Author |
Topic |
funinbc
Junior Member
245 Posts |
Posted - 08 January 2003 : 23:59:51
|
Ok I am making some real progress!!!
last question :-)
is there anyway to confine the the forum code to a table instead of the whole page? |
|
|
masterao
Senior Member
Sweden
1678 Posts |
Posted - 09 January 2003 : 08:30:56
|
You can change the background color for the table in the display mode, by using forum variables or by hardcoding the color. |
Jan =========== FR Portal Forums | Active Users 4.0.20 Mod |
|
|
homeacademy
Junior Member
USA
163 Posts |
Posted - 24 January 2003 : 16:27:11
|
I am attempting to implement this mod on my 3.4.03 forum, using and Access database (does this work with Access ) and had a couple of problems. I intend to use it to display the topics from one forum page to the site's main page, located outside the forum directory. I followed the instructions in the readme (upload the images, a couple of .asp pages, and update the getCurrentIcon funtion) to create a file called cdisp.asp with the following DisplayContent call:
<%
DisplayContent 1, 8, 1, 8, 0, 5, 50, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, "Example of Community Forum", "75%", "topic.asp"
%> I used the INCLUDE VIRTUAL statements at the top/bottom of the page, because cdisp.asp is located outside the forum directory. A Page Not Found error was returned when I attempted to view the page in the browser. When looking at the address bar, it appears that my Access database is the missing file.
I moved the page to the forum directory and changed the include statements to INCLUDE FILE. This time, no Page Not Found error, but I had 2 other problems:
First, my forum is set to require registration, so anyone attempting to access it is first presented with a login screen. Since inc_header.asp is one of the includes, it asks me to login before viewing the cdisp.asp page as well. This is undesirable since I am using this mod on my main page, which needs to be viewable by non-registered members. Does anybody have a fix for this?
Second, after logging in to get past the initial problem, I am given the following error:
Microsoft JET Database Engine error '80040e10'
No value given for one or more required parameters.
/forum/content.asp, line 171
The few lines of code before/after 171 in content.asp are as follows:
set rs = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")
rs.cachesize = 21
[Line 171]rs.open strSql, my_Conn, 3, adLockReadOnly, adCmdText
if Not rs.EOF then
arrTopicData = rs.GetRows(TopicCount,1)
iTopicCount = UBound(arrTopicData, 2)
else
iTopicCount = ""
end if
rs.close
set rs = nothing
Line 171 is in bold. Does anybody have any theories? Thanks! |
Edited by - homeacademy on 30 January 2003 20:02:54 |
|
|
atracht
Starting Member
30 Posts |
Posted - 25 January 2003 : 08:58:16
|
Sorry, wrong topic before.
This looks like a great MOD, but if it has no security then why is everyone using it?
Thanks! |
|
|
wii
Free ASP Hosts Moderator
Denmark
2632 Posts |
Posted - 25 January 2003 : 14:11:15
|
People never read the warnings... |
|
|
ROB
Junior Member
USA
347 Posts |
|
MarkJH
Senior Member
United Kingdom
1722 Posts |
|
pox
Junior Member
Denmark
110 Posts |
|
DJBBIZ
Junior Member
214 Posts |
|
pox
Junior Member
Denmark
110 Posts |
Posted - 14 February 2003 : 13:19:54
|
mmm is it possible to upgrade my database, so my old database can be used? |
|
|
PeeWee.Inc
Senior Member
United Kingdom
1893 Posts |
Posted - 14 February 2003 : 13:37:00
|
Yeah.
If you go over to any of the three and ask you shall be told everything you need to know. |
De Priofundus Calmo Ad Te Damine |
|
|
pricenetwork.ca
Starting Member
Canada
15 Posts |
Posted - 18 February 2003 : 10:51:01
|
when is the non-beta planned to be released? any dates you guys can tell us about? |
-------------- Canada's Price Comparison and Hot Deals site for Computers and Electronics http://www.pricenetwork.ca |
|
|
Bookie
Average Member
USA
856 Posts |
Posted - 18 February 2003 : 11:26:08
|
@tomic, In content.asp on line 110, I think it should read...
strSql = strSql & "INNER JOIN " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS M ON T.T_AUTHOR = M.MEMBER_ID) "
Currently, it reads...
strSql = strSql & "INNER JOIN " & strTablePrefix & "MEMBERS M ON T.T_AUTHOR = M.MEMBER_ID) "
On one of my sites, I have two forums that share a member table in the same db. I was messing around with this mod on the secondary forum that uses a different table prefix other than "forum". Hence, this problem came up so I had to change strTablePrefix to strMemberTablePrefix to read from the correct table specified in the config.asp file. Make sense? |
Participate in my nonsense |
|
|
webbee
Junior Member
100 Posts |
|
DJBBIZ
Junior Member
214 Posts |
Posted - 20 February 2003 : 00:49:24
|
Yes, these represent the latest and greatest...I run a ServerHacker site (www.shnforum.com), you can see it by clicking the right link in my signature below - tmi Financial Principles & Strategy, but it is all the latest Snitz core engine with many of the mods listed on this site plus... |
"The difference between good ideas and good results is performance" the management institute | tmiFinance | tmiCreative | ProfileOnDemand |
|
|
Topic |
|