Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Help Groups for Snitz Forums 2000 Users
 Help: General / Classic ASP versions(v3.4.XX)
 Sharing registered users database?
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Ra1ney
Junior Member

United Kingdom
113 Posts

Posted - 01 May 2002 :  15:15:55  Show Profile
My members need to log into my main site and I'd rather they didn't have to log in twice and have two sets of username and password - so is it possible to have just one log in for both my site and the forum?

I did a search to see if anyone had asked anything similar and found something back in March(?), but it wasn't resolved (the guy asking stopped replying). Can anyone help me?

Ra1ney
p.s Nathan/Crash - If you see this, I haven't forgotten the last thread (AU), I'm still sorting out my hosting . Should be up soon...

Nathan
Help Moderator

USA
7664 Posts

Posted - 01 May 2002 :  19:56:40  Show Profile  Visit Nathan's Homepage
Easiest way to do that is to build your site into the snitz authentification/members system.

Nathan Bales
Snitz Exchange | Do's and Dont's
Go to Top of Page

Ra1ney
Junior Member

United Kingdom
113 Posts

Posted - 02 May 2002 :  11:31:15  Show Profile
Useful information, if I knew how... Any tips as for a starting point?

quote:

Easiest way to do that is to build your site into the snitz authentification/members system.

Nathan Bales
Snitz Exchange | Do's and Dont's



Go to Top of Page

Ra1ney
Junior Member

United Kingdom
113 Posts

Posted - 09 May 2002 :  20:13:38  Show Profile
Please don't give up on me Nathan...
quote:

Useful information, if I knew how... Any tips as for a starting point?

quote:

Easiest way to do that is to build your site into the snitz authentification/members system.

Nathan Bales
Snitz Exchange | Do's and Dont's







Go to Top of Page

Nathan
Help Moderator

USA
7664 Posts

Posted - 09 May 2002 :  20:36:06  Show Profile  Visit Nathan's Homepage
Is your site (other than your forum) already done?

Nathan Bales
Snitz Exchange | Do's and Dont's
Go to Top of Page

Dan Martin
Average Member

USA
528 Posts

Posted - 09 May 2002 :  22:53:58  Show Profile  Visit Dan Martin's Homepage  Send Dan Martin an AOL message  Send Dan Martin an ICQ Message  Send Dan Martin a Yahoo! Message
This is the way I integrated Snitz with an existing user database. It may not be the most elegant, but it is easy, quick, and works very well. It has for me anyway.

Copy all the Snitz tables into your Access DB.
Rename FORUM_MEMBERS to something (anything), I'll say FORUM_MEMBERS_ADD.
Remove every field from FORUM_MEMBERS_ADD that you have an equivalent for in your other table. It is not important that the fields in your proprietary table have the same name - but types are sometimes important (not always, believe it or not).
If you do not have an equivalent auto numbered ID field in your database, you will need to add it.

Now, create a Query called FORUM_MEMBERS.
In this Query, you join your proprietary table with the FORUM_MEMBERS_ADD table. Join them on the ID.
For every field in your proprietary database, you need to rename it within the query, using the "AS" keyword. For example: SELECT PROPRIETARY.ID AS M_ID PROPRIETARY.email AS M_EMAIL

I've been running like this for 2 years now, and it has worked perfectly. The ONLY thing that doesn't work for me is deleting members. I had to add custom code to the function that deletes members to get it to delete from the 2 tables that make up the query. It appears you cannot use an SQL "DELETE" on a Query.

That's worked beatifully for me. Even if you don't want to join two seperate tables, you could add the fields directly to your table and then create the query to do the "SELECT ... AS ..." to rename your fields to ones Snitz can understand.

Go to Top of Page

Ra1ney
Junior Member

United Kingdom
113 Posts

Posted - 13 May 2002 :  20:44:38  Show Profile
Sorry it's taken so long to reply. I get caught up in all my coding nightmares that I forget what I've posted. Note to self: try to incorporate tracking system...

Is the rest of the site done? Pretty much...although I have been saying that for ages but it must be true this time...until the next hurdle . I will announce it for feedback from Snitz users (if I'm feeling brave enough??).

p.s Nathan (or anyone clever), any chance you could help me with tonights dilemma? (TOPIC_ID_28007 re: layout). I know it's a little beneath you, but I'd be very grateful....
I haven't seen you post for a while tonight, so I guess it's safe to log off - I haven't been to bed b4 3am for weeks and it's now 1.35am (BST) (whoopeee!) so I'm off I'll check back 2morrow

quote:

Is your site (other than your forum) already done?

Nathan Bales
Snitz Exchange | Do's and Dont's



Go to Top of Page

Ra1ney
Junior Member

United Kingdom
113 Posts

Posted - 13 May 2002 :  20:52:43  Show Profile
Wow! That sounds complicated!!! I think I might have to shelve that one for a bit...still struggling with far simpler things!!

While we're on the subject though, you might want to look at http://forum.snitz.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=23079 - very interesting, I’ll keep my fingers crossed .

Thanks for replying (sorry I didn't see it until now


quote:

This is the way I integrated Snitz with an existing user database. It may not be the most elegant, but it is easy, quick, and works very well. It has for me anyway.

Copy all the Snitz tables into your Access DB.
Rename FORUM_MEMBERS to something (anything), I'll say FORUM_MEMBERS_ADD.
Remove every field from FORUM_MEMBERS_ADD that you have an equivalent for in your other table. It is not important that the fields in your proprietary table have the same name - but types are sometimes important (not always, believe it or not).
If you do not have an equivalent auto numbered ID field in your database, you will need to add it.

Now, create a Query called FORUM_MEMBERS.
In this Query, you join your proprietary table with the FORUM_MEMBERS_ADD table. Join them on the ID.
For every field in your proprietary database, you need to rename it within the query, using the "AS" keyword. For example: SELECT PROPRIETARY.ID AS M_ID PROPRIETARY.email AS M_EMAIL

I've been running like this for 2 years now, and it has worked perfectly. The ONLY thing that doesn't work for me is deleting members. I had to add custom code to the function that deletes members to get it to delete from the 2 tables that make up the query. It appears you cannot use an SQL "DELETE" on a Query.

That's worked beatifully for me. Even if you don't want to join two seperate tables, you could add the fields directly to your table and then create the query to do the "SELECT ... AS ..." to rename your fields to ones Snitz can understand.





Go to Top of Page

xtophercaa
Starting Member

USA
7 Posts

Posted - 15 May 2002 :  16:34:26  Show Profile  Visit xtophercaa's Homepage
quote:

Copy all the Snitz tables into your Access DB.
Rename FORUM_MEMBERS to something (anything), I'll say FORUM_MEMBERS_ADD.
Remove every field from FORUM_MEMBERS_ADD that you have an equivalent for in your other table. It is not important that the fields in your proprietary table have the same name - but types are sometimes important (not always, believe it or not).
If you do not have an equivalent auto numbered ID field in your database, you will need to add it.



I like this approach. Does anyone else have experience with this? Any sense as to if this would work with the SQL installation as well?

= )

C. A.

Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.43 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07