Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Help Groups for Snitz Forums 2000 Users
 Help: General / Classic ASP versions(v3.4.XX)
 Either BOF or EOF is True, then?
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Lon2
Junior Member

USA
151 Posts

Posted - 24 January 2009 :  13:21:02  Show Profile
Upon looking at our Google dead file log, I noticed many errors of pages that don't even exist in our forums. I have messed with End Of File code before but I'm not sure of the parameters and where it needs to go in forums.asp. This is what I'm thinking:

If (rsTopics?.EOF or rsTopics?.BOF = true) Then
   Response.Write	"That topic does not exist"  & vbNewLine & _
                        "Click here to continue" & vbNewLine
Has anyone attempted this? Can you help?

I searched Snitz but did not find anything.<

Lon2
Junior Member

USA
151 Posts

Posted - 26 January 2009 :  17:23:41  Show Profile
Uh oh... where's Rui, Anon... I hope Snitz doesn't lose its great support team...


Edited by ruirib - I don't think it is appropriate to joke with serious stuff, ok?<
Go to Top of Page

ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin

Portugal
26364 Posts

Posted - 26 January 2009 :  18:43:51  Show Profile  Send ruirib a Yahoo! Message
Where did those errors occur? Can you reproduce them?<


Snitz 3.4 Readme | Like the support? Support Snitz too
Go to Top of Page

Lon2
Junior Member

USA
151 Posts

Posted - 26 January 2009 :  20:09:43  Show Profile
To tell you the truth, I'm not sure where the errors are that were crawled from Google. It's under Google Webmaster Tools >> Dashboard
>> Diagnostics >> Web crawl >> Unreachable URLs. Regardless of where they are on they internet, I would like to redirect to to default on EOF or BOF. The URLs look like this:

http://www.mysite/forum/forum.asp?FORUM_ID=93&whichpage=79
http://www.mysite/forum/forum.asp?FORUM_ID=93&whichpage=78
http://www.mysite/forum/forum.asp?FORUM_ID=93&whichpage=76
http://www.mysite/forum/forum.asp?FORUM_ID=93&whichpage=75

Not sure how pages got associated with a forum ID...

Either way, I think if a bad forum_ID URL returns to default it will stop the errors in Google Unreachable URLs.

I can reproduce them by just typing any forum ID with any whichpage number.

Sorry, I was just making a joke in my post above. <
Go to Top of Page

ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin

Portugal
26364 Posts

Posted - 26 January 2009 :  20:44:08  Show Profile  Send ruirib a Yahoo! Message
The problem lies with the value of the whichpage parameter. What database are you using?<


Snitz 3.4 Readme | Like the support? Support Snitz too
Go to Top of Page

Lon2
Junior Member

USA
151 Posts

Posted - 27 January 2009 :  07:28:34  Show Profile
Microsoft SQL 2005 Express<
Go to Top of Page

ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin

Portugal
26364 Posts

Posted - 27 January 2009 :  07:51:12  Show Profile  Send ruirib a Yahoo! Message
On forum.asp, change #333-#339 lines to:

			rs.pagesize = strPageSize
			maxpages = cLng(rs.pagecount)
			inttotaltopics = cLng(rs.recordcount)
			If (mypage > maxpages) Then mypage = maxpages
			rs.absolutepage = mypage '**
			arrTopicData = rs.GetRows(strPageSize)
			iTopicCount = UBound(arrTopicData, 2)


The blue line was moved a few lines back and the red line is new. It should fix it, but I haven't tested it.<


Snitz 3.4 Readme | Like the support? Support Snitz too
Go to Top of Page

Lon2
Junior Member

USA
151 Posts

Posted - 27 January 2009 :  09:18:02  Show Profile
Made the change but still get the error:

ADODB.Recordset error '800a0bcd'

Either BOF or EOF is True, or the current record has been deleted. Requested operation requires a current record.

/forum/forum.asp, line 338


Line 337: maxpages = cLng(rs.pagecount)
Line 338: arrTopicData = rs.GetRows(strPageSize)
Line 339: iTopicCount = UBound(arrTopicData, 2)
<
Go to Top of Page

Carefree
Advanced Member

Philippines
4207 Posts

Posted - 27 January 2009 :  10:28:39  Show Profile
Change line 332 to say:
		if not rs.BOF and not rs.EOF then
<
Go to Top of Page

Lon2
Junior Member

USA
151 Posts

Posted - 27 January 2009 :  11:51:06  Show Profile
No change, still get the exact same error. <
Go to Top of Page

Carefree
Advanced Member

Philippines
4207 Posts

Posted - 27 January 2009 :  13:27:20  Show Profile
quote:
Originally posted by Lon2

No change, still get the exact same error.


Post a link to your file in .txt format for us to see.<
Go to Top of Page

Lon2
Junior Member

USA
151 Posts

Posted - 27 January 2009 :  13:55:37  Show Profile
Did you need more than this:

else 'end MySql specific code

	set rs = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")
	rs.cachesize = strPageSize
	rs.open strSql & strSql2 & strSql3 & strSql4, my_Conn, adOpenStatic
		if not rs.EOF then
			rs.movefirst
			rs.pagesize = strPageSize
			inttotaltopics = cLng(rs.recordcount)
			rs.absolutepage = mypage '**
			maxpages = cLng(rs.pagecount)
			arrTopicData = rs.GetRows(strPageSize)
			iTopicCount = UBound(arrTopicData, 2)
		else
			iTopicCount = ""
			inttotaltopics = 0
		end if
	rs.Close
	set rs = nothing
end if
Could it have anything to do with my recent connection string change?<

Edited by - Lon2 on 27 January 2009 14:21:46
Go to Top of Page

Carefree
Advanced Member

Philippines
4207 Posts

Posted - 27 January 2009 :  16:02:31  Show Profile
This may not solve the issue, but it's worth a try. The previous routine used
			arrTopicData = rs.GetRows(intGetRows)
instead of
			arrTopicData = rs.GetRows(strPageSize)
<
Go to Top of Page

jgs
New Member

Netherlands
95 Posts

Posted - 29 January 2009 :  01:48:03  Show Profile
Yesterday I got the same error after opening a new petitionlist and trying to read this empty list. After the first entry the error didn't come back. As I had just before deleted the previous list, I didn't pay much attention to this.
With an empty list BOF=EOF, both are true, and the file had been deleted.

O, I've an Access dB.<

Info about my forum: http://www.govvd.nl/forumsoftware.htm list of Mods included.
Most of userinterface translated into Dutch.

Edited by - jgs on 29 January 2009 01:50:20
Go to Top of Page

Lon2
Junior Member

USA
151 Posts

Posted - 31 January 2009 :  09:42:10  Show Profile
quote:
Originally posted by Carefree

This may not solve the issue, but it's worth a try. The previous routine used
			arrTopicData = rs.GetRows(intGetRows)
instead of
			arrTopicData = rs.GetRows(strPageSize)


Thanks Carefree!

Rui, Anon or ?, can you confirm changing all strPageSize to intGetRows in this routine might help?<
Go to Top of Page

ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin

Portugal
26364 Posts

Posted - 31 January 2009 :  20:38:13  Show Profile  Send ruirib a Yahoo! Message
You can try it, nothing to lose from that.

Anyway, with a SQL Server Db and a clean 3.4.06 forum, I can't reproduce your error...<


Snitz 3.4 Readme | Like the support? Support Snitz too
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.31 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07