Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Snitz Forums 2000 MOD-Group
 MOD Add-On Forum (W/Code)
 Hover preview of post message.
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

TAF
Starting Member

18 Posts

Posted - 11 January 2008 :  15:52:47  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I have completed what I think is a great adjustment to Snitz.

The code adjustment allows users to hover over a topic title and view the first 200 characters of the post (or however many characters you want) in a 'title' box.

It works as a html title="Message of the Post..." in the <a> tag.

It adds about 4 snips of code to forum.asp, active.asp, and search.asp.

I will be happy to provide line numbers/code or full page code if anyone is interested in this. Please Email me if you would like the code posted.<

Edited by - TAF on 11 January 2008 15:54:40

weeweeslap
Senior Member

USA
1077 Posts

Posted - 11 January 2008 :  16:12:35  Show Profile  Visit weeweeslap's Homepage  Send weeweeslap an AOL message  Send weeweeslap a Yahoo! Message  Reply with Quote
why not post the code here for everyone to use? <

coaster crazy
Go to Top of Page

bobby131313
Senior Member

USA
1163 Posts

Posted - 11 January 2008 :  16:17:23  Show Profile  Visit bobby131313's Homepage  Reply with Quote
LOL, If the base Snitz had that, I'd have removed it withing the first 5 minutes. I think it's annoying as hell. Amazing how people think differently.<

Switch the order of your title tags
Go to Top of Page

TAF
Starting Member

18 Posts

Posted - 11 January 2008 :  16:30:55  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I like it, since it keeps me from having to go into every post that is titled 'Help!' just to see if it is a problem I can help with or not.

I just hover and move on to the next if it isn't related to something I know about.

Here is the full code:
http://www.2000webdesign.com/CodeShare/forum.txt
http://www.2000webdesign.com/CodeShare/active.txt
http://www.2000webdesign.com/CodeShare/search.txt

It would be easy to copy and paste it this way into your .asp files.
Or, you can find the code changes by searching for ****** since I marked comments with this to find the changes easily.<
Go to Top of Page

TAF
Starting Member

18 Posts

Posted - 11 January 2008 :  16:32:23  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I think it would be REALLY cool if the base Snitz had an admin option to turn this on or off... or even better, a member's option to show it or not.<
Go to Top of Page

texanman
Junior Member

United States
410 Posts

Posted - 11 January 2008 :  17:24:21  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Just 6 lines total to be added? If I am seeing this right.<

Edited by - texanman on 11 January 2008 17:24:53
Go to Top of Page

TAF
Starting Member

18 Posts

Posted - 11 January 2008 :  18:09:04  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Should be 4 lines added/adjusted per asp page. Total of 16.

A couple areas just adjust what is already on a line.<
Go to Top of Page

MaD2ko0l
Senior Member

United Kingdom
1053 Posts

Posted - 11 January 2008 :  19:37:46  Show Profile  Visit MaD2ko0l's Homepage  Reply with Quote
this has already been created as a mod. i cannot recall what it was called, but it showed x ammount of chaaracters when hovered over the topic title.<

© 1999-2010 MaD2ko0l
Go to Top of Page

NiteOwl
Junior Member

Canada
403 Posts

Posted - 11 January 2008 :  21:30:50  Show Profile  Visit NiteOwl's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Really a very nice addition, thank you
<

-=NiteOwl=-
Go to Top of Page

MarkJH
Senior Member

United Kingdom
1722 Posts

Posted - 12 January 2008 :  07:52:08  Show Profile  Visit MarkJH's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Great MOD!

One minor problem, though. When somebody puts a "'" in their post (i.e. I'm) it puts an "A" before it (i.e. IA'm). Any ideas?<

Bandlink.net - http://www.bandlink.net/
Bandlink Music Forums - http://www.bandlink.net/forum/
Go to Top of Page

kmac
New Member

USA
58 Posts

Posted - 12 January 2008 :  10:14:53  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
If the post begins with something other than text, i.e. a quote or image, the preview shows the HTML. Is this correct, or did I make a mistake somewhere? Perhaps a conflict with one of my other mods?<
Go to Top of Page

TAF
Starting Member

18 Posts

Posted - 14 January 2008 :  15:24:58  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
This is the row that does the work getting the ' and " replaced with a character that doesn't try to break off the title="blablabla" area of the html. (example is the row from active.asp)

Topic_Message = LEFT(Replace(Replace("" & allActiveTopics(fT_MESSAGE,RowCount) & "","'","´"),"""","´´"),200) & "..."

In this area it replaces ' with ´ and " with ´´. I have never had a problem with it showing an 'A' in these areas, so I am thinking it must have something to do with poor font support in these cases. I am sure you could tell it to replace these with ` or with nothing.

The '200' in the line is what tells it how many characters to show. You could tell it to show more or less.

It uses the raw data from the post to create a html title block... that is why it shows the html and/or forum code. You could add to the replace functions and get it to remove these, but I didn't bother since it doesn't bother me to have a little html coding in there.<
Go to Top of Page

MarkJH
Senior Member

United Kingdom
1722 Posts

Posted - 14 January 2008 :  16:24:20  Show Profile  Visit MarkJH's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I replaced the line

Topic_Message = LEFT(Replace(Replace("" & allActiveTopics(fT_MESSAGE,RowCount) & "","'","´"),"""","´´"),200) & "..."

with

Topic_Message = LEFT(Replace(Replace("" & allActiveTopics(fT_MESSAGE,RowCount) & "","'","#39;"),"""","#34;"),200) & "..."

and all seems fine now. It must have been some sort of encoding issue. <

Bandlink.net - http://www.bandlink.net/
Bandlink Music Forums - http://www.bandlink.net/forum/
Go to Top of Page

TAF
Starting Member

18 Posts

Posted - 15 January 2008 :  19:44:17  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I like that!

::Grabs code line and runs away with it::<
Go to Top of Page

Andy Humm
Average Member

United Kingdom
908 Posts

Posted - 20 January 2008 :  09:02:41  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
TAF Could you embold all the code in your three .txt files that have been changed for this great mod idea. It would be easier to see the changes. Thank you andy<
Go to Top of Page

TAF
Starting Member

18 Posts

Posted - 01 May 2008 :  14:04:54  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
My program doesn't mark bold for stuff, but you can find the changes by doing a search for ***** (since I marked the lines with comments that way)<
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 2 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Next Page
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.17 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07