Author |
Topic |
|
ILLHILL
Junior Member
Netherlands
341 Posts |
Posted - 11 August 2005 : 13:29:00
|
You know, the nice links you can add for your users which all open in clean new windows? I was thinking about how to not just open them in a new window, but in a specif frame in that window, so that you can have other frames for whatever ads or applications you want to load in there. So technically the link's url should be send to a page (Frames.asp) where the url opens in an upper frame, while the bottom frame is pre-programmed to load ads or whatever. Anybody ever tried this?
Thanks, D< |
CLPPR.com - All The News Only Seconds Away |
|
Shaggy
Support Moderator
Ireland
6780 Posts |
Posted - 12 August 2005 : 05:19:02
|
Ill', is it the "Cool Links" in their profile you want to open in this frame or all links they post in your forums?
< |
Search is your friend “I was having a mildly paranoid day, mostly due to the fact that the mad priest lady from over the river had taken to nailing weasels to my front door again.” |
|
|
ILLHILL
Junior Member
Netherlands
341 Posts |
Posted - 13 August 2005 : 04:22:35
|
Hi Shaggy, I'm referring to the links on the default page, like how the Snitz default page has a handfull of links near the bottom, including the " 4GuysFromRolla ASP FAQ" link.< |
CLPPR.com - All The News Only Seconds Away |
|
|
Shaggy
Support Moderator
Ireland
6780 Posts |
Posted - 15 August 2005 : 05:19:19
|
OK, first you'll need to create an ASP page for your frameset (frames.asp below). For the src of the frame where the page is displayed, you're going to be grabbing it from the querystring, form a variable called page. Next, you're going to have to make a couple of quick edits to default.asp. The line references below are for a clean copy of v3.4.05.
Find the following beginning on line 498:if ForumFType = 0 then
ChkIsNew(ForumLastPost)
else
Response.Write "<a href=""" & ForumURL & """ target=""_blank"">" & getCurrentIcon(strIconUrl,"Visit " & chkString(ForumSubject,"display"),"hspace=""0""") & "</a>"
end if And replace it with the following:if ForumFType = 0 then
ChkIsNew(ForumLastPost)
else
Response.Write "<a href=""" & ForumURL & """ onclick=""window.open('frames.asp?page='+this,'frames');return false;"">" & getCurrentIcon(strIconUrl,"Visit " & chkString(ForumSubject,"display"),"hspace=""0""") & "</a>"
end if Then find the following beginning on line 510:if ForumFType = 0 then
Response.Write "forum.asp?FORUM_ID=" & ForumID
else
Response.Write ForumURL & """ target=""_blank"
end if And replace it with the following:if ForumFType = 0 then
Response.Write "forum.asp?FORUM_ID=" & ForumID
else
Response.Write ForumURL & """ onclick=""window.open('frames.asp?page='+this,'frames');return false;"
end if < |
Search is your friend “I was having a mildly paranoid day, mostly due to the fact that the mad priest lady from over the river had taken to nailing weasels to my front door again.” |
|
|
ILLHILL
Junior Member
Netherlands
341 Posts |
Posted - 15 August 2005 : 08:37:03
|
Great Shaggy! I will start on this in a couple of hours, you mentioned this in your reply "(frames.asp below)" Was it something you forgot to post or did I misunderstood it?
Greets & thanks< |
CLPPR.com - All The News Only Seconds Away |
|
|
Shaggy
Support Moderator
Ireland
6780 Posts |
Posted - 15 August 2005 : 09:04:59
|
frames.asp was the name I gave to the ASP page you need to create containing your frameset. If you call it something different, you'll need to alter the code I provided to reflect that.
< |
Search is your friend “I was having a mildly paranoid day, mostly due to the fact that the mad priest lady from over the river had taken to nailing weasels to my front door again.” |
|
|
ILLHILL
Junior Member
Netherlands
341 Posts |
Posted - 16 August 2005 : 07:10:14
|
Any idea how the frameset part will look in Frames.asp? Cause I know it will have to pull the data from the string, but I have no idea how to do this.< |
CLPPR.com - All The News Only Seconds Away |
|
|
Shaggy
Support Moderator
Ireland
6780 Posts |
Posted - 16 August 2005 : 07:42:54
|
It's up to you how you want to layout your frames. To grab the page from the querystring, you'll need something along the lines of:response.write "<frame src="""&server.htmlencode(request.querystring("page")&""" [properties] /> < |
Search is your friend “I was having a mildly paranoid day, mostly due to the fact that the mad priest lady from over the river had taken to nailing weasels to my front door again.” |
|
|
|
Topic |
|