Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Snitz Forums 2000 MOD-Group
 MOD Add-On Forum (W/O Code)
 CAN I ADD A FLASH BANNER TO MY FORUM
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

mdk_madman
Starting Member

15 Posts

Posted - 28 April 2003 :  09:47:44  Show Profile  Visit mdk_madman's Homepage
Hello everyone!I am in desperate need of help.I want to add my flash banner has my main banner for forum.I think i have figured out that i need to get rid of the <img src tag in the html but how?I can get the banner to work sometimes but the wierd thing is that some people can see it and some cant.It happens to me too all of the sudden ill go to forum and bam its just the box with the red x.Ohh and by the way even though i am able to get the flash banner to show it always has the default.asp box.What do i need to to do to get this to work!!Also my forum is unpredictable i mean after i update the colors of forum and things like that some ppl cant see the color change for a day or so.What is the problem?you can view my source at http://www26.brinkster.com/mostdeviousking/db/default.asp

Thank you in advance for your help its driving me mad!!!

Edited by - ruirib on 07 July 2003 17:52:41

Jesus_is_Lord
Starting Member

USA
13 Posts

Posted - 28 April 2003 :  15:05:23  Show Profile  Visit Jesus_is_Lord's Homepage
i'm not positive, but i believe the flash banner, assuming it is an swf file, must be displayed by loading it as a movie. see the following code:

<center>
<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000"
codebase="http://active.macromedia.com/flash4/cabs/swflash.cab#version=4,0,0,0"
id="hpage" width="760" height="450">
<param name="movie" value="hpage.swf">
<param name="quality" value="high">
<param name="bgcolor" value="#FFFFFF">
<embed name="hpage" src="hpage.swf" quality="high" bgcolor="#FFFFFF"
width="760" height="450"
type="application/x-shockwave-flash"
pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash">
</embed>
</object>
</center>

note the line which contains the file to load:

<param name="movie" value="hpage.swf">

you must change this line to match the name of the file you are using, or change the file name.

also you will have to adjust the size, height and width in pixels, to match your banner.

but make sure you backup your original asp file before you try editing it.

thanks
mike

May the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.

Edited by - Jesus_is_Lord on 28 April 2003 15:07:53
Go to Top of Page

mdk_madman
Starting Member

15 Posts

Posted - 26 May 2003 :  14:11:37  Show Profile  Visit mdk_madman's Homepage
No i tried that but thank you anyone else have any idea's ?I am also trying to get my flash signature to show but no luck there either.Someone please help
Go to Top of Page

Dave.
Senior Member

USA
1037 Posts

Posted - 26 May 2003 :  14:14:51  Show Profile
Flash 3.4
Go to Top of Page

DJBBIZ
Junior Member

214 Posts

Posted - 26 May 2003 :  14:38:47  Show Profile  Visit DJBBIZ's Homepage
I have a Flash logo in my portal, just click the link in my signature: tmiFinance

I also created some code to recognize if the main logo file is either Flash or GIF/JPG and adjust the code to load the image accordingly:

" <td height=""80"" align=""center"" valign=""top"">" & vbNewLine & _
"<font face=""" & strDefaultFontFace & """ size=""" & strDefaultFontSize & """><b>" & strForumTitle & "</b></font><br>" & vbNewLine

' ########### What kind of Logo file are we displaying? ###############

'########### Begin Flash Logo #####################
if lcase(Right(strTitleImage, 3)) = "swf" Then
Response.write" <center>" & vbNewLine & _
" <hr width=""70%"">" & vbNewLine & _
" <object classid=""clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000"" codebase=""http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=5,0,0,0"" width=""" & strimagerotatortopwidth & """ height=""" & strimagerotatortopheight & """>" & vbNewLine & _
" <param name=""movie"" value=""" & strImageURL & "" & strTitleImage & """>" & vbNewLine & _
" <param name=""quality"" value=""high"">" & vbNewLine & _
" <param name=""bgcolor"" value=""" & strPageBGColor & """>" & vbNewLine & _
" <param name=""scale"" value=""exactfit"">" & vbNewLine & _
" <embed src=""" & strImageURL & "" & strTitleImage & """ quality=""high"" pluginspage=""http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash"" type=""application/x-shockwave-flash"" scale=""exactfit"" width=""" & strimagerotatortopwidth & """ height=""" & strimagerotatortopheight & """ bgcolor=""" & strPageBGColor & """></embed>" & vbNewLine & _
" </object>" & vbNewLine & _
" <hr width=""70%"">" & vbNewLine & _
" </center>" & vbNewLine
Else
End If
'############ End Flash Logo #####################

'########### Begin GIF/JPG Logo #####################
if lcase(Right(strTitleImage, 3)) = "gif" OR lcase(Right(strTitleImage, 3)) = "jpg" Then
Response.Write "    <a href=""" & strHomeURL & """ tabindex=""-1"">" & getCurrentIcon(strTitleImage & "||",strForumTitle,"") & "</a><br>" & vbNewLine
Else
End If
'########### End GIF/JPG Logo #####################

Response.Write "</td>" & vbNewLine & _

It is coded to work with the image rotator mod as well, but if you are not using this mod just replace the height and width parameters in the two lines in the Flash routine:

width=""" & strimagerotatortopwidth & """ height=""" & strimagerotatortopheight & """

with width="350" height="200"

or what ever your file size is.


"The difference between good ideas and good results is performance"
the management institute | tmiFinance | tmiCreative | ProfileOnDemand
Go to Top of Page

mdk_madman
Starting Member

15 Posts

Posted - 27 May 2003 :  06:34:42  Show Profile  Visit mdk_madman's Homepage
OK THE CODE SOUNDS GREAT BUT WHERE DO I PUT THE CODE WHAT LINE AND SO FORTH.WHAT FILE DO I ADD IT TOO?SORRY I AM A NEWBIE THX IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR TIME
Go to Top of Page

matrixxx
Starting Member

USA
19 Posts

Posted - 28 May 2003 :  15:18:05  Show Profile  Visit matrixxx's Homepage
have you tried saving it as a animated gif instead of a movie.

Thanks,

Howard
www.vcstechs.com
Go to Top of Page

DJBBIZ
Junior Member

214 Posts

Posted - 28 May 2003 :  16:59:23  Show Profile  Visit DJBBIZ's Homepage
Messing with the header can be tricky if you are an ASP newbie but try these topics out as see if it helps:

http://www.shnforum.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=1277&SearchTerms=flash,header
http://www.shnforum.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=876&SearchTerms=flash,swish


"The difference between good ideas and good results is performance"
the management institute | tmiFinance | tmiCreative | ProfileOnDemand
Go to Top of Page

mdk_madman
Starting Member

15 Posts

Posted - 01 July 2003 :  06:28:52  Show Profile  Visit mdk_madman's Homepage
Yes i have tried saving it as a .gif it looks really bad.The links that the last guy gave didnt load for some reason.Please what file do i add the code that guy gave above to so it will work thats all i need to know thx
Go to Top of Page

Nikkol
Forum Moderator

USA
6907 Posts

Posted - 01 July 2003 :  07:43:00  Show Profile
inc_header.asp

Nikkol ~ Help Us Help You | ReadMe | 3.4.03 fixes | security fixes ~
Go to Top of Page

Roland
Advanced Member

Netherlands
9335 Posts

Posted - 01 July 2003 :  07:49:17  Show Profile
A couple of remarks:
1- Do not ever again use an all-caps subject for your topic
2- Do not ever again reply to anyone using nothing but caps
Both make it look like you're some annoying 12-year-old that doesn't get what he wants fast enough and therefore throws a fit.
Also remember that the people who have tried to help you do that because they want to. They don't get paid or get anything out of it (other than feeling good when they've helped someone), and they defenately don't want to be treated like shoot.
When you reply to someone's post, you can and should talk about other people using their names rather than "that guy".
Saying that you're a "newbie" isn't an excuse for any of these things. It's common sense and etiquette.

Lastly, try searching next time. http://forum.snitz.com/forum/topic.asp?ARCHIVE=true&TOPIC_ID=36621&SearchTerms=flash,logo is one of the topics already on these forums that contain information about how to use a Flash animation as your forum logo.
Go to Top of Page

HuwR
Forum Admin

United Kingdom
20584 Posts

Posted - 01 July 2003 :  08:43:51  Show Profile  Visit HuwR's Homepage
quote:
Originally posted by mdk_madman

OK THE CODE SOUNDS GREAT BUT WHERE DO I PUT THE CODE WHAT LINE AND SO FORTH.WHAT FILE DO I ADD IT TOO?SORRY I AM A NEWBIE THX IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR TIME


Please don't post in capital letters, it is not very polite.
Go to Top of Page

mdk_madman
Starting Member

15 Posts

Posted - 01 July 2003 :  20:48:33  Show Profile  Visit mdk_madman's Homepage
Did nt mean any disrespect just was in a hurry my apologies
Go to Top of Page

mdk_madman
Starting Member

15 Posts

Posted - 07 July 2003 :  17:32:39  Show Profile  Visit mdk_madman's Homepage
I installed the flash mod 3.4 and i can see the option in the admin panel to have flash enabled and i enabled it and saved settings.Now what do i do how do i embed the flash in the forum?It doesnt tell me how to do any of that.I have sucessfully installed many mods on my forum and this one is strange.No instructions nothing just where to put the add the codes and in what file and thats it.Why is that?
Anyway if someone could please tell what to do next that would be great thx in advance for your help
Go to Top of Page

Roland
Advanced Member

Netherlands
9335 Posts

Posted - 07 July 2003 :  17:53:23  Show Profile
Did you try the info in this topic: http://forum.snitz.com/forum/topic.asp?ARCHIVE=true&TOPIC_ID=36621&SearchTerms=flash,logo

I believe the MOD you installed isn't for a Flash logo, but to allow people on your forums to use Flash in their posts.
Go to Top of Page

mdk_madman
Starting Member

15 Posts

Posted - 08 July 2003 :  01:18:05  Show Profile  Visit mdk_madman's Homepage
Hi Frutzle i read the link you provided thank you.I added the code that it stated to add and the forum would not load.Im sure its probably me but i am pretty sure i added it perfect.I have installed the calender mod the avatar mod and some others without any problems.So i am pretty sure im doing what it tells me to do.Any other idea's?Again your help is very much appreciated thanks.I need this to work so bad that i would be willing to pay someone for there time.I really cant afford to but i really need to make this work is there anybody that is interrested?I mean is it that this forum is for asp programers and thats why i cant seem to get this to work.
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 2 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Next Page
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.22 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07