Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Snitz Forums 2000 MOD-Group
 MOD Add-On Forum (W/O Code)
 Another JET Database Engine error--ASP Bug?
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin

Portugal
26364 Posts

Posted - 28 April 2002 :  12:31:54  Show Profile  Send ruirib a Yahoo! Message
Chiz, what about the update to the OLEDB driver? Have you done it?

-------------------------------------------------
Installation Guide | Do's and Dont's | MODs
Go to Top of Page

Chiz
Junior Member

245 Posts

Posted - 28 April 2002 :  12:35:09  Show Profile
quote:
Chiz, what about the update to the OLEDB driver? Have you done it?

Ooops. Sorry, ruirib. I was late in editing my post. I hope you could read again my post above regarding this.

Is this what you mean about upgrading to OLEDB?

My websites: PalmVenue :: PV Mobile
My Snitz MODs: Categorized Icons
Go to Top of Page

ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin

Portugal
26364 Posts

Posted - 28 April 2002 :  12:41:45  Show Profile  Send ruirib a Yahoo! Message
quote:

Ooops. Sorry, ruirib. I was late in editing my post. I hope you could read again my post above regarding this.

Is this what you mean about upgrading to OLEDB?



Yes it was. How many members do you have online when that happens?

-------------------------------------------------
Installation Guide | Do's and Dont's | MODs
Go to Top of Page

Chiz
Junior Member

245 Posts

Posted - 28 April 2002 :  12:43:28  Show Profile
About six or more...

FYI: I was using that connection string ever since I got the forum online way back in Nov. 2001

My websites: PalmVenue :: PV Mobile
My Snitz MODs: Categorized Icons


Edited by - Chiz on 28 April 2002 12:44:46
Go to Top of Page

ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin

Portugal
26364 Posts

Posted - 28 April 2002 :  12:49:42  Show Profile  Send ruirib a Yahoo! Message
quote:

About six or more...

FYI: I was using that connection string ever since I got the forum online way back in Nov. 2001

My websites: PalmVenue :: PV Mobile
My Snitz MODs: Categorized Icons


Edited by - Chiz on 28 April 2002 12:44:46


That shouldn't be a problem (about 6). I suppose you don't host this, do you? If you did, maybe installing the Jet drivers would help: http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;Q239114

-------------------------------------------------
Installation Guide | Do's and Dont's | MODs
Go to Top of Page

Chiz
Junior Member

245 Posts

Posted - 28 April 2002 :  23:18:51  Show Profile
Thanks for the article link, ruirib.

Just read it and I guess, I can't have those upgrades. You're right, I'm not hosting my site. It's on a shared server.

I will email my hosting provider and ask what service pack and the version of the drivers are installed.

My websites: PalmVenue :: PV Mobile
My Snitz MODs: Categorized Icons
Go to Top of Page

Chiz
Junior Member

245 Posts

Posted - 06 May 2002 :  05:19:18  Show Profile
I'm afraid it's not only me encounters this error. Another user of the Categorized Icons MOD reported in this thread that he also experiences the same problem.

I really can't determine the error. Checked Microsoft support website and I wasn't unable to find related materials. Everything looks OK and yet it still produces the error.

If it isn't too much to ask I hope you could have a look at the following code changes made to the respective files. Red lines indicate the part where the errors occur.

inc_functions.asp

function CleanCode(fString)
....
if strIcons = "1" then
strSql = "SELECT Code, Filename FROM " & strTablePrefix & "CategorizedIcons"
set rsCategorizedIcons = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")
rsCategorizedIcons.open strSql, my_Conn
 
Do While Not rsCategorizedIcons.Eof
fString= replace(fString, "<img src=" & rsCategorizedIcons("Filename") & " border=0 align=middle>", rsCategorizedIcons("Code"), 1, -1, 1)

rsCategorizedIcons.MoveNext
Loop

rsCategorizedIcons.close
set rsCategorizedIcons = nothing
end if
end if
fString = Replace(fString, "'", "'")
CleanCode = fString
end function
 
function Smile(fString)
strSql = "SELECT Code, Code2, Code3, Filename FROM " & strTablePrefix & "CategorizedIcons"
set rsCategorizedIcons = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")
rsCategorizedIcons.open strSql, my_Conn
 
Do While Not rsCategorizedIcons.Eof
fString = replace( fString, rsCategorizedIcons("Code"), "<img src=" & rsCategorizedIcons("Filename") & " border=0 align=middle>")
If Not IsNull( rsCategorizedIcons("Code2")) Then
fString = replace( fString, rsCategorizedIcons("Code2"), "<img src=" & rsCategorizedIcons("Filename") & " border=0 align=middle>")
End If
If Not IsNull( rsCategorizedIcons("Code3")) Then
fString = replace( fString, rsCategorizedIcons("Code3"), "<img src=" & rsCategorizedIcons("Filename") & " border=0 align=middle>")
End If
rsCategorizedIcons.MoveNext
Loop
 
rsCategorizedIcons.close
set rsCategorizedIcons = nothing

Smile = fString
end function


inc_post_buttons.asp

...
'## Snitz Communications
'## C/O: Michael Anderson
'## PO Box 200
'## Harpswell, ME 04079
'#################################################################################
 
strSQL = "SELECT Width, Height FROM " & strTablePrefix & "CategorizedIconsSettings"
 
set rsCategorizedIconsSettings = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")
rsCategorizedIconsSettings.open strSql, my_Conn
 
intWidth = rsCategorizedIconsSettings("Width")
intHeight = rsCategorizedIconsSettings("Height")
 
rsCategorizedIconsSettings.close
set rsCategorizedIconsSettings = nothing
%>
<script language="JavaScript">


I'm desperate in finding the solution to this since I think many users of the Categorized Icons MOD will experience the same problems.

Thank you very much in advance.

My websites: PalmVenue :: PV Mobile
My Snitz MODs: Categorized Icons
Go to Top of Page

ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin

Portugal
26364 Posts

Posted - 06 May 2002 :  06:42:42  Show Profile  Send ruirib a Yahoo! Message
Well I as told you before, I don't think you are doing anything wrong. Maybe try a way around the problem by using SELECT * FROM instead of specifying the names of the columns to get from the table. Maybe that will help.

-------------------------------------------------
Installation Guide | Do's and Dont's | MODs
Go to Top of Page

Chiz
Junior Member

245 Posts

Posted - 06 May 2002 :  08:09:23  Show Profile
I apologize Ruirib if I'm getting to be a pain in the a**. I appreciate all your help ever since.

I wrote a code just to test my theory that this is an intermittent error or probably a bug in ASP—or network-related. I really can't tell.

Anyway, I tried to reproduce the error by calling the chkString() function 1000 times. From my understanding of the code, the default.asp calls chkString() depending on the number of the forums the database has. So with this in mind, I wrote the code.

I was not surprised to see the error once again. My first run of the code loaded the page completely. But the succeeding reloading of the page produced these results.





As you can see from the first screenshot, the page was lucky enough to reach 904 passes, but the second one erred at its 4th pass.

I'm evaluating a fix I made in our forum where I used the Getrows method to put all the records in an array to minimize trips to the database. The code checks if the records are already in the array, it skips loading the records again.

I don't know if this is the best solution since there are times when even the first loading of records, the error occurs.

Do you think this has something to do with the server? Network traffic or maybe outdated database drivers?

Thanks once again for taking the time.

My websites: PalmVenue :: PV Mobile
My Snitz MODs: Categorized Icons
Go to Top of Page

ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin

Portugal
26364 Posts

Posted - 06 May 2002 :  09:33:29  Show Profile  Send ruirib a Yahoo! Message
Chiz,

Gonna take a look at chkString and get back to you as soon as I can.

Just tell me one thing. This test involved just invoking chkString?


-------------------------------------------------
Installation Guide | Do's and Dont's | MODs
Go to Top of Page

Chiz
Junior Member

245 Posts

Posted - 06 May 2002 :  10:51:27  Show Profile
quote:
Gonna take a look at chkString and get back to you as soon as I can.
No problem. Take your time.

quote:
Just tell me one thing. This test involved just invoking chkString?
Yes, Ruirib. Here's the test code so that you may have an idea:


<!--#INCLUDE FILE="config.asp" -->
<!--#INCLUDE FILE="inc_functions.asp" -->
<!--#INCLUDE FILE="inc_code.asp" -->
<!--#INCLUDE FILE="inc_top.asp" -->
<%
For intCount = 1 to 1000
Response.write "<font size=""1"">Debug: Running chkString()... " & chkString("[:)]","smile") & " Pass " & intCount & "</font><BR><BR>"
Next
%>


My websites: PalmVenue :: PV Mobile
My Snitz MODs: Categorized Icons


Edited by - Chiz on 06 May 2002 11:16:22
Go to Top of Page

ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin

Portugal
26364 Posts

Posted - 06 May 2002 :  11:47:17  Show Profile  Send ruirib a Yahoo! Message
Chiz,

Surely the error you get now is not a database error, since you are not accessing the database, right. Which one is it, now?

-------------------------------------------------
Installation Guide | Do's and Dont's | MODs
Go to Top of Page

Chiz
Junior Member

245 Posts

Posted - 06 May 2002 :  12:03:06  Show Profile
Oh, it is still a database error. The test code uses the functions in the inc_functions.asp that I have just posted. And the lines in red are where these errors occur.

It is not yet using the temporary 'fix' that I did.

My websites: PalmVenue :: PV Mobile
My Snitz MODs: Categorized Icons
Go to Top of Page

ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin

Portugal
26364 Posts

Posted - 06 May 2002 :  12:09:30  Show Profile  Send ruirib a Yahoo! Message
Just checking anyway, but do you close the database connection after you no longer need to use it?

-------------------------------------------------
Installation Guide | Do's and Dont's | MODs
Go to Top of Page

Chiz
Junior Member

245 Posts

Posted - 06 May 2002 :  12:20:16  Show Profile
Always. Here's part of the code that I posted earlier. I don't know if this is ineffective but I always put this:

	
rsCategorizedIcons.close
set rsCategorizedIcons = nothing


My websites: PalmVenue :: PV Mobile
My Snitz MODs: Categorized Icons
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 3 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Previous Page | Next Page
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.3 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07