Author |
Topic |
TAF
Starting Member
18 Posts |
Posted - 11 January 2008 : 15:52:47
|
I have completed what I think is a great adjustment to Snitz.
The code adjustment allows users to hover over a topic title and view the first 200 characters of the post (or however many characters you want) in a 'title' box.
It works as a html title="Message of the Post..." in the <a> tag.
It adds about 4 snips of code to forum.asp, active.asp, and search.asp.
I will be happy to provide line numbers/code or full page code if anyone is interested in this. Please Email me if you would like the code posted.< |
Edited by - TAF on 11 January 2008 15:54:40 |
|
weeweeslap
Senior Member
USA
1077 Posts |
Posted - 11 January 2008 : 16:12:35
|
why not post the code here for everyone to use? < |
coaster crazy |
|
|
bobby131313
Senior Member
USA
1163 Posts |
Posted - 11 January 2008 : 16:17:23
|
LOL, If the base Snitz had that, I'd have removed it withing the first 5 minutes. I think it's annoying as hell. Amazing how people think differently.< |
Switch the order of your title tags |
|
|
TAF
Starting Member
18 Posts |
|
TAF
Starting Member
18 Posts |
Posted - 11 January 2008 : 16:32:23
|
I think it would be REALLY cool if the base Snitz had an admin option to turn this on or off... or even better, a member's option to show it or not.< |
|
|
texanman
Junior Member
United States
410 Posts |
Posted - 11 January 2008 : 17:24:21
|
Just 6 lines total to be added? If I am seeing this right.< |
Edited by - texanman on 11 January 2008 17:24:53 |
|
|
TAF
Starting Member
18 Posts |
Posted - 11 January 2008 : 18:09:04
|
Should be 4 lines added/adjusted per asp page. Total of 16.
A couple areas just adjust what is already on a line.< |
|
|
MaD2ko0l
Senior Member
United Kingdom
1053 Posts |
Posted - 11 January 2008 : 19:37:46
|
this has already been created as a mod. i cannot recall what it was called, but it showed x ammount of chaaracters when hovered over the topic title.< |
© 1999-2010 MaD2ko0l |
|
|
NiteOwl
Junior Member
Canada
403 Posts |
Posted - 11 January 2008 : 21:30:50
|
Really a very nice addition, thank you < |
-=NiteOwl=-
|
|
|
MarkJH
Senior Member
United Kingdom
1722 Posts |
|
kmac
New Member
USA
58 Posts |
Posted - 12 January 2008 : 10:14:53
|
If the post begins with something other than text, i.e. a quote or image, the preview shows the HTML. Is this correct, or did I make a mistake somewhere? Perhaps a conflict with one of my other mods?< |
|
|
TAF
Starting Member
18 Posts |
Posted - 14 January 2008 : 15:24:58
|
This is the row that does the work getting the ' and " replaced with a character that doesn't try to break off the title="blablabla" area of the html. (example is the row from active.asp)
Topic_Message = LEFT(Replace(Replace("" & allActiveTopics(fT_MESSAGE,RowCount) & "","'","´"),"""","´´"),200) & "..."
In this area it replaces ' with ´ and " with ´´. I have never had a problem with it showing an 'A' in these areas, so I am thinking it must have something to do with poor font support in these cases. I am sure you could tell it to replace these with ` or with nothing.
The '200' in the line is what tells it how many characters to show. You could tell it to show more or less.
It uses the raw data from the post to create a html title block... that is why it shows the html and/or forum code. You could add to the replace functions and get it to remove these, but I didn't bother since it doesn't bother me to have a little html coding in there.< |
|
|
MarkJH
Senior Member
United Kingdom
1722 Posts |
Posted - 14 January 2008 : 16:24:20
|
I replaced the line
Topic_Message = LEFT(Replace(Replace("" & allActiveTopics(fT_MESSAGE,RowCount) & "","'","´"),"""","´´"),200) & "..."
with
Topic_Message = LEFT(Replace(Replace("" & allActiveTopics(fT_MESSAGE,RowCount) & "","'","#39;"),"""","#34;"),200) & "..."
and all seems fine now. It must have been some sort of encoding issue. < |
Bandlink.net - http://www.bandlink.net/ Bandlink Music Forums - http://www.bandlink.net/forum/ |
|
|
TAF
Starting Member
18 Posts |
Posted - 15 January 2008 : 19:44:17
|
I like that!
::Grabs code line and runs away with it::< |
|
|
Andy Humm
Average Member
United Kingdom
908 Posts |
Posted - 20 January 2008 : 09:02:41
|
TAF Could you embold all the code in your three .txt files that have been changed for this great mod idea. It would be easier to see the changes. Thank you andy< |
|
|
TAF
Starting Member
18 Posts |
Posted - 01 May 2008 : 14:04:54
|
My program doesn't mark bold for stuff, but you can find the changes by doing a search for ***** (since I marked the lines with comments that way)< |
|
|
Topic |
|