Author |
Topic |
MarcelG
Retired Support Moderator
Netherlands
2625 Posts |
Posted - 19 July 2005 : 10:46:43
|
Update ; I've ditched the method for selecting the feeds, and used a more simple method instead. This is working now. Next to that I enabled 'default' feeds for guests accessing the my_feeds.asp page.
You can demo all you want here: http://www.oxle.com/my_feeds.asp ; if you log in as demo/demo you can also see how the update works.
Final thing to fix : enable caching of retrieved feeds for at least 15 minutes. I've been fiddling around with that, but I just bumped into a wall everytime I tried to cache a feed containing 'strange' charachters such as é or ä .....
msxml3.dll error '80004005'
Unable to save character to 'ISO-8859-1' encoding.
/inc_my_feeds.asp, line 39
(login demo/demo for the source) So, all help is very much appreciated. After that part I will also create a 'mobile' version, stripped, and without a login, where one could access his/her favourite set of feeds via a link like http://oxle.com/mobfeeds.asp?memberid (so, one would just supply his or her memberid in the url.'
Finally, when all is done, I'll completely convert it to default Snitz, so that it can be reused as a mod on a plain Snitz. < |
portfolio - linkshrinker - oxle - twitter |
Edited by - MarcelG on 19 July 2005 16:11:49 |
|
|
Shaggy
Support Moderator
Ireland
6780 Posts |
Posted - 20 July 2005 : 04:37:04
|
Try switching to UTF encoding and see if that helps although I've never come across any problems using those 2 chracters you mentioned in ISO-8859-1.
< |
Search is your friend “I was having a mildly paranoid day, mostly due to the fact that the mad priest lady from over the river had taken to nailing weasels to my front door again.” |
|
|
MarcelG
Retired Support Moderator
Netherlands
2625 Posts |
Posted - 20 July 2005 : 07:28:56
|
Shaggy, perhaps this is too much too ask of you, but could you shed some light on the following:
I've incorporated some form of caching now, but it's rather buggy. It now caches the input XML file now to a file, however, in some instances (for example the DPReview RSS feed, it gives this error:
msxml3.dll error '80004005'
Unable to save character to 'ISO-8859-1' encoding.
/inc_my_feeds.asp, line 39
This error does NOT seem to be caused by the existence of characters such as é etc, as you can see in the actual feed that gives the error when saving to cache : http://www.dpreview.com/news/dpr.rdf .. nothing strange in that feed as far as I can see. It's not the 'usual' RSS feed, so perhaps tháts the problem.
However, I was thinking of the following ; instead of caching the input, the output should be cached.
The current process is this ;
This process has two flaws:
- The save-action fails on several feeds (as described above).
- Processing of the XML file is done on every reload of the page, even when the cache is used. This only caches the XML file, saving a HTTPRequest, but not saving the looping through the arrays.
Therefore I'd like to apply this process instead:
Now, the output is cached, and only in case the output is outdated, the whole cycle starts of again, including the HTTPRequest ánd the looping through the arrays.
So, in theory I know what to do. But....I cannot seem to get all the outputdata into one variable...it seems that the data collected within the FOR ... NEXT loops isn't added to the variable. This function is within this file : inc_my_feed.asp (login demo/demo)< |
portfolio - linkshrinker - oxle - twitter |
Edited by - MarcelG on 20 July 2005 07:29:44 |
|
|
MarcelG
Retired Support Moderator
Netherlands
2625 Posts |
Posted - 21 July 2005 : 10:25:10
|
[:-/] No more bumping necessary!!!! With this step by step caching manual, I enabled 15-minute output caching just as decribed! So, the XML feeds are only collected once every 15 minutes (at max), and processed also only once every 15 minutes.
So, the My Feeds feature is LIVE!!!! (and ready to testdrive by all of you guys! ) Sponsoring members can select up to 20 feeds at this moment, non-sponsoring members can select up to 15 feeds.
Go ahead, and fiddle around!
Oh, you can find the direct link here, and when registered at the "my oxle" submenu on the site! [good]< |
portfolio - linkshrinker - oxle - twitter |
|
|
NiteOwl
Junior Member
Canada
403 Posts |
Posted - 03 August 2005 : 04:07:06
|
looking pretty good so far from what I can tell by testing!!! Have you got somecode to share? :)< |
-=NiteOwl=-
|
|
|
MarcelG
Retired Support Moderator
Netherlands
2625 Posts |
Posted - 03 August 2005 : 05:11:39
|
The current code is not ready to be used on default Snitz forums. I will however focus on releasing this entire system as a mod for Snitz, but, not until after my holiday. So, after August 23rd I'll get busy with it ; I guess I need about 2 days to finish it then, excluding these features: - Member defined sorting of selected feeds
- 'personal' feeds (e.g. only available to that member, and not to the entire memberlist)
Feel free to have a look at the current code, but be aware that it needs some tweaking to get it to work on default Snitz. (source accessible to registered members of oxle, use demo/demo if you don't want to register) Here's the DBS file:
Members RSS Feeds Mod for 3.4
[CREATE]
FEEDS
FEED_ID
FEED_URL#varchar(255)#NULL#
FEED_NAME#varchar(50)#NULL#
FEED_REFRESH#varchar(20)#NULL#
[END]
[CREATE]
MFEEDS
MFEED_ID#int#NULL#0
MEMBER_ID##NULL#0
MFEED_ORDER##NULL#0
[END] This already provides the db field for the custom ordering. Just save it as dbs_feeds.asp in your forum folder, and go to the Mod Setup. Be sure to backup your DB!!!< |
portfolio - linkshrinker - oxle - twitter |
Edited by - MarcelG on 03 August 2005 05:12:57 |
|
|
jeffery
Junior Member
USA
176 Posts |
Posted - 03 August 2005 : 15:11:33
|
Hi marcelgoertz. I'm testing this using MSSQL. Fist thing is I'm not seeing the javascript:limitOptions code in conf.asp. I'm wondering if this is why it is not keeping the chosen feeds. If I manually put entries in the database field MFEED they are deleted when I submit conf.asp, I am assuming because of the sub updateForumModerators(). But the sub newForumModerators() is not entering any new data. Otherwise the code seems to be working. I am able to use admin_feeds.asp to submit new available feeds. I guess it's maxselect.js that I need.< |
www.thomasforum.com |
Edited by - jeffery on 03 August 2005 15:25:19 |
|
|
jeffery
Junior Member
USA
176 Posts |
Posted - 03 August 2005 : 16:12:56
|
Scratch that, it was not inserting from the sub newForumModerators() because MFEED_ORDER is set to not allow NULLS but I didn't know it wasn't because of the 'on error resume next' in the function.< |
www.thomasforum.com |
|
|
Zeus
Starting Member
3 Posts |
Posted - 07 April 2006 : 15:38:21
|
Did this mod ever get posted anywhere. The above links get you most of it, but you cant access the admin_feeds.asp (even when logged into oxle)
Thanks in advance!
Zeus< |
|
|
MarcelG
Retired Support Moderator
Netherlands
2625 Posts |
Posted - 08 April 2006 : 08:16:02
|
Nope, I never came to posting this mod as a base-install-compatible mod. However, triggered by you, I decided to take all the files and put them in one zip file. You can find that one here. Be aware ; this is not a complete mod. It has no readme, it has no documentation and it has not been tested outside oxle. Feel free to use it as you please! For support, just post your questions at oxle, or here.
quote: Originally posted by Zeus
Did this mod ever get posted anywhere. The above links get you most of it, but you cant access the admin_feeds.asp (even when logged into oxle)
Thanks in advance!
Zeus
< |
portfolio - linkshrinker - oxle - twitter |
|
|
Etymon
Advanced Member
United States
2385 Posts |
|
MarcelG
Retired Support Moderator
Netherlands
2625 Posts |
|
Bassman
Junior Member
Netherlands
256 Posts |
Posted - 24 April 2006 : 09:45:13
|
Treid to on my test forum, I keep getting _MFEEDS errors and a lots of JET's< |
|
|
MarcelG
Retired Support Moderator
Netherlands
2625 Posts |
|
Bassman
Junior Member
Netherlands
256 Posts |
Posted - 24 April 2006 : 10:44:06
|
Yep i did, also there are a couple of includes in there we do not have like _spacer and _sidebar.< |
|
|
Topic |
|