Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Snitz Forums 2000 MOD-Group
 MOD Add-On Forum (W/Code)
 Exchange Page drop down selection with numbers
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

rgrund
Junior Member

Austria
206 Posts

Posted - 29 July 2003 :  04:02:30  Show Profile
Hello,

I have seen that many have asked that instead of the drop down menu for the page selection they would like to have the following:

Total Pages (2):[ [1] 2 ]

Here is now the script which you need to put into the forum.asp.


'##############################################
'## New Function which is not a DropDown but 
'## we keep the functions name so that it works
'## with Snitz
'###############################################
sub DropDownPaging(fnum)
	if maxpages > 1 then
		if mypage = "" then
			pge = 1
		else
			pge = mypage
		end if
		Response.Write	"                <td><font face=""" & strDefaultFontFace & """ size=""" & strDefaultFontSize & """>" & vbNewLine
		if fnum = 1 then
			Response.Write("                <b>Page:</b> [")
		else
			Response.Write("                <b>Total Pages (" & maxpages &"):</b>[")
		end if
		
		for counter = 1 to maxpages
			if counter <> cLng(pge) then   
				Response.Write "<a href=""forum.asp?whichpage=" & counter & "&FORUM_ID=" & Forum_ID &"&sortfield=" & strtopicsortfld & "&sortorder=" & strtopicsortord
				If ArchiveView = "true" then
					Response.Write "&ARCHIVE=" & ArchiveView
				End If	
				Response.Write """> " & counter & " </a>"
			else
				Response.Write " <b>[" & counter & "]</b>"
			end if
		next
		Response.Write " ]"
		Response.Write("</font></td>" & vbNewLine)
	end if
end sub
'#################################################


How to install:
0. Open the file forum.asp
1. Look for the function sub DropDownPaging(fnum)
2. Rename this function to DropDownPaging2(fnum)
3. Copy the new function (it has the same name) below theold one.
4. Save and you are set

Best regards,
Bob

Internet should be OPENSOURCEd!

Edited by - rgrund on 29 July 2003 04:12:41

mortioli
Average Member

United Kingdom
898 Posts

Posted - 29 July 2003 :  10:20:20  Show Profile  Visit mortioli's Homepage  Send mortioli an AOL message  Send mortioli a Yahoo! Message
Just a quick question...

If you have a topic with, for example, 100 pages, will it stretch the page quite a lot to show the links to every page?
Go to Top of Page

AWD_ENVY
Junior Member

103 Posts

Posted - 29 July 2003 :  10:36:10  Show Profile
Works good.... Thanks

Made some minor changes to the astetics of it for my users, and broke up the list of numbers for easier selection/viewing. Figured I'd post it, incase others felt the same.

'##############################################
'## New Function which is not a DropDown but 
'## we keep the functions name so that it works
'## with Snitz
'###############################################
sub DropDownPaging(fnum)
	if maxpages > 1 then
		if mypage = "" then
			pge = 1
		else
			pge = mypage
		end if
		Response.Write	"<td><font face=""" & strDefaultFontFace & """ size=""" & strDefaultFontSize & """>" & vbNewLine
		if fnum = 1 then
			Response.Write("<b>Page:</b> ")
		else
			Response.Write("<b>Total Pages (" & maxpages &"):</b>")
		end if
		
		for counter = 1 to maxpages
			if counter <> cLng(pge) then   
				Response.Write " | <a href=""forum.asp?whichpage=" & counter & "&FORUM_ID=" & Forum_ID &"&sortfield=" & strtopicsortfld & "&sortorder=" & strtopicsortord
				If ArchiveView = "true" then
					Response.Write "&ARCHIVE=" & ArchiveView
				End If	
				Response.Write """>" & counter & "</a>"
			else
				Response.Write " |<b> [" & counter & "]</b>"
			end if
		next
		Response.Write ""
		Response.Write("</font></td>" & vbNewLine)
	end if
end sub
'#################################################
Go to Top of Page

rgrund
Junior Member

Austria
206 Posts

Posted - 30 July 2003 :  02:16:26  Show Profile
mortioli,

currently all numbers are shown, but I will make still a better MOD on this side, so that it will only show ten numbers (pages) each time.

Bob

Internet should be OPENSOURCEd!
Go to Top of Page

rgrund
Junior Member

Austria
206 Posts

Posted - 31 July 2003 :  10:51:45  Show Profile
Hi,

this is now the function which will only show page number defined within the function. Default is currently set to 10.

Could some one test this out. I do not have so many entries in my database and can therefore not test it out if the "<< First" and the ">> Last" section will show up.




'##############################################
'## New Function which is not a DropDown but 
'## we keep the functions name so that it works
'## with Snitz
'###############################################
sub DropDownPaging(fnum)
	if maxpages > 1 then
		if mypage = "" then
			pge = 1
		else
			pge = mypage
		end if
		Response.Write	"                <td><font face=""" & strDefaultFontFace & """ size=""" & strDefaultFontSize & """>" & vbNewLine
		if fnum = 1 then
			Response.Write("                <b>Page:</b> [")
		else
			Response.Write("                <b>Total Pages (" & maxpages &"):</b>[")
		end if
		
		'We define the range to show
		'we will currently only show 10 pages as the default
		PagesToShow = 10
		
		If cLng(pge) > 1 then
			MinPageToShow = cLng(pge) - 1
		Else
			MinPageToShow = 1
		End If
		
		If cLng(pge) + PagesToShow > maxpages then
			MaxPageToShow = maxpages
		Else
			MaxPageToShow = cLng(pge) + PagesToShow
		End If
		
		If MaxPageToShow < maxpages then
			ShowMaxPage = True
		Else
			ShowMaxPage = False
		End If

		If MinPageToShow > 1 then
			ShowMinPage = True
		Else
			ShowMinPage = False
		End If
		
		If ShowMinPage then
			Response.Write "<a href=""forum.asp?whichpage=1&FORUM_ID=" & Forum_ID &"&sortfield=" & strtopicsortfld & "&sortorder=" & strtopicsortord
			Response.Write """> << First </a>"
		End If
		
		for counter = MinPageToShow to MaxPageToShow
			if counter <> cLng(pge) then   
				Response.Write "<a href=""forum.asp?whichpage=" & counter & "&FORUM_ID=" & Forum_ID &"&sortfield=" & strtopicsortfld & "&sortorder=" & strtopicsortord
				If ArchiveView = "true" then
					Response.Write "&ARCHIVE=" & ArchiveView
				End If	
				Response.Write """> " & counter & " </a>"
			else
				Response.Write " <b>[" & counter & "]</b>"
			end if
		next
		
		If ShowMaxPage then
			Response.Write "<a href=""forum.asp?whichpage=" & maxpages & "&FORUM_ID=" & Forum_ID &"&sortfield=" & strtopicsortfld & "&sortorder=" & strtopicsortord
			Response.Write """> >> Last </a>"
		End If
		
		Response.Write " ]"
		Response.Write("</font></td>" & vbNewLine)
	end if
end sub
'#################################################



Just follow the same instruction as above, if you want to use this function.

Best regards,

Bob

Internet should be OPENSOURCEd!

Edited by - rgrund on 31 July 2003 10:54:22
Go to Top of Page

Uzzio
Starting Member

46 Posts

Posted - 12 September 2003 :  03:15:12  Show Profile
Ok...one more question : how can I have it to display the numbers like this :

Total pages (13): [ « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 » ]

With no understrike for the numbers?also I would like to have also "Total pages" and the number in the brackets to be displayed in the font color like the numbers(id like to use the font color that is used in the text for messages), not in black!How do I modify this?thank you!

Edited by - Uzzio on 12 September 2003 03:16:50
Go to Top of Page

Uzzio
Starting Member

46 Posts

Posted - 12 September 2003 :  03:40:21  Show Profile
If it can help, here is the code I just tried to arrange to display the nubers instead of the drop down box in TOPIC.ASP (so, inside the topic not in the forum).
It works, ok, but I dont know what it may happen with a long thread with many pages (in my forum I have only up to 8..).
I go and try to implement something as rgrund did for the topic to...


ps I edit this code and insert the new one
it works but it would be nicer if it could be taken out of the discussion table and put on the left, above the table.I tried to do it but made a mess...could you tell me where to move the call to this sub so that it displays the page selection where I told above?
thanks!

sub DropDownPaging(fnum)
	
		if maxpages > 1 then
		if mypage = "" then
			pge = 1
		else
			pge = mypage
		end if
		scriptname = request.servervariables("script_name")
		'Response.Write("                <form name=""PageNum" & fnum & """ action=""topic.asp"">" & vbNewLine)
		Response.Write("                <font face=""" & strDefaultFontFace & """ size=""" & strDefaultFontSize & """ color=""" & strForumFontColor & """>" & vbNewLine)
		if Archiveview = "true" then Response.Write("                <input type=""hidden"" name=""ARCHIVE"" value=""" & ArchiveView & """>" & vbNewLine)
		Response.Write("                <input type=""hidden"" name=""TOPIC_ID"" value=""" & Request("TOPIC_ID") & """>" & vbNewLine)
		Response.Write("                <b>Pagina: </b> [")
		
		'We define the range to show



		'we will currently only show 10 pages as the default
		PagesToShow = 4
		
		If cLng(pge) > 1 then
			MinPageToShow = cLng(pge) - 1
		Else
			MinPageToShow = 1
		End If
		
		If cLng(pge) + PagesToShow > maxpages then
			MaxPageToShow = maxpages
		Else
			MaxPageToShow = cLng(pge) + PagesToShow
		End If
		
		If MaxPageToShow < maxpages then
			ShowMaxPage = True
		Else
			ShowMaxPage = False
		End If

		If MinPageToShow > 1 then
			ShowMinPage = True
		Else
			ShowMinPage = False
		End If
		
		If ShowMinPage then
			Response.Write "<a href=""topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=" & TOPIC_ID & "&whichpage=1"
			Response.Write """> « </a>"
		End If
		
		for counter = MinPageToShow to MaxPageToShow
			if counter <> cLng(pge) then   
				Response.Write "<a href=""topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=" & TOPIC_ID & "&whichpage=" & counter
				If ArchiveView = "true" then
					Response.Write "&ARCHIVE=" & ArchiveView
				End If	
				Response.Write """> " & counter & " </a>"
			else
				Response.Write " <b>[" & counter & "]</b>"
			end if
		next
		
		If ShowMaxPage then
			Response.Write "<a href=""topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=" & TOPIC_ID & "&whichpage=" & maxpages
			Response.Write """> » </a>"
		End If
		
		Response.Write " ]"
		Response.Write("</font>" & vbNewLine)
	end if
end sub

Edited by - Uzzio on 12 September 2003 05:06:56
Go to Top of Page

Uzzio
Starting Member

46 Posts

Posted - 10 October 2003 :  02:28:39  Show Profile
anyone? ?
Go to Top of Page

rgrund
Junior Member

Austria
206 Posts

Posted - 11 October 2003 :  15:12:35  Show Profile
Hi Uzzio,
let me look into it! Should be easy!
Bob

Internet should be OPENSOURCEd!
Go to Top of Page

rgrund
Junior Member

Austria
206 Posts

Posted - 11 October 2003 :  15:34:41  Show Profile
Hi Uzzio,

1. open the file forum.asp
2. look for
" <table border=""0"" align=""right"">" & vbNewLine & _
" <tr>" & vbNewLine
Call DropDownPaging(1)

3. Change the align=""right"" to align =""left""

that should do it.

Bob

Internet should be OPENSOURCEd!
Go to Top of Page

Uzzio
Starting Member

46 Posts

Posted - 13 October 2003 :  02:31:21  Show Profile
quote:
Originally posted by rgrund

Hi Uzzio,

1. open the file forum.asp
2. look for
" <table border=""0"" align=""right"">" & vbNewLine & _
" <tr>" & vbNewLine
Call DropDownPaging(1)

3. Change the align=""right"" to align =""left""

that should do it.

Bob


Thnk you :D
I am really idiot with ASP I made a mess with a thousand tries before to givew up, seems I really dont understand the way these tables work :(
Go to Top of Page

Uzzio
Starting Member

46 Posts

Posted - 13 October 2003 :  02:39:03  Show Profile
PS did you manage to insert this also in topic.asp e not only in forum.asp?
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.2 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07