net - The Forum Hosting Specialists

Edited by - Gremlin on 29 November 2003 08:42:36
Go to Top of Page

RebelTech
Average Member

USA
613 Posts

Posted - 29 November 2003 :  09:41:58  Show Profile  Visit RebelTech's Homepage  Send RebelTech an ICQ Message
Ok, the reply changes work great. Ready to release it as a mod? I have the cosmetics done (so-so) and the zip file ready to download. The zip contains the basic page, an include version and the readme.
Go to Top of Page

RebelTech
Average Member

USA
613 Posts

Posted - 29 November 2003 :  09:58:00  Show Profile  Visit RebelTech's Homepage  Send RebelTech an ICQ Message
Crypto, thanks for spotting that. Did you get gremlin's fix? I hope that helped with your blog project. I have been thinking about the blog thing also. Have you got yours ready to show? I would like to see how your doing it.

I see you did get the fix

Edited by - RebelTech on 29 November 2003 10:01:56
Go to Top of Page

RebelTech
Average Member

USA
613 Posts

Posted - 29 November 2003 :  09:59:56  Show Profile  Visit RebelTech's Homepage  Send RebelTech an ICQ Message
quote:
Originally posted by masterao

There is a function in the Content Display mod which removes all forum code from a message. That sounds as if it should work here just as well, although it will probably have to be changed a little. If you decide to use it, you should comment the function and mention which mod the function comes from along with the author's name (@tomic), so that you credit him properly.



Thank you for the information.
Go to Top of Page

RebelTech
Average Member

USA
613 Posts

Posted - 29 November 2003 :  10:25:58  Show Profile  Visit RebelTech's Homepage  Send RebelTech an ICQ Message
Moderators, could you move this topic to MOD Add-On Forum (W/Code)? Thanks
Go to Top of Page

Gremlin
General Help Moderator

New Zealand
7528 Posts

Posted - 29 November 2003 :  19:59:51  Show Profile  Visit Gremlin's Homepage
Might want to put some caveat's in there stating the topics aren't checked to see if they're in a private forum or not, so if you set the display = "ALL" it would show recent posts even in private member only or password protected forums.

Kiwihosting.Net - The Forum Hosting Specialists
Go to Top of Page

RebelTech
Average Member

USA
613 Posts

Posted - 29 November 2003 :  20:28:06  Show Profile  Visit RebelTech's Homepage  Send RebelTech an ICQ Message
I will update the zip now!
Go to Top of Page

Gremlin
General Help Moderator

New Zealand
7528 Posts

Posted - 29 November 2003 :  22:02:28  Show Profile  Visit Gremlin's Homepage
Cheers.

Maybe call it something else too, to be honest I'd prefer not to support it as a MOD (i have pleanty to support now with my hosting customers) all I did really was give you a start in the right direction.

Kiwihosting.Net - The Forum Hosting Specialists
Go to Top of Page

acoustika
Junior Member

Denmark
311 Posts

Posted - 30 November 2003 :  02:30:38  Show Profile  Visit acoustika's Homepage  Send acoustika an ICQ Message
I have tried making this work on MySql, and it won't THE SAME PROB: I HAVE WITH ALOT OF MODS and MySQL, it seems that all the Mods that use the "SELECT TOP" statement won't work with my MySql, it like the TOP statement isn't a MySQl command. And I'm not strong enough in this, I corrected this in My Personalization Mod by using LIMIT instead, and in some statistics MOds by simply remomving the "TOP" word, but is it because the TOP statement only is for Access????

May The Code Be With You
www.UniqueDk.dk *** The Open Forums of Denmark ***
Go to Top of Page

Gremlin
General Help Moderator

New Zealand
7528 Posts

Posted - 30 November 2003 :  03:21:58  Show Profile  Visit Gremlin's Homepage
Yes TOP is MS Specific, just remove the TOP x and replace it with a LIMIT x at the end of the select for mySQL. Depending on your version of mySQL you may also have problems with the JOINS I think too.

Kiwihosting.Net - The Forum Hosting Specialists
Go to Top of Page

cripto9t
Average Member

USA
881 Posts

Posted - 30 November 2003 :  08:51:07  Show Profile
quote:
Originally posted by acoustika

I have tried making this work on MySql, and it won't THE SAME PROB: I HAVE WITH ALOT OF MODS and MySQL, it seems that all the Mods that use the "SELECT TOP" statement won't work with my MySql, it like the TOP statement isn't a MySQl command. And I'm not strong enough in this, I corrected this in My Personalization Mod by using LIMIT instead, and in some statistics MOds by simply remomving the "TOP" word, but is it because the TOP statement only is for Access????


Onewaymule pointed out the snitz fix for this in your topic from a few days ago. There's a function in "inc_func_common" called "TopSql"
that configures the sql for the different servers.
My coding is not to good but I used it on the code I posted for acoustika the other day and it works fine.
Below is just an example of how I used it.

Just remove "Top" and open
instead of this
'set rs = my_Conn.Execute (strSql)

use this
set rs = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")
rs.open TopSQL(strSql,numDis), my_Conn

Where numDis is the variable for the number to display.

    _-/Cripto9t\-_
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 5 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Previous Page | Next Page
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.28 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07