Author |
Topic |
|
aspdesigner
Junior Member
165 Posts |
Posted - 30 December 2000 : 01:21:51
|
Has anybody tried to do a Preview of a new message that contains any forum codes, smilies, or even a CODE section???
It HTML-escapes the resulting codes, so you are looking at things like PRE tags instead of actually displaying any of the desired attributes (like bold), smilies (displays the source code for an IMG tag instead!) or formatted code segments (displays a PRE tag source code, followed by your code displayed mangled!)
OK, I fixed that last bug, it's somebody else's turn now!
Seriously, shouldn't this version been fully tested before it was released? Preview not working is a serious enough error that I think I will have to drop back to SR2 unless a fix is forthcoming.
You can see this same problem on this forum as well, just try adding a message containing any forum codes or smilies, and then Preview it before you post it (yuck!)
You may wish to backstep this forum to SR2 until the new release is more stable.
Edited by - aspdesigner on 30 December 2000 06:47:42 |
|
aspdesigner
Junior Member
165 Posts |
Posted - 30 December 2000 : 02:14:17
|
OK, I think I may have found the cause of the bug -
In the ChkString function (inside of inc_functions.asp), I noticed that the following code fragment had been added -
if fField_Type = "preview" then if strAllowHTML <> "1" then fString = HTMLEncode(fString) end if end if
Presumably, this was to prevent HTML codes entered inside a message when HTML was OFF from working in Preview mode.
UNFORTUNATELY, it seems that this code was added AFTER the code which substitutes actual HTML for forum codes, smilies, CODE sections, fonts, etc., so that all of the generated HTML code would then be mis-interpreted as invalid HTML entered by the user and HTML-escaped in Preview!
Someone needs to either remove this code fragment, or re-locate it somewhere ABOVE the forum codes replacement section.
|
|
|
aspdesigner
Junior Member
165 Posts |
Posted - 30 December 2000 : 02:40:09
|
OK, here is a fix which seems to work -
In the ChkString function, inside of inc_functions.asp, in the top portion of the function (above all the docode... replacement calls), find the following code -
elseif fField_Type = "message" then if strAllowHTML <> "1" then fString = HTMLEncode(fString) end if elseif fField_Type = "hidden" then fString = HTMLEncode(fString) end if
Replace this with -
elseif (fField_Type = "message") or (fField_Type = "preview") then if strAllowHTML <> "1" then fString = HTMLEncode(fString) end if elseif fField_Type = "hidden" then fString = HTMLEncode(fString) end if
Then, near the bottom of the ChkString function, find the following code -
if fField_Type = "preview" then if strAllowHTML <> "1" then fString = HTMLEncode(fString) end if end if
And delete it!
This seems to solve the problem.
Hey, how do you get to be called a developer on this forum, anyway?
|
|
|
HuwR
Forum Admin
United Kingdom
20584 Posts |
Posted - 30 December 2000 : 04:09:32
|
A fix to this problem was posted here http://forum.snitz.com/forum/link.asp?TOPIC_ID=3299
You have to be asked by Mike or Pierre, and posting acommunity announcement telling people not to upgrade, is probably not the best way to go about it.
'Resistance is futile' |
|
|
RichardKinser
Snitz Forums Admin
USA
16655 Posts |
Posted - 30 December 2000 : 04:27:14
|
quote:
Hey, how do you get to be called a developer on this forum, anyway?
Definitely not by doing what you just did. The common practice for posting a bug is not "****, ANOTHER bug!", it would be: "BUG: v3.1SR4 blahblahblah"
If you want to help out, please do so, but do so in at least a somewhat professional manner. |
|
|
aspdesigner
Junior Member
165 Posts |
Posted - 30 December 2000 : 05:06:46
|
quote:
A fix to this problem was posted here...
Richard apparently came up with another solution to this same problem. I did not see this, as it was not posted in the Bug Reports area.
quote:
You have to be asked by Mike or Pierre, and posting acommunity announcement telling people not to upgrade, is probably not the best way to go about it.
I may have been a bit upset at the time, but I stand by my conclusion - SR4 has some bugs not present in SR2, one of which is rather noticable to end-users. I would not recommend "upgrading" until after the fixes have been incorporated in the latest release.
I would hope that one of the requirements is not that I check my integrity at the door. Sorry guys - I call em like I see em.
quote:
If you want to help out, please do so, but do so in at least a somewhat professional manner.
I am sorry if I sounded a bit upset, but I just spent time upgrading to SR4, and discovered two bugs in the course of 5 minutes! Finding the first bug already had me a bit upset, once I realized that whoever had allegedly "fixed" this bug in SR4 had never even bothered to test the fix!
|
|
|
HuwR
Forum Admin
United Kingdom
20584 Posts |
Posted - 30 December 2000 : 05:24:17
|
quote:
quote:
A fix to this problem was posted here...
Richard apparently came up with another solution to this same problem. I did not see this, as it was not posted in the Bug Reports area.
You are correct, it was not posted in the bug forum, but in answer to someones problem, however, as Dev team members or moderators, we would do a forum search to check no one had fixed the bug before posting "**** another bug".
quote:
quote:
You have to be asked by Mike or Pierre, and posting acommunity announcement telling people not to upgrade, is probably not the best way to go about it.
I may have been a bit upset at the time, but I stand by my conclusion - SR4 has some bugs not present in SR2, one of which is rather noticable to end-users. I would not recommend "upgrading" until after the fixes have been incorporated in the latest release.
I would hope that one of the requirements is not that I check my integrity at the door. Sorry guys - I call em like I see em.
The general nature of a Bug means that it wasn't there before.
No one is asking you to check in your integrity at the door, but politeness generally gets a better response, we are dealing with people of all ages,sexes and races on the forum, you should bear that in mind when posting.
quote:
quote:
If you want to help out, please do so, but do so in at least a somewhat professional manner. I am sorry if I sounded a bit upset, but I just spent time upgrading to SR4, and discovered two bugs in the course of 5 minutes! Finding the first bug already had me a bit upset, once I realized that whoever had allegedly "fixed" this bug in SR4 had never even bothered to test the fix!
Which bug was supposedly fixed and wasn't? I am not sure from your post.
We all appreciate everyones help, but posting in the way you did is not very constructive. This is not a personal afront on you, I spent many many hours going through forum messages every day.
'Resistance is futile' |
|
|
RichardKinser
Snitz Forums Admin
USA
16655 Posts |
Posted - 30 December 2000 : 05:30:59
|
quote:
quote:
A fix to this problem was posted here...
Richard apparently came up with another solution to this same problem. I did not see this, as it was not posted in the Bug Reports area.
Yes, that is my fault for not posting this in the bug reports. I should have done so.
This is not an excuse but here's what happened today: I found out this morning that my DSL provider was going out of business and then the line went dead a few hours later. I had to scrounge around for a modem, then it's an ISA modem and my computer only has PCI slots. So I had to build a computer from spare parts to act as a NAT machine for my network until I can switch to a DSL provider that's still in business. Now I'm on Dialup but they decide to do router maintenance so now it's down also... Not a great day for me...
aspdesigner, can you please change the Topic of this post to something like: (v3.1 SR4) Bug in Preview Window
Thanks!
Edited by - Richard Kinser on 30 December 2000 05:34:06 |
|
|
aspdesigner
Junior Member
165 Posts |
Posted - 30 December 2000 : 06:45:47
|
quote:
The general nature of a Bug means that it wasn't there before.
Huh? From a user's perspective, a bug is a bug is a bug as long as it is present in the latest downloadable ZIP release. Many of the folks that use Snitz are not ASP programmers, we cannot expect them to go searching high and low for code fragments to "patch up" their copy so that it works properly. This was a pretty noticable error, and was not present in SR2 - it should have been caught in testing before SR4 was released.
quote:
Which bug was supposedly fixed and wasn't? I am not sure from your post.
It is in the topic immediately below this one, right here in the Bug Reports area. I am surprised that you didn't notice it
Richard:
Thank you for your honesty. I can understand what you are going through - I have been having provider problems myself lately, plus I have a client that looks like he is going to stiff me on a $15K project. It is nice to hear a somewhat friendly voice here, I was beginning to feel I was under attack! (****, I posted the fixes to two different bugs in the latest release, I figured at least somebody would say "thanks", not attack me!)
Well, I need to get a little sleep - I spent Friday night fixing bugs and helping ppl in the Code Support forum, instead of going out and having fun!
|
|
|
aspdesigner
Junior Member
165 Posts |
Posted - 30 December 2000 : 06:50:32
|
quote:
Richard: aspdesigner, can you please change the Topic of this post to something like: (v3.1 SR4) Bug in Preview Window
Thanks!
Done.
Edited by - aspdesigner on 30 December 2000 06:55:07 |
|
|
RichardKinser
Snitz Forums Admin
USA
16655 Posts |
Posted - 30 December 2000 : 07:10:19
|
Thank you |
|
|
HuwR
Forum Admin
United Kingdom
20584 Posts |
Posted - 30 December 2000 : 08:02:27
|
aspdesigner,
I was not personally attacking you, just the way you went about posting the Bugs.
'Resistance is futile' |
|
|
Reinsnitz
Snitz Forums Admin
USA
3545 Posts |
Posted - 02 January 2001 : 22:19:54
|
Closing this thread...
NOTE: please continue any discussion on this bug in the following topic: http://forum.snitz.com/forum/link.asp?TOPIC_ID=3299
Reinsnitz (Mike) ><)))'> "The glory of young men is their strength, and the honor of old men is their gray hair." - Proverbs 20:29
|
|
|
|
Topic |
|
|
|