Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Snitz Forums 2000 MOD-Group
 MOD Add-On Forum (W/Code)
 UserGroups v1.0 BETA2
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 10

miperez
Junior Member

Spain
243 Posts

Posted - 13 February 2004 :  03:56:39  Show Profile
Hello all.

Here are the changes I made, that also work though they are less efficient tan ajhvdb's change, I think:

In inc_func_secure.asp, inside chkDisplayForum, around line 123 (it is modded, so it might be different in your forums):


case 6
if UserNum = -1 then
	chkDisplayForum = false
	exit function
end if

if isAllowedMember(fForum_ID,UserNum) = 1 or isReadOnly(fForum_ID, UserNum) = 1 then
	chkDisplayForum = true
else
	chkDisplayForum = false
end if 


Also, inside chkForumAccess, around line 192:

case 1, 6 '## Allowed Users
if isAllowedMember(fForum,UserNum) = 1 or isReadOnly(fForum, UserNum) = 1 then
     chkForumAccess = true
else
     if Display then
	doNotAllowed
	Response.end
     else					
        chkForumAccess = false
     end if
end if


I have made another change, that is not needed, and is not related to this MOD, it only makes things clearer to me. Now you see the forum, and the topics. If you go inside a forum, open a topic, and click on a "reply with quote" button, it tells you that your access is read-only and takes you back to default.asp. I have changed one line inside the Go_Result function at the end of post.asp, as follows:

function Go_Result(message) 
	Response.write 	"      <br /><div align=""center""><font face=""" & strDefaultFontFace & """ size=""" & strDefaultFontSize & """ color=""" & strHiliteFontColor & """>" & message & "</font></div>" &_
			"      <br />" &_
			"      <meta http-equiv=""Refresh"" content=""2; URL=javascript:history.back()"">"
	WriteFooter
	Response.end
end function


This way, you are taken back to where you were before, not to the beginning. However, I have to verify that this doesn't affect other pages, specially make sure that you don't get stuck into a loop if you make a mistake typing your password during the login process.

Best Regards

Mikel Perez

"Hell is the place where everything test perfectly, and nothing works"

Edited by - miperez on 13 February 2004 03:58:50
Go to Top of Page

miperez
Junior Member

Spain
243 Posts

Posted - 13 February 2004 :  04:03:55  Show Profile
quote:
Originally posted by ajhvdb

I've changed in the above message the instructions to explain this change needs to take place in 2 places. Maybe miperez can check if it works for him to.




It works. In fact, we are doing the same thing: you check for the 0 or 2 permission level using the SQL string, and I do using the two functions.

Maybe your change has got more scope than mine, as it will affect every f_PRIVATEFORUMS value, and mine only affects 6 (Allowed member list (hidden) ). I have applied yours

EDITED to correct a mistake I had made with the values

Best Regards

Mikel Perez

"Hell is the place where everything test perfectly, and nothing works"

Edited by - miperez on 13 February 2004 04:21:30
Go to Top of Page

ajhvdb
Junior Member

Netherlands
392 Posts

Posted - 13 February 2004 :  04:27:45  Show Profile
Ok
Go to Top of Page

epkpeng
Starting Member

3 Posts

Posted - 02 March 2004 :  17:06:04  Show Profile  Visit epkpeng's Homepage
Is it possible to create a UserGroup that do not need to register to be able to post?

Reason: We have a "For Sales" and would like to open that up to anyone.

By the way - lots of creds to all involved in creating/testing this.

Edited by - epkpeng on 02 March 2004 17:24:01
Go to Top of Page

Nikkol
Forum Moderator

USA
6907 Posts

Posted - 02 March 2004 :  18:04:25  Show Profile
no, users need to be registered to post. what you are looking for is the anonymous mod.

Nikkol ~ Help Us Help You | ReadMe | 3.4.03 fixes | security fixes ~
Go to Top of Page

Machina
New Member

Switzerland
74 Posts

Posted - 26 April 2004 :  08:42:17  Show Profile  Visit Machina's Homepage
Getting crazy with it ...

installed it on 3.4.04 but don't get the Allow value in the combo of the usergroup management...

Am I alone to have this problem?


Machina
-------
http://www.jaboulay.fr
--------
Snitz based site:
http://www.itu.int/YLinICTs
MODS Used : TMPJ's Header Cell Image, Site Integration, Front Page News, News Events Calendar, Nikkol's Usergroups, Simple Slash, Avatar, File Sharing, Links
Go to Top of Page

Nikkol
Forum Moderator

USA
6907 Posts

Posted - 26 April 2004 :  08:56:18  Show Profile
The forum needs to be set as Allowed Member List in order to get the Allow.

Nikkol ~ Help Us Help You | ReadMe | 3.4.03 fixes | security fixes ~
Go to Top of Page

Machina
New Member

Switzerland
74 Posts

Posted - 27 April 2004 :  03:17:52  Show Profile  Visit Machina's Homepage
Thanks! I had not activated the Private Forums option :-)

Machina
-------
http://www.jaboulay.fr
--------
Snitz based site:
http://www.itu.int/YLinICTs
MODS Used : TMPJ's Header Cell Image, Site Integration, Front Page News, News Events Calendar, Nikkol's Usergroups, Simple Slash, Avatar, File Sharing, Links
Go to Top of Page

Machina
New Member

Switzerland
74 Posts

Posted - 27 April 2004 :  10:38:16  Show Profile  Visit Machina's Homepage
Working on the implementation of this MOD I was facing the following problem :

A default group which is affected to ALL the users, this group gives them readonly access to all forums

Moderators can select any user in the allowed member list for their forums.

The problem was that as long as they were in the default group (readonly) they could not write anything...

I changed the code in the POST.ASP, in the usergroupmod code, line 243 in your original documentation.

'####### Begin UserGroup MOD #######
if isDeniedMember(strRqForumID,MemberID) = 1 then
Go_Result "You have been denied access to this forum"
end if
if isReadOnly(strRqForumID,MemberID) = 1 AND isAllowedMember(strRqForumID,MemberID)<>1 then
Go_Result "Your access to this forum is read-only"
end if
'####### End UserGroup MOD #######

Machina
-------
http://www.jaboulay.fr
--------
Snitz based site:
http://www.itu.int/YLinICTs
MODS Used : TMPJ's Header Cell Image, Site Integration, Front Page News, News Events Calendar, Nikkol's Usergroups, Simple Slash, Avatar, File Sharing, Links
Go to Top of Page

lilaccrafts
Starting Member

18 Posts

Posted - 27 April 2004 :  12:31:05  Show Profile
quote:
Originally posted by Machina

Working on the implementation of this MOD I was facing the following problem :

A default group which is affected to ALL the users, this group gives them readonly access to all forums

Moderators can select any user in the allowed member list for their forums.

The problem was that as long as they were in the default group (readonly) they could not write anything...

I changed the code in the POST.ASP, in the usergroupmod code, line 243 in your original documentation.

'####### Begin UserGroup MOD #######
if isDeniedMember(strRqForumID,MemberID) = 1 then
Go_Result "You have been denied access to this forum"
end if
if isReadOnly(strRqForumID,MemberID) = 1 AND isAllowedMember(strRqForumID,MemberID)<>1 then
Go_Result "Your access to this forum is read-only"
end if
'####### End UserGroup MOD #######




Nicely done. A great override feature.
I like this MOD but it didn't allow moderators edit members list. So I used the autojoin feature and implemeted it to the private forums.
What I see users MOD is for making up specific groups and allowing moderators to allow them in or not without going throught the hassle of finding who belongs to what. In ours I can assign suppliers to one and crafters to another. So if the moderator would like to allow just the suppliers in they can.
Thanks for the override.
Go to Top of Page

Machina
New Member

Switzerland
74 Posts

Posted - 30 April 2004 :  10:09:28  Show Profile  Visit Machina's Homepage
Today I seem to go in an other trouble of the same idea : my override needs to be implemented somewhere else concerning the Calendar MOD ... but that's not the question here :

I was asked to have an email automatically sent to the users of whom a moderator/administrator changes the groups he is registered in... I didn't see this feature in USERGROUP MOD, I am wrong or should I code it myself?

Machina
-------
http://www.jaboulay.fr
--------
Snitz based site:
http://www.itu.int/YLinICTs
MODS Used : TMPJ's Header Cell Image, Site Integration, Front Page News, News Events Calendar, Nikkol's Usergroups, Simple Slash, Avatar, File Sharing, Links
Go to Top of Page

Machina
New Member

Switzerland
74 Posts

Posted - 14 May 2004 :  06:15:31  Show Profile  Visit Machina's Homepage
I modified the usergroups MOD: I wanted a link on the name of the members of a group, so that I click and see the profile...

I change line 200 like this :

"""><a href=pop_profile.asp?mode=display&id="& arUGMem1(0,UCnt) & ">" & ChkString(arUGMem1(1,UCnt),"display") & "</a></font>



Find around line 200, usergroups.asp (maybe copy paste)



end select
Response.Write " <tr>" & vbNewLine &_
" <td valign=""top"" bgcolor=""" & strForumCellColor & """><font face=""" & strDefaultFontFace & """ size=""" & strDefaultFontSize & """ color=""" & strForumFontColor & """>" & ChkString(arUGMem1(1,UCnt),"display") & "</font></td>" & vbNewLine & _
" <td valign=""top"" bgcolor=""" & strForumCellColor & """><font face=""" & strDefaultFontFace & """ size=""" & strDefaultFontSize & """ color=""" & strForumFontColor & """>" & GroupLevelUser & "</font></td>" & vbNewLine & _
" <td nowrap valign=""top"" align=""center"" bgcolor=""" & strForumCellColor & """>" & vbNewline &_
" <a href=""pop_profile.asp?mode=display&id=" & arUGMem1(0,UCnt) & """ alt=""View Member's Profile"">" & getCurrentIcon(strIconProfile,"View Member's Profile","hspace=""0""") & "</a>" & vbNewline
if mlev = 4 then response.write " <a href=""pop_profile.asp?mode=Modify&ID=" & arUGMem1(0,UCnt) & """ alt=""Modify this Member"">" & getCurrentIcon(strIconPencil,"Modify this Member","hspace=""0""") & "</a>" & vbNewline





Change to :

end select
Response.Write " <tr>" & vbNewLine &_
" <td valign=""top"" bgcolor=""" & strForumCellColor & """><font face=""" & strDefaultFontFace & """ size=""" & strDefaultFontSize & """ color=""" & strForumFontColor & """><a href=pop_profile.asp?mode=display&id="& arUGMem1(0,UCnt) & ">" & ChkString(arUGMem1(1,UCnt),"display") & "</a></font></td>" & vbNewLine & _
" <td valign=""top"" bgcolor=""" & strForumCellColor & """><font face=""" & strDefaultFontFace & """ size=""" & strDefaultFontSize & """ color=""" & strForumFontColor & """>" & GroupLevelUser & "</font></td>" & vbNewLine & _
" <td nowrap valign=""top"" align=""center"" bgcolor=""" & strForumCellColor & """>" & vbNewline &_
" <a href=""pop_profile.asp?mode=display&id=" & arUGMem1(0,UCnt) & """ alt=""View Member's Profile"">" & getCurrentIcon(strIconProfile,"View Member's Profile","hspace=""0""") & "</a>" & vbNewline
if mlev = 4 then response.write " <a href=""pop_profile.asp?mode=Modify&ID=" & arUGMem1(0,UCnt) & """ alt=""Modify this Member"">" & getCurrentIcon(strIconPencil,"Modify this Member","hspace=""0""") & "</a>" & vbNewline

Machina
-------
http://www.jaboulay.fr
--------
Snitz based site:
http://www.itu.int/YLinICTs
MODS Used : TMPJ's Header Cell Image, Site Integration, Front Page News, News Events Calendar, Nikkol's Usergroups, Simple Slash, Avatar, File Sharing, Links
Go to Top of Page

Gurb
Starting Member

8 Posts

Posted - 07 June 2004 :  11:36:35  Show Profile
quote:
Originally posted by wizard
[
(2) Is there a script to help move all users to a usergroup? I tried moving all to a usergroup and my com hang. Later I tried one section by section and I noticed the following:

- All users with the character "~" didn't got moved over by some weird reason.
- I could only move about half. Then no matter what I do, adding it, saving, etc. The changes would not be recorded. Changes to options are saved. But not changes to the list of members. Upon moving, the 2 list are updated but somehow it dosn't get saved.

(


The problem is in selectbox.js find this code

function selectAllOptions(obj) {
var iMax = 500;
var iMaxCounter = obj.options.length;
if (iMaxCounter > iMax) {
iMaxCounter = iMax;
}

for (var i=0; i<iMaxCounter; i++) {
obj.options[i].selected = true;
}
}

And set Imax to an higher value to match your users!

Bye
Go to Top of Page

StephenD
Senior Member

Australia
1044 Posts

Posted - 07 June 2004 :  18:54:39  Show Profile  Send StephenD a Yahoo! Message
Is it possible to feed a different page to different usergroups on login eg Usergroup1 is referred to portal1.asp with inc_header1.asp, Usergroup2 is referred to portal2.asp etc? This would be a very useful addition.
Go to Top of Page

se99paj
Starting Member

17 Posts

Posted - 09 July 2004 :  06:01:48  Show Profile
I have jsut downloaded this modification and I am having a few problems, it is the same problem that was posted at the very start of the thread:

Microsoft JET Database Engine error '80040e14'

Syntax error in ORDER BY clause.

/forum/admin_usergroups.asp, line 117


I have tried reading through the posts but have got quite confused very quickly, is there a update of this modification comnig soon that will fix this problem??

Thanks for all your help and for making forums like this possible.
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 10 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Previous Page | Next Page
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.15 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07