Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Help Groups for Snitz Forums 2000 Users
 Help: General / Classic ASP versions(v3.4.XX)
 adding logon menu on another webpage.
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

skyhawks
Junior Member

USA
125 Posts

Posted - 15 August 2002 :  20:45:31  Show Profile  Visit skyhawks's Homepage
I'm not too familiar with asp programming. in my home page.. I like to be a logon menu on my root directory default page (different folder) and/or if they have register before, that means the cookie would still be in there system... it will say welcome back username. how to do you do that?

----------------------------------------

Website: http://www.johnlophotography.com

ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin

Portugal
26364 Posts

Posted - 15 August 2002 :  20:47:31  Show Profile  Send ruirib a Yahoo! Message
Have a look at inc_login.asp at Snitz Exchange (link below). It examplifies what you want.


Snitz 3.4 Readme | Like the support? Support Snitz too
Go to Top of Page

skyhawks
Junior Member

USA
125 Posts

Posted - 15 August 2002 :  21:19:56  Show Profile  Visit skyhawks's Homepage
Thanks Ruirib. I got it to work. =)

----------------------------------------

Website: http://www.johnlophotography.com
Go to Top of Page

ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin

Portugal
26364 Posts

Posted - 15 August 2002 :  21:45:29  Show Profile  Send ruirib a Yahoo! Message
Glad to hear it .


Snitz 3.4 Readme | Like the support? Support Snitz too
Go to Top of Page

skyhawks
Junior Member

USA
125 Posts

Posted - 19 August 2002 :  00:36:25  Show Profile  Visit skyhawks's Homepage
I just upgraded to 3.4. I cant seen to use my login page I created. It telling me username/password is not vaild. please help!

----------------------------------------

Website: http://www.johnlophotography.com
Go to Top of Page

bax
Junior Member

141 Posts

Posted - 19 August 2002 :  00:59:27  Show Profile
Skyhawks - email me your login page, I'll be happy to have a look and see if I can figure it out.
Go to Top of Page

ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin

Portugal
26364 Posts

Posted - 19 August 2002 :  08:44:24  Show Profile  Send ruirib a Yahoo! Message
quote:
Originally posted by skyhawks

I just upgraded to 3.4. I cant seen to use my login page I created. It telling me username/password is not vaild. please help!


I don't know inc_login.asp, never looked at it, just recommended since I knew what id did. Anyway I'd guess it will need changing for 3.4, since changes were done to the login process (password encryption for one).


Snitz 3.4 Readme | Like the support? Support Snitz too

Edited by - ruirib on 19 August 2002 08:45:30
Go to Top of Page

skyhawks
Junior Member

USA
125 Posts

Posted - 19 August 2002 :  12:07:59  Show Profile  Visit skyhawks's Homepage
ruirib,

yeah, inc_login.asp does have an include file inc_function.asp which is no longer being use by the 3.4 version now. It is also using config.asp file.. which is also differnt from the previous version. I would be appreciate if you can take it look at it.. only if you have time on your hand.

Bax,

I cant email it to you since I dont know you email address. But here's the link to the login page. thanks.

loginPage

(if the link doesnt work.. just use "save target as")

Thanks.

----------------------------------------

Website: http://www.johnlophotography.com
Go to Top of Page

ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin

Portugal
26364 Posts

Posted - 19 August 2002 :  13:21:00  Show Profile  Send ruirib a Yahoo! Message
quote:
Originally posted by skyhawks

ruirib,

yeah, inc_login.asp does have an include file inc_function.asp which is no longer being use by the 3.4 version now. It is also using config.asp file.. which is also differnt from the previous version. I would be appreciate if you can take it look at it.. only if you have time on your hand.


skyhawks,

Time is a scarce resource and I guess it will be for the next few days. I cannot promise that I will have a look, but I can try if I have the time.


Snitz 3.4 Readme | Like the support? Support Snitz too
Go to Top of Page

skyhawks
Junior Member

USA
125 Posts

Posted - 19 August 2002 :  13:25:52  Show Profile  Visit skyhawks's Homepage
Thanks Ruirib, I understand. thats why I said if you have time on your hand. espeically with the 3.4 version just being release. I know you will be doing alot of bug fix... not including your regular full time job.

----------------------------------------

Website: http://www.johnlophotography.com
Go to Top of Page

Roland
Advanced Member

Netherlands
9335 Posts

Posted - 19 August 2002 :  13:51:42  Show Profile
You need to include inc_sha256.asp and have the password encrypted first. Then it'll be checked against the one in the database and if valid, log you in.
Right now it's just checking your unencrypted password against a 64 character string (the encrypted password) in the database, and naturally returns the error message that the passwords didn't match.
Go to Top of Page

skyhawks
Junior Member

USA
125 Posts

Posted - 19 August 2002 :  14:21:19  Show Profile  Visit skyhawks's Homepage
I added the include file (inc_sha256.asp).. but it doesnt work. what do you meant by "have the password encrypted first"??

----------------------------------------

Website: http://www.johnlophotography.com
Go to Top of Page

Roland
Advanced Member

Netherlands
9335 Posts

Posted - 19 August 2002 :  14:25:23  Show Profile
In inc_header.asp this part can be found:

select case Request.Form("Method_Type")
case "login"
strEncodedPassword = sha256("" & Request.Form("Password"))
select case chkUser(strDBNTFUserName, strEncodedPassword,-1)
case 1, 2, 3, 4
Call DoCookies(Request.Form("SavePassword"))
strLoginStatus = 1
case else
strLoginStatus = 0
end select
case "logout"
Call ClearCookies()
end select


You need to include that on every page where you show the login fields, above the <html> tag. That way the password will be encrypted. At least, it should be.
Go to Top of Page

skyhawks
Junior Member

USA
125 Posts

Posted - 19 August 2002 :  15:20:27  Show Profile  Visit skyhawks's Homepage
it didnt work.. stated that

Microsoft VBScript runtime error '800a01c2'

Wrong number of arguments or invalid property assignment: 'chkUser'


they were refering to this line...

select case chkUser(strDBNTFUserName, strEncodedPassword,-1)

----------------------------------------

Website: http://www.johnlophotography.com
Go to Top of Page

ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin

Portugal
26364 Posts

Posted - 19 August 2002 :  15:22:38  Show Profile  Send ruirib a Yahoo! Message
Did you change the include to inc_func_common.asp?


Snitz 3.4 Readme | Like the support? Support Snitz too
Go to Top of Page

sji2671
Junior Member

United Kingdom
185 Posts

Posted - 19 August 2002 :  15:28:06  Show Profile  Visit sji2671's Homepage
I did all of the above, and included inc_func_common.asp and getting the same error as skyhawks is getting.

Edited by - sji2671 on 19 August 2002 15:29:01
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 2 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Next Page
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.5 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07