Author |
Topic |
taropatch
Average Member
USA
741 Posts |
Posted - 03 November 2003 : 00:33:08
|
I've searched for old posts regarding setting up a Snitz forum with an SSL connections, but it's still not that clear to me.
1) Has anyone used FreeSSL.com?
From their webpage: FreeSSL.com owns the root used to issue your certificate
What does that mean? What's up with that?
2) Is it difficult to set up a forum with SSL? Do I just set in the Admin options that the forum is located at https://www.mysite.com? Or is there more code adjustment necessary?
3) With regard to SSL, is there any additional consideration where the database is located?
Thanks. |
|
sr_erick
Senior Member
USA
1318 Posts |
|
Gremlin
General Help Moderator
New Zealand
7528 Posts |
Posted - 03 November 2003 : 01:59:13
|
I've had no problems with instantssl either, fairly compettitive prices for their certificates as well
Owning the root, means that unlike other SSL providers they are have control over the root certificate that they issue from, basically this is a good thing.
Setting the admin URL's to https:// should be enough, I would have to question why you want to use SSL for an entire forum though as it will slow your forum down slightly. |
Kiwihosting.Net - The Forum Hosting Specialists
|
|
|
taropatch
Average Member
USA
741 Posts |
Posted - 03 November 2003 : 09:52:56
|
quote: Originally posted by Gremlin
I would have to question why you want to use SSL for an entire forum though as it will slow your forum down slightly.
Well, I'm using Snitz and the New Events Calendar mod as an extranet for my company. There will probably be fewer than 10 people using it, but at least 2 people are outside the office. Therefore, I'd prefer to have an extranet vs. intranet.
I think SSL would be an extra step of security for the data traveling from server to user? I'm not sure how much slower it would be but with few users, probably willing to make the sacrifice.
Any contrary thoughts are welcome. |
|
|
davemaxwell
Access 2000 Support Moderator
USA
3020 Posts |
Posted - 03 November 2003 : 10:51:53
|
The biggest problem with using SSL is the slowdown that happens from the getting of the certificate when first visiting the site when the session starts. If the site holding the SSL is slow, then that initial wait can be substantial(trust me on this one). |
Dave Maxwell Barbershop Harmony Freak |
|
|
taropatch
Average Member
USA
741 Posts |
Posted - 03 November 2003 : 10:59:17
|
Hi Dave,
So what's the important thing here? Seems like there is only one way to truly find out whether I would have a serious slowdown at the start of the session. I have to try it. |
|
|
davemaxwell
Access 2000 Support Moderator
USA
3020 Posts |
Posted - 03 November 2003 : 14:08:38
|
Yes, you'll just have to try it. It may not be too bad, or it could be rough. You'll get calls from your people asking why they're getting an SSL certificate from a non-trusted source, but other than that it should work. Just make sure that you're NOT using no-cache or you'll lock out your IE users since IE requires images to be cached before returning it via SSL (learned that the hard way).
Just trying to make you informed of the possible pitfalls and performance hits you might see. Just make sure it's worth it(ie working with really classified/sesitive data), in which case you may need to go with a more trusted cert service (ie verisign) |
Dave Maxwell Barbershop Harmony Freak |
|
|
taropatch
Average Member
USA
741 Posts |
Posted - 03 November 2003 : 15:36:04
|
I appreciate it Dave. You're right. The last thing I want to do is open up a can of worms that I was not ready for. It's always good to be as informed as possible before opening that can! |
|
|
taropatch
Average Member
USA
741 Posts |
Posted - 06 November 2003 : 23:20:17
|
Has anyone used QuickSSL offered by ev1servers.net (formerly RackShack.net)?
It's a GeoTrust certificate for $25 plus tax. |
|
|
taropatch
Average Member
USA
741 Posts |
Posted - 08 November 2003 : 01:20:17
|
Fyi, got the $25 GeoTrust cert and installed it. It appears to be the same that GeoTrust sells for $159 at their site. The difference is support, or lack of. But what do you want for 84% off? |
|
|
Podge
Support Moderator
Ireland
3775 Posts |
|
taropatch
Average Member
USA
741 Posts |
Posted - 08 November 2003 : 15:02:02
|
Once my site is set up, can I redirect http://www.mysite.com/forum to https://www.mysite.com/forum ? How do I do that? |
|
|
davemaxwell
Access 2000 Support Moderator
USA
3020 Posts |
Posted - 08 November 2003 : 16:36:30
|
Yes. You can do it by code in the 403-3(?) error page. I'll find the code on Monday and send it to you. |
Dave Maxwell Barbershop Harmony Freak |
Edited by - davemaxwell on 08 November 2003 16:36:53 |
|
|
Gremlin
General Help Moderator
New Zealand
7528 Posts |
Posted - 08 November 2003 : 19:03:01
|
Something like this should work, chuck it in a .asp file
<%
Dim strURLIn, strURLOut
strURLIn = Request.ServerVariables("QUERY_STRING")
strURLOut = Replace(strURLIn, "403;", "")
strURLOut = Replace(strURLOut, "http://", "https://")
Response.Status = "200 OK"
Response.Redirect strURLOut
%>
Then just change your custom error page for 403 errors to point to the page you saved the above code in. |
Kiwihosting.Net - The Forum Hosting Specialists
|
|
|
davemaxwell
Access 2000 Support Moderator
USA
3020 Posts |
Posted - 08 November 2003 : 21:03:02
|
quote: Originally posted by Gremlin
Something like this should work, chuck it in a .asp file
<%
Dim strURLIn, strURLOut
strURLIn = Request.ServerVariables("QUERY_STRING")
strURLOut = Replace(strURLIn, "403;", "")
strURLOut = Replace(strURLOut, "http://", "https://")
Response.Status = "200 OK"
Response.Redirect strURLOut
%>
Then just change your custom error page for 403 errors to point to the page you saved the above code in.
I had a problem with that for some reason. The default browser 403 error page would hit that instead. I had to use a meta tag or some js to get it to work. I'll have to find it. |
Dave Maxwell Barbershop Harmony Freak |
|
|
Gremlin
General Help Moderator
New Zealand
7528 Posts |
Posted - 08 November 2003 : 21:31:53
|
Odd, it's working ok for me on one of our intranet sites ok, be interested in seeing what changes you've had to make. |
Kiwihosting.Net - The Forum Hosting Specialists
|
|
|
Topic |
|