Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Community Forums
 Code Support: ASP.NET (Non-Forum Related)
 Connecting to Access Database?
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

MaD2ko0l
Senior Member

United Kingdom
1053 Posts

Posted - 09 July 2007 :  13:52:40  Show Profile  Visit MaD2ko0l's Homepage
hi,
i have a problem when connecting to an access database.
while tryign to setup the connection string and runign the web page on my pc i get the following error

The 'Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0' provider is not registered on the local machine

i have looked on the net and cannot find a solution that works.

does anyone have any ideas?

thanks

MaD2ko0l

© 1999-2010 MaD2ko0l

ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin

Portugal
26364 Posts

Posted - 09 July 2007 :  14:22:56  Show Profile  Send ruirib a Yahoo! Message
It would seem that the driver is not installed... Try installing the latest Jet service pack from Microsoft.


Snitz 3.4 Readme | Like the support? Support Snitz too
Go to Top of Page

MaD2ko0l
Senior Member

United Kingdom
1053 Posts

Posted - 09 July 2007 :  15:50:15  Show Profile  Visit MaD2ko0l's Homepage
i have already done that but it wouldnt install because i already have them

© 1999-2010 MaD2ko0l
Go to Top of Page

ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin

Portugal
26364 Posts

Posted - 09 July 2007 :  15:53:44  Show Profile  Send ruirib a Yahoo! Message
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/278604


Snitz 3.4 Readme | Like the support? Support Snitz too
Go to Top of Page

MaD2ko0l
Senior Member

United Kingdom
1053 Posts

Posted - 09 July 2007 :  18:05:30  Show Profile  Visit MaD2ko0l's Homepage
i have also tryed that as well...i have registered all them files the way it has been said but it still has the same error

© 1999-2010 MaD2ko0l
Go to Top of Page

ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin

Portugal
26364 Posts

Posted - 09 July 2007 :  19:09:02  Show Profile  Send ruirib a Yahoo! Message
You're on Vista?


Snitz 3.4 Readme | Like the support? Support Snitz too
Go to Top of Page

MaD2ko0l
Senior Member

United Kingdom
1053 Posts

Posted - 09 July 2007 :  19:11:08  Show Profile  Visit MaD2ko0l's Homepage
nope...xp home sp2

© 1999-2010 MaD2ko0l
Go to Top of Page

ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin

Portugal
26364 Posts

Posted - 09 July 2007 :  19:18:54  Show Profile  Send ruirib a Yahoo! Message
Well I really don't know what else to suggest. Try using an ODBC driver instead.


Snitz 3.4 Readme | Like the support? Support Snitz too
Go to Top of Page

HuwR
Forum Admin

United Kingdom
20550 Posts

Posted - 09 July 2007 :  19:48:57  Show Profile  Visit HuwR's Homepage
if you are using XP home, how are you running the snitz code ? XP home does not come with a web server.
Go to Top of Page

ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin

Portugal
26364 Posts

Posted - 09 July 2007 :  19:53:28  Show Profile  Send ruirib a Yahoo! Message
quote:
Originally posted by HuwR

if you are using XP home, how are you running the snitz code ? XP home does not come with a web server.


That's actually a good question .


Snitz 3.4 Readme | Like the support? Support Snitz too
Go to Top of Page

MaD2ko0l
Senior Member

United Kingdom
1053 Posts

Posted - 10 July 2007 :  08:21:39  Show Profile  Visit MaD2ko0l's Homepage
im not running snitz from my local machine, i am doing a project that isnt snitz related.

© 1999-2010 MaD2ko0l
Go to Top of Page

AnonJr
Moderator

United States
5765 Posts

Posted - 10 July 2007 :  10:16:14  Show Profile  Visit AnonJr's Homepage
There are a couple of other ASP.NET testing servers that work on XP Home (and other Windows platforms) - CassiniEx comes to mind.
Go to Top of Page

MaD2ko0l
Senior Member

United Kingdom
1053 Posts

Posted - 10 July 2007 :  15:38:01  Show Profile  Visit MaD2ko0l's Homepage
i get an error tryign to run CassiniEx, this is the error i get


© 1999-2010 MaD2ko0l
Go to Top of Page

AnonJr
Moderator

United States
5765 Posts

Posted - 10 July 2007 :  16:11:30  Show Profile  Visit AnonJr's Homepage
Got me. Maybe use the original version instead of the "enhanced"? That way you at least have some support forums for the testing server itself...
Go to Top of Page

MaD2ko0l
Senior Member

United Kingdom
1053 Posts

Posted - 10 July 2007 :  17:35:41  Show Profile  Visit MaD2ko0l's Homepage
bah...the original woudlnt work as well.

is there a way to remove the jet engine 4.0 and re install it? or is there liek a repair option somwewhere so that it will check to see if everythign is in working order. u know liek the repair option that is in MS office?

© 1999-2010 MaD2ko0l
Go to Top of Page

pdrg
Support Moderator

United Kingdom
2897 Posts

Posted - 11 July 2007 :  06:56:22  Show Profile  Send pdrg a Yahoo! Message
I think the file is called something like msjet40.dll - you could try unregistering and re-registering it in registry, or you could try installing/reinstalling Access which should stoke Jet up too.
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2019 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.06 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07