Author |
Topic |
|
wii
Free ASP Hosts Moderator
Denmark
2632 Posts |
Posted - 12 January 2004 : 07:37:25
|
When using iframes to load a page within a page, I always get a white box before the page within the iframe is loaded. Is there a way to avoid the white box, and/or are there alternatives to iframes? |
|
HuwR
Forum Admin
United Kingdom
20584 Posts |
Posted - 12 January 2004 : 07:42:46
|
what would you expect to get ? that is how http/browsers work, you would get exactly the same behaviour in a standard browser window, just depends how long the page takes to load and whether it is buffered or not. |
|
|
taropatch
Average Member
USA
741 Posts |
|
HuwR
Forum Admin
United Kingdom
20584 Posts |
Posted - 12 January 2004 : 10:36:42
|
an iframe is a full browser window embeded in your page, not just a scroll box |
|
|
wii
Free ASP Hosts Moderator
Denmark
2632 Posts |
Posted - 12 January 2004 : 13:13:04
|
Is it possible to make the iframe an option for people? So that when they click on a "hide chat" link the iframe is removed? I have this code for it:
<iframe src="chat/chat.asp" name="chat2" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" width="90" height="20"></iframe> |
|
|
HuwR
Forum Admin
United Kingdom
20584 Posts |
Posted - 12 January 2004 : 14:00:09
|
yes, you can use its style.visibility property to show and hide it |
|
|
wii
Free ASP Hosts Moderator
Denmark
2632 Posts |
Posted - 12 January 2004 : 14:18:34
|
Ok, how exactly do I code this? |
|
|
wii
Free ASP Hosts Moderator
Denmark
2632 Posts |
Posted - 12 January 2004 : 14:39:00
|
Problem solved ! I added this tag to the iframe:
ALLOWTRANSPARENCY="true" |
|
|
redbrad0
Advanced Member
USA
3725 Posts |
|
redbrad0
Advanced Member
USA
3725 Posts |
|
redbrad0
Advanced Member
USA
3725 Posts |
|
wii
Free ASP Hosts Moderator
Denmark
2632 Posts |
Posted - 21 January 2004 : 04:54:34
|
Yeah, but since the frame I´m loading in the iFrame has the same bgcolor, you can´t see it, so it really is invisible and without a white box.
quote: Originally posted by redbrad0
wii, im using iframes also on a current project and with the..
ALLOWTRANSPARENCY="true"
that makes it so the background color is shown until the page loads?
|
|
|
snaayk
Senior Member
USA
1061 Posts |
Posted - 21 January 2004 : 10:48:32
|
quote: Originally posted by taropatch
I use an iframe on my homepage but was intrigued by this:
http://www.youngpup.net/?request=/components/ypSimpleScroll.xml
I haven't tried it yet, though.
That's actually a bunch of DIVS that get sized using javascript using a number of functions. The data is loaded from an XML file into an iframe (as a buffer) then sent to the div. |
|
|
|
Topic |
|