Author |
Topic |
Dan Martin
Average Member
USA
528 Posts |
Posted - 17 December 2002 : 22:57:40
|
Sorry I had disappeared guys. It's been a crazy year for me, and I just haven't been able to put Snitz on my priority list. I've also made a personal decision to quit development in ASP and move to J2EE, and that has lessened my interest and time.
I'm posting links to both versions of this MOD.
Original News Forum MOD for Snitz 3.3.x
News Forum MOD for 3.4
One caveat, I did not write the 3.4 version - alex042 did. I have not reviewed the 3.4 version. I have absolutely no experience with Snitz 3.4 and I may never - it would be too much work to upgrade my websites. I won't be supporting the 3.4 version, but others are welcome to support it.
I will support the 3.3 version as best I can, but it might be a good idea to drop me an email if you post a question - I won't be here every day unless notified.
Sorry for the long hiatus. -Dan |
|
|
alex042
Average Member
USA
631 Posts |
Posted - 18 December 2002 : 09:04:57
|
There were very minor changes required to upgrade v3.3 to v3.4 so both version should be very similar.
|
|
|
The Impact
Junior Member
Australia
398 Posts |
Posted - 19 December 2002 : 06:02:27
|
I'm using a Access Database and my forum have a few other MOD's. I am getting this error:
ADODB.Recordset error '800a0bb9'
Arguments are of the wrong type, are out of acceptable range, or are in conflict with one another.
/minglis/forums2/inc_news.asp, line 13
When I go to the page. I've seen the other person that had the problem but I cant see the updates that were made to fix this problem.
Thanks for trying to help me!
|
|
|
The Impact
Junior Member
Australia
398 Posts |
Posted - 19 December 2002 : 06:58:55
|
Please Please Ppl!
I really need to know whats wrong with the code!
I've got a deadline! |
|
|
n8pbm
Junior Member
USA
212 Posts |
Posted - 19 December 2002 : 08:21:18
|
My solution was to add this right below the 'By Dan Martin line:
strSql = "SELECT C_VARIABLE, C_VALUE" &_
" FROM " & strTablePrefix & "CONFIG_NEW"
set rs = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")
rs.open strSql, my_conn
Do While NOT rs.EOF
If rs("C_VARIABLE") = "strNewsForum_ID" Then strNewsForum_ID = rs("C_VALUE")
If rs("C_VARIABLE") = "strNewsTopicCount" then strNewsTopicCount = rs("C_VALUE")
rs.MoveNext
Loop
rs.Close
Set rs = Nothing
This was a temp. solution but it worked.. you may have to add <% before the code and %> after the code. I upgraded this mod from the original and converted the files to include response.writes. So I do not know if this upgrade is the same way.
|
Mike Great Lakes Pop Up Club Camping |
Edited by - n8pbm on 19 December 2002 08:24:12 |
|
|
cjepp
Starting Member
USA
3 Posts |
Posted - 22 December 2002 : 15:58:07
|
If any'yall got the time, please check this error out:
~~~ ADODB.Recordset.1 error '80004005' SQLState: 42000 Native Error Code: 1064 [TCX][MyODBC]You have an error in your SQL syntax near '5 FORUM_FORUM.F_SUBJECT, FORUM_TOPICS.FORUM_ID, FORUM_TOPICS.TOPIC_ID, FORUM_TOP' at line 1
inc_news.asp, line 33 ~~~
line 43 is merely: rs.open strSql, my_conn, 3
i have tried without the ', 3' -no luck. i think the problem is in the MYSQL tables. Can anyone spare a sec. to take a look? http://panderbear.com/default.asp
select the text in the black box for a better look;]c |
|
|
n8pbm
Junior Member
USA
212 Posts |
Posted - 23 December 2002 : 12:38:54
|
If you can post your inc_news.asp file I'll take a look. It appears you have some error in the quary itself. I am not a SQL expert however. My specialty is MS Access.
Mike |
Mike Great Lakes Pop Up Club Camping |
|
|
Dan Martin
Average Member
USA
528 Posts |
Posted - 23 December 2002 : 21:55:40
|
It sounds to me like your driver doesn't support the "SELECT TOP 5". The alternative, which I originally was using, is to remove the "TOP 5" from the SQL and add a counter to the loop.
Make sure A) that your counter is limited by strNewsTopicCount and B) you still check for EOF.
myCounter = 1 do while (not rs.EOF and myCounter <= strNewsTopicCount) ... myCounter = myCounter + 1 Loop
How come my mod is more popular after I stopped doing Snitz work than before? I feel like a dead painter.
-Dan |
Edited by - Dan Martin on 23 December 2002 22:09:25 |
|
|
DoraMoon
Average Member
Taiwan
661 Posts |
Posted - 24 December 2002 : 07:21:06
|
yes, i think the "SELECT TOP xx" only supported on Access,(and SQL ?? ) in MySQL, it seem have another syntax can be used.
i'm also know MySQL nothing.... but do'nt worry.. i know there is new and very useful function TopSQL in 3.4.
for example, in your situation, i think the SQL string should be modified to this.. (inc_news.asp about line.28 & line.33) change this strSql ="SELECT TOP "& strNewsTopicCount & " " & strTablePrefix & "FORUM.F_SUBJECT, " &.......... to strSql ="SELECT " & strTablePrefix & "FORUM.F_SUBJECT, " &..........
and this rs.open strSql, my_conn to rs.open TopSQL(strSql,strNewsTopicCount), my_conn
(the TopSQL function in inc_func_common.asp, so here supposed that you'd at least have inc_header.asp or inc_func_common.asp including in that page.... otherwise, you'll need to copy the function by yourself..) |
|
|
Lydecker
Junior Member
United Kingdom
297 Posts |
Posted - 31 December 2002 : 08:49:03
|
quote: Originally posted by cjepp
If any'yall got the time, please check this error out:
~~~ ADODB.Recordset.1 error '80004005' SQLState: 42000 Native Error Code: 1064 [TCX][MyODBC]You have an error in your SQL syntax near '5 FORUM_FORUM.F_SUBJECT, FORUM_TOPICS.FORUM_ID, FORUM_TOPICS.TOPIC_ID, FORUM_TOP' at line 1
inc_news.asp, line 33 ~~~
line 43 is merely: rs.open strSql, my_conn, 3
i have tried without the ', 3' -no luck. i think the problem is in the MYSQL tables. Can anyone spare a sec. to take a look? http://panderbear.com/default.asp
select the text in the black box for a better look;]c
I AM HAVING THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM! - I am using My SQL. I have modified the code as stated in the post before me, my line 43 is:
line 43 is: rs.open TopSQL(strSql,strNewsTopicCount), my_conn
|
Edited by - Lydecker on 31 December 2002 08:50:03 |
|
|
jkmcgrath
Junior Member
USA
145 Posts |
Posted - 04 January 2003 : 12:57:37
|
I download the zip from your link and followed the instructions of course and you have in you readme file to modify the admin_home.asp as follows;
5B. admin_home.asp *****************************************
FIND this code:
<LI><a href="javascript:openWindow3('admin_config_order.asp')">Configure Category/Forum Order</a></LI>
ADD (directly below it):
<LI><a href="admin_news_forum.asp">Config News Forum</a></LI><%'<-- News Forum MOD %>
And it produces the following error.
Microsoft VBScript compilation error '800a03ea'
Syntax error
/forum/admin_home.asp, line 141
<LI><a href="admin_news_forum.asp">Config News Forum</a></LI><%'<-- News Forum MOD ^
Thanks John
|
Delta Force Seals |
|
|
jkmcgrath
Junior Member
USA
145 Posts |
Posted - 04 January 2003 : 13:02:02
|
update
I fixed that error with this
" <LI><a href=""admin_news_forum.asp"">Config News Forum</a></LI>" & vbNewLine & _
Thanks John |
Delta Force Seals |
|
|
jkmcgrath
Junior Member
USA
145 Posts |
Posted - 04 January 2003 : 13:14:14
|
Couple of requests or Ideas to make this great mod even better.
Multiple options in the admin section so you can have multiple blocks on the home page for different content.
THanks for a great mod!
John |
Delta Force Seals |
|
|
sminh
Starting Member
11 Posts |
Posted - 04 January 2003 : 18:55:54
|
is there any way in which I can stop people from posting new topics in a forum, but still let them post replys in a topic that I created?
So if I create a new catigory called News, can I make it so only I can only put new topics in it, but users can post into each topic?
Anyone?
Thanks |
Edited by - sminh on 04 January 2003 21:18:58 |
|
|
skyhawks
Junior Member
USA
125 Posts |
Posted - 08 January 2003 : 00:33:06
|
someone post what i believe to be the same error i am getting.... but I cant seeen to find an answer to it... can anyone help me.
Microsoft JET Database Engine error '80040e14' Syntax error (missing operator) in query expression 'FORUM_FORUM.FORUM_ID ='. /forum/inc_news.asp, line 13
line9 strSql = "SELECT " & strTablePrefix & "FORUM.F_SUBJECT" &_ line10 " FROM " & strTablePrefix & "FORUM " &_ line11 " WHERE " & strTablePrefix & "FORUM.FORUM_ID = " & strNewsForum_ID line12 set rs = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset") line13 rs.open strSql, my_conn line14 forumTitle = rs("F_SUBJECT") line15 rs.Close line16 Set rs = Nothing
|
----------------------------------------
Website: http://www.johnlophotography.com |
|
|
Topic |
|