Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Snitz Forums 2000 DEV-Group
 DEV Bug Reports (Open)
 bug in pop_mail.asp 3.4.07
 New Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

Giumer
Junior Member

Italy
163 Posts

Posted - 02 April 2009 :  11:52:59  Show Profile  Send Giumer an ICQ Message  Reply with Quote
hi i am for send e_mail error this :

Microsoft VBScript runtime error '800a005e'

Invalid use of Null: 'cInt'

/forum/pop_mail.asp, line 68

plz test

<moved from="Help: General / Current Version (v3.4.xx)" />

=======================
http://www.Giumer.it/forum

=======================

Edited by - AnonJr on 02 April 2009 13:34:04

AnonJr
Moderator

United States
5765 Posts

Posted - 02 April 2009 :  12:36:43  Show Profile  Visit AnonJr's Homepage
Once more, with clarity please...

Is this an upgraded forum or a clean install? What database type are you using? A little more information than "plz test" whould help.
Go to Top of Page

HuwR
Forum Admin

United Kingdom
20563 Posts

Posted - 02 April 2009 :  13:00:51  Show Profile  Visit HuwR's Homepage
pop_mail is not working here, it gives the error giumer posted
Go to Top of Page

AnonJr
Moderator

United States
5765 Posts

Posted - 02 April 2009 :  13:32:45  Show Profile  Visit AnonJr's Homepage
Interesting... it worked during testing with an Access back-end and using a clean database. I wonder if its only an issue in upgrades due to a missing default?
Go to Top of Page

AnonJr
Moderator

United States
5765 Posts

Posted - 02 April 2009 :  13:46:13  Show Profile  Visit AnonJr's Homepage
I suspect there were similar issues or some other problem as I see line 70 is not evaluating it as a numeric value:
		If intMPosts < intMaxPostsToEMail and intAllowEmail <> "1" Then


It is probably safe to change line 68 to:
intAllowEmail = rs("M_ALLOWEMAIL")


No matter what, it would still help to know if this was an upgrade or a clean install, and what db is being used.

Edited by - AnonJr on 02 April 2009 13:48:02
Go to Top of Page

modifichicci
Average Member

Italy
787 Posts

Posted - 02 April 2009 :  14:02:00  Show Profile  Visit modifichicci's Homepage
or
If intMPosts < intMaxPostsToEMail and intAllowEmail <> 1 Then

Ernia e Laparocele
Forum di Ernia e Laparocele
Acces - MySql Migration Tutorial
Adamantine forum
Go to Top of Page

AnonJr
Moderator

United States
5765 Posts

Posted - 02 April 2009 :  18:41:29  Show Profile  Visit AnonJr's Homepage
quote:
Originally posted by modifichicci

or
If intMPosts < intMaxPostsToEMail and intAllowEmail <> 1 Then



Won't work because its failing on the cInt() conversion - most likely due to the field not existing in previous versions... hence why I wanted to know if this was an upgrade or a clean install.

Since intAllowEmail is only used in the If ... Then statement I mentioned, and since its rejecting any value other than one that would be explicitly set, I would think it would be ok to do without the cInt().

Another option would be to write a small dbs script that set the value to 1 for all current members. If I had thought about it at the time I would have included that as a part of the upgrade process... hindsight is always 20/20.
Go to Top of Page

HuwR
Forum Admin

United Kingdom
20563 Posts

Posted - 03 April 2009 :  11:35:28  Show Profile  Visit HuwR's Homepage
well, obviously this was not a clean install and the error occurs here
Go to Top of Page

AnonJr
Moderator

United States
5765 Posts

Posted - 03 April 2009 :  11:53:03  Show Profile  Visit AnonJr's Homepage
quote:
Originally posted by HuwR

well, obviously this was not a clean install and the error occurs here

That much I figured. If his was a clean install then it means there may be something wrong with the setup. If it wasn't than its probably just that the existing members don't have that particular field set.

After looking back at some of the dev discussions, I remember thinking about going and setting all existing members to "1" - but I obviously never got around to it...
Go to Top of Page

modifichicci
Average Member

Italy
787 Posts

Posted - 03 April 2009 :  14:17:09  Show Profile  Visit modifichicci's Homepage
i have set my forum members to 1 as I use the flag to allow or disallow mail, not to bypass the minimum post limits, and it seems work, but indeed the value is a smallint, and the check is for a string (mysql 4 db)

Ernia e Laparocele
Forum di Ernia e Laparocele
Acces - MySql Migration Tutorial
Adamantine forum
Go to Top of Page

HuwR
Forum Admin

United Kingdom
20563 Posts

Posted - 06 April 2009 :  12:15:12  Show Profile  Visit HuwR's Homepage
so what exactly am I supposed to change to fix this ?

fixed here.

I would suggest we provide a script to use in the 'Alternative MOD Setup' to correct the problem for anyone else upgrading.
Go to Top of Page

AnonJr
Moderator

United States
5765 Posts

Posted - 06 April 2009 :  12:48:40  Show Profile  Visit AnonJr's Homepage
I'll try to whip something together after my 2nd "oh good, you're here - this will only take a minute" meeting.
Go to Top of Page

HuwR
Forum Admin

United Kingdom
20563 Posts

Posted - 06 April 2009 :  13:14:13  Show Profile  Visit HuwR's Homepage
I'm going to have a lot of those tomorrow as I have been away since thursday
Go to Top of Page

Carefree
Advanced Member

Philippines
4202 Posts

Posted - 07 April 2009 :  02:56:52  Show Profile
I have no more of those "Oh good..." meetings. After 20 years with Uncle Sam, I had more than my share. Then another 20 years on the civilian side and I'm through with meetings. If someone wants my presence at a "meeting", they'll have to wait until I'm in a box and don't have any say about attending.

When I was in the Philippines, we had a captain who LOVED staff meetings. We'd have a meeting between the senior NCOs and him at 0700, another at noon, and still another at 1700. Directions would change at almost every meeting. Our troops didn't have time to implement one set of instructions before the instructions got changed again. Further, the NCOs weren't getting enough time to supervise things and discipline/morale, etc. were going down the tubes. Finally we all got together and nominated the most senior of us to tell the Captain that we needed to curtail some of the meetings and to explain why. His response? "We'll have a staff meeting and discuss it."
Go to Top of Page

Carefree
Advanced Member

Philippines
4202 Posts

Posted - 07 April 2009 :  03:17:19  Show Profile
Back on the original topic, you could add a routine to populate the field with numeric values directly within the pop_mail.asp and not have to have people run a different dbs script. Any reason this wouldn't work?

Look for the following (appx line 58):

if Request.QueryString("mode") = "DoIt" then

After that, insert these four lines:


	strSql="UPDATE " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS SET M_ALLOWEMAIL = 1 WHERE M_ALLOWEMAIL <> 0"
	set rs = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")
	rs.Open strSql, my_Conn, adOpenForwardOnly, adLockReadOnly, adCmdText
	set rs=Nothing
Go to Top of Page

AnonJr
Moderator

United States
5765 Posts

Posted - 07 April 2009 :  10:04:57  Show Profile  Visit AnonJr's Homepage
That's only going to run if someone hits pop_mail.asp, but it will run every time someone hits pop_mail.asp. This really only needs to be addressed once after the upgrade, hence a DBS script. (or some genius developer could have remembered to make it part of the upgrade... )
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 3 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Next Page
 New Topic
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.23 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07