Author |
Topic |
Gremlin
General Help Moderator
New Zealand
7528 Posts |
Posted - 18 May 2004 : 08:00:00
|
It looks like whoever added the code for private forums broke the query.
Try replacing the Get Topics block of code with the following (theres actually only a couple of lines changed, just easier to post the whole block).
'------------
' Get Topics
'------------
If strDBType = "mysql" then
strSql = "SELECT "
Else
strSql = "SELECT TOP " & intTopicCount & " "
End If
strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "TOPICS.TOPIC_ID, "
strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "TOPICS.T_SUBJECT, "
strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "TOPICS.T_MESSAGE, "
strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "TOPICS.T_DATE, "
strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "TOPICS.T_AUTHOR, "
strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.MEMBER_ID, "
strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_NAME "
strSql = strSql & " FROM ((" & strTablePrefix & "FORUM "
strSql = strSql & "INNER JOIN " & strTablePrefix & "TOPICS ON "
strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "FORUM.FORUM_ID = "
strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "TOPICS.FORUM_ID) "
strSql = strSql & "INNER JOIN " & strTablePrefix & "MEMBERS ON "
strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "TOPICS.T_AUTHOR = "
strSql = strSql & strTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.MEMBER_ID) "
If ForumID <> "ANY" Then
strSql = strSql & " WHERE " & strTablePrefix & "TOPICS.FORUM_ID = " & ForumID & " AND " & strTablePrefix & "FORUM.F_PRIVATEFORUMS = 0"
Else
strSQL = strSql & " WHERE " & strTablePrefix & "FORUM.F_PRIVATEFORUMS = 0"
End If
strSql = strSql & " ORDER BY " & strTablePrefix & "TOPICS.T_DATE DESC "
If strDBType = "mysql" then
strSql = strql & "LIMIT " & intTopicCount
End If
quote: it worked as a decent content management system, and required very little work on my side!
Yeah it does, I do something similar here at www.daoc-halo.com and also include some RSS feeds on the front "slash" page. |
Kiwihosting.Net - The Forum Hosting Specialists
|
Edited by - Gremlin on 18 May 2004 08:02:53 |
|
|
Gremlin
General Help Moderator
New Zealand
7528 Posts |
Posted - 18 May 2004 : 08:00:26
|
Oasis2005 doing the same (assuming this works) should fix your problem too. |
Kiwihosting.Net - The Forum Hosting Specialists
|
|
|
stuF
Average Member
United Kingdom
561 Posts |
Posted - 18 May 2004 : 08:22:15
|
ok, getting this error message now, process none the less *lol*
ADODB.Recordset error '800a0bb9'
Arguments are of the wrong type, are out of acceptable range, or are in conflict with one another.
/forum/inc_func_common.asp, line 351
ive checked the forum number, and ive set it to 2,which is the onyl one of my forums with osts in at the minute.. |
http://36-degrees.co.uk |
|
|
Gremlin
General Help Moderator
New Zealand
7528 Posts |
Posted - 18 May 2004 : 09:18:14
|
Odd, the changes seem to work ok for me I just chucked it into one of my forums and ran it without any error.
Do you have any other changes you've made to the base code of the mod? |
Kiwihosting.Net - The Forum Hosting Specialists
|
|
|
stuF
Average Member
United Kingdom
561 Posts |
Posted - 18 May 2004 : 09:31:34
|
no changes to the slash fiels, but ive got avatar, private messaging, active users and announcements installed. If you want to have a look at the files i can give you an ftp acount to go through, sorry to be such a nuisance! |
http://36-degrees.co.uk |
|
|
Gremlin
General Help Moderator
New Zealand
7528 Posts |
Posted - 18 May 2004 : 10:31:23
|
3am here so I'll look tomorrow, post some text links to the files and I'll see if theres any differences I can spot, from testing though it does seem to work ok using the simple_slash.asp file from the zip at the start of this thread and the modifications I posted above on a standard 3.4.xx forum. |
Kiwihosting.Net - The Forum Hosting Specialists
|
|
|
stuF
Average Member
United Kingdom
561 Posts |
Posted - 18 May 2004 : 11:33:37
|
ok, heres my simple_slash.asp file simple_slash.asp
i have it outside the folder where my forum is, hence the change in location on the includes. other than that, and the get topics block you recommended i change, im sure its standard. |
http://36-degrees.co.uk |
|
|
pould
Starting Member
16 Posts |
Posted - 18 May 2004 : 17:34:39
|
Can someone please help me with inserting inc_simple_slash.asp into another page. I want to insert some of our forums www.anglican-mainstream.net/forum into our index page www.anglican-mainstream.net. How do I go about doing it?
The site is created in Frontpage and the server has ASP. |
|
|
Gremlin
General Help Moderator
New Zealand
7528 Posts |
Posted - 18 May 2004 : 22:18:42
|
quote: Originally posted by stuF
ok, heres my simple_slash.asp file simple_slash.asp
i have it outside the folder where my forum is, hence the change in location on the includes. other than that, and the get topics block you recommended i change, im sure its standard.
Haven't looked at your code yet, but if it's running ourside your forum folder you do have Snitz Cookies set to "website" rather than "forum" yeah?
The new standalone version I'm going to work on won't care about this as It'll have an option to hardcode the variables required from config.asp |
Kiwihosting.Net - The Forum Hosting Specialists
|
Edited by - Gremlin on 18 May 2004 22:20:03 |
|
|
Gremlin
General Help Moderator
New Zealand
7528 Posts |
Posted - 18 May 2004 : 22:20:58
|
quote: Originally posted by pould
Can someone please help me with inserting inc_simple_slash.asp into another page. I want to insert some of our forums www.anglican-mainstream.net/forum into our index page www.anglican-mainstream.net. How do I go about doing it?
The site is created in Frontpage and the server has ASP.
You simply include it into the page you want to show the data on. Make changes to the inc_simple_slash.asp file to set the number of topics to display and which froum to display them from etc. |
Kiwihosting.Net - The Forum Hosting Specialists
|
|
|
pould
Starting Member
16 Posts |
Posted - 19 May 2004 : 04:40:05
|
OK, I've popped it into www.anglican-mainstream.net/testindex.asp (it's in the empty cell at the bottom) but seem to be getting no joy. The forums are in a sub-directory called "forum". Do I need to make changes to the inc_ file to reflect that?
Sorry for being so clueless!!! |
|
|
Gremlin
General Help Moderator
New Zealand
7528 Posts |
Posted - 19 May 2004 : 04:59:54
|
Which file did you inlclude on that page? the standalone seems to be working ok http://www.anglican-mainstream.net/forum/simple_slash.asp
You also may need to change your cookie settings to use outside the forum folder (note that changing cookie settings will cause users to have to login to the forum again next time they visit).
|
Kiwihosting.Net - The Forum Hosting Specialists
|
|
|
pould
Starting Member
16 Posts |
Posted - 19 May 2004 : 05:10:09
|
quote: Originally posted by Gremlin
Which file did you include on that page? the standalone seems to be working ok http://www.anglican-mainstream.net/forum/simple_slash.asp
You also may need to change your cookie settings to use outside the forum folder (note that changing cookie settings will cause users to have to login to the forum again next time they visit).
I included the inc_simple_slash file. Do I need to make any changes to it because the forum is one directory down? |
|
|
pould
Starting Member
16 Posts |
Posted - 19 May 2004 : 05:18:09
|
quote: Originally posted by pould
quote: Originally posted by Gremlin
Which file did you include on that page? the standalone seems to be working ok http://www.anglican-mainstream.net/forum/simple_slash.asp
You also may need to change your cookie settings to use outside the forum folder (note that changing cookie settings will cause users to have to login to the forum again next time they visit).
I included the inc_simple_slash file. Do I need to make any changes to it because the forum is one directory down?
I've switched over to using the simple_slash file. Still no joy - any ideas? Is it to do with the fact that the forum is a sub-directory? |
Edited by - pould on 19 May 2004 12:01:19 |
|
|
stuF
Average Member
United Kingdom
561 Posts |
|
Topic |
|