Modify topic form
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

ONeal
Starting Member

6 Posts

Posted - 06 May 2003 :  01:28:22  Show Profile
Is there a way to modify the topic form? I'd like to add a few items either in pull down lists or labeled windows to have displayed from the topics window. There are certain items of info that I want to make manditory for each topic's first post only. Any ideas would be great!
P.S. Downloaded Snitz yesterday. Nice program. Got a forum set up tonight so I'm still learning. Thanks

Nikkol
Forum Moderator

USA
6907 Posts

Posted - 06 May 2003 :  01:37:28  Show Profile
yes, you could do that, but it would require extra fields in the topics table. what's your plan?

Nikkol ~ Help Us Help You | ReadMe | 3.4.03 fixes | security fixes ~
Go to Top of Page

ONeal
Starting Member

6 Posts

Posted - 07 May 2003 :  08:03:59  Show Profile
I plan on using the forum to track discussions in my office for on-going projects. When the project is first created as a topic I need certain information given (i.e. salesperson, project lead, project type, etc.) I only plan on having four or five fields and may or may not use lists. I'm not extremly technical but I love a good challenge. Any ideas or if any can point me in the right direction, I'd be very grateful.
Thanks again,
ONeal
Go to Top of Page

Nikkol
Forum Moderator

USA
6907 Posts

Posted - 07 May 2003 :  08:09:28  Show Profile
Well, the easy way would be to just set posting "rules" where the person who posts the topic must supply that information on their post. You could turn moderation on and not approve the topic until all that information is entered.

Now, if you want to make it more automatic, you could add the fields that you are describing, but it would take a lot of modification, especially if you want to be able to administer the lists for each of those fields.

Go to Top of Page

ONeal
Starting Member

6 Posts