Author |
Topic |
PDM71
Starting Member
Australia
3 Posts |
Posted - 02 October 2003 : 21:09:04
|
quote: Originally posted by 86atc250r On the css subject - In a script that generates a lot of repeating html like a messageboard or a datafilled table of any sort - CSS can be used to eliminate a ton of redundant code. For instance, I use 533 bytes of CSS in one of my scripts that many times eliminates several hundred Kilobytes of downloaded html code for my end users. There is a lot of value in that, no matter if the browser caches the 533 bytes of linked CSS or reloads it.
86atc250r,
I agree entirely on this point, don't misunderstand me. Anything that reduces the bandwidth is great.
It's an issue for me at the moment because I've added a DHTML menu to my site, but rather than caching the 40k worth of .js files, they are serving with every page view (except for those pages where I have hard-coded a "Last Modified" header). I have a portal that people set as their browser start page and that needs to be dynamic, not static - so the DHTML menu doubled my bandwidth overnight...
Regards, Paul |
|
|
-gary
Development Team Member
406 Posts |
Posted - 03 October 2003 : 18:12:06
|
Two suggestions:
You could replace the vbnewline's with a function that checks for a debug value and if found, output a line break, otherwise don't. Makes the output a lot easier to debug.
You could also cut down on the output even farther if you used the td property and applied the styles to the <tr> of each line, instead of the <td>'s. That would cut anywhere between 1/4th and 1/7th of the style references depending on access level. |
KawiForums.com
|
|
|
D3mon
Senior Member
United Kingdom
1685 Posts |
Posted - 04 October 2003 : 09:56:27
|
1) Adding a function call to each line output would seriously impact performance. I use Dreamweavers excellent code formatting tool to reset the code into something workable if I need too.
2) Not exactly a search and replace quickie then? That would take far longer time than I have available. |
Snitz 'Speedball' : Site Integration Mod : Friendly Registration Mod "In war, the victorious strategist only seeks battle after the victory has been won" |
|
|
-gary
Development Team Member
406 Posts |
Posted - 04 October 2003 : 13:08:12
|
1: Don't use a function call then. Do an if debug = 1 then chkvbnewline = vbnewline else it's equal to nothing. Same as referencing the vbnewline variable.
I've found the debug variable invaluable as I have it write out timestamps and what not while I'm debugging. Set it to 0 and everything goes to production mode.
2: It's not that bad. The forum.asp and default.asp and topic.asp files are the big problems as they have huge repeating tables. That's actually what I did with mine. Just sharing. |
KawiForums.com
|
|
|
D3mon
Senior Member
United Kingdom
1685 Posts |
|
wylovan
Starting Member
2 Posts |
Posted - 21 October 2003 : 00:24:38
|
Hey all, just started using Snitz and have been using your low-bandwidth version. Everything has been great! I did run into one problem though. Using the datepicker in the profile or register page to set the birthdate did not return the selected date and the window did not close. The same was true if I selected "Clear DOB". I tracked it down to here >>
Line 12 is missing a ";"(highlighted below in red): "function returnDate(inDay) {" & _ "window.onerror = ignore;" & _ "window.opener.document.forms['" & Request("FormName") & "']['" & Request("FieldName") & "'].value = inDay;" & _ "self.close();" & _ "}" & _
When you stripped off the "& VBNewLine &_", the two javascript statements ran together.
Wyatt
|
|
|
D3mon
Senior Member
United Kingdom
1685 Posts |
|
D3mon
Senior Member
United Kingdom
1685 Posts |
|
shawdzee
New Member
USA
67 Posts |
Posted - 27 October 2003 : 20:19:09
|
D3mon,
I'm using you wondeful LB forum / site integration... (all virgin, no added modules yet)
there is a problem with the code.
After turning on the header/footer/left/right...
when you go into a forum... http://SERVER/testsite/forum.asp?FORUM_ID=6 everything is OK,
but when you go into a topic... http://SERVER/testsite/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=6 HOUSTON, there is a problem
the normall SNITZ footer is displayed outside of your "site integration" !!!
Have I missed something? Is this a known issue? |
be well, shawdzee |
Edited by - shawdzee on 27 October 2003 20:51:50 |
|
|
Gremlin
General Help Moderator
New Zealand
7528 Posts |
Posted - 27 October 2003 : 23:37:34
|
Your links won't work shawdzee they appear to point to a local testing server. |
Kiwihosting.Net - The Forum Hosting Specialists
|
|
|
D3mon
Senior Member
United Kingdom
1685 Posts |
|
shawdzee
New Member
USA
67 Posts |
Posted - 28 October 2003 : 16:56:57
|
quote: Originally posted by Gremlin
Your links won't work shawdzee they appear to point to a local testing server.
I know. They are just examples. |
be well, shawdzee |
|
|
Gremlin
General Help Moderator
New Zealand
7528 Posts |
Posted - 28 October 2003 : 23:48:18
|
Ahhh silly me, smack me with a wet fish !! :) |
Kiwihosting.Net - The Forum Hosting Specialists
|
|
|
shawdzee
New Member
USA
67 Posts |
Posted - 04 November 2003 : 15:12:38
|
quote: Originally posted by D3mon
I'll run a test set and take a closer look...
Demon;
I tweaked with a Plain Snitz code, and created the tables myself (similar to site integration). The same results.
I think the problem is with topic.asp
I think the topic.asp closes ONE too many tables . Does that make sense?
|
be well, shawdzee |
|
|
D3mon
Senior Member
United Kingdom
1685 Posts |
|
Topic |
|