Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Community Forums
 Community Discussions (All other subjects)
 Storing/Processing payment details
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Shaggy
Support Moderator

Ireland
6780 Posts

Posted - 22 April 2008 :  05:13:37  Show Profile
Well, I've been putting it off for far too many years but it seems the time has come for me to add one of the last strings to my web programming bow, that of "e-commerce". I'm pretty sure I can easily build a nice, basic shopping cart that I can improve with additional features over time but where I know I'll be really stumped is when it comes to processing payments, etc. So, to theat end, I'm on the look out for any advice or tutorials anyone may be able to provide in the following areas:

- Securing a server
- Storing details (including credit cards) for members
- Processing payments either by manual input or using stored details
- Anything else I need to take into consideration

Eventually, as well, I'd like whatever I build to be able to interact with an off-site sales system to keep stock levels up to date, etc.

As always, any help in this matter will be gratefully received.

Search is your friend
“I was having a mildly paranoid day, mostly due to the
fact that the mad priest lady from over the river had
taken to nailing weasels to my front door again.”

ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin

Portugal
26364 Posts

Posted - 22 April 2008 :  05:19:50  Show Profile  Send ruirib a Yahoo! Message
Not much of a help, Shaggy, but do you really think it's better to handle payments yourself, other than using a payment gateway, such as Paypal or similar? I must admit that the fees are a downside, but almost everything else is an upside...

Snitz 3.4 Readme | Like the support? Support Snitz too
Go to Top of Page

Shaggy
Support Moderator

Ireland
6780 Posts