Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Community Forums
 Code Support: ASP (Non-Forum Related)
 I have a Great idea!
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 5

Freeman II
Junior Member

232 Posts

Posted - 22 March 2001 :  21:13:26  Show Profile
If i wanna add a link to test.asp?id=xxxxxx how can i make the xxxxxx part change when user is changed. for example, userA;s id is 8 when he opens the page he sees a link to
test.asp?id=8, when userB opens the page he sees a link to test.asp?id=9

ive tried to use different method (from default.asp, pop_profile.asp)but none of them worked. should i use a code that reads cokies that tells the user id??

this is what i use now

-----------------------------------

strSql = "SELECT " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.MEMBER_ID, "
'strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "FORUM.F_STATUS, "
'strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "FORUM.CAT_ID, "
'strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "FORUM.F_SUBJECT, "
'strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "FORUM.F_URL, "
'strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "FORUM.F_DESCRIPTION, "
'strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "FORUM.CAT_ID, "
'strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "FORUM.F_TOPICS, "
'strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "FORUM.F_COUNT, "
'strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "FORUM.F_LAST_POST, "
'strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "FORUM.F_STATUS, "
'strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "FORUM.F_TYPE, "
'strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "FORUM.F_PRIVATEFORUMS, "
'strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "FORUM.FORUM_ORDER, "
strSql = strSql & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.MEMBER_ID, "
strSql = strSql & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_NAME "
strSql = strSql & "FROM " & strTablePrefix & "FORUM "
strSql = strSql & "LEFT JOIN " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS ON "
strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "FORUM.F_LAST_POST_AUTHOR = "
strSql = strSql & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.MEMBER_ID "



set rs = my_Conn.Execute(strSql)


%>

<a href="game1_main.asp?id=<% =rs("MEMBER_ID")%>">Enter</a>

<%
rs.Close
set rs = nothing
end if
%>

-------------------------------------------------
the output is game1_main.asp?id=2 for some weired reason

thx alot for helping me! =)
btw the code for the gambling game is almost done, just need a few tweaks to make it compatible with the forum

Go to Top of Page

sumo
Junior Member

USA
121 Posts

Posted - 22 March 2001 :  22:43:25  Show Profile  Visit sumo's Homepage  Send sumo an AOL message
quote:

Look like te old gold system from WWIV BBS.



I ran a BBS using that software. Great stuff!

Mike
http://www.sumovw.com/
http://www.sumovw.com/forum/
http://www.sumofx.com/
Go to Top of Page

Freeman II
Junior Member

232 Posts

Posted - 23 March 2001 :  16:11:25  Show Profile
any ideas on my above post?



Edited by - Freeman II on 23 March 2001 16:11:41
Go to Top of Page

gor
Retired Admin

Netherlands
5511 Posts

Posted - 23 March 2001 :  16:43:01  Show Profile  Visit gor's Homepage
I must have missed your post because of the other post right after yours.

about your question:

I don't understand why you use the selectstatement to select the member-id.
The variable STRdbntUserName contains the username when the user is logged on.
And there is a function called getMemberNumber(fUser_Name) in inc_functions.asp that retrieves the user-id from the database based on the username, so then you could use:

<a href="game1_main.asp?id=<% = getMemberNumber(STRdbntUserName) %>">Enter</a>


Pierre
Go to Top of Page

Freeman II
Junior Member

232 Posts

Posted - 24 March 2001 :  17:53:56  Show Profile
yeah! it works! thanks a lot gor!
hmm..

what is the file that is responsible for +1 to FORUM_MEMBERS.M_POSTS whenever someone post a message?
is it post.asp? if yes and you tell me which line...
thanks


Go to Top of Page

gor
Retired Admin

Netherlands
5511 Posts

Posted - 24 March 2001 :  18:08:51  Show Profile  Visit gor's Homepage
that is in post_info.asp

around line 1295 you'll find a select case codeblock with amongst others this code:

case "Reply"
Response.Write("New Reply Posted!")
DoPCount
DoUCount Request.Form("UserName")
DoULastPost Request.Form("UserName")
case "ReplyQuote"
Response.Write("New Reply Posted!")
DoPCount
DoUCount Request.Form("UserName")
DoULastPost Request.Form("UserName")
case "TopicQuote"
Response.Write("New Reply Posted!")
DoPCount
DoUCount Request.Form("UserName")
DoULastPost Request.Form("UserName")
case "Topic"
DoTCount
DoPCount
DoUCount Request.Form("UserName")
DoULastPost Request.Form("UserName")
Response.Write("New Topic Posted!")


The call DoUCount Request.Form("UserName") updates the postcount of the user making the post.
DoPCount updates the total Posts count in FORUM_TOTALS
DoTCount updates the total Topics count in FORUM_TOTALS
DoULastPost Request.Form("UserName") updates the last post date in the FORUM_MEMBERS table (also important to remember to do !)


You can find that procedure DoUCount (and all the other mentioned subs) in inc_functions.asp:

sub DoUCount(sUser_Name)

'## Forum_SQL - Update Total Post for user
strSql = "UPDATE " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS "
strSql = strSql & " SET " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_POSTS = " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_POSTS + 1 "
strSql = strSql & " WHERE " & strDBNTSQLName & " = '" & sUser_Name & "'"
'

my_Conn.Execute (strSql)

end sub


Pierre
Go to Top of Page

Freeman II
Junior Member

232 Posts

Posted - 24 March 2001 :  19:00:16  Show Profile
is there a code that -1 to MEMBERS_POSTS, when you delete a post.

Go to Top of Page

gor
Retired Admin

Netherlands
5511 Posts

Posted - 25 March 2001 :  00:37:12  Show Profile  Visit gor's Homepage
No, there is no code for that and that is by design. The postcount is the total amount of post you made sofar, even if some of them have been deleted.
If a member floods the forums to get a higher postcount, the administrator can always lower his/her postcount.

I think there is a MOD for making this dynamic, but it is not the way it is implemented in the code.

Pierre
Go to Top of Page

Freeman II
Junior Member

232 Posts

Posted - 25 March 2001 :  11:45:33  Show Profile
where is the code for admins to modify the postcount? i wanna add a textbox like the postcount one for admins to change the value in M_GOLD without opening MS access. is it in pop_profile.asp? i can't find it.

Go to Top of Page

gor
Retired Admin

Netherlands
5511 Posts

Posted - 25 March 2001 :  14:03:13  Show Profile  Visit gor's Homepage
Part of the code is in pop_profile.asp and part in inc_profile.asp

in inc_profile.asp you'll find this code:

if Request.Querystring("mode") = "goModify" then %>
<tr>
<td bgColor="<% =strPopUpTableColor %>"align=right nowrap><b><font face="<% =strDefaultFontFace %>" size="<% =strDefaultFontSize %>"># of Posts: </font></b></td>
<td bgColor="<% =strPopUpTableColor %>"><font face="<% =strDefaultFontFace %>" size="<% =strDefaultFontSize %>"><INPUT name="Posts" size="25" value="<% = ChkString(RS("M_POSTS"), "display") %>"></font></td>
</tr>
<% end if


That displays a textbox with the current postcount if an admin opens the profile to modify it.

and in pop_profile.asp (where inc_profile.asp is included in) you'll find this code to save the (possibly) changed postcount:

strSql = "UPDATE " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS "
strSql = strSql & " SET M_NAME = '" & ChkString(Request.Form("Name"),"name") & "'"
if strAuthType = "nt" then
strSql = strSql & ", M_USERNAME = '" & ChkString(Request.Form("Account"),"") & "'"
else
if strAuthType = "db" then
strSql = strSql & ", M_PASSWORD = '" & ChkString(Request.Form("Password"),"") & "'"
end if
end if
strSql = strSql & ", M_EMAIL = '" & ChkString(Request.Form("Email"),"") & "'"
strSql = strSql & ", M_TITLE = '" & ChkString(Request.Form("Title"),"") & "'"
strSql = strSql & ", M_POSTS = " & ChkString(Request.Form("Posts"),"") & " "
strSql = strSql & ", M_COUNTRY = '" & ChkString(Request.Form("Country"),"") & "'"


Just do a search for case "ModifyIt" and you'll find it a couple of lines below that.

So nothing fancy, just display a textbox when allowed and save it.

Pierre
Go to Top of Page

Freeman II
Junior Member

232 Posts

Posted - 25 March 2001 :  20:54:50  Show Profile
gor, i need some help with my gambling code.
This code checks if the user has enough gold, if everything is ok it should say start gambling
theres only one problem with my code(the code in red), it keeps saying that betgold is greater than nowgold. i don;t know if i used the correct code for getting a value from the database.


nowgold = user's gold
betgold = the gold for gamle


---------------------------------------
<!--#INCLUDE FILE="config.asp" -->
<!--#INCLUDE FILE="inc_functions.asp" -->
<!--#INCLUDE FILE="inc_top.asp" -->
<%

if strDBNTUserName = "" then
doNotLoggedInGame
else
strSql = "SELECT " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.MEMBER_ID, " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_NAME "
strSql = strSql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_USERNAME, " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_EMAIL "
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_FIRSTNAME, " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_LASTNAME "
strSql = strSql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_TITLE"
strSql = strSql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_ICQ"
strSql = strSql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_YAHOO"
strSql = strSql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_AIM"
strSql = strSql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_COUNTRY "
strSql = strSql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_POSTS"
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_CITY "
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_STATE "
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_COUNTRY "
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_POSTS "
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_GOLD "
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_REP "
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_HIDE_EMAIL "
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_DATE "
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_PHOTO_URL "
strSql = strSql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_HOMEPAGE"
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_LINK1, " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_LINK2 "
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_AGE, " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_MARSTATUS "
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_SEX, " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_OCCUPATION "
strSql = strSql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_SIG"
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_HOBBIES, " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_LNEWS "
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_QUOTE, " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_BIO "
strSql = strSql & " FROM " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS "
strSql = strSql & " WHERE MEMBER_ID=" & Request.QueryString("id")




set rs = my_Conn.Execute (strSql)

dim betgold,nowgold

nowgold = 0
betgold = 0
nowgold = rs("M_GOLD")

betgold=request.form("game1")
if betgold <= 0 then
%>
<script language=vbscript>
MsgBox "Error, no gold!"
location.href = "javascript:history.back(1)"
</script>
<% else

if betgold > 100 then
%>
<script language=vbscript>
MsgBox "Error, MAX. 100 Gold"
location.href = "javascript:history.back(1)"
</script>
<%
else


nowrep= rs("M_REP")

if nowrep < 5 then

%>
<script language=vbscript>
MsgBox "Sorry, not enough rep. point."
location.href = "javascript:history.back(1)"
</script>
<%
else



if betgold > nowgold then

%>
<script language=vbscript>
MsgBox "Sorry, you don't have enough gold "
location.href = "javascript:history.back(1)"
</script>
<%
else

m3 = Int(6 * Rnd + 1)
m6 = Int(6 * Rnd + 1)

%>

Start gambling

<%

end if
end if
end if
end if


rs.Close
set rs = nothing

%><!--#INCLUDE FILE="inc_footer.asp" --><%end if%>
------------------------------------------------



Go to Top of Page

Davio
Development Team Member

Jamaica
12217 Posts

Posted - 26 March 2001 :  01:57:20  Show Profile
Sorry for stepping in guys, just thought I could help out before Gor comes around.
You could try it this way Freeman:
dim betgold,nowgold

nowgold = 0
betgold = 0
nowgold = rs("M_GOLD")
nowrep= rs("M_REP")


betgold=request.form("game1")
if betgold <= 0 then
%>
<script language=vbscript>
MsgBox "Error, no gold!"
location.href = "javascript:history.back(1)"
</script>
<%
elseif betgold > 100 then


%>
<script language=vbscript>
MsgBox "Error, MAX. 100 Gold"
location.href = "javascript:history.back(1)"
</script>
<%
elseif nowrep < 5 then


%>
<script language=vbscript>
MsgBox "Sorry, not enough rep. point."
location.href = "javascript:history.back(1)"
</script>
<%
elseif betgold > nowgold then


%>
<script language=vbscript>
MsgBox "Sorry, you don't have enough gold "
location.href = "javascript:history.back(1)"
</script>
<%
else


m3 = Int(6 * Rnd + 1)
m6 = Int(6 * Rnd + 1)


%>


Start gambling


<%


end if
I moved the nowrep= rs("M_REP") up to the top. That should work.

Go to Top of Page

Davio
Development Team Member

Jamaica
12217 Posts

Posted - 26 March 2001 :  02:08:08  Show Profile
You could try using Response.Write("betgold is: " & betgold & "<br>nowgold is: " & nowgold) to see what each varaible has. You can put it after this code: betgold=request.form("game1"), which is right before the if statement. Then you can see why it keep saying betgold is greater than nowgold.

Edited by - Davio on 26 March 2001 02:09:42
Go to Top of Page

gor
Retired Admin

Netherlands
5511 Posts

Posted - 26 March 2001 :  03:16:38  Show Profile  Visit gor's Homepage
quote:

Sorry for stepping in guys, just thought I could help out before Gor comes around.



no problem, this isn't an exclusive topic, you are very welcome to help/reply...

Pierre
Go to Top of Page

Freeman II
Junior Member

232 Posts

Posted - 26 March 2001 :  17:19:31  Show Profile
thanks for your help, but it still don;t work

no matter what i put (a number betwwen 1-100) it still say "not enough gold"
i used your code and it worked fine, it says:
betgold: 60
nowgold:100 then the vb msgbox says: not enough gold.

here the code
----------------------------------
<!--#INCLUDE FILE="config.asp" -->
<!--#INCLUDE FILE="inc_functions.asp" -->
<!--#INCLUDE FILE="inc_top.asp" -->
<%

if strDBNTUserName = "" then
doNotLoggedInGame
else

strSql = "SELECT " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.MEMBER_ID, " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_NAME "
strSql = strSql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_USERNAME, " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_EMAIL "
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_FIRSTNAME, " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_LASTNAME "
strSql = strSql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_TITLE"
strSql = strSql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_ICQ"
strSql = strSql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_YAHOO"
strSql = strSql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_AIM"
strSql = strSql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_COUNTRY "
strSql = strSql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_POSTS"
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_CITY "
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_STATE "
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_COUNTRY "
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_POSTS "
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_GOLD "
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_REP "
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_HIDE_EMAIL "
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_DATE "
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_PHOTO_URL "
strSql = strSql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_HOMEPAGE"
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_LINK1, " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_LINK2 "
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_AGE, " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_MARSTATUS "
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_SEX, " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_OCCUPATION "
strSql = strSql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_SIG"
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_HOBBIES, " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_LNEWS "
strsql = strsql & ", " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_QUOTE, " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_BIO "
strSql = strSql & " FROM " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS "
strSql = strSql & " WHERE MEMBER_ID=" & Request.QueryString("id")




set rs = my_Conn.Execute (strSql)


dim betgold,nowgold
nowgold = 0
betgold = 0
nowgold = rs("M_GOLD")
nowrep= rs("M_REP")

betgold=request.form("game1")
Response.Write("betgold is: " & betgold & "<br>nowgold is: " & nowgold)
if betgold <= 0 then
%>
<script language=vbscript>
MsgBox "Error, no gold!"
location.href = "javascript:history.back(1)"
</script>
<%
elseif betgold > 100 then

%>
<script language=vbscript>
MsgBox "Error, MAX. 100 Gold"
location.href = "javascript:history.back(1)"
</script>
<%
elseif nowrep < 5 then

%>
<script language=vbscript>
MsgBox "Sorry, not enough rep. point."
location.href = "javascript:history.back(1)"
</script>
<%
elseif betgold > nowgold then

%>
<script language=vbscript>
MsgBox "Sorry, you don't have enough gold "
location.href = "javascript:history.back(1)"
</script>
<%
else


%>

Start gambling

<%

end if



%><!--#INCLUDE FILE="inc_footer.asp" --><%end if%>
--------------------------------------
it works fine in other situations
(if i put 0, the response is correct, "error no gold", also tested with 10000...)

Go to Top of Page
Page: of 5 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Previous Page | Next Page
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.31 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07