Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Snitz Forums 2000 MOD-Group
 MOD Add-On Forum (W/Code)
 active users mod and pipey flash chat
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

eauxvives
Junior Member

Bhutan
145 Posts

Posted - 15 November 2001 :  10:46:34  Show Profile
Hi all.
Many of you use the active users mod and many use pipey's flash chat application, so I guess quite a few of you (like me) use both active users and pipey flash.
I have looked for a way to dispay the persons on line on pipey chat in the active users page, so I thought I would share it with you.
I only have one chatroom (room1), but I guess this can be easily adapted to multiple rooms, though I haven't tried it. Also please keep in mind that I am not an ASP expert, so every suggestion to improve this is welcomed.

1) edit inc_activeusers2.asp to add the following line immediately before the last <%end if%>:
<!--#INCLUDE FILE="online.asp" -->
2) create a new file, called online.asp, containing the following code
<%
dim vUserCount, vchatusers, vUser, vresult
vUserCount = Application("UserCount1") '# of users for room1
vchatusers = Application("ChatUsers1") 'name of users for room1
For vUser = 0 To vUserCount - 1
vresult = vresult & vChatUsers(vUser)
if vuser < vUserCount - 1 then
vresult = vresult & ", " ' adds a comma before the next name
end if
next
%>

<tr>
<td align="center" bgcolor="<% =strForumCellColor %>" valign="middle"><IMG SRC="icon_chat.gif" border="0">
</td>
<td valign=top bgcolor="<% =strForumCellColor %>" colspan="<% if (strShowModerators = "1") or (mlev = 4 or mlev = 3) then Response.Write("7") else Response.Write("5")%>"><font face="<% =strDefaultFontFace %>" size="<% =strDefaultFontSize %>" color="<% =strForumLinkFontColor %>" size="+1">

<B>
<a href="/path_to/chatroom.asp')")Chat users</B></A>
(<% response.write vUserCount%>)
</FONT><BR>
<font face="<% =strDefaultFontFace %>" size="<% =strFooterFontSize %>" color="<% =strForumLinkFontColor %>">
<%
if vusercount = 0 then
response.write ("The chatroom is empty")
else
Response.Write vResult
end if
%>
</td>
</tr>

You can see an example on my site at http://www.eauxvives.org/forum. It's in french, though. I have also modified the inc_top.asp to show the number of users on line if there are some.

Edited by - eauxvives on 15 November 2001 10:52:52

BLK - Jetta
Starting Member

23 Posts

Posted - 15 November 2001 :  16:46:08  Show Profile
I get it to show up under the active users but I cannot get the # of users to EVER update. It shows 1 user and the name, and has for about 3 hours now, even though there have been up to 4 people in at a time and stayed there to help me test.....

Thanks!

Go to Top of Page

eauxvives
Junior Member

Bhutan
145 Posts

Posted - 16 November 2001 :  03:25:54  Show Profile
quote:

I get it to show up under the active users but I cannot get the # of users to EVER update. It shows 1 user and the name, and has for about 3 hours now, even though there have been up to 4 people in at a time and stayed there to help me test.....

Thanks!




did you reload the page?

Go to Top of Page

BLK - Jetta
Starting Member

23 Posts

Posted - 16 November 2001 :  09:47:14  Show Profile
Yes, several times. This morning when I opened the forum, it had updated with "no users" which is correct. I logged onto chat and opened the forum from another computer... no update. I think it is only checking one time, and not refreshing itself. I unfortunatley am not ASP savvy. I am using Pipey's new version 1.7a if that helps. Thanks!


P.S. I had to edit this line to make the TXT appear...
quote:
<B>
<a href="/path_to/chatroom.asp')")Chat users</B></A>



I changed it to

<B>
<a href="/forum/chat/chatroom.asp">Chat users</B></A>


Edited by - BLK - Jetta on 16 November 2001 09:51:15
Go to Top of Page

Da_Stimulator
DEV Team Forum Moderator

USA
3373 Posts

Posted - 16 November 2001 :  09:49:18  Show Profile  Send Da_Stimulator an AOL message  Send Da_Stimulator a Yahoo! Message
Is your other computer on the same network? If so it would be outputting the same IP/IP range, therefore not updateing it

----
-Eric (da_stimulator)
Stims Snitz Test area
Snitz Mod Resource
PHP Script Center -Quality PHP Scripts
Go to Top of Page

Da_Stimulator
DEV Team Forum Moderator

USA
3373 Posts

Posted - 16 November 2001 :  09:50:02  Show Profile  Send Da_Stimulator an AOL message  Send Da_Stimulator a Yahoo! Message
btw where can I download this pipey flash chat?

----
-Eric (da_stimulator)
Stims Snitz Test area
Snitz Mod Resource
PHP Script Center -Quality PHP Scripts
Go to Top of Page

BLK - Jetta
Starting Member

23 Posts

Posted - 16 November 2001 :  09:53:17  Show Profile
quote:

Is your other computer on the same network? If so it would be outputting the same IP/IP range, therefore not updateing it

----
-Eric (da_stimulator)
Stims Snitz Test area
Snitz Mod Resource
PHP Script Center -Quality PHP Scripts



sonsof***es - YES - it is on the same network. I am designing it for our company's intranet, so all of the computers will be on the same network... the "Active Users" MOD stays updated though....

Go to Top of Page

BLK - Jetta
Starting Member

23 Posts

Posted - 16 November 2001 :  09:54:05  Show Profile
http://www.pipey.com/ > Its quick & dirty

Go to Top of Page

samyot
Junior Member

Canada
242 Posts

Posted - 16 November 2001 :  15:58:19  Show Profile  Visit samyot's Homepage  Send samyot a Yahoo! Message
How do you incorporate the stuff from the chat global.asa if I already have the active user stuff in it?
This is what I have now:

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="VBScript" RUNAT="Server">

Sub Application_OnStart
Application("ActiveUsers") = 0
Application("TodaysDate") = Date
End Sub

Sub Session_OnStart
If Application("VisitorsToday") = "" then
Application("VisitorsToday") = 0
end if
Session.Timeout = 10 ' minutes
Session("Start") = Now
Application.Lock
Application("ActiveUsers") = Application("ActiveUsers") + 1
if Application("TodaysDate") = Date then
Application("VisitorsToday") = Application("VisitorsToday") + 1
else
Application("TodaysDate") = Date
Application("VisitorsToday") = 1
end if
Application.UnLock
session.Timeout = 25
End Sub

Sub Session_OnEnd
' Decrease the active visitors count when the session ends.
Application.Lock
Application("ActiveUsers") = Application("ActiveUsers") - 1
Application.UnLock
End Sub

</SCRIPT>


I want to add:

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE=VBScript RUNAT=Server>
Sub Session_OnStart
'Set session variable for virtual-directory test
Session("ChatInitialised")=True
End Sub

Sub Session_OnEnd
Dim vChatName, vChatUsers, vChatMoods, vUserCount
Dim vRoomNo
Dim m, n

vRoomNo = Session("RoomNo")
vChatName = "" & Session("ChatName")
If vChatName <> "" Then
Application.Lock
vUserCount = CLng(Application("UserCount" & vRoomNo))
If vUserCount < 2 Then
vChatUsers = ""
vChatMoods = ""
vUserCount = 0
Else
vChatUsers = Application("ChatUsers" & vRoomNo)
vChatMoods = Application("ChatMoods" & vRoomNo)
For n = 0 To vUserCount - 1
If vChatUsers(n) = vChatName Then
For m = n To vUserCount - 2
vChatUsers(m) = vChatUsers(m+1)
vChatMoods(m) = vChatMoods(m+1)
Next
vUserCount = vUserCount - 1
Redim Preserve vChatUsers(vUserCount)
Redim Preserve vChatMoods(vUserCount)
Exit For
End If
Next
End If
Application("ChatUsers" & vRoomNo) = vChatUsers
Application("ChatMoods" & vRoomNo) = vChatMoods
Application("UserCount" & vRoomNo) = vUserCount
AddLineToChat vRoomNo, "**" & vChatName & " has left (timed out)**"
Session("ChatName") = ""
If vUserCount = 0 Then
Application("ChatLines" & vRoomNo) = ""
Application("ChatLineCount" & vRoomNo) = 0
Application("ChatMaxLines" & vRoomNo) = 0
End If
Application.Unlock
End If

End Sub

Sub AddLineToChat (ByVal vRoomNo, ByVal vNewLine)

Dim vCurrentLine, vChatLines, vMaxLines

vCurrentLine = Application("ChatLineCount" & vRoomNo)
vChatLines = Application("ChatLines" & vRoomNo)
vMaxLines = Application("ChatMaxLines" & vRoomNo)
vCurrentLine = vCurrentLine + 1
If vCurrentLine > vMaxLines Then
vMaxLines = vMaxLines + 500
If vCurrentLine = 1 Then
Redim vChatLines(vMaxLines)
Else
Redim Preserve vChatLines(vMaxLines)
End If
Application("ChatMaxLines" & vRoomNo) = vMaxLines
End If
vChatLines(vCurrentLine - 1) = vNewLine
Application("ChatLines" & vRoomNo) = vChatLines
Application("ChatLineCount" & vRoomNo) = vCurrentLine

End Sub
</SCRIPT>

Sylvain Amyot
FORUM:http://support.mytechsupport.ca
HOME:http://mytechsupport.ca
Go to Top of Page

eauxvives
Junior Member

Bhutan
145 Posts

Posted - 19 November 2001 :  05:11:53  Show Profile
quote:

I get it to show up under the active users but I cannot get the # of users to EVER update. It shows 1 user and the name, and has for about 3 hours now, even though there have been up to 4 people in at a time and stayed there to help me test.....

Thanks!




I don't know what your problem is..
can you do a simple test , which is make an asp page than contains only one line:
response.write Application("UserCount1")
when I do this, I get the number of online users. what about you?


Go to Top of Page

samyot
Junior Member

Canada
242 Posts

Posted - 20 November 2001 :  09:18:43  Show Profile  Visit samyot's Homepage  Send samyot a Yahoo! Message
quote:

How do you incorporate the stuff from the chat global.asa if I already have the active user stuff in it?
This is what I have now:

...



Does anybody have an answer for me? Look two posts up for sample global.asa

Thanks...

Sylvain Amyot
FORUM:http://support.mytechsupport.ca
HOME:http://mytechsupport.ca
Go to Top of Page

Extra Sports
Average Member

USA
644 Posts

Posted - 20 November 2001 :  22:02:00  Show Profile
GOOD one, I'll try it as soon as my host fixes something wrong with our servers.
Go to Top of Page

SimonT
Junior Member

United Kingdom
202 Posts

Posted - 21 November 2001 :  20:06:18  Show Profile
Errr forgot to say a while back I integrated the chat script in to my forum so that the forum user id is taken in to the chat room so only members can get in to the chat room if any one wants the code email me will post a few screen shots of it later this week when i have more time.
Go to Top of Page

retro
Junior Member

123 Posts

Posted - 23 November 2001 :  00:00:42  Show Profile
Okay...I followed the steps and now have the table displaying just fine, but I never get the information to update. My inc_online.asp looks like this:

 
<%
dim vUserCount, vchatusers, vUser, vresult
vUserCount = Application("UserCount1") '# of users for room1
vchatusers = Application("ChatUsers1") 'name of users for room1
For vUser = 0 To vUserCount - 1
vresult = vresult & vChatUsers(vUser)
if vuser < vUserCount - 1 then
vresult = vresult & ", " ' adds a comma before the next name
end if
next
%>



<tr>
<td align="center" bgcolor="<% =strForumCellColor %>" valign="middle"><IMG SRC="../forum/icon_chat.gif" border="0">
</td>
<td valign=top bgcolor="<% =strForumCellColor %>" colspan="
<% if (strShowModerators = "1") or (mlev = 4 or mlev = 3)
then Response.Write("7")
else Response.Write("5")%>"><font face="<% =strDefaultFontFace %>
" size="<% =strDefaultFontSize %>" color="<% =strForumLinkFontColor %>" size="+1">

<B><a href="http://www.unitedbikers.com/chat_check.asp")<acronym title="Members in the chatroom...">Members in the chatroom</B></A> (<% response.write vUserCount%>)
</FONT><BR><font face="<% =strDefaultFontFace %>" size="<% =strFooterFontSize %>" color="<% =strForumLinkFontColor %>">
<%
if vusercount = 0 then
response.write ("The chatroom is empty")
else
Response.Write vResult
end if
%>



For some reason is shows all the text, but leaves the number of chat users empty i.e. "Number of users in the chat room ()". Does it matter where the inc_online.asp is located?? How does it know what application and room to count?? I know my ignorance is showing...but I like this mod <G>!

Any help is appreciated. BTW...you can enter the chat at

Thanks!

Sean



Edited by - Retro on 10 May 2002 17:02:24
Go to Top of Page

retro
Junior Member

123 Posts

Posted - 23 November 2001 :  14:21:32  Show Profile




Edited by - Retro on 10 May 2002 17:03:06
Go to Top of Page

retro
Junior Member

123 Posts

Posted - 23 November 2001 :  16:38:10  Show Profile
Okay...The problem has something to do with the fact that Pipey Chat requires a virtual directory to work properly. If I call this file:



The mod works just fine. This file is accessing the file via the virtual directory "chat"

If, however, I access the file via:


The mod fails. This is calling the file directly from the folder name. I want to reiterate, these are the same file, one is just being accessed via a virtual directory.

Any ideas on how to overcome this problem? I have tried placing the online2.asp in both my chatfiles and forum directories with no luck. I have also tried having the INCLUDE statement use the virtual path and it gives and error that the file cannot be found.

I even tried using this command for the include but it still doesn't work:

<!--#INCLUDE VIRTUAL="/chat/online2.asp"--> 


Any help? I'm close and would love to have this mod.

Thanks again!

Sean



Edited by - Retro on 10 May 2002 17:04:18
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 3 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Next Page
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.2 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07