Author |
Topic |
phoenixtaz13
Junior Member
129 Posts |
Posted - 13 March 2009 : 10:50:36
|
hi Huwr.... :)
i saw this in one of the member's site, when u hover the mouse pointer on top of the topic post, it displays or shows partial content of the topic....
|
|
|
HuwR
Forum Admin
United Kingdom
20584 Posts |
Posted - 13 March 2009 : 11:29:49
|
probably called something like topic hover mod maybe ?
don't forget however that if you insist on putting the content of a topic in a tooltip it will dramatically increase the size of the page you are sending to the ckient, and consequently slow it down and increase the bandwidth your site uses. |
|
|
Carefree
Advanced Member
Philippines
4207 Posts |
|
phoenixtaz13
Junior Member
129 Posts |
Posted - 13 March 2009 : 23:27:18
|
thanks for the added info Huwr... :) ur right on that, i'll consider what u said... :)
thanks carefree... i'll check out the link.... :)
very last question, how do u prevent post messages from expanding the width of the forum? or send me a link topic that deals with this problem, i dont know how to call it in the search page... i got into a situation when im testing my forum and posted a link and it didnt break, instead it expanded my forum width..... :(
|
|
|
HuwR
Forum Admin
United Kingdom
20584 Posts |
Posted - 14 March 2009 : 03:34:56
|
they will only stretch if
a) there are no spaces in a line b) the text has been placed in a code tag.
to prevent a) is pretty much impossible with out doing some serious rewrites of the code or heavy use of regexp, to prevent b there is code around which creates scrolling code boxes. |
|
|
phoenixtaz13
Junior Member
129 Posts |
Posted - 21 March 2009 : 03:38:50
|
hello again guyz.... :)
good day to all.... :)
btw, while i was beta testing my blog, i've noticed that only admin and moderators are allowed to delete and lock post....
how can i allow the author of the topic to delete and lock his own topic without making him the moderator?...
i added this in my blog.asp file:
quote: if (T_Status = 0) then Response.Write " <a href=""JavaScript:openWindow('pop_open.asp?mode=Topic&TOPIC_ID=" & Topic_ID & "&FORUM_ID=" & strWeblogsForum & "&CAT_ID=" & Cat_ID & "')"">" & getCurrentIcon(strIconFolderUnlocked,"Un-Lock Topic","") & "</a>" & vbNewLine else Response.Write " <a href=""JavaScript:openWindow('pop_lock.asp?mode=Topic&TOPIC_ID=" & Topic_ID & "&FORUM_ID=" & strWeblogsForum & "&CAT_ID=" & Cat_ID & "')"">" & getCurrentIcon(strIconFolderLocked,"Lock Topic","") & "</a>" & vbNewLine end if <a href=""post.asp?" & ArchiveLink & pollLink & "method=EditTopic&REPLY_ID=" & Topic_ID & "&TOPIC_ID=" & Topic_ID & "&FORUM_ID=" & strWeblogsForum & """>" & getCurrentIcon(strIconFolderPencil,"Edit Topic","hspace=""0""") & "</a>" & vbNewLine 'Response.Write " <a href=""JavaScript:openWindow('pop_delete.asp?" & ArchiveLink & pollLink & "mode=Topic&TOPIC_ID=" & Topic_ID & "&FORUM_ID=" & strWeblogsForum & "&CAT_ID=" & Cat_ID & "')"">" & getCurrentIcon(strIconFolderDelete,"Delete Topic","") & "</a>" & vbNewLine
and when i click on the LOCK icon, i get this "No Permissions to Lock Topic"
what should i look into?.... what should i do?....
thanks in advance... :)
|
Edited by - phoenixtaz13 on 21 March 2009 04:13:50 |
|
|
HuwR
Forum Admin
United Kingdom
20584 Posts |
Posted - 21 March 2009 : 03:57:24
|
a normal member can delete a post but only if nobody has replied, you SHOULD NOT change this otherwise you forum will just become a joke as people will just be able to delete topics if somebody makes a comment that they do not agree with, IT IS AN EXTREMELY BAD IDEA. |
|
|
phoenixtaz13
Junior Member
129 Posts |
Posted - 21 March 2009 : 04:12:44
|
hi huwr.... :)
i added the code tag and it didnt do the same as urs.... so i just use the quote tag.. :(
about my blog.asp... :)
what i intend to do, is only the author of the topic is allowed to delete and lock his own topic in my blog.asp file and not in any other area.... i just want to allow the author the ability to decide wether he/she wants people to comment out on his blog.
since u mentioned about other members will be able to delete and lock topics, this mean its not good to modify the pop_lock.asp and pop_delete.asp but what if a code similar to pop_lock and pop_delete added in my blog.asp file.... how can i do that?...
thanks for ur time huwr.... :)
|
Edited by - phoenixtaz13 on 21 March 2009 04:19:04 |
|
|
HuwR
Forum Admin
United Kingdom
20584 Posts |
Posted - 21 March 2009 : 05:56:29
|
you could just clone pop_lock and maybe call it pop_lockblog or something, and then only show the link to the blog author, if it is using normal topics to simulate the blog, you need to check mLev to determine if you are the author or not.
an mLev of 2 should indicate you are the author |
|
|
phoenixtaz13
Junior Member
129 Posts |
Posted - 21 March 2009 : 06:44:49
|
hi huwr.... :)
found some codes in pop_lock.asp and typed it in my blog.asp.... heres what i did:
quote: Response.write "<form name=""input"" method=""post"">" & vbNewLine & _ "<input type=""button"" value=""Lock"" name=""buttonlock""/>" & vbNewLine & _ if buttonlock = "Lock" then strSql = "UPDATE " & strTablePrefix & "TOPICS " strSql = strSql & " SET T_STATUS = " & 0 if Request.Form("noArchiveFlag") = "1" then strSQL = strSql & ", T_ARCHIVE_FLAG = " & 0 else strSQL = strSql & ", T_ARCHIVE_FLAG = " & 1 end if strSql = strSql & " WHERE TOPIC_ID = " & Topic_ID
my_Conn.Execute (strSql),,adCmdText + adExecuteNoRecords end if Response.Write "</form>" & vbNewLine
im confuse on how the buttons work... no matter how many times i click the button, it wouldnt execute the code to change the T_STATUS... :(
can u pls shed some light on this pls..... :)
thanks for ur time again..... :)
|
Edited by - phoenixtaz13 on 21 March 2009 06:45:57 |
|
|
phoenixtaz13
Junior Member
129 Posts |
Posted - 21 March 2009 : 11:59:16
|
hi huwr..... :)
i just did what u suggested.... :)
thanks.... |
|
|
phoenixtaz13
Junior Member
129 Posts |
Posted - 08 April 2009 : 16:08:01
|
Hello... good day to all... :)
Carefree, hope you have time.... :)
i was playing around or testing blog.asp, and i found out, when i embed or use the [tube]url[/tube] tag, the video is not displaying... but in the topic.asp the video is displaying....
what do u think i miss?... or what should i look into?... thanks in advance.... :)
typo error.... solve the prob already.... :)
|
Edited by - phoenixtaz13 on 08 April 2009 16:29:06 |
|
|
Topic |
|