Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Help Groups for Snitz Forums 2000 Users
 Help: MOD Implementation
 Can I use asp mail to send htm form?
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

Alfred
Senior Member

USA
1527 Posts

Posted - 05 February 2003 :  12:53:53  Show Profile  Visit Alfred's Homepage
Yes, I have a table named SCENARIO, and a text field NAME, both are spelled correctly, as in this line:
strSql = "SELECT NAME FROM SCENARIOS".

Alfred
The Battle Group
CREDO
Go to Top of Page

Alfred
Senior Member

USA
1527 Posts

Posted - 05 February 2003 :  13:00:15  Show Profile  Visit Alfred's Homepage
quote:
Originally posted by Alfred

Yes, I have a table named SCENARIO, and a text field NAME, both are spelled correctly, as in this line:
strSql = "SELECT NAME FROM SCENARIOS".



But, wait - you are testing my online db, while I am still working on my localhost!

Alfred
The Battle Group
CREDO
Go to Top of Page

Nikkol
Forum Moderator

USA
6907 Posts

Posted - 05 February 2003 :  13:01:29  Show Profile
quote:
Originally posted by Alfred

Yes, I have a table named SCENARIO, and a text field NAME, both are spelled correctly, as in this line:
strSql = "SELECT NAME FROM SCENARIOS".



If you have a table named SCENARIO then your select statement is incorrect. It should be:

strSql = "SELECT NAME FROM SCENARIO"

Nikkol ~ Help Us Help You | ReadMe | 3.4.03 fixes | security fixes ~
Go to Top of Page

Alfred
Senior Member

USA
1527 Posts

Posted - 05 February 2003 :  13:15:36  Show Profile  Visit Alfred's Homepage
Sorry, Nikkol, that was a typo of mine in the previous post.
The table IS called SCENARIOS, and the field is NAME.

I have closed my site for 5 minutes and uploaded the amended db for you to test now, as well as the processmail.asp.

BTW, how are you able to test this file?
When the <!--#INCLUDE FILE="inc_sha256.asp"--> is included it always defaults to "default.asp...

Alfred
The Battle Group
CREDO

Edited by - Alfred on 05 February 2003 13:27:54
Go to Top of Page

Nikkol
Forum Moderator

USA
6907 Posts

Posted - 05 February 2003 :  13:54:38  Show Profile
quote:
Originally posted by Alfred

BTW, how are you able to test this file?
When the <!--#INCLUDE FILE="inc_sha256.asp"--> is included it always defaults to "default.asp...

Huh? inc_sha256.asp is just a bunch of functions. What do you mean defaults to default.asp?

Nikkol ~ Help Us Help You | ReadMe | 3.4.03 fixes | security fixes ~
Go to Top of Page

Nikkol
Forum Moderator

USA
6907 Posts

Posted - 05 February 2003 :  14:01:02  Show Profile
You also have an error on processmailpage.asp:

Active Server Pages error 'ASP 0116'

Missing close of script delimiter

/bg/forums/processmailpage.asp, line 7

The Script block lacks the close of script tag (%>).

Nikkol ~ Help Us Help You | ReadMe | 3.4.03 fixes | security fixes ~
Go to Top of Page

Alfred
Senior Member

USA
1527 Posts

Posted - 05 February 2003 :  14:24:36  Show Profile  Visit Alfred's Homepage
Well, two things, Nikkol:

I was told some time ago (forgot by whom) that the inc_sha256.asp is the file that causes the screen to return to the default page, because it contains the password codes.
When I take that file temporarily out of dutyreport.asp then I can view it directly by URL in my browser.
This is why I asked how you can view it.

The other thing is that I cut and pasted what you wrote as code for the processmailpage.asp.
Anyway, when I now placed a final closing script tag at the end and ran the dutyreport.asp it returned this blurr:
quote:
## mail me start ############################ strRecipients = "battlegroup@ggholiday.com" strsubject = "Relief of Command Request" strMessage = strMessage & " by: " & Request.Form("myMembers") strMessage = strMessage & " Relief requested at: " & Request.Form("MyScen") %>

Alfred
The Battle Group
CREDO
Go to Top of Page

Nikkol
Forum Moderator

USA
6907 Posts

Posted - 05 February 2003 :  15:11:35  Show Profile
If the code you posted above has ONLY what you posted, then it needs to be the following. Any ASP needs to be enclosed inbetween <% and %>. You did not have an opening <%. In addition, you had and opening <% at the very end without anything else.

<%
strRecipients = "battlegroup@ggholiday.com"
strsubject = "Relief of Command Request"
strMessage = strMessage & " by: " & Request.Form("myMembers")
strMessage = strMessage & " Relief requested at: " & Request.Form("MyScen")
%>
<!--#INCLUDE file="inc_mail.asp" -->

Nikkol ~ Help Us Help You | ReadMe | 3.4.03 fixes | security fixes ~
Go to Top of Page

Alfred
Senior Member

USA
1527 Posts

Posted - 05 February 2003 :  15:40:28  Show Profile  Visit Alfred's Homepage
Well, DOES there need to be anything else in that file?
I never knew of the use of it before you told me, and naively put in there what I saw in your post.
Of course, I realize now that you assumed that I would make the necessary final touches.

Ok, I have modified it now and it does mailings again, although no better than it already did some time ago - this is all I get:
by: Relief requested at:

Alfred
The Battle Group
CREDO
Go to Top of Page

Nikkol
Forum Moderator

USA
6907 Posts

Posted - 05 February 2003 :  17:28:38  Show Profile
I still show you have an error on that page. (same one as before)

Nikkol ~ Help Us Help You | ReadMe | 3.4.03 fixes | security fixes ~
Go to Top of Page

Alfred
Senior Member

USA
1527 Posts

Posted - 05 February 2003 :  18:09:37  Show Profile  Visit Alfred's Homepage
Very frustrating...
I reloaded both as textfiles again:
http://www.ggholiday.com/bg/forums/dutyreport.txt
http://www.ggholiday.com/bg/forums/processmailpage.txt

Alfred
The Battle Group
CREDO

Edited by - Alfred on 05 February 2003 18:10:46
Go to Top of Page

Nikkol
Forum Moderator

USA
6907 Posts

Posted - 05 February 2003 :  18:13:16  Show Profile
Your dutyreport page still has the mail part in it. You need to take that out.

Nikkol ~ Help Us Help You | ReadMe | 3.4.03 fixes | security fixes ~
Go to Top of Page

Nikkol
Forum Moderator

USA
6907 Posts

Posted - 05 February 2003 :  18:15:26  Show Profile
Also, at the very end of processmailpage.asp, you need to either add a redirect to another page, or write to the page something like "your report has been submitted" - just so that a blank page doesn't come up and confuse the person submitting it.

Nikkol ~ Help Us Help You | ReadMe | 3.4.03 fixes | security fixes ~
Go to Top of Page

Alfred
Senior Member

USA
1527 Posts

Posted - 05 February 2003 :  19:44:53  Show Profile  Visit Alfred's Homepage
Ah - two more mysteries solved!

1. I had no idea it had to be taken out of dutyreprt.asp,
2. I wondered why a blank page came up, and what to do with it!

- -

Alfred
The Battle Group
CREDO
Go to Top of Page

Alfred
Senior Member

USA
1527 Posts

Posted - 05 February 2003 :  20:16:36  Show Profile  Visit Alfred's Homepage
Why, oh why is this sooo difficult?

Now I get a nice page saying that the report has been submitted, but no mail at all!

Alfred
The Battle Group
CREDO
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 3 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Previous Page | Next Page
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.5 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07