Author |
Topic |
JJenson
Advanced Member
USA
2121 Posts |
Posted - 26 July 2007 : 19:06:10
|
I am trying to find out if someone has either done this or knows hows to do this.
Basically I want to have a form that people will fill out when they hit submit that will post into a Private Forum that only I can see. Each Submit on the form would creat a new topic that at that point I could post replys and keep track of what is going on with this.
I have looked around but cannot seem to find this anywhere.
Thanks < |
|
Podge
Support Moderator
Ireland
3775 Posts |
|
JJenson
Advanced Member
USA
2121 Posts |
Posted - 26 July 2007 : 19:46:27
|
yes I basically want to set the form so that it come from a specified account I set up. Then from there in the body of the text it will have their personal information captured.
Did that make sense?
After looking into it I guess the user could be annoynomous It reall doesn't matter. But I need fields to be posted into the message section like
Name: Email: Comments:
That sort of a thing but I am unsure how to get everythign to post into a text area and posted.< |
Edited by - JJenson on 26 July 2007 21:13:44 |
|
|
MaD2ko0l
Senior Member
United Kingdom
1053 Posts |
Posted - 26 July 2007 : 21:53:03
|
could u not modify a guestbook to do what u want? it doesnt have to be a snitz guestbook seen as annoynomous people can post to it.
i used to have a little bug form that sent me a pm when someoen submitted it. it sent me the following info if i remember correctly:
Forum name - if logged in ip date/time error page error/comment
i can find the code for u if u want me to.
maybe it will help u out< |
© 1999-2010 MaD2ko0l |
|
|
MaD2ko0l
Senior Member
United Kingdom
1053 Posts |
Posted - 26 July 2007 : 21:59:27
|
|
© 1999-2010 MaD2ko0l |
|
|
JJenson
Advanced Member
USA
2121 Posts |
Posted - 26 July 2007 : 22:36:27
|
Question on the above code. Would the person who is submitting the comment have to navigate to the forum or just to bug_report.asp? then bug_report.asp would then submit it to me in form of a Private Message?< |
|
|
Podge
Support Moderator
Ireland
3775 Posts |
|
JJenson
Advanced Member
USA
2121 Posts |
Posted - 27 July 2007 : 08:16:18
|
How would I need to change the the SQL statment? I am guessing I would use this code to post the actual information I am trying to get?
But I am unsure if this is actually what I need or what I would need to modify it to get what I need?
Thanks for the help so far Podge < |
|
|
Podge
Support Moderator
Ireland
3775 Posts |
Posted - 27 July 2007 : 09:17:57
|
This is taken directly from post_info.asp and should work with a little coaxing. I'm at work so I cannot test it at the moment.
You would substitute the actual forum id instead of FORUM_ID and the user id of the generic user you want to use. You'll also have to figure out the correct values to be inserted for sme of the columns e.g. T_STATUS, etc. and may have to pass extra variables from the form e.g. i.p. address.
I won't have time to test it this evening but should be able to over the weekend.
strSql = "INSERT INTO " & strTablePrefix & "TOPICS (FORUM_ID"
strSql = strSql & ", CAT_ID"
strSql = strSql & ", T_SUBJECT"
strSql = strSql & ", T_MESSAGE"
strSql = strSql & ", T_AUTHOR"
strSql = strSql & ", T_LAST_POST"
strSql = strSql & ", T_LAST_POST_AUTHOR"
strSql = strSql & ", T_LAST_POST_REPLY_ID"
strSql = strSql & ", T_DATE"
strSql = strSql & ", T_STATUS"
if strIPLogging <> "0" then
strSql = strSql & ", T_IP"
end if
strSql = strSql & ", T_STICKY"
strSql = strSql & ", T_SIG"
strSql = strSql & ", T_ARCHIVE_FLAG"
strSql = strSql & ", T_REPLIES"
strSql = strSql & ", T_UREPLIES"
strSql = strSql & ") VALUES ("
strSql = strSql & Forum_ID
strSql = strSql & ", " & Cat_ID
strSql = strSql & ", '" & txtSubject & "'"
strSql = strSql & ", '" & txtMessage & "'"
strSql = strSql & ", " & rs("MEMBER_ID")
strSql = strSql & ", '" & DateToStr(strForumTimeAdjust) & "'"
strSql = strSql & ", " & rs("MEMBER_ID")
strSql = strSql & ", 0 "
strSql = strSql & ", '" & DateToStr(strForumTimeAdjust) & "'"
if Request.Form("lock") = 1 and ForumChkSkipAllowed = 1 then
strSql = strSql & ", 0 "
else
if Moderation = "Yes" then
strSql = strSql & ", 2 "
else
strSql = strSql & ", 1 "
end if
end if
if strIPLogging <> "0" then
strSql = strSql & ", '" & UserIPAddress & "'"
end if
if ForumChkSkipAllowed = 1 then
if Request.Form("sticky") = 1 then
strSql = strSql & ", 1 "
else
strSql = strSql & ", 0 "
end if
else
strSql = strSql & ", 0 "
end if
if Request.Form("sig") = "yes" and strDSignatures = "1" then
strSql = strSql & ", 1 "
else
strSql = strSql & ", 0 "
end if
if ForumChkSkipAllowed = 1 then
if Request.Form("sticky") = 1 then
strSql = strSql & ", 0 "
else
strSql = strSql & ", 1 "
end if
else
strSql = strSql & ", 1 "
end if
strSql = strSql & ", 0 "
strSql = strSql & ", 0 "
strSql = strSql & ")" < |
Podge.
The Hunger Site - Click to donate free food | My Blog | Snitz 3.4.05 AutoInstall (Beta!)
My Mods: CAPTCHA Mod | GateKeeper Mod Tutorial: Enable subscriptions on your board
Warning: The post above or below may contain nuts. |
|
|
Podge
Support Moderator
Ireland
3775 Posts |
Posted - 27 July 2007 : 09:21:59
|
Actually, this should help. Its an INSERT statement which you should be able to get the correct values to hardcode into your sql statement.
INSERT INTO FORUM_TOPICS (FORUM_ID, CAT_ID, T_SUBJECT, T_MESSAGE, T_AUTHOR, T_LAST_POST, T_LAST_POST_AUTHOR, T_LAST_POST_REPLY_ID, T_DATE, T_STATUS, T_IP, T_STICKY, T_SIG, T_ARCHIVE_FLAG, T_REPLIES, T_UREPLIES) VALUES (1, 1, 'test', 'test', 1, '20070727141922', 1, 0 , '20070727141922', 1 , '127.0.0.1', 0 , 0 , 1 , 0 , 0 ) < |
Podge.
The Hunger Site - Click to donate free food | My Blog | Snitz 3.4.05 AutoInstall (Beta!)
My Mods: CAPTCHA Mod | GateKeeper Mod Tutorial: Enable subscriptions on your board
Warning: The post above or below may contain nuts. |
|
|
JJenson
Advanced Member
USA
2121 Posts |
Posted - 27 July 2007 : 10:07:14
|
Do I need to just add this code to my custom page I am doing or change some of the coding in post_info.asp? I amguessing I need to write the form with the SQL instert directly into my custom form page?< |
|
|
Podge
Support Moderator
Ireland
3775 Posts |
|
JJenson
Advanced Member
USA
2121 Posts |
Posted - 27 July 2007 : 11:28:43
|
OK great wasn't sure exactly how it was all going to work together I will get to that point and see what I need to show. Quick question with actually setting this up yet. Am I able to make replies to these posts?
Mainly I want the form to post and then from there I want to make replies for myself to that post. Mainly so I can keep track of what is happening with the question from the person who submitted it.
I will try and get these two pages made and modified and up so I can test from there. I will trya nd get that today but possible won't get it until tomorrow morning. Thanks Podge and Mad2Kool < |
Edited by - JJenson on 27 July 2007 11:29:44 |
|
|
Podge
Support Moderator
Ireland
3775 Posts |
|
JJenson
Advanced Member
USA
2121 Posts |
Posted - 27 July 2007 : 13:14:00
|
Yeah I am not sure how to do that. Can I use the message input but use it multiple times to get all the information or am I going down the wrong lines?
Thanks< |
|
|
MaD2ko0l
Senior Member
United Kingdom
1053 Posts |
|
Topic |
|