Author |
Topic |
lsakizada
New Member
USA
90 Posts |
Posted - 28 July 2003 : 00:10:35
|
Hi David, Is it possible to create dynamic content? let say that administrator submit script code inside the body text box to read from db. I am appreciated your work. |
|
|
DavidRhodes
Senior Member
United Kingdom
1222 Posts |
Posted - 28 July 2003 : 17:15:42
|
fixed for chillisoft
PetersWeb, what do you mean be removing every instance of |, i can't find any |
The UK MkIVs Forum |
|
|
DavidRhodes
Senior Member
United Kingdom
1222 Posts |
Posted - 28 July 2003 : 17:19:50
|
Will be doing a mod to integrate the Portal Mod with Links Manager 3 next, any suggestions, was thinking about top 5 most popular links |
The UK MkIVs Forum |
|
|
StephenD
Senior Member
Australia
1044 Posts |
Posted - 28 July 2003 : 20:59:12
|
Hi David What about a simple box/table include where you can specify links within your own site. |
|
|
OneWayMule
Dev. Team Member & Support Moderator
Austria
4969 Posts |
|
DavidRhodes
Senior Member
United Kingdom
1222 Posts |
Posted - 29 July 2003 : 17:14:24
|
OneWayMule, Cut bits from your TopNewPopular() and DisplayALink() functions to display x most popular/recent links in the Portal Mod http://www.uk-mkivs.net/forum/uk_home.asp I'll post up the finished code to add to portal.asp in the next day or so |
The UK MkIVs Forum |
|
|
OneWayMule
Dev. Team Member & Support Moderator
Austria
4969 Posts |
|
DavidRhodes
Senior Member
United Kingdom
1222 Posts |
Posted - 29 July 2003 : 18:23:13
|
Here is the code to integrate Links Manager 3 to the Portal Mod Links Manager 3 need to be installed
portal.asp, line 112
replace if strCMSEnableSearch = "1" then with call DisplayLinks(strCMSRightNavWidth)
if strCMSEnableSearch = "1" then
portal.asp, line 353
before sub StartTable(byval Width, byval Heading) paste sub DisplayLinks(byval Width)
'Integrated with Links Manager 3 (Original code by OneWayMule)
dim strSql, rsPopular, strLink, intCount, strLMOrderBy, strLMTitle
'Number of links to appear
intCount = 5
'#####################################################################
'Un-comment a group of 2 of the following 6 variables
'######################################################################
strLMTitle = "Latest Links"
strLMOrderBy = "SHOW=1 ORDER BY POST_DATE DESC, NAME DESC"
'######################################################################
'strLMTitle = "Most Popular Links"
'strLMOrderBy = "SHOW=1 AND HIT>0 ORDER BY HIT DESC"
'######################################################################
'strLMTitle = "Top Rated Links"
'strLMOrderBy = "SHOW=1 AND VOTES>0 ORDER BY RATING DESC, NAME DESC"
'######################################################################
call StartTable(Width, strLMTitle)
strSql = "SELECT LINK_ID, NAME, URL FROM " & strTablePrefix & "LINKS WHERE " & strLMOrderBy
Set rsPopular = my_conn.Execute(TopSQL(strSql, intCount))
If NOT rsPopular.EOF Then
Do While NOT rsPopular.EOF
strLink = " <a href=""links.asp?action=goto&id=" & rsPopular("LINK_ID") & """ "
If strLMOpenMethod = "1" Then
strLink = strLink & " target=""_blank"""
End If
strLink = strLink & ">" & rsPopular("NAME") & "</a><br />" & vbNewLine
Response.Write(strLink)
rsPopular.MoveNext
Loop
End If
rsPopular.Close
Set rsPopular = Nothing
call EndTable()
end sub |
The UK MkIVs Forum |
|
|
DavidRhodes
Senior Member
United Kingdom
1222 Posts |
Posted - 31 July 2003 : 18:23:38
|
My downloads page (see 1st post) has been updated with Portal Mod v1 final (i hope!)
This mod has full integration of Links Manager 3 whereby x links of a certain type are displayed on the portal, admin facilities enable you to turn the list on/off, set the type to display (latest/popular/ranked) and set the amount to display.
If anyone has the Portal Mod beta and has LM3 installed and wants to upgrade to the final Portal Mod let me know, upgrading is simple. |
The UK MkIVs Forum |
|
|
StephenD
Senior Member
Australia
1044 Posts |
Posted - 31 July 2003 : 21:17:43
|
Yes I do David please. Changed config.asp and loaded new variables. Did a File Compare on portal.asp and uploaded changed portal.asp with new cms files.
Q. Can the links open in a new window? |
Edited by - StephenD on 31 July 2003 22:33:43 |
|
|
DavidRhodes
Senior Member
United Kingdom
1222 Posts |
Posted - 01 August 2003 : 05:40:44
|
Stephen, The links will open according to your LM3 settings
upgrading from beta: add 3 lines to config.asp, see bottom 3 varaibles in new readme replace portal.asp replace admin_config_cms.asp
that's all no db changes require |
The UK MkIVs Forum |
|
|
borge
Junior Member
Norway
185 Posts |
Posted - 05 August 2003 : 12:38:26
|
Does anyone have any experience with installing this Portal Mod on forums with other mods already installed, like Image Headers, and Site Integration? Will that cause problems?
Btw David, I like that little "Glossary of Terms" mod that you have on the mkivs site, how do I get my hands on it? |
|
|
DavidRhodes
Senior Member
United Kingdom
1222 Posts |
Posted - 05 August 2003 : 15:32:38
|
The Portal Mod doesn't require any changes to any files except admin_home.asp and config.asp so it shouldn't cause problems to any existing mods.
Most of the mods on my site are custom using stored procedures and VB Classes (including Glossary of Terms), my portal page isn't the same as this Portal Mod (although it looks the same) but I made it snitz compatable because I thought it would be useful for others. I'll try and convert the Glossary of Terms soon. |
The UK MkIVs Forum |
|
|
na501
Starting Member
7 Posts |
Posted - 05 August 2003 : 21:29:17
|
Hi David ! I have installed successfully your portal and it works so good ! But i want to change something on my header to add the (home) to point to my portal like your web (Home, Forum, etc..) . So what do i have to do ? In addition , i also want to add the "recent topic" on my portal like on the phpbb portal . Can you help me ? |
|
|
wwalker
Starting Member
10 Posts |
Posted - 07 August 2003 : 01:55:14
|
David, I installed your mod - but I am having problems. When I am at the [CMS HOME] - [ADD CONTENT], I get the form to edit content, but there isn't any save or submit button. Any ideas? Same thing when I am at the CMS configuration page - NO submit or save button.
|
|
|
Topic |
|