Author |
Topic |
kolucoms6
Average Member
845 Posts |
Posted - 25 January 2008 : 17:16:13
|
In Default.asp,
response.redirect "Default.asp"
Why it gets into loop ?
Or its the way it works. |
|
phy1729
Average Member
USA
589 Posts |
Posted - 25 January 2008 : 17:25:47
|
What line is that? About 164? if Cat_ID <> "" then response.redirect("default.asp") |
|
|
muzishun
Senior Member
United States
1079 Posts |
Posted - 25 January 2008 : 17:53:16
|
It's in the section of code that is for viewing a specific category. The URL is default.asp?CAT_ID=#. The redirect is there in case of an invalid CAT_ID. |
Bill Parrott Senior Web Programmer, University of Kansas Co-Owner and Code Monkey, Eternal Second Designs (www.eternalsecond.com) Personal Website (www.chimericdream.com) |
Edited by - muzishun on 25 January 2008 17:54:15 |
|
|
Podge
Support Moderator
Ireland
3775 Posts |
|
muzishun
Senior Member
United States
1079 Posts |
Posted - 25 January 2008 : 17:55:05
|
I think he was specifically referring to the redirect in default.asp that send the user to default.asp. |
Bill Parrott Senior Web Programmer, University of Kansas Co-Owner and Code Monkey, Eternal Second Designs (www.eternalsecond.com) Personal Website (www.chimericdream.com) |
|
|
bobby131313
Senior Member
USA
1163 Posts |
Posted - 25 January 2008 : 17:59:41
|
Changed all mine to
if Cat_ID <> "" then response.redirect StrForumUrl
to try to consolidate my pagerank. Default.asp (PR2) and the directory (PR3) ended up with separate Google PR's because of all the redirects to default.asp. Not the best SEO setup.
Somehow that problem here has been solved, but it seems to be a secret how it was done. |
Switch the order of your title tags |
Edited by - bobby131313 on 25 January 2008 18:03:14 |
|
|
kolucoms6
Average Member
845 Posts |
Posted - 25 January 2008 : 18:55:10
|
Its NOT related with this Forum
Its a generic ASP based question. |
|
|
phy1729
Average Member
USA
589 Posts |
Posted - 25 January 2008 : 19:00:01
|
Well when you go to default.asp it sends you to default.asp which sends you to default.asp which ... |
|
|
Davio
Development Team Member
Jamaica
12217 Posts |
Posted - 25 January 2008 : 19:03:47
|
quote: Originally posted by phy1729
Well when you go to default.asp it sends you to default.asp which sends you to default.asp which ...
ROFL!!! Exactly so!! LOL! |
Support Snitz Forums
|
|
|
muzishun
Senior Member
United States
1079 Posts |
Posted - 25 January 2008 : 19:18:50
|
Davio... are you feeling ok? That seemed uncharacteristic of you. |
Bill Parrott Senior Web Programmer, University of Kansas Co-Owner and Code Monkey, Eternal Second Designs (www.eternalsecond.com) Personal Website (www.chimericdream.com) |
|
|
kolucoms6
Average Member
845 Posts |
Posted - 25 January 2008 : 20:02:22
|
In left.asp(Common file for left side frame) I have below codes :
if session("Password") = "" or session("EmailID") ="" then response.redirect "Default.asp" end if
And In default.asp, left.asp included as an Include file.
|
|
|
Davio
Development Team Member
Jamaica
12217 Posts |
Posted - 25 January 2008 : 21:31:45
|
quote: Originally posted by muzishun
Davio... are you feeling ok? That seemed uncharacteristic of you.
Well, based on his first post, he asking why the default.asp page looks back to itself. After we tried sharing with him the conditions where the forum would do that, he said this is not forum related. Sooo any other reason would be how phy1729 described it, which was self explanatory. Found it highly amusing, hence my post. Sorry if you didn't see the humour. |
Support Snitz Forums
|
|
|
bobby131313
Senior Member
USA
1163 Posts |
|
kolucoms6
Average Member
845 Posts |
Posted - 25 January 2008 : 22:05:59
|
I posted this topic under : quote: Code Support: ASP (Non-Forum Related)
|
Edited by - kolucoms6 on 25 January 2008 22:06:46 |
|
|
phy1729
Average Member
USA
589 Posts |
Posted - 25 January 2008 : 22:56:03
|
After you told us that this wasn't Snitz related I realized that but by that time Davio posted anyway sorry about that. Also back on topic the code you posted will loop if session("Password") or session("EmailID") is null because you don't set both when it redirects. If I'm being condescending sorry I don't mean to be it just seems that's what the question is. |
|
|
kolucoms6
Average Member
845 Posts |
Posted - 26 January 2008 : 08:01:47
|
"you don't set both when it redirects"
Sorry but I didnt understand the above statement.
|
|
|
Topic |
|